If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Signs that you're getting old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

appledrop wrote: »
    I did the same yesterday. I'm just so used to tapping the cards now and not using the pin when they said 'Oh that didn't go through will you enter your pin, I panicked and couldn't remember. Nearly got my card blocked.

use your car number plate

When ya can get 6+ hours kip, and can produce a relatively decent 'numero deux' :pac: :P ; all other aches/pains/worries/anxieties etc aside, it can be considered a pretty good day, all in all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Goldfinch8

When having romantic notions before bedtime means secretly putting on the electric blanket to surprise your partner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Pandiculation

When you realise that ‘The Derry Girls’, set in the early to mid 1990s, is actually looking further back in time than ‘The Wonder Years’ was when it was produced in 1988.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Mind blown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,720 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

And I know its probably been done to death already but the amount of hair now growing out of my ears is directly proportional to the amount that no longer grows on the top of my head. My receding hair line is racing back to meet the bald patch on my crown like some sort of out of control wild fire.

I think I'm getting to the point where the mid life crisis is going to kick in and I'll start browsing websites that sell dodgy wigs....

Ah yer alright sure doesn't Fozzie Bear wear a hat? :D

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Archeron wrote: »
    I yelled angrily at clouds when I paid 1.50 for a bag of tayto crisps in a petrol station.
    Back in my day 1.50 was a giant almond mars bar and a supercan of cherry coke money.

It is amount of everything sold from years ago that has got less, that annoys me.
    Tayto used to sell full packets of crisps now it is lucky if they are three quarters full.

It was not only me giving out about that there is another thread on boards from 16 years ago.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=173452

Rolo's were the other one that annoyed me. The ads used to get used to say 'don't take my last Rolo'. But stopped that and then they reduced the packs from 11 to 10.

https://www.snackhistory.com/rolo

"In 1980 Rolo began to use the slogan "Do you love anyone enough to give them your last Rolo?"; Although the use of this phrase was ended due to what was viewed as changes in peoples perceptions about relationships. The Rolo brand reduced the number of Rolos from 11 to 10, prompting some individuals online to use jokes referring to the company “taking the last Rolo”, and similar jokes of that variety."

I think it is definitely a sign of getting old when you get annoyed over these type of things. I am on them companies though. They can't cod me. I just eat more..... :o

When we were in our 20s/30s hospitality staff called us “ ladies.” Since we got into our 50s, we became “ girls!”

My version of that was when I was younger when walking Dublin inner City it was common to get a roar such as 'Heor yung filla'. Now I noticed it has gone from that to 'Heor Mister'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭appledrop

The last few weeks I've started to automatically wake up early before the alarm goes to get up for work and even worse I'm waking up at same time at the weekend!

Very worrying I must be getting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,087 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

When your granddaughter tells you that "you have nice legs , except your knees are old and wrinkly " :o

https://forumofgames.com/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭Sharpyshoot

Goldfinch8 wrote: »
    When having romantic notions before bedtime means secretly putting on the electric blanket to surprise your partner.

Put onto max, she won’t be long togging off into the racing gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭The Oort Cloud

Everyday in the morning when you get up and you crawl out of bed
    And you look at the moon where the window is
    And the stars shine, and the stars shine, and the stars shine
    Everyday in the morning when you get up and you crawl out of bed

And way down below in the sun belt
    And the telephones, and the telephone, and the telephones
    And you look out the moon where the window is
    Everyday in the morning when you get up and you crawl out of bed.

Individual people have different thoughts and understanding in regard to others opinions, but the problem is this... there are some people out there that will do everything in their power to cut you off when they do not like your opinion even when it is truth.

https://youtu.be/v8EseBe4eIU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭Deedsie

As I got older noise pollution drives me more and more insane. People being loud after 21:00 should be considered public nuisance. Unnecessarily noisy and fast cars driving through residential areas. Grow up you absolute gowls.

Pubs that are situated within residential areas not giving a sh1t about the impact the noise their customers makes has on residents living closeby.

Stuff wouldnt have bother me me as a younger person but as I get older, seeing people having zero consideration for other people really winds me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭The Oort Cloud

Deedsie wrote: »
    As I got older noise pollution drives me more and more insane. People being loud after 21:00 should be considered public nuisance. Unnecessarily noisy and fast cars driving through residential areas. Grow up you absolute gowls.

Pubs that are situated within residential areas not giving a sh1t about the impact the noise their customers makes has on residents living closeby.

Stuff wouldnt have bother me me as a younger person but as I get older, seeing people having zero consideration for other people really winds me up.

The life cycle of old age must intertwine with the new. The beauty of change within a new generation of new minds of which will rule this planet soon as it is their time to rule it. Older folk should embrace it, because if you do not, you will be left behind, a hard truth as times are a changing....

Individual people have different thoughts and understanding in regard to others opinions, but the problem is this... there are some people out there that will do everything in their power to cut you off when they do not like your opinion even when it is truth.

https://youtu.be/v8EseBe4eIU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 putthekettleon

Buy some tweezers, for men. You'll need to pluck your ears too.

Being awake at 7am on a sunday morning, looking at the clock thinking "only an hour and a half till John Bowman's programme".

Might pluck some ear-hair to pass the time.

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    use your car number plate

It is a very good idea but personally I could not tell you my car number plate if you offered me a million bucks. But that has been a lifelong thing, nothing to do with age. Complete car blindness. I am just grateful I remember the colour of it so I can find where the hell is it in the supermarket car park. And yes, it is not rare that I stand (briefly, thank goodness) beside another silver car squeezing my key fob wondering why the hell the car makes no noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭black & white

When researching accommodation for annual fortnight abroad, have a look at the photos to see if there's a comfortable chair in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Gorteen

You're the only person in the household who doesn't mind watching a movie in Black & White... or with sub-titles.... or both!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭waxmelts2000

My online dating profile changing from age 49 to age 50. today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

When you finally realize that every generation before you actually had it harder in their day than you do now.
    And listening to all the younger generation thinking they have it harder nowadays, you just nod your head to appease then and says to yourself "They are young, they will learn how wrong they are when their kids are moaning at them".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

You can remember those weird chain letters: basically it was- copy this out and send it to 5 other people or DIE! :eek:

WTH was the point of them :confused:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

My online dating profile changing from age 49 to age 50. today!

Happy birthday !!!

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

Gorteen wrote: »
    You're the only person in the household who doesn't mind watching a movie in Black & White... or with sub-titles.... or both!!!!

That’s not age. It’s sophistication. You can’t help living in a household of uncultured simpletons.

It’s only age if you were at the cinema when they were originally released.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,936 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Being awake at 7am on a sunday morning, looking at the clock thinking "only an hour and a half till John Bowman's programme".

Might pluck some ear-hair to pass the time.

Or realizing that the music played by Ronan Collins from 12-1 on weekdays doesn't sound as bad as it used to.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

When a new pain starts suddenly in a joint you wonder will it just take a month to go away or is it there forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Esho

My version of that was when I was younger when walking Dublin inner City it was common to get a roar such as 'Heor yung filla'. Now I noticed it has gone from that to 'Heor Mister'.

:-)
    Im called Sir in shops now!

I remember my mom was extremely annoyed when she went to hospital and a nice woman who was about 5 years her junior, but looked much older than her, introduced herself as her consultant geriatrician!

She was only in her mid 60s at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭Seanachai

Buy some tweezers, for men. You'll need to pluck your ears too.

I had to start plucking in my twenties, I just get it burned out now in the Turkish barbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Esho

I remember my mom was extremely annoyed when she went to hospital and a nice woman who was about 5 years her junior, but looked much older than her, introduced herself as her geriatrician!

I was in hospital for the first time recently - the interns were as young as guards!