Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where would you go next...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Any pictures with the boot open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,918 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I couldnt dream of affording that but to me that styling has crossed the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭MarkN

I promise with how it drives, you’d forgive it for anything.

Have the 128ti booked in for the end of the month so that will be a nice comparison to the Golfs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I saw an M4 Competition in the flesh up close last week and it looked magnificent

MarkN wrote: »

Have the 128ti booked in for the end of the month so that will be a nice comparison to the Golfs.

You and Bob should do a head to head with the gti and 128ti with an Irish twist.
    Mentioning how options can change the vrt rate making the cars potentially a lot more expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

MarkN wrote: »

I find now I have really no interest in cars with this level of performance anymore. I think that they will be a load of shíte in the real world as is it not almost impossible to even scratch the performance because of things like potholes, guards holding hair driers, **** roads, dash cams , penalty points, driver skill (for me at least) etc...

It's prob because I'll never afford them so convince myself all of this is true and the stuff I can afford is better based on this logic.

Like would you have more craic in a lambo in Ireland wincing at every crease in the road or in 106 rallye as you take 10s to get to 40mph on 3 wheels.

I'm getting old I think....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭maddness

vintagevrs wrote: »
    I find now I have really no interest in cars with this level of performance anymore. I think that they will be a load of shíte in the real world as is it not almost impossible to even scratch the performance because of things like potholes, guards holding hair driers, **** roads, dash cams , penalty points, driver skill (for me at least) etc...

It's prob because I'll never afford them so convince myself all of this is true and the stuff I can afford is better based on this logic.

Like would you have more craic in a lambo in Ireland wincing at every crease in the road or in 106 rallye as you take 10s to get to 40mph on 3 wheels.

I'm getting old I think....

Absolutely agree.
    My car has about 400hp and is too fast for our roads, so much so that I’m thinking of selling it.
    I went for a spin with a friend with 911 the other day and neither of us really enjoyed it as you can’t ring the neck of the car and you just end up breaking very soon after flooring it.
    I honestly think about 200 bhp in a small light car is perfect for our roads.
    I’ve no idea what would be the right car for here though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,599 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

I guess I'm not a real petrol head in the true sense of the word, not massively interested in mega powerful machines like this, I'm interested in cars for sure but for me it's more the anesthetics and comfort and features. I know I'd back off far too quickly in the likes of an m car or rs car so don't see the point, for me anyway. They are engineering marvels, showcasing what can be done but I always felt separated from them due to cost I suppose.

I've a close to 200bhp Audi A6 that does everything I want and never seems lacking in power, although I know its far from a performance machine.
    I always wanted a weekend machine and instead of out and out performance car I bought a merc SL500 2004 about 4 months ago and going to tax it for 3 months at start of June with the idea of a west of Ireland road trip in it with the fiancé for our first wedding anniversary that never happened! Wild Atlantic way maybe.
    It was 310bhp or thereabouts when released first, I've only had a few spins in it because it's not taxed and it's by no means a rocket, it's very heavy but I love how it looks and the sound is lovely too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭maddness

Buddy Bubs wrote: »
    I guess I'm not a real petrol head in the true sense of the word, not massively interested in mega powerful machines like this, I'm interested in cars for sure but for me it's more the anesthetics and comfort and features. I know I'd back off far too quickly in the likes of an m car or rs car so don't see the point, for me anyway. They are engineering marvels, showcasing what can be done but I always felt separated from them due to cost I suppose.

I've a close to 200bhp Audi A6 that does everything I want and never seems lacking in power, although I know its far from a performance machine.
    I always wanted a weekend machine and instead of out and out performance car I bought a merc SL500 2004 about 4 months ago and going to tax it for 3 months at start of June with the idea of a west of Ireland road trip in it with the fiancé for our first wedding anniversary that never happened! Wild Atlantic way maybe.
    It was 310bhp or thereabouts when released first, I've only had a few spins in it because it's not taxed and it's by no means a rocket, it's very heavy but I love how it looks and the sound is lovely too.

That’s sounds great, a 500 SL is a lovely thing to be cruising about in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭hooch-85

maddness wrote: »
    Absolutely agree.
    My car has about 400hp and is too fast for our roads, so much so that I’m thinking of selling it.
    I went for a spin with a friend with 911 the other day and neither of us really enjoyed it as you can’t ring the neck of the car and you just end up breaking very soon after flooring it.
    I honestly think about 200 bhp in a small light car is perfect for our roads.
    I’ve no idea what would be the right car for here though!

200 bhp is fun in a small car but they are generally a little harder to live with. 400bhp too fast as you say (is that a stage 2 tune?), 300 is the sweet spot for our roads in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

hooch-85 wrote: »
    200 bhp is fun in a small car but they are generally a little harder to live with. 400bhp too fast as you say (is that a stage 2 tune?), 300 is the sweet spot for our roads in my opinion.

In other words, a golf R!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,599 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

maddness wrote: »
    That’s sounds great, a 500 SL is a lovely thing to be cruising about in.

Looking forward to it. Whether I keep the car long term or not is yet to be seen but hopefully it goes up in value. Wasn't particularly big money, and my brother owns half of it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

hooch-85 wrote: »

Alright there Golfilocks!

In other words, a golf R!

Not necessarily, I drove a GTi Clubsport (MK7) recently and that was a lot of fun too;) I'm sure the MK8 would be a great car.

vintagevrs wrote: »
    Alright there Golfilocks!

Whissht you or you'll end up like those big lads in the Ford jackets you see at the rallies:D

I think owning an SL500 as weekend / summer toy entitles you to automatic membership of the petrol head club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Wailin

Nah 350-400bhp is the sweet spot lads! Quicker than the majority of cars on irish roads if so inclined, but still relatively very reasonable to run, tax and insure compared to cars more powerful like the m4 above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

Hi Lads,

Any thoughts on the car below (Merc E-Coupe)?

https://www.beshoffmotors.ie/viewanad.php?ad_id=2694015&r=

Mileage at 18K for a 3 year old seems low, but the add acknowledges this?
    Irish car, a positive...
    Impacts of Diesel when we go to trade in 3 years time (2024).
    There are a few other similar examples on CarZone and around the same price or slightly more.
    The car is actually for herself rather that me, I suggested it was to big a car for her, but that didn't go down to well.

We had a look yesterday and its very clean inside...

MisterDrak wrote: »
    Hi Lads,

Irish car, a positive...
    There are a few other similar examples on CarZone and around the same price or slightly more.
    The car is actually for herself rather that me, I suggested it was to big a car for her, but that didn't go down to well.

Lovely car. Only thing id say is that all the e class are so much nicer with the higher spec glass cockpit which jas a bigger screen where tye satnav is and filull digital dials behind the steering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Hi Lads,

Irish car, a positive...

i love the e class coupe but im not a fan of that green personally.

Personally i wouldnt buy an expensive diesel now either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Hi Lads,

Off topic, but WHY DO LOADS OF GARAGES DO THEIR ADVERTS LIKE THIS WHEN IT JUST MAKES IT HARDER TO READ I REALLY DON'T UNDERSTAND?
    Looking forward to it. Whether I keep the car long term or not is yet to be seen but hopefully it goes up in value. Wasn't particularly big money, and my brother owns half of it too.

That's gorgeous and they have great presence on the road, well wear! :)

There are a few other similar examples on CarZone and around the same price or slightly more. ...............

I'm looking to change myself later in the year and I'm painfully aware that stuff is gone mad pricewise but there must be a looney premium applied to the coupe for 3 year old 2.0 diesels so be commanding that sort of cash........... €10k+ over what saloons go for?

I reckon you'd be looking at €25k depreciation by 2024 if not more if they bring in congestion charges and all that sort of sh1t.........

A 151 here from Conlons who aren't cheap......... https://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/mercedes-benz/e-class/fpa/202003118295081?SOURCE_ID=SOURCE_ID_FPA_FROM_FEAT_LIST&journey=FeaturedListing ........ retailing for €23k ........... whoever traded that in didn't see €20k realistically.

Hi Lads,

Irish car, a positive...

My god, I just had a look and Beshoffs have some beautiful stock.

I like that e class coupe. I love that green. Looks black in some lights, very classy.
    It seems well priced in comparison to all others available.
    I don’t like the cheapo dash they put in them at that time but if your wife likes it it’s not a problem. Nearly all the Irish ones are 220d’s anyway so if you can live with diesel that’s grand. It’ll hold value as well as anything comparable at that price point.
    The market is crazy price wise at the moment so who knows what it’ll be worth in a few years?

I see they have a 2018 golf R at 40k. Maybe you could convince her that’s a better buy!

I can’t stop looking at this one! Literally stops people in their tracks.

A0-FDDEA4-2000-42-A1-9-C84-190434-D3932-B.jpg
    9647-F29-E-116-B-43-E6-9473-4-B1-F9-DE1-C10-A.jpg
    79-B92325-E3-C6-4529-9-F97-04-FA8541-E5-DA.jpg
    1-BD250-AE-0986-4467-AF83-4-B8227-E7530-F.jpg
    E9-DC3-DB9-8-FCC-48-E7-BF35-009-ECA3-EACD1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,694 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Are you reviewing that mark? Very pretty alright. How much are they approx?

I am! Ah only €132,000 :D

A much nicer looking car than the M4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I was going thorough the "poshest" part of my compound on Tuesday and one of those caught my eye. Which says a lot as there are Ferrari's, 911's and Rolls everywhere down there so you don't really see things standing out massively. It was stunning in white.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

What I don't understand is why people are so up in arms about the front of the M4 when clearly the Lexus is on par with it if not overtaking it with regard to the HUGE grille.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

What I don't understand is why people are so up in arms about the front of the M4 when clearly the Lexus is on par with it if not overtaking it with regard to the HUGE grille.

I think it's because A: BMW Kidney grilles have always been small & above the reg plate & B: Lexus' are often ugly & not mass sellers anyway. It's like when Britney Spears shaved her hair off, loads of people went mental, if Susan Boyle did it people wouldn't care as much.

Its not so much the huge grille thats the issue on the bmw, its the design of it.
    The lexus grille at least looks like its part of the original design. The bmw 4 series in particular looks like a cheap aftermarket front bumper with the bodywork fibreglassed up to a grille that came off something else.