Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leo Varadkar story in The Village??? - Mod Notes and banned Users in OP updated 16/05

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭jmcc

So any news on when the file on Varadkar will be sent to the DPP?

Regards...jmcc

jmcc wrote: »
    So any news on when the file on Varadkar will be sent to the DPP?

That type of news is usually available late of a saturday night or of a Sunday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Just a little refresher on Kate O'Connells relationship with Leo, her opinion on him leaking confidemtial documents to his pal, who isn't really his pal, and the unlikely scenario that it will be her that will be put forward, for the upcoming bye election to replace 'Murph'.

Varadkar 'in trouble' over NAGP contract says former FG TD
    A former Fine Gael TD has launched a blistering attack on her leader Leo Varadkar and asked “when he’s going to start delivering for” the party.

Kate O’Connell, a Dublin TD and pharmacist who lost her seat at the 2020 election, also said she believes Mr Varadkar is “in trouble” after it emerged former Minister for Health Simon Harris told gardaí that he had refused to leak a confidential document to the now-defunct organisation the National Association of General Practitioners.

Mr Harris was interviewed by gardaí regarding their investigation into the leak of the same document by Mr Varadkar in April 2019 earlier this year according to this morning’s Sunday Times.

“I do, I don’t like seeing anybody in trouble but I do think it’s very concerning for the party,” Ms O’Connell told Brendan O’Connor on RTE Radio this morning.

When you have the leader of the party subject to a criminal investigation it just wouldn’t sit well, in my view, with the membership of the party,” she said.

I get the feeling Kate won't exactly be "helping Leo", when she was "helping the Gardai with their enquiries" if you get my drift.

McMurphy wrote: »
    I get the feeling Kate won't exactly be "helping Leo", when she was "helping the Gardai with their enquiries" if you get my drift.
    She appears to be old school FG whereas Varadkar is not. Varadkar has also lost a few of his allies in FG (Murphy, Hayes, D'Arcy). Wouldn't be surprised to see moves being made against Varadkar in the next few weeks especially if there is an adverse result from the DPP.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,530 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Just a little refresher on Kate O'Connells relationship with Leo, her opinion on him leaking confidemtial documents to his pal, who isn't really his pal, and the unlikely scenario that it will be her that will be put forward, for the upcoming bye election to replace 'Murph'.

Varadkar 'in trouble' over NAGP contract says former FG TD

Like I said earlier, forget all the chummy PR, there are a lot of knives floating about for the bold Leo.

Theres a lot of wish casting on this thread by ,with absolutely zero knowledge of what is actually going on
    To each their own
    I prefer facts :)

Theres a lot of wish casting on this thread by ,with absolutely zero knowledge of what is actually going on
    To each their own

The local party is a microcosm of the national party. I know the local party very well. It is the same as parties everywhere. Political advancement creates enemies among your own...political advancement by nefarious methods creates bitter revengeful enemies.

To each their own

It's not factual O'Connell backed Coveney over Leo?
    It's not factual Leo had murphy minions saturating his area asking people to vote for him, but O'Connell didn't get the same thing?
    It's not factual O'Connell then lost her seat?
    It's not factual O'Connell is/was outspoken about Leos leadership?
    It's not factual O'Connell stated he could be in trouble for leaking the confidential documents to his friend, who isn't really his friend?

Do you think the examiner just concocted the article, and that it was a voiceover actor wheeled into O'Connor's radio show, and not Kate O'Connell herself that was speaking?

Leoites are gas.

You should consider joining FG, Murph.

You do a huge amount of thinking about them, and seem to have a fairly strong grasp on the inner machinations of the party. They might welcome a bright young buck like yourself with open arms.

It's not factual O'Connell backed Coveney over Leo?
    It's not factual Leo had murphy minions saturating his area asking people to vote for him, but O'Connell didn't get the same thing?
    It's not factual O'Connell lost her seat?
    It's not factual O'Connell was outspoken about Leos leadership?
    It's not factual O'Connell stated he could be in trouble for leaking the confidential documents to his friend, who isn't really his friend?

Do you think the examiner just concocted the article, and that it was a voiceover actor wheeled into O'Connor's radio show, and not Kate O'Connell herself that was speaking?

Leoites are gas.

No,I think you are wishing about things that you know nothing about,adding 2 and 2 and getting 5 again
    Not every party operate like SF you know...
    I think the last line of O'Connells article was speculation to which noone knows the answer
    What I do know is We've 2 more years of Taoiseach Vradakar ahead
    That bit is an actual fact :)

You should consider joining FG, Murph.

You do a huge amount of thinking about them, and seem to have a fairly strong grasp on the inner machinations of the party. They might welcome a bright young buck like yourself with open arms.

The very fact I am a "bright young buck" is exactly the reason FG don't appeal to me, and the majority of the other bright young bucks in the country Doc.

Their up and comings, the likes of Foley-Walsh and that other yoke who essentially wanted pensioners to be culled so he could go out and have beers with his budsers are what beckons.

The very fact I am a "bright young buck" is exactly the reason FG don't appeal to me, and the majority of the other bright young bucks in the country Doc.

Their up and comings, the likes of Foley-Walsh and that other yoke who essentially wanted pensioners to be culled so he could go out and have beers with his budsers are what beckons.

Haven’t a clue what the second paragraph is about, Murph. Youth politics is it? Shower of little fückers the lot of them.

I’m not a country doctor btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,851 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    The best thing about Varadkar doing a genuinely decent thing and quietly vaccinating since the Helix opened in March, apart from the helping of our vaccine rollout of course, is how some people are so wound up about him that they are annoyed about it :)

Yeah, amazing to see this thread spring into life whenever Leo gets some favourable publicity. The bitterness runs very deep.

blanch152 wrote: »
    Yeah, amazing to see this thread spring into life whenever Leo gets some favourable publicity. The bitterness runs very deep.

Whenever Leo pulls a publicity stunt, you mean. Not seeing much 'favourable publicity', I am still seeing people awaiting the outcome of a long criminal investigation...which is far from favourable.

Haven’t a clue what the second paragraph is about, Murph. Youth politics is it? Shower of little fückers the lot of them.

Yeah basically, I'm cautious of the warning in the op, and trying not to veer off topic too much but it was summed up perfectly by another poster earlier in the thread, but YFG in particular seems to attract Tory boy type individuals, caricatures of themselves kind of thing.
    I’m not a country doctor btw.

And I'm not nuts nor crazy in the big house doc. Not since my lobotomy.

There does seem to be an attempt to deflect from the criminal investigation into Varadkar leaking a confidential document to his friend by dumping PR fluff into the thread. I think that there were four people on that Oireachtas Health committee. Kate O'Connell and Bernard Durkin were two. Not sure who the others were but having them interviewed as witnesses does not look good for Varadkar. There was a time when everyone was being assured by FG that there was nothing to be be seen and that the Village Magazine was a "fringe" publication. The "mainstream" media had to be dragged along kicking and screaming to cover it. Varadkar's fate hinges on the DPP's decision. That is unless he has resigned before that.

Regards...jmcc

In my experience young bucks (usually) get sense with age or when they start earning a few bob and have responsibilities
    The likes of the Ógra SF lads waving USSR flags for example who seemingly havent worked out that Stalins gulags were also internment,only an awful lot worse

There does seem to be an attempt to deflect from the criminal investigation into Varadkar leaking a confidential document to his friend by dumping PR fluff into the thread. I think that there were four people on that Oireachtas Health committee. Kate O'Connell and Bernard Durkin were two. Not sure who the others were but having them interviewed as witnesses does not look good for Varadkar. There was a time when everyone was being assured by FG that there was nothing to be be seen and that the Village Magazine was a "fringe" publication. The "mainstream" media had to be dragged along kicking and screaming to cover it. Varadkar's fate hinges on the DPP's decision. That is

Unfortunately for your above analysis,the latest newspaper scoops from Garda sources suggest no crime in relation to the document as it had no protected status and theres no suggestion of a gain for Vradakar
    Theres plenty of evidence that the former members of the NAGP signed up en masse to the contract though
    All good :)

In my experience young bucks (usually) get sense with age or when they start earning a few bob and have responsibilities
    The likes of the Ógra SF lads waving USSR flags for example who seemingly havent worked out that Stalins gulags were also internment,only an awful lot worse

This "young buck" turned 40 last year, is university educated, a partner in a company in very specialised market, contracts with several large companies north and south of the border, in an industry that is pretty much recession proof.

Married to a similarly university educated professional, with her own successful career.

Father to four.

When will all this growing up, sense, and responsibilities start happening?

I did say most :)

Unfortunately for your above analysis,the latest newspaper scoops from Garda sources suggest no crime in relation to the document as it had no protected status and theres no suggestion of a gain for Vradakar
    Would these be "scoops" from FG-friendly media or trustworthy media? The biggest problem for FG is that the DPP will send the case forward for prosecution to avoid any problems with political favouritism.

Regards...jmcc

The biggest problem for FG is that the DPP will send the case forward for prosecution to avoid any problems with political favouritism.

'Will' ?
    What is your evidence of this?

'Will' ?
    What is your evidence of this?
    A source by the name of Hyp O'Thetical. It should be obvious even to FGers that this story has political ramifications for the DPP and everything will have to be seen to be above board and on the level.

Regards...jmcc

A source by the name of Hyp O'Thetical. It should be obvious even to FGers that this story has political ramifications for the DPP and everything will have to be seen to be above board and on the level.

Aka wish casting
    No evidence at all in other words :)

Aka wish casting
    No evidence at all in other words :)
    "Wish casting"? Not quite sure if that's some kind of obscure FG rite (sort of how people get to run as GE candidates) but the political implications of this case are very real for the DPP. The DPP has to decide on whether to prosecute Varadkar or not. The risks of letting the case go to trial are lower for the DPP as it effectively hands the problem off to a court. That, surprisingly, is a better outcome for FG.

Regards...jmcc

"Wish casting"? Not quite sure if that's some kind of obscure FG rite (sort of how people get to run as GE candidates) but the political implications of this case are very real for the DPP. The DPP has to decide on whether to prosecute Varadkar or not. The risks of letting the case go to trial are lower for the DPP as it effectively hands the problem off to a court. That, surprisingly, is a better outcome for FG.

So no evidence of a crime,but all your earnest wishes condensed in one post
    At least its a short one :)

blanch152 wrote: »

The thread sprung into life when it was reported Kate O'Connell, and Barney Durkin were helping police with their enquiries, "concerning a person who is known to them", and them leaking confidential information to their friend.

The "favourable publicity" is the stuff marine layer introduced to the thread yesterday after the Durkin/, O'Connell story broke, and bubbaclaus has since informed us that Leo wanted to be kept low key anyway, so probably best to keep it that way in line with his wishes , (ssssshhhhh).

I'd hardly call 4 or 5 posters with the same fixed opinions springing into life anyway and I include myself in that in case anyone asks :)
    A lot of it is just people posting to get a rise out of one another,an ultimately boring persuit

I'd hardly call 4 or 5 posters with the same fixed opinions springing into life anyway and I include myself in that in case anyone asks :)
    A lot of it is just people posting to get a rise out of one another,an ultimately boring persuit
    Could be worse. The discussion on the SF database seemed to have a lot of database experts providing their opinion on a database schema that they hadn't seen and on database content that they didn't understand. That story has been a mainstay of the Sindo/Indo for the last few weeks. The problem for FG is that the story on Varadkar being questioned under caution bumped it. There is an air of desperation from the latest piece by Varadkar's biographer where Varadkar pleads with SF to delete the database.

This latest story is about Kate O'Connell being questioned as a witness was in the Sindo. That, in itself, is significant as it may indicate a change of mood on Varadkar and the leak. Eoghan Murphy's resignation could not have come at a worse time for Varadkar as he was the campaign manager for Varadkar's leadership campaign. That's another Varadkar ally gone from politics. Kate O'Connell isn't exactly a fan of Varadkar either but she did not provide a comment for the Sindo article. Wouldn't be surprising to see her leading FG in a few years if she gets the nomination and wins in Dublin Bay South.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

Shouldn't a minister under criminal investigation stand aside of be put on desk duty as they say in the Garda? Even the Conservatives in the U.K. would step aside or even resign pending any investigation.
    It calls into question everything that minister has done and is doing. Especially in this case because we know he did it. Criminal act of not won't change that.