Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Part time farming

• 30-04-2021 10:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭

I often think of the story of Sean Kelly as a young lad working on the farm before getting a summer to race on the continent, he returned to the farm in the Autumn until a European cycling manager travelled the country only to find Sean topping a field in South Tipp. Imagine if Sean had said that May, ‘nope there’s silage to be done’
    Not that I'm an amazing athlete or anything but I farm part time and work full time with a young family and right now, I find the farm can hold you back. In terms of promotion, any more hours at the day job will impact the farm, hobbies and sports become negligible because it's a tough sell to spend all day Saturday farming to go compete on a Sunday. Have you ever found yourself curbing a passion or promotion because you know that at the end of the day, you've your jobs to get done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

nqtfarmer wrote: »
    I often think of the story of Sean Kelly as a young lad working on the farm before getting a summer to race on the continent, he returned to the farm in the Autumn until a European cycling manager travelled the country only to find Sean topping a field in South Tipp.
    Not that I'm an amazing athlete or anything but I farm part time and work full time with a young family and right now, I find the farm can hold you back. In terms of promotion, any more hours at the day job will impact the farm, hobbies and sports become negligible because it's a tough sell to spend all day Saturday farming to go compete on a Sunday. Have you ever found yourself curbing a passion or promotion because you know that at the end of the day, you've your jobs to get done?
    Coarse you do, but it can make us better
    Farming with a full time job means you have to plan more, but there are compromises
    I’ve not topped nor stacked bales on out farm in 3 years, I now get contractors to do it, which frees up time for family or whatever
    Farming shouldn’t be a burden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭youllbemine

Many's a good man who didn't take an opportunity because of the farm. Family relation took over the farm at 18 after death of his father. Spent the next 40 years getting by on the bad land. He is a genius of the man and was set for a mechanical engineering degree. Who knows what that would have done for him. But at the end of it all, he's a happy man albeit a bachelor. You have plenty of options and choices throughout your life. You gotta shape it the way you want it to look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭nqtfarmer

That’s what I’m hoping, can see the massive benefits in being raised on a farm but sometimes it just feels constant. One thing affects another but everything is just a stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

I often think of the story of Sean Kelly as a young lad working on the farm before getting a summer to race on the continent, he returned to the farm in the Autumn until a European cycling manager travelled the country only to find Sean topping a field in South Tipp. Imagine if Sean had said that May, ‘nope there’s silage to be done’

My Principal’ husband is a farmer and she is all the time telling me the farm is not worth the effort and there are easier ways to excel in life. I’m middle management bit I’ve no plans going higher with the lads and atm would prefer the farmwork as extra work load. Ask me that if cattle break out.

As from hobbies etc. I gave up my muster supporters club membership years ago as I’d no time to go. Definitely won’t go now for a few years with the young crowd.

Went back Coaching a bit of soccer last year but depends on OHs work hours and not looking likely this year.

Am doing a bit of running as can go when free. Did 80km last year but only on 35 for this week as busy at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Depends on the individual really. Some are quite easy to long finger tasks & take a relaxed approach to them.others won't rest till the same tasks are done asap.

Personally speaking i try & order these same tasks in a priority order. For me it's the only way,otherwise you'd near never rest. (Surprising how many tasks aren't a immediate priority when you take time & think about them. )

I know what you mean op by your post.passage of time may guide you,if it's not too late by then for other opportunities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

See two brothers where i work theyd be on serious twine but an opportunity to progress further came up and the fella not farming went for it and got it. I reckon if i was ever in the position to get to the top like that id be leasing the farm and maybe holding onto a bit around the house.
    Was going to rear a good blast of calves this spring and get going at home myself but i realised i was only going to be burning myself out if i did it and could end up having an accident driving to/from work and thats not worth it one bit. See enough lads my age working all hours for very little around here, lockdown suits them now i suppose but ive a very different view on living compared to them.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭kerryjack

I usually buy everything and do every bit of maintennce in the spring months and stay out of the agri stores and builders merchants for rest of year, not much done around here june july and August, The shorts go on and I am in holiday mode and its beer and barbecue time, I am lucky enough I work 7 to 1 most days it suits me and my employer I kind of created the position to suit my lifestyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Someyolk

A lot depends on the size of the farm and the mindset. I know two friends with 30 odd acres each who think they have 200. Talking about all they’ve to do and how hard it is to keep the job and the farm going and keep herself happy.
    On the other hand another good friend has 150 acres, a lot of stock and a very good job, a working wife and a young family. He takes it in his stride. The place is well set up, sheds, fencing etc all good. Seems to do everything right. He never gives out about either the farm or the job. The farm hasn’t held him back and the job hasn’t let the farm suffer.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Someyolk wrote: »
    A lot depends on the size of the farm and the mindset. I know two friends with 30 odd acres each who think they have 200. Talking about all they’ve to do and how hard it is to keep the job and the farm going and keep herself happy.
    On the other hand another good friend has 150 acres, a lot of stock and a very good job, a working wife and a young family. He takes it in his stride. The place is well set up, sheds, fencing etc all good. Seems to do everything right. He never gives out about either the farm or the job. The farm hasn’t held him back and the job hasn’t let the farm suffer.

I'm not making excuses for those in the above examples but what is land quality like for the 30 acres compared to the 150 acres. By this I mean that 30 acres of poor land would take the same if not more management and labour that 150 acres of good ground.

The 150 acres would also probably have allowed previous generations to farm full-time and they might have had better facilities built up over the year's. If your friend was in the high tax bracket then it would suit him to invest in the farm and avail of tax write offs. Compare this to someone with a lesser acreage, less money coming in and it's a lot harder to invest in facilities that would leave life easier all round. All the above is based off assumptions and I could be way off the mark but it's very difficult to streamline a farming operation on small marginal farm's without massive investment of money that probably won't be sustainable from on farm income.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

100%. Things come easy to some people snd it’s not by chance.
    One thing I’m starting to realise is that people would think it’s mad spending 10k on handling facilities or fencing, or even a a couple of k on a fully trained working dog, but wouldn’t think it odd spending the 10k plus on a bit of machinery that might be used a couple of times a year of putting it into a keep that’s not really needed.
    All them things will come if you can get the work done efficiently, and not dread doing it.
    I wish I thought like that thought when I was starting out, but we can we like magpies attracted to the shiney metal!

One thing I’m starting to realise is that people would think it’s mad spending 10k on handling facilities or fencing, or even a a couple of k on a fully trained working dog, but wouldn’t think it odd spending the 10k plus on a bit of machinery that might be used a couple of times a year of putting it into a keep that’s not really needed.
    All them things will come if you can get the work done efficiently, and not dread doing it.
    I wish I thought like that thought when I was starting out, but we can we like magpies attracted to the shiney metal!

Auld fella here is extremely anti fencing and anti making life easier but he seems happy enough to tip away at it with the job as well. I just cant get my head around it at all, i wouldnt be able to sleep knowing ive no fence on the boundary.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭kk.man

In short the answer to your question is yes, farming holds you back. I might have several promotions by now only for it. Do I regret it, no because I'm addicted to farming. I'd wish to do it full time but that's not possible with the amount of land available to me. It's very hard to serve two masters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

Promotion is a cock anyhow. Working like a dog for years to look like you are capable, then get the promotion and have extra responsibility heaped on.
    I have had one in a previous job worth €9000 per annum. I did it for one year and handed it back. I got €4000 in my hand from it and it cost me about 8 hours per week. €10 per hour in my hand. Not a hope of me doing that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I suppose the difference there is that shiny metal is instant gratification where as other investments are more of a slow burn and it's only over time you see the benefits. I'm still fully in agreement with you and it's amazing the amount of lads that will drop 10s of thousands on a piece of equipment they have little use for and wouldn't fence the land, put in roadways, facilities ect that would see daily use.

There's plenty of lad's who would drive a €50,000 tractor or jeep tipping about doing feck all and yet if it came to buying a bull would tell you that €1500 was plenty to spend. I'm becoming more and more of the opinion that money spent (wisely) on fencing or handling facilities is money well spent. There's no fortune out of drystock whatever way you look at it but pallets, rotten baling twine, cornering stock behind gates ect is a way of adding extra misery to the experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Grueller wrote: »
    Promotion is a cock anyhow. Working like a dog for years to look like you are capable, then get the promotion and have extra responsibility heaped on.
    I have had one in a previous job worth €9000 per annum. I did it for one year and handed it back. I got €4000 in my hand from it and it cost me about 8 hours per week. €10 per hour in my hand. Not a hope of me doing that.

Ha - got ‘promoted’ too a while back... Good bump in wages...
    After I had a look at what was involved, dealing with a very **** customer, working all hours...
    Not worth it...

Worked a job before like that, high hours every week, almost on call all the time... So, said fcuk that... damaged my career prospects in the place I am, but don’t regret turning em down one bit...

It’s a funny thing - do a good job and you’re rewarded with more work :)

I'm not making excuses for those in the above examples but what is land quality like for the 30 acres compared to the 150 acres. By this I mean that 30 acres of poor land would take the same if not more management and labour that 150 acres of good ground.

The 150 acres would also probably have allowed previous generations to farm full-time and they might have had better facilities built up over the year's. If your friend was in the high tax bracket then it would suit him to invest in the farm and avail of tax write offs. Compare this to someone with a lesser acreage, less money coming in and it's a lot harder to invest in facilities that would leave life easier all round. All the above is based off assumptions and I could be way off the mark but it's very difficult to streamline a farming operation on small marginal farm's without massive investment of money that probably won't be sustainable from on farm income.

Yeah you are right in a way. The big farm was full time years ago but he has invested too with sheds and some land also.
    All land I mention would be average. The main difference i think is the attitudes. He has 5 times the stock of the other men and he can still spend an hour talking to a neighbour on the road on a Saturday morning. All because he is organised. He has little machinery and contracts out all slurry and silage where as one of the smaller lads makes his own bales and puts out his own slurry with newish machinery.
    I suppose to answer the op’s question it depends on the individual if the farm will hold you back in your career or if You will let it hold you back.
    The way I see work and and depending on the industry of course, the more work you do the more You will get to do. Then promotion with more work and responsibility and more hours. The extra money with tax the way it is just isn’t worth it. If you’ve a bit of land you are better at home in the evening’s with family (rather than working late in an office/site) and use the farm as tax efficiently as you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭ruwithme

What might be overlooked in looking at how others cope so well at part time farming is the availability of a father/Mother,uncle,spouse e.t.c on farm also or close by who might run errands,look at stock in a shed or field &other little reliefs. Undoubtedly a massive help to someone farming & attending a full-time job .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Jb1989

ruwithme wrote: »
    What might be overlooked in looking at how others cope so well at part time farming is the availability of a father/Mother,uncle,spouse e.t.c on farm also or close by who might run errands,look at stock in a shed or field &other little reliefs. Undoubtedly a massive help to someone farming & attending a full-time job .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭biblio

https://youtu.be/SFEQRQTDbHM?t=65
    I often think of what Billy Coleman said about other career Vs farming .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,329 ✭✭✭emaherx

Definitely passed up promotions and opportunities in my off farm career because of the farm and I don't regret it either. I even left a good position in a large multinational with plenty of opportunity for advancement at the beginning of this year in favor of a more agri orientated career. I was never big into sport, a bit of recreational cycling and swimming with the kids is about the height of it. As for hobbies and interests, mine involve mechanics, electronics and engineering and projects with the kids, I find the farm has been a great place to bring these things together and worth a lot more to me than putting in more hours working for a large company that will continue on the same with or without me. In 16 years working for the same company I had put a lot into several of their projects only for contracts to change hands and months or years of my work to simply disappear, at least with the farm at home there is some lasting accomplishment for me in everything I do to improve the place. I often see lads commenting on lost potential income if I did things a different way but I do things the way I enjoy doing them while ensuring they remain manageable and profitable.
    Coarse you do, but it can make us better
    Farming with a full time job means you have to plan more, but there are compromises
    I’ve not topped nor stacked bales on out farm in 3 years, I now get contractors to do it, which frees up time for family or whatever
    Farming shouldn’t be a burden

I've probably got one of the most mechanized small farms around and don't rely much on contractors. But then again nearly all of my machines are antiques which have been here since a time when my Dad farmed a much bigger farm. Working with and on machines is one of the parts of farming that I enjoy the most. I do agree that the farm should not be a burden and we all need to draw our own lines as to where it may become a burden.

Depends on the individual really. Some are quite easy to long finger tasks & take a relaxed approach to them.others won't rest till the same tasks are done asap.

Personally speaking i try & order these same tasks in a priority order. For me it's the only way,otherwise you'd near never rest. (Surprising how many tasks aren't a immediate priority when you take time & think about them. )

I know what you mean op by your post.passage of time may guide you,if it's not too late by then for other opportunities.

I more or less have a list of major tasks required to be done for the place, but its a fairly dynamic list with items moving up or down the list according to the feasibility of being done in the short term depending on available time/funds and the weather etc.

It is very easy to judge from a distance. I only took over the farm here 3 years ago after my Dad passed away, as much as I loved farming with him he was a fair bit of a rooter and was reluctant to allow much change from his ways. since taking over I have invested in improving perimeter fences and water infrastructure, I've also gathered up several loads of scrap and filled a few skips with the junk that was lying about. Over the next few I plan on improving existing sheds, internal fences and handling facilities, but Rome wasn't built in a day either. I don't plan any particularly massive investments as like you say the return wouldn't be there for a very long time but I will chip away with a mix of DIY, off the shelf and secondhand.

Absolutely, I wouldn't be doing half of what I am at the moment without the support of a few family members.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Ive never found that working at home causes me any issues but i would be on a very small scale. The thing i find about the day job is i can often take an hour during the day to do something but seem to get as much if not more done than others in the same role.
    If i was to be moving up the ladder any more than i currently am i would be asking to go in as a contractor and set up my own company for tax purposes. At a certain stage a couple of k increase in wages can mean feck all squared at the end of the month. Got a bonus last month and paid over half in tax

Kevhog1988 wrote: »
    Ive never found that working at home causes me any issues but i would be on a very small scale. The thing i find about the day job is i can often take an hour during the day to do something but seem to get as much if not more done than others in the same role.
    If i was to be moving up the ladder any more than i currently am i would be asking to go in as a contractor and set up my own company for tax purposes. At a certain stage a couple of k increase in wages can mean feck all squared at the end of the month. Got a bonus last month and paid over half in tax

Engineer was explaining how they get the easter bonus relative to company performance he put most of it into the pension last year just to make it worth getting. Tax system is a balls here from what i can make of it is if you earn €1 over the treshold youre whole income is taxed at the higher rate. I worked out my projected income when qualified being conservative too as i reckon there is room for more at €60,000/annum, i compared it to the Australian taxation system which has a few tiers and only taxes the income in each tier at that rate it came back as being $7000 better off on there system compared to ours this also included paying a medicare levy and you would also benefit from all the other benefits of living over there.

Better living everyone

Engineer was explaining how they get the easter bonus relative to company performance he put most of it into the pension last year just to make it worth getting. Tax system is a balls here from what i can make of it is if you earn €1 over the treshold youre whole income is taxed at the higher rate. I worked out my projected income when qualified being conservative too as i reckon there is room for more at €60,000/annum, i compared it to the Australian taxation system which has a few tiers and only taxes the income in each tier at that rate it came back as being $7000 better off on there system compared to ours this also included paying a medicare levy and you would also benefit from all the other benefits of living over there.

If you earn €1 extra and it brings you into the higher tax bracket you pay the higher tax rate on that €1 not on anything else.

I stand corrected, ive foubd it awful hard to figure out how it works over here.

Better living everyone

I stand corrected, ive foubd it awful hard to figure out how it works over here.

Yeah you only pay on the amount in the higher bracket. Last place i was at used to be giving us all types of subsistence payments in lieu of salary but its no use when your going to the bank for a mortgage.

Were lucky to get Subsistence when away from base but some crews are on it all year round, €8,800 in the arse pocket at the end of the year all the same if you can get it.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Tileman

U hand it wrong there. U pay lower rate (20% I think] up to about 35€k. Anything over that u pay at the higher rate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

Work full time as a self employed office job and have 30 acres as well. Worked hard to get where i am in work and i know for a fact that the farming side is holding me back big time at work but would gladly give up the day job to go farming full time if i could!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Far-away hills are always greener.

But if you've decided the farm is holding you back, then do something about it. That young family is only borrowed and they'll be up and gone soon.

If it's any help, I farm part-time and work off-farm 3 days/week. Our place was leased out for over 15 years and I slowly took back a few fields at a time since 2015. If I knew then what I know now, I don't think I'd have taken it on. I didn't realise how much work was needed to get it to where it's heading today. Fencing, water, reseeding, building stock numbers, learning how to manage at technical/animal level and financial level. I've invested way too many hours in it.

But I am where I am and there's no going back. I can see how the hours invested are paying off now. I am simplifying the enterprise(s) and cutting back on stock numbers. The hours needed on a weekly basis will reduce. And I have an understanding of the world now that I would never have had if I stayed in the office job 5 days/week. I'm hoping a more-rounded Daddy will help our young lads too, as well as them now being reared on a farm rather than just in a nice suburban house.

I guess what I'm saying is that things change all the time.

Simplify whatever farming you're at. Or failing that, get out of farming. Have a think about it, ask questions on here, and then decide. There's too many variables in the world to try and process all the permutations (I've been that fool!). Decide and move on.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭popa smurf

Walked away from family farm 30 odd years ago, done the greencert and went on farm placement. Went to a good farm well paid and appreciated not like I was at home and never really settled after going back, got mind for a bit of independence, the drink and the women all needed to be paid for so took a job with local plant hire guys and no time for farming moved to dublin mid 90s driving machines met herself on a night out in McGowan in dublin and the rest is history, The only regret I have is my kids didn't grow up on a farm they don't have the same work ethic as we had, A farmers son were highly saugh after on the building sites of Dublin Londan and Newyork and still today they stand out from the rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

popa smurf wrote: »
    , A farmers son were highly saugh after on the building sites of Dublin Londan and Newyork and still today they stand out from the rest

100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Walked away from family farm 30 odd years ago, done the greencert and went on farm placement. Went to a good farm well paid and appreciated not like I was at home and never really settled after going back, got mind for a bit of independence, the drink and the women all needed to be paid for so took a job with local plant hire guys and no time for farming moved to dublin mid 90s driving machines met herself on a night out in McGowan in dublin and the rest is history, The only regret I have is my kids didn't grow up on a farm they don't have the same work ethic as we had, A farmers son were highly saugh after on the building sites of Dublin Londan and Newyork and still today they stand out from the rest

Its not that I'm disagreeing with you, but I wonder do we put too much on this farmers kids have a better work ethic than every other profession...

Maybe its different per profession?
    But in my experience in IT, I wouldn't say they stand out above anyone else really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

Its not that I'm disagreeing with you, but I wonder do we put too much on this farmers kids have a better work ethic than every other profession...

But in my experience in IT, I wouldn't say they stand out above anyone else really...

In construction they are miles ahead, farmers children search out what needs to be done others have to guided towards it. They also don’t worry when the pressures on to push that bit harder. They also look at a job and work out a way to make something work rather than just say it can’t be done.
    Only issue Is they are disaster during silage season for looking for days off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

It's a myth. A farmers son/daughter indifferent to their job will be as unmotivated as the next uninterested employee. It's a disservice to the person to say they have great work ethic because they come from a farm.

I've seen the opposite side to this as well; from farm stock working on building sites around machinery can be a know all/too cocky. Dangerous combination when on site with a few hundred people coming and going.

From a farming background myself and the phone stays in the pocket with me and ive even gotten a bit of a bollocking off my manager for being uncontactable by phone a lot of the time, two right boyos from the west and a farming background knew it all, hadnt a notion how to put on a show to get through the day, would brazenly lean on the forklift chatting away on the phone etc it was fairly embarrassing to see it be allowed go on to be fair. One lad was taking home €800/week monday to friday, the other was taking €670/week monday-fridy before any subsistence or extra overtime along with it. They finally got the road recently even though were flst to the boards these days. What a pair of clowns who could have had a handy number had they put the head down and played the game, cant see them getting money like that ever again.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭popa smurf

In my line of work groundworks utilities and landscaping there is no place to hide, small gangs of 3 lads, 2 lads on the ground and 1 man with machine and work has to be done or else you don't get paid, life as a sub contractor. Of course if you are on big sites you might get away with doing very little but the day would drag on then, for me the lad from farming back ground is more willing to muck in and get the job done more versatile with machinery and not afraid to take a chance but of course it could be all in my head.

I know exactly where youre coming from but were in a simlar line of work as yourself in utilities not a big site/workshop wed be working in either.
    No big massive infrastructure sites over here compared to other countries where you could probably still get away with dead men and getting as much men on site as you can either.

Better living everyone

Ive been in the utility game now for 15 years. Lads from a farming/country background are great. Had a posh dub in the role above me for a few weeks last year and christ he was hard work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭JohnChadwick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

Something isn't adding up there.

See him posting fairly regularily on all the farming facebook groups. Dont mean to run the man down but if he knows his enterprise isnt viable what exactly does he want the minister do for him?. Would you really be putting in them hours to keep 30 cows?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭JohnChadwick

To me the article is just loads of clickbait soundbites thrown into one. Like blaming Eamonn Ryan is kind of hopeless if you can't streamline your operation.

See him posting fairly regularily on all the farming facebook groups. Dont mean to run the man down but if he knows his enterprise isnt viable what exactly does he want the minister do for him?. Would you really be putting in them hours to keep 30 cows?.

That's what struck me, what on earth is he doing for 12-18 hours a day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭older by the day

It said at the start that he is a dairy farming. Maybe he is letting the calves suck, and then trying to milk the charlois cow twice a day after as well. That would take a few hours a day. I'm missing something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,378 ✭✭✭893bet

The independent really is a rag top of a paper.

Ive been in the utility game now for 15 years. Lads from a farming/country background are great. Had a posh dub in the role above me for a few weeks last year and christ he was hard work.

Not as much craic with the dubs either and they dont realise how good they have it all they do is whinge about how they havent this that or the other and how they cant get a mortgage etc while they drive a flash car despite everything a stones throw from their front door but were the thick f#ckers down the sticks that would only buy brajdes clothing or the like for hitting the town etc, were the stupid onss for driving older cars and theyd rather pay €1300/month rent than leave dublin. Also they dont get paid for Saturdays either apparently, one lads on €60kplus with a vehicle and phone and still whinges for more the whole time madness.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭mycro2013

Not as much craic with the dubs either and they dont realise how good they have it all they do is whinge about how they havent this that or the other and how they cant get a mortgage etc while they drive a flash car despite everything a stones throw from their front door but were the thick f#ckers down the sticks that would only buy brajdes clothing or the like for hitting the town etc, were the stupid onss for driving older cars and theyd rather pay €1300/month rent than leave dublin. Also they dont get paid for Saturdays either apparently, one lads on €60kplus with a vehicle and phone and still whinges for more the whole time madness.

It applies to any co-workers which I have worked with, the more you earn the more you will spend. Farming can be more of a tie than a hold back. Reason being you limit your career to suit the farmer by staying in employment which is close to the farm and not taking a job which requires you to more outside your commute.

It suits alot of companies to have part time farmers as employees for seasonal work.They know if work gets quiet the farming lads will be more than happy to take time off to undertake farming duties

@Carroll's no1 any jobs going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

That's what struck me, what on earth is he doing for 12-18 hours a day?

Reading that he comes across as a man who might have depression.
    That could probably turn a 2 hour day into 12.

On the other hand I could tell my employer my hourly wages are less than 1/4 what it is if I base it on a 168 hour week rather than the 39 I actually work.

Don't think my employer (or anyone else) would see it that way but it might make a good headline.

Reading that he comes across as a man who might have depression.
    That could probably turn a 2 hour day into 12.

On the other hand I could tell my employer my hourly wages are less than 1/4 what it is if I base it on a 168 hour week rather than the 39 I actually work.

Don't think my employer (or anyone else) would see it that way but it might make a good headline.

Yeah, depression could do that for sure.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

893bet wrote: »
    The independent really is a rag top of a paper.

Agree. It's not giving that guy a voice - it's using him for click-bait

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube