An Garda Síochána - COVID19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,541 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Kivaro wrote: »
    Sounds like you are upset. There is probably a better to communicate your point.

He is completely correct. Anyone, Garda or not, can ask anyone any question.

You are confusing a simple question with no obligation to answer with a specified demand you must comply with, such as a demand for your name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

He is completely correct. Anyone, Garda or not, can ask anyone any question.

You are confusing a simple question with no obligation to answer with a specified demand you must comply with, such as a demand for your name.

I think everyone understands that.
    It is the manner on how he is conveying his point is the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,150 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

He is completely correct. Anyone, Garda or not, can ask anyone any question. You are confusing a simple question with no obligation to answer with a specified demand you must comply with, such as a demand for your name.

If some randomer on a national road tried to flag me down to ask me a question though, I'd keep on driving... I can hardly drive straight through the garda checkpoint can I?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

I'm fine, you are the one making up absolute ****e and then trying to deflect.

I see tenzer thanking you posts but hasn't the honesty to respond himself. Question still applies tanzer, what was your comment about covid? Wild hail mary?
    odyssey06 wrote: »
    If some randomer on a national road tried to flag me down to ask me a question though, I'd keep on driving... I can hardly drive straight through the garda checkpoint can I?

That's not what's being spoken about though. He and the other chap specifically spoke about asking questions. That's their incorrect statements.

Checkpoints are covered under the road traffic act and reinforced via the high court.

Here's the comments that I am patiently waiting for clarification on, admitting they were wrong is ok too.
    Tenzor07 wrote: »
    In normal times this should be the case that reasonable suspicion is required, though with Covid this has been suspended, but isn't it unconstitutional? Very dangerous to give a force of around 14000 people such wide ranging powers.
    Or maybe they realised that they may not have the legal grounds to ask law-abiding citizens where they are going if they are in their car and abiding by the current travel restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,541 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

There seemed to be some confusion on why they were asking, as if due to exemptions being lifted they shouldn't be asking as it was no longer prohibited. They can ask away is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

odyssey06 wrote: »
    It is disingenuous to correlate law enforcement with their flashing lights at a checkpoint asking the "purpose of your journey" question versus a regular citizen. And of course the other most glaring difference is that the Gardai asks every single person passing their checkpoint that same question (unless you are driving a truck etc.). I already posted that my experience of these checkpoints have been positive, with many times the Gardai being pleasant and jovial, which is the opposite to the agitated response to the topic by a poster on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭gzoladz

It is disingenuous to correlate law enforcement with their flashing lights at a checkpoint asking the "purpose of your journey" question versus a regular citizen. And of course the other most glaring difference is that the Gardai asks every single person passing their checkpoint that same question (unless you are driving a truck etc.). I already posted that my experience of these checkpoints have been positive, with many times the Gardai being pleasant and jovial, which is the opposite to the agitated response to the topic by a poster on here.

I agree with this - supportive of some form of check given the amount of drivers under the influence, without insurance, NCT, transporting illegal substances, texting, etc...it is good to see some level of enforcement.

I just question their effectivity to control the travel restrictions given the hybrid (County or 20km) model we are under now.

In other words, can't answer, can't back up your silly comment and can't admit you are wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,344 ✭✭✭✭elperello

I did about 200 km inside my county yesterday.

National and local roads, passed through about 20 towns and villages.

No checkpoints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,323 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Only checkpoint I saw yesterday was at the Ennis Roundabout coming off the Limerick Motorway where Guards were pulling over all Trucks/Lorries doing dips checking for illegal fuel.

Met a checkpoint today. Back to doing the usual stuff. License, tax, insurance and reminded me that my CVRT is only extended to the end of the month.

All very pleasant and brief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Not quite COVID related but nice idea.

https://twitter.com/gardainfo/status/1384818860730331136

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Anyone coming across Covid checkpoints on county boundaries or have they giving up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

Anyone coming across Covid checkpoints on county boundaries or have they giving up?

I've had to cross the county boundary in the last week. There was a checkpoint at the county boundary but I was just waved through as I was slowing down at the checkpoint, both on the way and when returning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭scamalert

got stopped the other day in another county close to county border, gave em name of last town i passed and told im going to the next one that was on the way :D checked the discs and away you go, its getting a bit ridicilous thou having em around to explain where did you come and go.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 299 ✭✭DessieJames

The level of anger and hatred towards the Garda after all of this will never be forgotten about, not all of them but a large portion of them have behaved absolutely disgracefully, some of the videos ive seen in the last few months they way they have behaved sneering at people, lashing out with batons , manhandling people has been disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭ahbell

Got stopped within my county last Sunday afternoon, asked where I was coming from, truthfully told her the name of my village, she had never heard of it and waved me through.

What is the point? No doubt raking the overtime in anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,150 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

ahbell wrote: »
    Got stopped within my county last Sunday afternoon, asked where I was coming from, truthfully told her the name of my village, she had never heard of it and waved me through. What is the point? No doubt raking the overtime in anyway.

It'd be interesting to see if there was an increase in motor tax renewals ... I assume they are also checking that as they ask your destination.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

The level of anger and hatred towards the Garda after all of this will never be forgotten about, not all of them but a large portion of them have behaved absolutely disgracefully, some of the videos ive seen in the last few months they way they have behaved sneering at people, lashing out with batons , manhandling people has been disgusting.

The quality of Garda has falling, I saw a YouTube video of one of their newer guards, admitted to failing college then joined the gardai, nothing wrong with that but that was a gardai promotion video from their own YouTube channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,502 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

is_that_so wrote: »
    Not quite COVID related but nice idea.

https://twitter.com/gardainfo/status/1384818860730331136

Completely Covid related, The first question I'd ask is why they feel the need to wear a mask outdoors, are they under orders a vast majority are driving around in empty squad cars on their own wearing one as well it's strange behavior has to have been recommended from above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭scamalert

ahbell wrote: »
    Got stopped within my county last Sunday afternoon, asked where I was coming from, truthfully told her the name of my village, she had never heard of it and waved me through.

What is the point? No doubt raking the overtime in anyway.
    tbf i wouldnt care if they only sat in their vans and did just that, the whole checking your tax disc and inquiring on your journey is the part that pisses people off, they had well over a year now to police daily, and whatever number still drives, is prob well aware not to take risk over few quid not having all the paperwork up to date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Checkpoint at Trim again this morning .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭PatrickDoherty

Id imagine there is money for overtime there so the mounted check points are still going ahead to make it look like the government are getting a bang for the buck with the funds allocated that arent needed anymore.

Drew has made it a point of living within the original budget. It's overtime but it's not extra so taking away from other areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Slightly off topic, but seriously letting themselves down with their behaviour towards the Debenhams workers at the moment both in Dublin and in Limerick.
    Don't let anyone ever tell you they have a "tough" job. Biggest load of baloney you'll ever hear......... Up there with "we're all in this together"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Slightly off topic, but seriously letting themselves down with their behaviour towards the Debenhams workers at the moment both in Dublin and in Limerick.
    Don't let anyone ever tell you they have a "tough" job. Biggest load of baloney you'll ever hear......... Up there with "we're all in this together"....

Good to see the level of garda-bashing continues!

The only people who have a problem with the guards post pandemic are the same as those who had a problem with the guards pre-pandemic.

I'm not even going to comment on the handling of Debenhams' law-breakers as way off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭nc6000

Drew has made it a point of living within the original budget. It's overtime but it's not extra so taking away from other areas.

I guess with no large events with crowds taking place it means a lot of resources are freed up for use elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,502 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

dotsman wrote: »

The only people who have a problem with the guards post pandemic are the same as those who had a problem with the guards pre-pandemic.

I'm not sure that's the case, the catholic church seem to be getting it in the neck while other religions get a free pass. Considering the amount of people bunched up all weekend around the country what went on in Athlone looked really bad, there's a peer reviewed MIT study just released in relation to distancing indoors, they've a handy calculator, In a Church setting with no masks with people only aged over 64 the safe limit would be 100, it makes no odds if they're 6ft or 60ft apart.
    Don't take this as Garda bashing as that's not the intention, I would really respect the force to just awaken and stop enforcing any ministerial order without question. If NPHET or Politicans demand you do something ask for the evidence first. It's not unreasonable for Harris to ask or for rank and file to demand.
    Here's the peer reviewed science https://www.pnas.org/content/118/17/e2018995118
    and here's the calculator to give you a guide to what should be acceptable https://indoor-covid-safety.herokuapp.com/

News article about the same.. https://www.cnbc.com/2021/04/23/mit-researchers-say-youre-no-safer-from-covid-indoors-at-6-feet-or-60-feet-in-new-study.html

I'm not sure that's the case, the catholic church seem to be getting it in the neck while other religions get a free pass. Considering the amount of people bunched up all weekend around the country what went on in Athlone looked really bad, there's a peer reviewed MIT study just released in relation to distancing indoors, they've a handy calculator, In a Church setting with no masks with people only aged over 64 the safe limit would be 100, it makes no odds if they're 6ft or 60ft apart.
    Don't take this as Garda bashing as that's not the intention, I would really respect the force to just awaken and stop enforcing any ministerial order without question. If NPHET or Politicans demand you do something ask for the evidence first. It's not unreasonable for Harris to ask or for rank and file to demand.
    Here's the peer reviewed science https://www.pnas.org/content/118/17/e2018995118
    and here's the calculator to give you a guide to what should be acceptable https://indoor-covid-safety.herokuapp.com/

News article about the same.. https://www.cnbc.com/2021/04/23/mit-researchers-say-youre-no-safer-from-covid-indoors-at-6-feet-or-60-feet-in-new-study.html

You are calling for the Gardai to refuse to recognize a law passed by the elected government and ignore a high court order while they are at it.

As long as the order is lawful, it should be followed without fear, favor or malice as per the oath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Danno

As long as the order is lawful, it should be followed without fear, favor or malice as per the oath.

Be careful that never comes to bite you in the ass - I'm generally a pro-Gardai and law and justice person, but the Gardai seem hell bent on pissing off the public at the moment.