Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

fwiw, i went to the in laws last week, they are both vaxxed.

One of the pubs in the town has been open since May (or whenever pubs opened last year). Went in with the brother in law, 8 people and the owner, one of those drinking was the town Garda :cool:

Was it this town?

NWS_2014-01-14_NEW_017_30285928_I2.JPG

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Boggles wrote: »
    Was it this town?

NWS_2014-01-14_NEW_017_30285928_I2.JPG

If that's in a certain county in the Whest then yes.

One of the other pubs got a large payout from FBD, so he's happy to stay closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

fwiw, i went to the in laws last week, they are both vaxxed.

One of the pubs in the town has been open since May (or whenever pubs opened last year). Went in with the brother in law, 8 people and the owner, one of those drinking was the town Garda :cool:

Might this be a well know pub near a credit union in a town some may consider a “border town”

Edit: seen your previous post, not the same one! Just another to add to the list. I’m in South Dublin, during lockdown’s 1 & 2 there were pubs here open at the back door but none that I know of locally in LD3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,646 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

gozunda wrote: »
    So tell me Fintan - Would you be ok losing 10 years?

I’ve already lost more than 1 since March 2020

I think we need to stop fearing death in old age

There is worse fates than death itself

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Might this be a well know pub near a credit union in a town some may consider a “border town”

Edit: seen your previous post, not the same one! Just another to add to the list. I’m in South Dublin, during lockdown’s 1 & 2 there were pubs here open at the back door but none that I know of locally in LD3

I'm also in South Dublin and the one down the road from me has opened a few times, they were doing Carvery sundays (takeaway), owner used this to sneak in some of the regulars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

You mean people who are older than you right?

At least we know things will be returning to normal - once everyone gets vaccinated.

Those who died of Covid 'before their time or anything else for that matter - won't be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭showpony1

RGS wrote: »
    Heres a quote from the article:

A further easing of Covid-19 restrictions from May onwards will be considered by Cabinet “if we can hold firm for a little bit longer”, a Government offical said on Wednesday morning.
    At a Covid-19 briefing, assistant secretary general at the Department of Taoiseach Liz Canavan said the further easing could include the return of construction, retail, hairdressers as well as the reopening of cultural sites.
    If we can hold firm for a little bit longer, and if the health situation allows, a further of easing of restrictions will be considered from May 4th. Areas being considered are the full reopening of construction, the phased return of non-essential retail starting with click and collect and outdoor retail like garden centres and nurseries, the recommencement of personal services on a staggered basis, reopening of museums, galleries and libraries and the recommencement of religious services on a staggered basis.”

The auld "HOLD FIRM" line still front and centre.

Love the bit in red--is it ladies hairdressers first, followed by barbers and then the manicures and pedicures.

looks like not much change for may then - garden centres, click and collect shopping and maybe hairdressers but not sure.

no retail shops, adults outdoor sports, gyms, outdoor dining until at least june so lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Parachutes

You mean other people who are older than you right?

At least we know things will be returning to normal - once everyone gets vaccinated.

Those who died of Covid or anything else for that matter - won't be

Let’s never leave our houses ever again so no one has to die ever.

TBF, that's because you chose to stay at level 6 for the whole year.

You didn't even budge last July - August.

We actually have no clue how many people have died from Covid in Ireland.

Q. Can you describe what death in confirmed/probable/possible case of COVID-19 means?
    The case definition for COVID-19 in Ireland has been updated routinely during the pandemic in accordance with the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) guidance and updates.

Deaths in confirmed COVID-19 case: A death in a person with laboratory confirmation of COVID-19 infection, irrespective of clinical signs and symptoms (including post mortem).
    Deaths in probable COVID-19 case: A death in a person with probable COVID-19 infection as described in the COVID-19 case definition below
    Deaths in possible/suspect COVID-19 case: See below scenarios for possible/suspect cases which should be reported as COVID-19 deaths.
    All deaths in patients suspected of having COVID-19 i.e. patients with symptoms clinically compatible with COVID-19 illness. These suspect cases may or may not have been tested for COVID-19 prior to death. These possible COVID-19 deaths include patients with pending COVID-19 laboratory results.
    All unexplained deaths/sudden deaths in residential facilities with a confirmed/suspected COVID-19 cluster/outbreak of illness unless there is a clear alternative cause of death that cannot be related to COVID-19 disease (e.g. trauma)
    A person can be classified as a probable or possible COVID-19 death without laboratory confirmation of COVID-19 based on the criteria for probable and possible cases of COVID-19 as outlined in the case definition.

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/epidemiologyfrequentlyaskedquestions/

Are you sure about that? These chaps don’t think so

They may be tin foil hit conspiracists though

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/nphet-says-normal-life-some-way-off-and-vaccination-unlikely-to-fully-halt-covid-19-1.4494969%3fmode=amp
    Normal life in Ireland is still “some way off” and Covid-19 will remain in circulation for years to come, the State’s public health team has warned the Government.

The National Public Health Emergency Team has sent detailed advice to the Government on how to handle the next stage of the pandemic and have warned there is now a need to address “long standing deficiencies” as vaccination or herd immunity is unlikely to fully halt the virus.

I had some laugh at this bit, these chaps are making the recommendations
    The team also warned again of the higher risk associated with certain activities including “dining, drinking, exercising, singing or shouting”.

And this thread is full of loopers seemingly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭seablue

showpony1 wrote: »
    looks like not much change for may then - garden centres, click and collect shopping and maybe hairdressers but not sure.

no retail shops, adults outdoor sports, gyms, outdoor dining until at least june so lol

This is what bugs me, and others I know. A year in, with several vaccines approved we still don't have nay criteria for re-opening. What is the metric the Govt/NPHET are using to make decisions on what opens:

- Do we need to be down to X cases per day?
    - X percent of the population vaccinated?
    - all vulnerable groups vaccinated?

I live alone and have been WFH for over a year now. Finding this lockdown really hard, its jsut seems to be neverending. Looking forward to county-wide travel coming in next week but beyond that I dont see anything to look forward to right now.

bear1 wrote: »
    It doesn’t even surprise me anymore. It’s like double talk from 1984. Read ‘relaxation of restrictions in May’ as ‘The date we are going to extend restrictions again’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,529 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

bear1 wrote: »

It's like we're in school

Beyond a joke now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,318 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Oh my god, what we're doing is working and they want us to keep doing it because it's working...... Shower of bastards.

My house is burnt to the ground but the rodent is gone

We will put the fire out later

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Oh my god, what we're doing is working and they want us to keep doing it because it's working...... Shower of bastards.

What is working exactly? Country completely destroyed and hundreds of thousands out of work for the sake of a few ICU beds. If that is your definition of ‘working’ I’d hate to see your plans for the future.

Parachutes wrote: »
    Let’s never leave our houses ever again so no one has to die ever.

Yeah cos thats what that's says. :rolleyes:

But yes vaccinations will help ensure that people will be very unlikely to die of covid.

And yes people will still get run over by buses. Unless you're saying you like playing in traffic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/nphet-says-normal-life-some-way-off-and-vaccination-unlikely-to-fully-halt-covid-19-1.4494969%3fmode=amp

Don't expect any argument from the pro restrictions posters, anything that can't be answered by a quippy line and a rolls eyes emoji and they're nowhere to be seen

Parachutes wrote: »
    What is working exactly? Country completely destroyed and hundreds of thousands out of work for the sake of a few ICU beds. If that is your definition of ‘working’ I’d hate to see your plans for the future.

Open up gradually as numbers come down and vaccinations go up, what's yours?

You've never said a truer word Fintain.

But yes vaccinations will help ensure that people will be very unlikely to die of covid.

And yes people will still get run over by buses. Unless you're saying you like playing in traffic?

We have multiple vaccines now and there’s still no plan for going back to normal.. only more doom and gloom from the govt and the loopers in NPHET. The goalposts just keep getting moved again and again.

At what point, hypothetically, do we get to before the lockdown starts to do more damage than the Covid itself? Because I think we are well beyond the point of no return in that regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

The average age of death from covid is 83. Average life expectancy about 83. And as others have pointed out , it's not a guaranteed 83 it's the age you get on average if other things dont kill you first.

Having "10 years stolen" is not correct.

Sorry to quote you Fintan, I have the lad you quoted on my ignore list so cant quote him (but unfortunately have to see his posts when others do)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,529 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

A verdict of 'death from covid' has been declared for the the man who was struck and killed by a lorry on the motorway

NPHET have included that death in the daily numbers

PTH2009 wrote: »
    A verdict of 'death from covid' has been declared for the the man who was struck and killed by a lorry on the motorway

He tested positive for covid 27 days ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I must have missed this story!

So, when you're conspiracy theory about the government inventing 1000s of cases didn't pan out, and your weird rant about Leo and Dr Tony pissing in the streets got laughed down, you're now just lying......

Think it's time to put your phone in the microwave and set it to high.

Was that from Twitter "news"?