If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Part time farming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dunedin

popa smurf wrote: »
    , A farmers son were highly saugh after on the building sites of Dublin Londan and Newyork and still today they stand out from the rest

100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Walked away from family farm 30 odd years ago, done the greencert and went on farm placement. Went to a good farm well paid and appreciated not like I was at home and never really settled after going back, got mind for a bit of independence, the drink and the women all needed to be paid for so took a job with local plant hire guys and no time for farming moved to dublin mid 90s driving machines met herself on a night out in McGowan in dublin and the rest is history, The only regret I have is my kids didn't grow up on a farm they don't have the same work ethic as we had, A farmers son were highly saugh after on the building sites of Dublin Londan and Newyork and still today they stand out from the rest

Its not that I'm disagreeing with you, but I wonder do we put too much on this farmers kids have a better work ethic than every other profession...

Maybe its different per profession?
    But in my experience in IT, I wouldn't say they stand out above anyone else really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭Who2

Its not that I'm disagreeing with you, but I wonder do we put too much on this farmers kids have a better work ethic than every other profession...

But in my experience in IT, I wouldn't say they stand out above anyone else really...

In construction they are miles ahead, farmers children search out what needs to be done others have to guided towards it. They also don’t worry when the pressures on to push that bit harder. They also look at a job and work out a way to make something work rather than just say it can’t be done.
    Only issue Is they are disaster during silage season for looking for days off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Suckler

It's a myth. A farmers son/daughter indifferent to their job will be as unmotivated as the next uninterested employee. It's a disservice to the person to say they have great work ethic because they come from a farm.

I've seen the opposite side to this as well; from farm stock working on building sites around machinery can be a know all/too cocky. Dangerous combination when on site with a few hundred people coming and going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Walked away from family farm 30 odd years ago, done the greencert and went on farm placement. Went to a good farm well paid and appreciated not like I was at home and never really settled after going back, got mind for a bit of independence, the drink and the women all needed to be paid for so took a job with local plant hire guys and no time for farming moved to dublin mid 90s driving machines met herself on a night out in McGowan in dublin and the rest is history, The only regret I have is my kids didn't grow up on a farm they don't have the same work ethic as we had, A farmers son were highly saugh after on the building sites of Dublin Londan and Newyork and still today they stand out from the rest

From a farming background myself and the phone stays in the pocket with me and ive even gotten a bit of a bollocking off my manager for being uncontactable by phone a lot of the time, two right boyos from the west and a farming background knew it all, hadnt a notion how to put on a show to get through the day, would brazenly lean on the forklift chatting away on the phone etc it was fairly embarrassing to see it be allowed go on to be fair. One lad was taking home €800/week monday to friday, the other was taking €670/week monday-fridy before any subsistence or extra overtime along with it. They finally got the road recently even though were flst to the boards these days. What a pair of clowns who could have had a handy number had they put the head down and played the game, cant see them getting money like that ever again.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭popa smurf

In my line of work groundworks utilities and landscaping there is no place to hide, small gangs of 3 lads, 2 lads on the ground and 1 man with machine and work has to be done or else you don't get paid, life as a sub contractor. Of course if you are on big sites you might get away with doing very little but the day would drag on then, for me the lad from farming back ground is more willing to muck in and get the job done more versatile with machinery and not afraid to take a chance but of course it could be all in my head.

I know exactly where youre coming from but were in a simlar line of work as yourself in utilities not a big site/workshop wed be working in either.
    No big massive infrastructure sites over here compared to other countries where you could probably still get away with dead men and getting as much men on site as you can either.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Ive been in the utility game now for 15 years. Lads from a farming/country background are great. Had a posh dub in the role above me for a few weeks last year and christ he was hard work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭JohnChadwick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Suckler

Something isn't adding up there.

See him posting fairly regularily on all the farming facebook groups. Dont mean to run the man down but if he knows his enterprise isnt viable what exactly does he want the minister do for him?. Would you really be putting in them hours to keep 30 cows?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭JohnChadwick

To me the article is just loads of clickbait soundbites thrown into one. Like blaming Eamonn Ryan is kind of hopeless if you can't streamline your operation.

Kevhog1988 wrote: »
    See him posting fairly regularily on all the farming facebook groups. Dont mean to run the man down but if he knows his enterprise isnt viable what exactly does he want the minister do for him?. Would you really be putting in them hours to keep 30 cows?.

That's what struck me, what on earth is he doing for 12-18 hours a day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭older by the day

It said at the start that he is a dairy farming. Maybe he is letting the calves suck, and then trying to milk the charlois cow twice a day after as well. That would take a few hours a day. I'm missing something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,056 ✭✭✭✭893bet

The independent really is a rag top of a paper.

Kevhog1988 wrote: »
    Ive been in the utility game now for 15 years. Lads from a farming/country background are great. Had a posh dub in the role above me for a few weeks last year and christ he was hard work.

Not as much craic with the dubs either and they dont realise how good they have it all they do is whinge about how they havent this that or the other and how they cant get a mortgage etc while they drive a flash car despite everything a stones throw from their front door but were the thick f#ckers down the sticks that would only buy brajdes clothing or the like for hitting the town etc, were the stupid onss for driving older cars and theyd rather pay €1300/month rent than leave dublin. Also they dont get paid for Saturdays either apparently, one lads on €60kplus with a vehicle and phone and still whinges for more the whole time madness.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭mycro2013

Not as much craic with the dubs either and they dont realise how good they have it all they do is whinge about how they havent this that or the other and how they cant get a mortgage etc while they drive a flash car despite everything a stones throw from their front door but were the thick f#ckers down the sticks that would only buy brajdes clothing or the like for hitting the town etc, were the stupid onss for driving older cars and theyd rather pay €1300/month rent than leave dublin. Also they dont get paid for Saturdays either apparently, one lads on €60kplus with a vehicle and phone and still whinges for more the whole time madness.

It applies to any co-workers which I have worked with, the more you earn the more you will spend. Farming can be more of a tie than a hold back. Reason being you limit your career to suit the farmer by staying in employment which is close to the farm and not taking a job which requires you to more outside your commute.

It suits alot of companies to have part time farmers as employees for seasonal work.They know if work gets quiet the farming lads will be more than happy to take time off to undertake farming duties

@Carroll's no1 any jobs going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Reading that he comes across as a man who might have depression.
    That could probably turn a 2 hour day into 12.

On the other hand I could tell my employer my hourly wages are less than 1/4 what it is if I base it on a 168 hour week rather than the 39 I actually work.

Don't think my employer (or anyone else) would see it that way but it might make a good headline.

Reading that he comes across as a man who might have depression.
    That could probably turn a 2 hour day into 12.

On the other hand I could tell my employer my hourly wages are less than 1/4 what it is if I base it on a 168 hour week rather than the 39 I actually work.

Don't think my employer (or anyone else) would see it that way but it might make a good headline.

Yeah, depression could do that for sure.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

893bet wrote: »
    The independent really is a rag top of a paper.

Agree. It's not giving that guy a voice - it's using him for click-bait

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

Just noticed the chap responding under the post the independent had on Facebook

"I'm only making this one comment to clarify a few things, firstly I was asked to do this interview I didn't seek it out, second I'm only trying to make aware the fact that alot of farmers in every different aspect of farming, be it sheep, beef dairy, tillage etc are in the same boat.
    Third selling land to have 33% taken by tax is not a option.
    Fourth yes on average it is a twelve hour day, as like many men and women it's 7 days a week, and I don't have outside help of big feeders etc, I have a split holding 4 miles apart which takes some of the day in transit, I do hire work when I can to bring in a big more revenue.
    THE article only contains the answers to the questions I was asked and my own opinions, I'm only stating the fact that I have a right to farm my land as my ancestors did before me, and I want to leave it to my daughter.
    But if anyone thinks going let someone such as the 3 self appointed fachist pigs running this country take away my rights quitley you are mistaken.
    If people wish to live under the rules of eamon and the signing cabbages be my guest, but I'll fight for my land to live off, and remember, alot of ye here are living off my land as well.
    Thanks for all the comments and opinions everyone is entitled to their own, and that is what iv tried to say here in the interview.
    If anyone has a problem please feel free to contact me about it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Costs have gone mad and farm prices have remained the same, example back in 1982 father inlaw sold out all his cattle, 20 sucklers and calves and a few followers and took a job with OPW and out of that money he built himself a nice bungalow. People taught he was mad at the time, but he was back in to a few sucklers again after a few years, never borrowed a shilling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,363 ✭✭✭kk.man

I'd say Everthing is a snails pace and the old method but I'd say the 25 cows are pets. Not bad looking animals, Ireland of the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,811 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Too many lads do not treat farming as a business. They fart around with a loss makeing system and do nothing to reduce losses or to manage there output.

I earned and worked for 16 years. The farm be er effected my job or my career. However I learned early that fencing was critical. After that I transitioned the system to keep it profitable.

Slava Ukrainii

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Too many lads do not treat farming as a business. They fart around with a loss makeing system and do nothing to reduce losses or to manage there output.

I earned and worked for 16 years. The farm be er effected my job or my career. However I learned early that fencing was critical. After that I transitioned the system to keep it profitable.

Agree 100% re fencing. Cattle fencing is good here and they left a profit in their first year here. Despite all the sheep fencing I’ve done it’s still not great here, and they have left little or no profit over the past 5 years. It’s more complicated than that but profitability is probably closely tied to good fencing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭trg

It's utter rubbish. Best lad I ever saw was son of a bank official. Never stood on a farm in his life. Plenty like him.

Agree 100% re fencing. Cattle fencing is good here and they left a profit in their first year here. Despite all the sheep fencing I’ve done it’s still not great here, and they have left little or no profit over the past 5 years. It’s more complicated than that but profitability is probably closely tied to good fencing.

Why is that do you think Siamsa?
    Is it that sheep fencing is so expensive?

I always thought the investment needed for cattle and sheep was kinda similar. With sheep the money goes on fencing and not as much housing, whereas with cattle it’s the opposite...
    Maybe that’s too simplistic to say though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭older by the day

Bad fences make bad neighbours. Most important job in farming. Nice to know an animal will be in the same place you left them tomorrow. It's a bit like the wild west a mile from me. Lads spend there lives running after cattle and arguing

Why is that do you think Siamsa?
    Is it that sheep fencing is so expensive?

I always thought the investment needed for cattle and sheep was kinda similar. With sheep the money goes on fencing and not as much housing, whereas with cattle it’s the opposite...
    Maybe that’s too simplistic to say though...

Sheep fencing is more expensive. But as well as that, you can’t manage grass properly so grow less of it and spend more on meal. It’s a time thing too - hours spent cutting bushes to patch up gaps in a ditch could be better spent on something more productive.

Ah, but you get to appreciate nature, and see the neighbours more often...

All work and no play as they say Siamsa ;)

In another rooter type confession - my poor wife gets very stressed at the thought of bad fences, and the sheep breaking out. Whereas I have found, to my surprise that I take it very much in my stride.
    I am not sure its a quality I like, but it is what it is... :D