Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Good luck to the border towns if and when that happens.

Ya, anyone living in the border counties will just go North and it'll be impossible to stop them. Likes of Derry, Enniskillen, Newry, Armagh will be busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

DellyBelly wrote: »
    That's good to know. Even though we can go county wide from Monday I still don't really want to be stopped by the police if I am travelling outside 5km from the 12th..

You need to change the record

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

titan18 wrote: »
    Ya, anyone living in the border counties will just go North and it'll be impossible to stop them. Likes of Derry, Enniskillen, Newry, Armagh will be busy.

If there’s anything positive it might speed up our opening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,643 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

That's good to know. Even though we can go county wide from Monday I still don't really want to be stopped by the police if I am travelling outside 5km from the 12th..

Put a beach towel and bucket and spade on the back seat of the car.

If they see that they will know the story by now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

I hope it rains Monday.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I reckon once it's county wide, 20km into neighbouring county the checkpoints will likely stop.

You can go anywhere you want in the country on a bus anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

It is quite disturbing our kids are still not allowed train for their sports.

How? We have one of the lowest rates of COVID in the world. We have had stable numbers for weeks and weeks.

It is shocking and we all just sit back and let it happen. Trusting these ultra conservative hawks. Disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭JPup

It is quite disturbing our kids are still not allowed train for their sports.

How? We have one of the lowest rates of COVID in the world. We have had stable numbers for weeks and weeks.

It is shocking and we all just sit back and let it happen. Trusting these ultra conservative hawks. Disgusting.

It really doesn't make sense. The kids are mixing at school and in the parks/playgrounds etc.

The experts tell us that children are a low transmission risk and that outdoor activities are a low transmission risk. So put the two together, with the fact that kids are already mixing anyway, and it just doesn't make sense. They should have opened kids sports back up on the 5th like they had planned.

bear1 wrote: »

2020- Lockdown to protect the vulnerable, it’s too difficult for the vulnerable to isolate

Spring 2021- Lockdown until we vaccinate the vulnerable, it’s too difficult for the vulnerable to isolate

Summer 2021- Lockdown and let the vulnerable enjoy their lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

2020- Lockdown to protect the vulnerable, it’s too difficult for the vulnerable to isolate

Spring 2021- Lockdown until we vaccinate the vulnerable, it’s too difficult for the vulnerable to isolate

Summer 2021- Lockdown and let the vulnerable enjoy their lives

2404331_10_articleinline_024_20Cabinet_1_.jpg

When I look at this photo, all I can see in my mind is a tiny penis buried in orange hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

I presume they'll keep some checkpoints open coming up to weekends at border crossings like the N7 checkpoint next to Blackchurch just before Kildare and in Limerick just before the Castletroy exit onto the M7.

The last time we had county limits there were garda check points in Stephen's green.

Dont expect sense or logic. They will probably add people travelling to the city centre to the MHQ list for good measure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Summer 2021- Lockdown and let the vaccinated vulnerable enjoy their lives

FYP.

Jaysus, only a special contrarian would argue against it.

Bloody CF sufferers able to leave their house after 12 months, damn them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Parachutes

County travel is in other words go where you want because so many counties are interconnected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

And I just heard on the radio that Peru has the highest per capita death rate in the world. It also has, along with Spain and the Philippines, the strictest mask policy in the world. But that will just be ignored.

You know where else have high rates of people with infections etc? Hospitals! And funnily enough they wear masks there to help reduce the risk of further infection too. They even have some fairly strict policies on it!

Maybe there's a link .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Interesting to get a view on our lockdown from an international perspective.

https://www.nationalreview.com/2021/04/why-ireland-has-the-most-miserable-lockdown-in-the-western-world/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

Is it far off the mark ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Boggles wrote: »
    FYP.

So who exactly will we be protecting now, I know plenty of people who haven't been locked away like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,738 ✭✭✭scamalert

Parachutes wrote: »
    County travel is in other words go where you want because so many counties are interconnected.
    way i see it guards are fed up with nonsense stopping so once its 20km it might as well be 200km, as dont think anyone sane will tolerate any more, and lets hope next time they propose such BS measures they are told to ***off by everyone with their nonsense, as its way to easy to sacrifice sanity for these pricks in power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

When I look at this photo, all I can see in my mind is a tiny penis buried in orange hair.

honey, is that you?

WrenBoy wrote: »

https://www.nationalreview.com/2021/04/why-ireland-has-the-most-miserable-lockdown-in-the-western-world/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

Is it far off the mark ?

Nope.

I'm in an artist's Slack group online with a pretty international bunch of other artists and they seriously cannot understand how this is still going on here without more civil unrest.

niallo27 wrote: »
    So who exactly will we be protecting now, I know plenty of people who haven't been locked away like you.

What are you talking about Niallo? I have stuck to the restrictions by and large much like your good self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Is it far off the mark ?

It should have gone further...we aren't just a subservient people we despise people who aren't subservient, look at our attitude toward the Brits since they elected to leave the EU right up to today!!!

How anyone can fully support our Governments actions since the beginning of all this is beyond me, we can understand the first lock down on the basis that we hadn't a clue what was coming, but since then it has been a debacle, combining weak leadership in all areas of politics, only one TD (Michael McNamara) has offered any thing remotely different to the herd...

Not one single media outlet has stood up to the incompetence and anti science policies pursued by NPHET in any meaningful way.

Not to mention the sizeable population of Irish people who have allowed a combination of a toxic media industry, weak political leaders and thick necked bureaucrats justify the madness of what has happened here without question.

When the hysteria ends, which is how all this has been allowed to happen, tax payer funded hysteria at that....and it will end, the price for all this madness will snap the last few out of the trance we have been in for over a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,622 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

He looks like a young Dr.Robotnik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭aidoh

Havent seen that check point in Clontarf in a while and it seems the one in Howth is gone too.

I'm local to there, in between Howth and Clontarf. Every single day there is either a checkpoint outside St Anne's Park or else past Sutton on the way up to Howth (where it was today). The other alternating checkpoint is either on the Kilbarrack road or just outside the Coast in Baldoyle.

I honestly wait for the checkpoints to shag off come Monday. Even when the gards are friendly, which they mostly are, it still makes me feel sh!tty being questioned about the purpose of my journey when I'm only heading for a p0xy run in the park, walk along the pier or buying jax roll in Dunnes.

Hopefully the lack of visible checkpoints will be a small but important boost for peoples' sanity.

gozunda wrote: »
    You know where else have high rates of people with infections etc? Hospitals! And funnily enough they wear masks there to help reduce the risk of further infection too. They even have some fairly strict policies on it!

Maybe there's a link .....

Just to reply to your post, but this isn't the right thread to discuss it.

You could be right, or it could be that they do nothing. The elephant in the room being Peru, Spain, France, Italy, the Philippines the US et al having the highest case and death numbers in the world while also having the strictest mask policies in the world. And mask free Sweden and Norway doing a lot better in comparison.

But let's agree to disagree and move on.

It should have gone further...we aren't just a subservient people we despise people who aren't subservient, look at our attitude toward the Brits since they elected to leave the EU right up to today!!!

How anyone can fully support our Governments actions since the beginning of all this is beyond me, we can understand the first lock down on the basis that we hadn't a clue what was coming, but since then it has been a debacle, combining weak leadership in all areas of politics, only one TD (Michael McNamara) has offered any thing remotely different to the herd...

Not one single media outlet has stood up to the incompetence and anti science policies pursued by NPHET in any meaningful way.

Not to mention the sizeable population of Irish people who have allowed a combination of a toxic media industry, weak political leaders and thick necked bureaucrats justify the madness of what has happened here without question.

When the hysteria ends, which is how all this has been allowed to happen, tax payer funded hysteria at that....and it will end, the price for all this madness will snap the last few out of the trance we have been in for over a year.

You've hit the nail on the head: it's the consequence of having no opposition. It causes groupthink. There really is no need for so many political parties when they are identical. You could also just have one newspaper since they are all the same.

Just to reply to your message, but this isn't the right thread to discuss it.

You could be right, or it could be that they do nothing. The elephant in the room being Peru, Spain, France, Italy, the Philippines the US et al having the highest case and death numbers in the world while also having the strictest mask policies in the world. And mask free Sweden and Norway doing a lot better in comparison.

But let's agree to disagree and move on.

Just a quick fact check.

Sweden 27th
    Philippines 117th.

Boggles wrote: »
    FYP.

I have absolutely no problem with anyone having freedom

What I do have a problem with, is people having their freedom removed due to limited access to a limited resource (vaccine)

I have absolutely no problem with anyone having freedom

What I do have a problem with, is people having there freedom removed due to limited access to a limited resource (vaccine)

You'll be grand Fintan, by the time concerts get the go ahead here we will be up to our bollíx in them.

I dare say you may have even been offered one at that stage, up to you whether you avail of it or not though of course.

Is it far off the mark ?

Thank fcuk all this stuff is now being quantified in different international sources

When the exchequer in Ireland bleeds its last cent and can’t fund a basic health service, the reason why is not Covid, its the fact Ireland used lockdown as its primary control measure to deal with Covid