Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Off Topic Thread

• 03-02-2021 6:55pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭

The Off Topic Thread

As per the expressed wishes of posters in the feedback thread this is the brand new off topic thread.

Welcome to the Off Topic Thread .

This thread is for all non GAA related matters in the GAA forum.Engage and enjoy with your fellow posters irrespective of your county allegiance.

There are a few rules to make sure the thread stays on course.Sorry in advance.

The rules of this thread are broadly in line with the GAA forum rules.If you're unsure,please read them before posting.

In addition,this thread has specific rules,please be aware of them before posting.

1. No cat/animal or NSFW images.This is for discussion and banter,some people use this from work.No NSFW images of any kind will be tolerated,there are forums for that,if you want them,use them.To be clear - NSFW is defined as any image that people would not want to open in front of their boss in work or would be risky/inappropriate to have open in that context

2. No on topic discussion.This is for non GAA discussion,any rivalry,fighting or discussion of GAA related matters will see the thread closed immediately.

3. No abuse or discussion of a specific county.Just to be clear on rule 2

4. No discussion of a posters personal information without their consent. While we can be friendly with each other, there are still lines of respecting anonymity. Posting of ANY personal information about another poster without their express permission is forbidden.

5. No discussion or mention of user bans from the GAA forum.
    Any discussion of a user being banned including reasons or opinions is not allowed and any campaigns for user unbanning will see the thread closed.

6. No discussion of forum or thread rules.There are means for raising these issues,this thread is not one of them.

7. Any challenge to the rules of the thread by a thread poster = thread closure This thread is for off topic discussion we have set rules in place to ensure that this thread is used for it's intended purpose.If you have a problem make contact with a moderator. If any user brings an Off Topic Thread thread rule up for debate publicly,the thread will be closed."

With all that in mind,enjoy!

• Registered Users Posts: 37,763 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Does Shinty have its own version of the All Ireland ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Does Shinty have its own version of the All Ireland ?

Yep. The Camanachd Cup. The attendance would be pretty paltry compared to an All Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 7,884 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

ShyMets wrote: »
    Yep. The Camanachd Cup. The attendance would be pretty paltry compared to an All Ireland

Usually live on BBC Scotland, have watched a couple of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭ShyMets

Usually live on BBC Scotland, have watched a couple of them

I've seen Shinty games in bits and pieces but my God. They can strike the ball some distance from the ground

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

ShyMets wrote: »
    I've seen Shinty games in bits and pieces but my God. They can strike the ball some distance from the ground
    Seems very effortless as well. A flick of the wrists and it travels 60-70m.
    We had the Shinty Internationals at our club ages ago and it was a great watch, I have to say.

How is everyone coping with the latest lockdown?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

We had the Shinty Internationals at our club ages ago and it was a great watch, I have to say.

All good here.Loved ones are all fit and healthy thus far.

Blessed to be still working.

Do miss so many things I took for granted.

The lack of socialisation and human contact is tough for all.

Covid 19 has brought much self introspection.

Life is much slower ( divil a bit of harm there ).Nature appreciated more.

I took up gardening,a hobby I never thought I'd have the slightest interest.

A pet kitten was adopted from the Mayo SCPA.

Sin é.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Great question.

For me it's been a bit of a blessing, I would travel extensively for business, but lockdown has grounded me. WFH can be tedious, but thankfully I'm still in a job.

The dog won't know what to do if we ever get back to normality as it's called. She's the fittest she's ever been. Hasn't taken to hiding when the word walk is uttered, yet!!!

Luckily all family are alive and well and no one lost to the bstard that is Covid. We lost a good neighbour though.

Missing the social interaction with people, although I am interacting via zoom every day since the lockdown began for me. I'm up to close to 300 zoom meeting since then!! If the missus suggest another family zoom get together I might take the dog for another walk.

Hope all other Boardsies are keeping well.

PS, Great idea this thread. A little bit of variety does no harm.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭rpurfield

A mixed bag. I preferred the first one when I could sit out the back in the sun and make my work calls. Same goes for the brighter evenings for doing stuff. On the plus side I'm banging out the KMs running so when I do get back to a pitch it won't be so bad!

• Registered Users Posts: 37,763 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Out of work myself, frustrating waiting around looking at the doom and gloom in the media. Praying normal life or close to it will resume sooner rather than later

Have a few weights at home so do them a few times a week along with daily walks. Bloody pulled a muscle in my back and can't do them this week. I'm healing well though

Missing going to games, the pub and having the option of browsing shops etc.

Getting a smack of a shinty stick would hurt as equally as getting it with a hurl. Going to look up Lacross in essence another hurling like sport

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Out of work myself, frustrating waiting around looking at the doom and gloom in the media. Praying normal life or close to it will resume sooner rather than later

Have a few weights at home so do them a few times a week along with daily walks. Bloody pulled a muscle in my back and can't do them this week. I'm healing well though

Missing going to games, the pub and having the option of browsing shops etc.

Getting a smack of a shinty stick would hurt as equally as getting it with a hurl. Going to look up Lacross in essence another hurling like sport

Hope something comes up for you soon.

I've booked tickets for Agnes Obel's rescheduled gig in September.

Ever the optimist or a tad insane!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

seligehgit wrote: »
    Hope something comes up for you soon.

I've booked tickets for Agnes Obel's rescheduled gig in September.

Ever the optimist or a tad insane!:D

I worked primarily in events industry before covid and will be back in it afterwards. Might go ahead. Most of early summer events wont likely go ahead IMO

• Registered Users Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭dobman88

I was doing grand until recently but with the leaky news of 9 more weeks and still very high daily cases, its getting to me. I said out loud to someone the other day that I was struggling, felt good to say it and get it off my chest. I was out on a run and met my football manager and his wife, and he asked how I was coping. They both said the same and that it's ok to struggle cos it's a shìte time for everyone.

Few other small bits in recent days have annoyed me more than I should have let them but I really can't wait for this to be over now. One thing I don't understand is how the cases are so high when its supposed to be level 5 and not travelling more than 5k from home. The only reason I leave the house is to run alone, herself does the weekly shop. It's very demoralising seeing 6 - 800 or so cases.

Anyway, late night ramblings. Hope yer all holding tough.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

dobman88 wrote: »
    I was doing grand until recently but with the leaky news of 9 more weeks and still very high daily cases, its getting to me. I said out loud to someone the other day that I was struggling, felt good to say it and get it off my chest. I was out on a run and met my football manager and his wife, and he asked how I was coping. They both said the same and that it's ok to struggle cos it's a shìte time for everyone.

Few other small bits in recent days have annoyed me more than I should have let them but I really can't wait for this to be over now. One thing I don't understand is how the cases are so high when its supposed to be level 5 and not travelling more than 5k from home. The only reason I leave the house is to run alone, herself does the weekly shop. It's very demoralising seeing 6 - 800 or so cases.

Anyway, late night ramblings. Hope yer all holding tough.

Dob, I had been feeling great up to about 10 days ago, little bit of a meltdown and talked to Mrs AA. I found it very hard to actually say I didn't feel quite right, not sure how to explain it, but think of a dark cloud over you all day, kind of uurrrggghh feeling. Any way she pointed out I had not been out of the house in 7 days, literally housebound, so yesterday herself, myself and the poor dog did a 10km walk along the Dodder, taking in all the wildlife it has to offer, the cloud is not gone, but I can see sunshine beyond it. Anyway, thank you for sharing, I'd probably never typed this if you hadn't. AA

ArielAtom wrote: »
    Dob, I had been feeling great up to about 10 days ago, little bit of a meltdown and talked to Mrs AA. I found it very hard to actually say I didn't feel quite right, not sure how to explain it, but think of a dark cloud over you all day, kind of uurrrggghh feeling. Any way she pointed out I had not been out of the house in 7 days, literally housebound, so yesterday herself, myself and the poor dog did a 10km walk along the Dodder, taking in all the wildlife it has to offer, the cloud is not gone, but I can see sunshine beyond it. Anyway, thank you for sharing, I'd probably never typed this if you hadn't. AA

Fair play. We have a good green area outside the front door and not many kids live near us so we are lucky we can take the dogs out for a run when herself is on lunch. They really are a tonic but same as yourself I'm not sure how to explain it, just something not quite right. I know there are people in a worse off position than me so trying to keep the head and stay going which isn't easy all the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭thesultan

Normally have very good mental health. Had a bit of work pre Christmas but not now. The head wasn't great last week

thesultan wrote: »
    Normally have very good mental health. Had a bit of work pre Christmas but not now. The head wasn't great last week

Same as that. Havent been back to work since we broke a week before xmas. Up to now, the longest I was ever unemployed for was 2 weeks. Very demoralising. Keep the head up.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,326 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

What would be the best contact phone number/email address to reach out to A) GAA B) Camogie Association (LGFA details were fine to find) in regards to pitching sales proposals to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

callaway92 wrote: »
    What would be the best contact phone number/email address to reach out to A) GAA B) Camogie Association (LGFA details were fine to find) in regards to pitching sales proposals to them.

Marketing department?
    Or simply contact them on and you will be told who best to contact...
    info@gaa.ie
    https://crokepark.ie/contact-us

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭TippCashel

This might be of interest to someone on this forum if they're into Product Design:

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=117124971&postcount=534

Feeling of normality returning with the WhatsApp chat being a hive of activity ahead of our first training tomorrow night.

I'm really looking forward to getting back to training and all the craic that goes along with playing Junior B in division 8 Meath football :pac: getting that nice feeling in my stomach now this evening.

Best of luck to all coaches, mentors and players getting back to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,343 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Bloody brilliant to be back training this evening with the club
    It was great just to be able to chat to a few of the lads.
    Finished last in probably every sprint
    Dropped the ball so often

Bloody brilliant to be back training this evening with the club
    It was great just to be able to chat to a few of the lads.
    Finished last in probably every sprint
    Dropped the ball so often

Exact same. So good to get to see all the lads again. We have a final to look forward to on June 20th from last year but honestly I missed the training more than games over the last few months.

Hamstrings, groins, glutes. All killing me now and it never felt so good. Fcuking great to be back.