If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Domestic Solar PV Quotes 2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭keizer

ciotog wrote: »
    After grant?

This price does not include the grant which will knock at least €1800 off the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭keizer

idc wrote: »
    How would that involve changing the water tank ?? The diverter is connected to your immersion.
    Yes a more fancy tank might have immersion elements better positioned - ie one near the top and one at the bottom in which case a diverter can be configured to heat one first and then the other. My installer just connected the diverter before the bath/sink switch as he said the temperature gauge in most immersions with the two coils at the top won't really tell the difference between the two.

The tank isn't exactly huge and I feel that the hot water would be wasted anyway as we have electric showers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭championc

Ragmaninov wrote: »
    What do I win??

For reference the thinking behind the hybrid inverter on the no battery option was ‘futureproofing’

Not necessary - you can buy a Sofar ME3000 Storage Inverter later on. It is basically like a Tesla Powerwall - a standalone storage unit, which can also be controlled for charging and discharging unlike hybrids which are uncontrolable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭idc

championc wrote: »
    Not necessary - you can buy a Sofar ME3000 Storage Inverter later on. It is basically like a Tesla Powerwall - a standalone storage unit, which can also be controlled for charging and discharging unlike hybrids which are uncontrolable

What do you mean by controlled for charging and discharging ? how come hybrids can't/don't do this ?

My inverter has two time periods where i can charge from grid to a set % of battery.
    And if i so wish i can also set 2 discharge periods where it will also discharge to a set % percentage of battery.

Does the Sofar ME3000 do something much more than that ?

(admittedly I'd prefer if the 2 time periods had separate % values if i end up eventually on a smart meter with the cheapest period between 2am and 4am, and not wanting to start charging between 11/12 and 2am)

The main thing is when charging an EV with a Zappi. You can charge with solar excess before it gets added to your battery.

An ME3000 allows a 3kW discharge rate, which can be ADDED to your solar generation. So you could easily have 6kW from a 3kW normal inverter and the ME3000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭simpsimp

Have had a few quotes and about to choose a supplier, so glad to find this thread. Hope you can shed some light on what we've been offered and steer us in a better direction if possible!

We're a mid-terrace SW facing central Dublin property, so lots of sun, not lots of roof... Hot water and heating is driven by a heat pump, so PV Solar is intended to drive the heat pump itself, and appliances.

QUOTES (All quotes ex SEAI grant, inc VAT)

Supplier #1:-
    8 Peimar 310w panels / 2.48kWp Array
    No Battery
    Huawei Hybrid Inverter
    €7,895

Supplier #2:-
    8 Longi 355w panels / 2.84kWp Array
    2.4kWhr Pylontech Battery
    Solis String Inverter
    €7,680

Supplier #3:-
    7 Longi 360w panels / 2.52kWp Array
    3.6kWhr Solax Battery
    Solax String Inverter
    €7,835

Any thoughts or recommendations?

I did not feel that Supplier #1 gave us a realistic system design...
    So suppliers #2 and #3 are contenders.
    But from going onto solar product supplier websites, e.g. solartricity.ie / midsummer.ie, I'm estimating around €3,000 inc VAT for the panels / inverter / battery in each setup.
    Of course there's more bits and pieces that I'm missing, but that seems like a lot for labour and overhead?

Thanks in advance for your advice!

You can get 7 panels via Solar as a Service supplier (s). They charge €20 per month over 10 years - so €2400. You could buy out the system straight away and then add whatever bits you want later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭deravarra

championc wrote: »
    You can get 7 panels via Solar as a Service supplier (s). They charge €20 per month over 10 years - so €2400. You could buy out the system straight away and then add whatever bits you want later

I may have asked already, but can you pm me details.
    Didn't realise you could buy out the system before the 10 years was up.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 7,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭graememk

idc wrote: »
    What do you mean by controlled for charging and discharging ? how come hybrids can't/don't do this ?

My inverter has two time periods where i can charge from grid to a set % of battery.
    And if i so wish i can also set 2 discharge periods where it will also discharge to a set % percentage of battery.

Does the Sofar ME3000 do something much more than that ?

(admittedly I'd prefer if the 2 time periods had separate % values if i end up eventually on a smart meter with the cheapest period between 2am and 4am, and not wanting to start charging between 11/12 and 2am)

going a bit Off topic here but i'll be quick

the main control of it is either Auto/Timed/Time of use/passive(control via rs485)

Havent used the timed, but before I went passive control, I used the Time of use to Charge/prevent discharge on night rate, eg charge at 2000w from 00:00 to 09:00 to 100%

Currently on full control from NodeRed - and basically i can do whatever i want now, if i can put it into code.

My*****.ie Google it. They advertise on the radio too I think.

I did a self install but if starting again, I would get this and add to the max panels afterwards.

simpsimp wrote: »

Any thoughts or recommendations?

Do consider a battery-less route, with a 2.8kwp, and your restricted roof space, Its hardly worthwhile for the extra cost. - If you have both quotes to hand you can compare the two.

Sure you'll be exporting on good days, but on the less than perfect days, there wont be much excess to put into the battery.

(the solar as a service, price is including the SEAI grant, I used to know who done it, but cant remember now)

graememk wrote: »
    Do consider a battery-less route, with a 2.8kwp, and your restricted roof space, Its hardly worthwhile for the extra cost. - If you have both quotes to hand you can compare the two.

Sure you'll be exporting on good days, but on the less than perfect days, there wont be much excess to put into the battery.

We were debating this point. One reason to go with the battery is to power the heat pump when it's doing its late night thing. But that might be needed at a time of year when there is less sun to power the battery. On the other hand, we do have a very sunny aspect, so we're kind of sold on the battery thing, albeit a small battery.

simpsimp wrote: »
    We were debating this point. One reason to go with the battery is to power the heat pump when it's doing its late night thing. But that might be needed at a time of year when there is less sun to power the battery. On the other hand, we do have a very sunny aspect, so we're kind of sold on the battery thing, albeit a small battery.

If the heat pump is doing its thing late at night it would (should?) be on night rate, and then also the battery would need to last until then too.

Do you have any idea of your current base electricity load of your house.

I'm also assuming that you aren't eligible for the grant as your house is most likely newer than 2011 if you have a heat pump.

If the heat pump is doing its thing late at night it would (should?) be on night rate, and then also the battery would need to last until then too.

We're not using night rate electricity, as we were waiting to see how our usage patterns emerged, and we weren't sure it would balance in our favour, as most of our usage is still in the day.
    Regarding battery - I assumed that a modern l-ion battery would not self discharge in such a short period?
    Do you have any idea of your current base electricity load of your house.

Over the past two years we're averaging 6,500KW per year.
    I'm also assuming that you aren't eligible for the grant as your house is most likely newer than 2011 if you have a heat pump.

Our house was built in 1934, but we brought it up to an A3 in 2018, so yes, we're eligible for the grant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭phili_g

Have been getting quotes for a while now and best I have as follows:

10 x Suntech 390W panels
    5 kW Badger PV invertor
    Solar iBoost immersion diverter
    Installation, brackets & mounts, safety switches & wiring etc

€4,300 after grant

Is this about right for above system?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,469 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

going a bit Off topic here but i'll be quick

the main control of it is either Auto/Timed/Time of use/passive(control via rs485)

Havent used the timed, but before I went passive control, I used the Time of use to Charge/prevent discharge on night rate, eg charge at 2000w from 00:00 to 09:00 to 100%

Currently on full control from NodeRed - and basically i can do whatever i want now, if i can put it into code.

BPE Inverters have a lot of that battery charge/discharge functionality

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭Deagol

phili_g wrote: »

10 x Suntech 390W panels
    5 kW Badger PV invertor

€4,300 after grant

I'll answer that by telling you that you could buy the parts for about €2700 and it's a day's work for 3 people to install.

So you are paying around €3600 in labour for 3 people for a day. Not exactly good value for money is it?

Deagol wrote: »
    So you are paying around €3600 in labour for 3 people for a day. Not exactly good value for money is it?

But if you want to have Solar PV installed by an SEAI approved company, is there any alternative to paying this overhead? Are there any companies who install at lower margins? From reading through this thread, and from my own experience, it doesn't seem like it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭samdeluxjones

gomamochi1 wrote: »
    Hi there where did you get the batteries and did you attach 4 to the one 5kw Solis inverter as I understand you are not meant to attach more than 3 to 5kw inverter? Thanks

Got everything on the invoice plus extra battery from solartricity.ie.

Yea the 4 X 2.4 Pylontechs give 9.6kWh working grand, charge up during the day and discharge from 7pm to 3-4am.

Yes during the winter I'll probably set them to charge at night and discharge in the evening.

Only 1 charge and discharge set time on the solis hybrid inverter, is there any way to increase this to 2 even by adding sometime extra?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭phili_g

Deagol wrote: »
    I'll answer that by telling you that you could buy the parts for about €2700 and it's a day's work for 3 people to install.

Hi Deagol,

I got a quote from wholesaler for all of the equipment and it came to almost exactly €2700.
    However I don't have the capability to install it myself, and the grant is only available via registered SEAI installers.
    Obviously the installers are factoring in the grant into their margins, but as a consumer I don't have any other option but to go through a registered installer.
    Really just trying to get a feeling for what I can expect this to cost via an installer.
    Initial quotes I received were in excess of €7,000 for same system which I knew was madness, €4,300 is the best I have been quoted across 4 separate companies.

Thanks.

In some respects people need to be viewing the grant money as non existent and just say it will cost me xx amount after grant. Is that a fair price or can I do better.

Yep, only cost that matters is cash cost after grant as that's the net outlay

slave1 wrote: »
    Yep, only cost that matters is cash cost after grant as that's the net outlay

People are getting too hung up on the grant money going to the installer as additional profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭samdeluxjones

People are getting too hung up on the grant money going to the installer as additional profit.

When it goes this summer we will also see a shed load of sun power solar pv eco energy green power vans disappearing off our roads too..

Well there are some total rip off cowboys out there but just looking at materials is a bit shortsighted, employees need paying, employers need to add PRSI to that, expenses need to be paid, insurance for going on roofs, a day or two install time, sourcing and paying for materials, providing an after sales service for X number of years, van overheads, office overheads, admin overheads, plus a profit needs to be made!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,159 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Exactly, my installer charged €200 per panel installed. I could find the same panel at the time for about €135 so he was probably getting them for about €100-110 I suppose. So he made about €1800-2000 on the panels for my install.

There were 3 lads at it for nearly 2 days, bear in mind I had 11 on the house and 9 on the garage. The rain stopped them for a while on day 1.

I don't think that's an unreasonable figure for him to pay them and make a few quid himself.

If I decide to add 5 more on the garage (most likely will) then that'll be another €1k fitted and given that they'll need to move the current 9 down a bit to fit the additional 5 I don't think that's a bad price.

Finally after 2 years of reading these threads I've started the ball rolling with the solar as a service crowd.

House was a d2 back in 2014 according to the ber we got when buying.
    I put in a new oil boiler and a door in the hallway and got an assessment last week. House is a C1 before we start with the solar.

Making enquiries about extra panels so I'll wait to see the price.
    All I need now is a date. Covid held them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭MAULBROOK

phili_g wrote: »

10 x Suntech 390W panels
    5 kW Badger PV invertor

€4,300 after grant

If it includes the BER, I think that's no to bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭MAULBROOK

When it goes this summer we will also see a shed load of sun power solar pv eco energy green power vans disappearing off our roads too..

About 300 companies doing Solar in Ireland, this will filter out the chancers.

They'll have 8 months from the end of any grant approvals. So early next year. :)