Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Would you ever consider moving to continental Europe? And if so where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭yer man!

Jim2007 wrote: »
    Your spontaneity is just being disorganized and expecting everyone one else to accommodate you.. why should they drop what ever they were intending to do to entertain you? especially when you are the outsider?

For most of Central Europe, especially the Germanic countries, people have work colleagues and friends and the two don’t usually overlap. Friends are the people you socialize with, not work colleagues, that is just how it is.

I’m retired now but I worked 30 years in Switzerland and don’t have any contracts with former work colleagues, it’s just how it is. I probably have say 10 good Swiss friends that I’m in constant contact with and say another 50 in my outer circle. They are people I have met through the years from when my kids were in school, community activities, clubs and so on. I can’t say I know anyone with a lot of work friends.

Yeah that's probably accurate, where I work all the Dutch people live where they grew up more or less so they don't have much incentive to make new friends anyway. Place is so small relocation within the country means it's very easy to still see everyone.

I have made great friends with other immigrants, especially the Greek lads, they're great craic!

Does The Irish Times still do that thing, comparing 'bang for your buck' in Dublin/France/Italy?

What €350,000 gets you in Dublin
    https://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/53-floraville-avenue-clondalkin-dublin-22/4492399

And Italy
    https://www.aplaceinthesun.com/property/details/ap2695970/lajatico-ref-4655

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Does The Irish Times still do that thing, comparing 'bang for your buck' in Dublin/France/Italy?

What €350,000 gets you in Dublin
    https://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/53-floraville-avenue-clondalkin-dublin-22/4492399

And Italy
    https://www.aplaceinthesun.com/property/details/ap2695970/lajatico-ref-4655

That Italian place is nice and all, but no en suite bathrooms....

/sarcasm

Can anyone explain the Irish obsession with en suite bathrooms?

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,771 ✭✭✭✭josip

Brian? wrote: »
    That Italian place is nice and all, but no en suite bathrooms....

/sarcasm

Can anyone explain the Irish obsession with en suite bathrooms?

Most of us go to bed well sozzled (national stereotype) every night and usually have to get up at least once in the middle of the night to relieve bladder pressure.
    For those who have never done it, this can be quite a stressful and disorienting experience, as you will often be still well sozzled and not fully awake, in the dark because you can't find the light switch and under severe time/bladder pressure.
    Those of use with experience, know not to panic and simply work our way around, keeping our hand on the wall until we find the door.

This technique served me faithfully until living in Queenstown NZ, when I became trapped in a sliderobe wardrobe one night.
    After 3 circuits of the interior, I accepted (in my stupour) that I was hopelessly trapped and was not going to escape in time so I chose what I hoped was a back corner and swallowed my shame.
    A friend from Scotland staying with us 3 weeks later got similarly trapped, so not completely anecdotal.

Having an ensuite makes the night time trips a much less fraught experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭flipflophead22

Yep. I'd love the Netherlands, Belgium, Sweden, Germany or France. Just had my first job application binned.

Had any luck since?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Oymyakon

Was originally looking at Eindhoven / Utrecht but now looking into Belgium, specifically Brussels or Gent, but open to much of Vlaanders, looks like rent prices are way cheaper.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,960 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Had any luck since?

Only applied for the one. I'll be checking out LinkedIn for opportunities every so often. My contract in London is up in May so I've time yet.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,714 ✭✭✭zweton

Oymyakon wrote: »
    Was originally looking at Eindhoven / Utrecht but now looking into Belgium, specifically Brussels or Gent, but open to much of Vlaanders, looks like rent prices are way cheaper.

have you been you utrecht or eindhoven before? Also could you link me to those rent prices? That would be an important one for me.

zweton wrote: »
    have you been you utrecht or eindhoven before? Also could you link me to those rent prices? That would be an important one for me.

Only been to Amsterdam in NL, but plenty of people with my degree go to Eindhoven, and Utrecht just looks gorgeous, almost like Amsterdam lite but the rent prices reflect the demand of living in such a place.

I was using funda.nl and kamernet (to look at room shares), the Dutch housing crisis and rental is almost as bad as ours.

For Belgian rent prices, I was looking at immoweb.be, you'll find 2/3 bedroom furnished apartments for <1,000 EUR.

Only been to Amsterdam in NL, but plenty of people with my degree go to Eindhoven, and Utrecht just looks gorgeous, almost like Amsterdam lite but the rent prices reflect the demand of living in such a place.

I was using funda.nl and kamernet (to look at room shares), the Dutch housing crisis and rental is almost as bad as ours.

For Belgian rent prices, I was looking at immoweb.be, you'll find 2/3 bedroom furnished apartments for <1,000 EUR.

your right its as bad as ours if not worse...have you looked at leiden, cheaper again i think and looks lovely.

It’s nowhere near as bad as Ireland, I’ve been checking for rentals in Ireland in case I want to move home. 2k a month for a 2 bed house in Maynooth ???

1850-2000 a month for a 3 bed semi in Celbridge.

No way are you going to pay that in Eindhoven.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

It’s nowhere near as bad as Ireland, I’ve been checking for rentals in Ireland in case I want to move home. 2k a month for a 2 bed house in Maynooth ???

1850-2000 a month for a 3 bed semi in Celbridge.

No way are you going to pay that in Eindhoven.

Ya but its Eindhoven:P But in all seriousness how does Eindhoven compare with Utrecht and Leiden? Would they be considered a prettier city and would Eindhoven be as popular to move to compared to Utrecht and Leiden? I wondered as Utrecht and Leiden are mentioned alot when people move over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,716 ✭✭✭Yellow_Fern

Leiden is lovely. The stairs there in homes tend to be lethally steep though

Ya but its Eindhoven:P But in all seriousness how does Eindhoven compare with Utrecht and Leiden? Would they be considered a prettier city and would Eindhoven be as popular to move to compared to Utrecht and Leiden? I wondered as Utrecht and Leiden are mentioned alot when people move over.

Eindhoven isn't your conventionally pretty Dutch city, it's a bit more industrial but I think it has a big international and young workforce which makes it an attractive place to live, but in the last 5 years ago house prices and rents have been going up similar to the likes of Utrecht

Eindhoven is utilitarian. A wonderfully convenient place to live. It's brilliantly organised and laid out perfectly for bikes and buses. Cars come a distant third. It has a huge amount of amenities; cinemas, sports clubs, parks, Mountain bike trails etc. .

When it comes back, the nightlife is good. Good restaurants, 3 x Michelin star restaurants in the city. Great outdoor eating and drinking.

Most importantly for a lot of people here, there are well paying jobs in companies who's primary language is English. Learning Dutch is entirely optional.

BUT, Eindhoven is not a traditionally 'pretty' city. It didn't really exist 100 years ago and was built by Philips. It's a post industrial city now. A lot of the old Philips factories have been repurposed as shops, bars and restaurant. Which I love. A conscious decision has been made to maintain some of the industrial facades. There is also some seriously good graffiti artists commissioned to work around the city.

In aesthetic it's closer to East Berlin than it is to Amsterdam or Leiden.

This is Strijp-S, used to be all Philips lighting factories. Now I go there to eat, drink, go to the cinema, got to a concert, skateboard/BMX or indoor climb etc..

https://www.thisiseindhoven.com/en/visit/exciting-districts/strijp-s

Leiden, s' Hertogenbosch (Den Bosch) and Breda are very pretty cities. Historical trading centers. But the employment prospects are lower.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Was just looking at rents in Utrecht looks insane for what you get

What site were you checking?

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,487 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

I moved to Germany after completing my Masters in England. I loved German in secondary school, studied it extensively for my undergraduate degree, and considered myself pretty fluent before I moved to Germany. Knowing the language is very important if you want to truly integrate in a country. Otherwise you'll always feel like an outsider, or gravitate towards other expats who can't be bothered learning the language.

I know it's a bit of a cliché, but the Germans really are very organised people. Things tend to run really well over here. They are also very friendly people, and far less cliquey than the Irish. The food is pretty horrific though, and no one who complains endlessly about RTÉ has had to watch German television.

I'm very lucky to have moved from one of the best run countries in the world to a country that I feel is even slightly better run.

England is one of the best run countries in the world?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,487 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

I could see myself going back but my problem is where. Dublin is no better than London in terms of affordability whereas the countryside is a no-no. I could probably get work in Limerick but I've never been there.

Limerick is a great place to live.

J Mysterio wrote: »

I think it's got great potential. Definitely a huge skilled workforce there with the University. With a bit of forward thinking city planning it could be the next best place for investment after Dublin.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,960 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I think it's got great potential. Definitely a huge skilled workforce there with the University. With a bit of forward thinking city planning it could be the next best place for investment after Dublin.

I've never been. I've been convinced that it's probably safer than I think it is. It looks a lot more developed that most non-Dublin places in Ireland as well.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 13,445 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Probably Berlin for the record shops.

What site were you checking?

funda and pararius, do you have an example of a nice place for rent in utecht at a reasonable price?

Nope. I was just wondering. That’s what I’d check as well.

Bench marked against Dublin, Utrecht is very cheap

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

I've never been. I've been convinced that it's probably safer than I think it is. It looks a lot more developed that most non-Dublin places in Ireland as well.

Limerick is completely safe. There are maybe two/ three run down areas, none of which need to be visited, and they keep largely to themselves.

There was an issue with gangs (mostly affected those in the aforementioned areas) which were allowed to run around in the 90s but these were wiped out by determined Garda operations at the end of the 90s/ early 2000s, and the introduction of the Special Criminal Court.

People are friendly and humble and proud of their city. They are welcoming and want you to like the city too.

It has a good balance between urban/ rural, and all the facilities you would expect of a city, with great nature that is easily accesible (the Shannon/ hillwalks) and very nice towns surrounding to spend time in (Kilaloe/ Adare).

The University of Limerick is the nicest campus in Ireland. Very green and world class sporting facilities (big gym, running tracks, astro pitches, climbing walls, olympic swimming pool).

The National Technological Park is built around the university and has lots of multinationals. There are others around the Dooradoyle/ Raheen area too. Regeneron may be a fit for you, and they are hiring.

Sport probably isn't your thing, but Limerick is mad for sport too, particularly Rugby and hurling. A visit to a Munster match in Thomond Park is a must.

The pubs are great, though the nightclubs may be a little lacking. There's a very good range of restaurants and they are improving all the time. Limerick has the best Japanese restaurant I've been to in Ireland (Kyoto), and the best Indian (Copper and Spice).

One caveat that is only applicable to a tiny minority, but the restaurant scene isn't so great if you're a vegan ;)

Nope. I was just wondering. That’s what I’d check as well.

Bench marked against Dublin, Utrecht is very cheap

rent wise?

rent wise?

Yes, from what I can see on Daft.ie

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Yes, from what I can see on Daft.ie

suppose it depends what county your looking at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭Living Off The Splash

Leiden, s' Hertogenbosch (Den Bosch) and Breda are very pretty cities. Historical trading centers. But the employment prospects are lower.

https://ibecomingdutch.wordpress.com/2018/05/11/bossche-bol-bosche-ball/

I would go back just to eat more of these.

Leiden is a lovely town. Den Bosch very pretty. Breda lovely. You could live right in the centre of town and everything would be on your doorstep.