Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who Watches the Watchmen (Our Chit Chat Thread)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭david

Yeah he’s now contemplating his life choices and selling off some Rolex

• Registered Users Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Fitz II

david wrote: »
    Yeah he’s now contemplating his life choices and selling off some Rolex

Got a vostock scubadude. Its alright. I always hate this "for the money" thing....its like saying Fitz is a nice guy for a Dubliner, its damning with faint praise.

The vostock is rough, the design is weird and not particularly aesthetic to my eye. The way the movement works is strange, the bezel is pointless and it keeps terrible time (and I dont even really care about hyper accurate timekeeping). I think vostocks are supposed to the "charming" but I have no great affinity with soviet era Russia and dont know its a period worth being nostalgic about, or giving up precious wrist time for.

A simi interesting curio is all it is really is. As a watch is not up to much and there are far better time keeping devices, and better looking ones at same price point. Ordered a casio duro to check that out, I think that may be the winner in the "for the money" segment, but an interesting segment where people put all sorts of arbitrary nonsensical priorities and limits in place that really are just excuses to buy one more watch. (I now have 4 "affordable" watches so I can see how this escalates quickly)

Anyway, I dont have a huge amount against the vostok, but I dont have much to say for it either. It provokes utter indifference in me and maybe that is the worst thing any watch can do?. Will do a full review at some point, but working on Unkles Deep See next, now thats an interesting watch and something totally out of the ordinary.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭eljono

Bought a NATO type strap for the 300M just to mix it up a bit. It was a cheap one from Amazon and the quality is only ok, but quite like the look of it and it wears well.

IMG-20210512-085723-01.jpg
    IMG-20210512-085825.jpg
    IMG-20210512-090024-01.jpg
    IMG-20210512-090724.jpg
    IMG-20210512-090729.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭One More Toy

I've got omega envy! Looks beautiful

SMP 300 is a fantastic watch, I love the no wave dial, the gloss on it is beautiful.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,904 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Fitz II wrote: »
    SMP 300 is a fantastic watch, I love the no wave dial, the gloss on it is beautiful.

i agree, thats one of the nicer variants i have to say, lovely watch.

I sold one a couple of years ago on adverts and let it go for 2k....what was I thinking? Was the brother of a very good friend and felt I needed to give him the deal he was after....to get such a watch for 2k was a gift.

Screenshot-2021-05-13-173338.png

I actually ended up buying it after I missed out on your 42mm SMP last year Fitz. After that I tried one on in Keane's and just felt it was a little too big and blingy for me, that's how I ended up going for the 41mm with the flat dial.

I got a micro-adjust clasp from a Planet Ocean a few months back, really useful upgrade, I use the adjustment quite a bit.

eljono wrote: »
    I actually ended up buying it after I missed out on your 42mm SMP last year Fitz. After that I tried one on in Keane's and just felt it was a little too big and blingy for me, that's how I ended up going for the 41mm with the flat dial.

I got a micro-adjust clasp from a Planet Ocean a few months back, really useful upgrade, I use the adjustment quite a bit.

I have had and sold 4 of them now....every time I handle one I think they are great watches, cant tell you why they dont stick. The flat dial was my favourite.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I'm spending a bonus I haven't gotten yet, but it's in my mind all the same. Had planned on a datejust but I've gone off them majorly. In fact gone off Rolex tbh. I don't like the idea of something vulgar and ostentatious for the sake of showing off. I'd like to be slightly different from the pack somewhat, subtle in effect. Playing around on Chrono24, a JLC Polaris with a brown leather strap has caught my eye, not sure of my budget yet but idea of someone who doesn't know what it is takes no notice, but someone who knows, just knows.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Homer

That’s how I was sold my IWC 3714 Portuguese!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,558 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

the only thing about JLC is that they strike me as a superb dress watch watch (ultra thin, reverso etc.), a diver style watch from them doesn't really sing to me.

must stress though this is just me - I like smart watches for crying out loud - and that if it's something that really ticks all boxes for you and will make you grin every time you catch a glimpse of it, that's what it's all about at the end of the day.

A Polaris date is high up my list should I replace the SMP, that or a GSOTM. Tried one on last year and though it's significantly larger than what I'd normally go for, I thought it was stunning.

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Pablo_Flox

Has anyone ever had any experience with a Halios watch? They seem to be very popular, and also very hard to find! I have been passively keeping my eyes open for a fairwind; but they sell very quickly (often above the price of a new one!). Being in Europe also seems to create a bit of a challenge because most sellers on the second hand market are only interested in selling within America.

I would be interested to know if anyone has ever handled one and what they thought.

Pablo_Flox wrote: »
    Has anyone ever had any experience with a Halios watch? They seem to be very popular, and also very hard to find! I have been passively keeping my eyes open for a fairwind; but they sell very quickly (often above the price of a new one!). Being in Europe also seems to create a bit of a challenge because most sellers on the second hand market are only interested in selling within America.

I would be interested to know if anyone has ever handled one and what they thought.

never bought one but have admired them, they pop up for sale on TZUK relatively frequently.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,596 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Honestly think the JLC Polaris is one of the absolute classiest watches out there.
    One that carries kudos, history and very much looks the part but with an added dash of, "if you know? You know"

• Registered Users Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Pablo_Flox

Unfortunately I can't join TZUK, they haven't allowed new members for a while.

g9pySI3l.png

I will dig out Banie's post from a while back on setting up a search alert and see if I find anything

Lads.
    I had my final exam of semester today.
    Another 7 hour slot on constitutional law.
    Open book thank god ;)
    Thing is, I actually had it done and dusted in a little over 2hrs

Which has me extremely worried!
    I've re-read the question and my answer multiple times, and there is no conceivable way I should be finished in 2hrs, yet I am?
    I'm a little over on the word count even!

We are about to learn of I understood any of those lectures I didn't watch or if I'm a prime example of Dunning Kruger!

Fingers crossed I'm not a total dumbass!

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭Cassius99

banie01 wrote: »
    We are about to learn of I understood any of those lectures I didn't watch or if I'm a prime example of Dunning Kruger!

Does your awareness that you maybe a shining example of the Dunning Kruger effect actually mean that it's an impossibility?! :)

Cassius99 wrote: »
    Does your awareness that you maybe a shining example of the Dunning Kruger effect actually mean that it's an impossibility?! :)

My worry is that I'm smart enough to know what it is, but aware that I'm an exemplar and just randomly throw it into conversation!

banie01 wrote: »
    Lads.
    I had my final exam of semester today.
    Another 7 hour slot on constitutional law.
    Open book thank god ;)
    Thing is, I actually had it done and dusted in a little over 2hrs

Which has me extremely worried!
    I've re-read the question and my answer multiple times, and there is no conceivable way I should be finished in 2hrs, yet I am?
    I'm a little over on the word count even!

Fingers crossed I'm not a total dumbass!

constitutional law :( maybe it was the lecturer i had back in the day but man that was a dull subject.

i had the late Paul Antony McDermott for Tort and criminal law, what a lecturer that guy was.

Cyrus wrote: »
    constitutional law :( maybe it was the lecturer i had back in the day but man that was a dull subject.

i had the late Paul Antony McDermott for Tort and criminal law, what a lecturer that guy was.

I havent had the pleasure.
    I do/did have Paul McCutcheon as a lecturer and everytime I listen to him or speak to him I am blown away by how sharp he is.

I also had the dubious distinction of knowing the subjects of one his lectures on Mens Rea extremely well ;)
    Then got to explain to my stepfather that his and buddies botched getaway rode a coach and horses through that element of Irish Criminal law....

Imagine being immortalised as an example of pleading pig ignorance and actually getting away with it on appeal!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Cyrus wrote: »

I was a cheeky bugger for my Law Society exams - for one Constitutional question I had the balls to say "it's a moot issue as the court would use company law (gave specific company law legislation reference) to settle this case so they would not examine the Constitutional issues raised". That is exactly what our Supreme Court would do in actuality though I wonder if the examiner thought to himself - "cute hoor - he's technically correct...the best kind of correct" :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭redlead

Does anyone follow the watch chronicler? I find it a very good quality podcast. He puts a lot of effort into his presentations. Pretty insightful stuff and not just the usual spiel.The below on the Breitling revival is very good.

https://youtu.be/gd_YESEFxgA

• Registered Users Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Thirdfox wrote: »
    I was a cheeky bugger for my Law Society exams - for one Constitutional question I had the balls to say "it's a moot issue as the court would use company law (gave specific company law legislation reference) to settle this case so they would not examine the Constitutional issues raised". That is exactly what our Supreme Court would do in actuality though I wonder if the examiner thought to himself - "cute hoor - he's technically correct...the best kind of correct" :pac:

And if you think that was bad - for my company law exam I actually wrote - "I think you asked the wrong question - since the question as phrased currently could be answered in one line, *insert one line answer* - instead I think what you intended to ask was this question and I will choose to answer that instead..."

Gave my family a fit when they asked me how I got on at the exams - "oh I said the examiner asked the wrong question and answered what he should have asked instead" :P

We were colleagues in the law firm afterwards...I never brought up my answer to his company law Q :pac: I imagine he would remember that particular asnwer... - hey passed that exam with flying colours too :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

I'm more interested in the history behind the Irish constitution (1937), the social side 'women in the home' etc. was very heavily influenced by Catholic social doctrine of the time which in turn was a reaction to French secularism and anti-clericalism at the turn of the century, a reaction to the Dreyfus scandal.

• Registered Users Posts: 713 ✭✭✭IrishPlayer

Being awhile since I last posted a watch spot from Knight Rider

Season 4 Episode 17 Knight of a Thousand Devils

Another Rolex Oyster Perpetual Datejust worn by the character Ronald Becker played by the actor Jonathan Goldsmith

yCT1EWz.jpg

XkL4iyp.jpg

Have also supported The Knight Rider Historians [Link] by buying a mug/T-Shirt as along with having two of the five screen used K.I.T.T cars, they have also found and are restoring the truck used as the F.L.A.G semi

u02WPqc.jpg

Back to watches,

Apologizes again for not being around much lately, really busy with life/work stuff but also most importantly watches!

Have been getting more and more sucked into the world of Bell-Matics, loads of very interesting discoveries, models have come up in the last few months along with getting chatting with several other collectors.

Back in March I managed to track down a January 1967 4006-7000, the same model, two months later as my November 1966 7000 Dolphin only with having that all important elusive bracelet!

MC095ID.jpg

aH8rFUo.jpg

AKgdsTs.jpg

xEgUtVT.jpg

Posted the full story and more pictures over on the Bellmatics forum [Link]

Going to get the watch itself serviced, but the bracelet has damage where the springbar goes though the end links

qtklDIU.jpg

It looks like it will be a difficult repair, wondering would anyone have any leads on where to get this kind of repair done, maybe someone local that is able to either weld or with a lathe and remake the part?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Hey guys I just got my second vaccination against the watch-buying virus, works for all known variants, divers, fliegers, homages, luxury, steel-sports, chronos, you name it.

I don't have to be careful watching YT videos and can visit watch stores all over Europe without fear of infection.

• Registered Users Posts: 619 ✭✭✭fulladapipes

I'm more interested in the history behind the Irish constitution (1937), the social side 'women in the home' etc. was very heavily influenced by Catholic social doctrine of the time which in turn was a reaction to French secularism and anti-clericalism at the turn of the century, a reaction to the Dreyfus scandal.

Catholic doctrine is also behind a lot of historic housing policy (to this day), including the actual design of housing estates (road names, church and schools at the centre) and houses (front and back gardens to encourage rural values/veg growing). Flats and communal living were disliked and discouraged as being socialist. Interestingly Nazi housing policy at the time had a lot in common with Irish housing policy. Dublin Corporation architects had to get their designs approved by the archbishop, John Charles McQuaid.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,111 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Kinda mad given Italy was into flats and the like. Both the socialists and fascists were into that sorta thing. Well population growth and urbanisation kinda forced it. Front and back gardens are more a northern Europe thing too. The further south you go urban houses are more about courtyards, all the way back to Rome(which had a lot of flats and communal living. Only the very wealthy had an internal home life) and the later Moorish influence. Personally I always preferred the courtyard vibe, with a nondescript enough front that opens into a very private space.

Maybe the church objected to it because it was modernist? The high rise apartment and communal living is very 20th century modernist, a rejection of the older more organic with more ornament. It's more "protestant" and secular. The previous modernist movement Art Nouveau is far more "catholic" and Baroque couldn't be any more "catholic" if it tried. :)

I can understand the nazi housing policy. Germany was a very rural agrarian society on top of it's industrial base. Much more than say England at the time.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.