Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,171 ✭✭✭prunudo

bb1234567 wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/drdavidsamadi/status/1378289828417114113

Low bar these days..but at least we havn't seen much violence against citizens by law enforcement here during the pandemic.

Sad state of affairs for society when riot police are set on the public who are sitting outside in the fresh air enjoying the nice weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭bloopy

prunudo wrote: »
    Sad state of affairs for society when riot police are set on the public who are sitting outside in the fresh air enjoying the nice weather.

It was evil sitting though. So it is completely justified.
    Evil relaxing and evil just hanging about, also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

Protecting you from covid by riding over you with a horse. Attempted murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

There's a split second when I wake up before I remember we are in this lockdown. It's the best part of the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Parachutes

Why is China back to normal and has no need for vaccines?

Because China is already a communist country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭LameBeaver

GT89 wrote: »
    I don't need a vaccine I already have a much better one called my immune system

I think you`re a few cans short of a six pack chief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Sobit1964 wrote: »
    Protecting you from covid by riding over you with a horse. Attempted murder.

Sure if they can't take a joke.
    An April Fool’s joke festival that got out of hand in Brussels’ Bois de la Cambre park drew a crowd of thousands of people, which were then dispersed by riot police for breaking COVID-19 measures.

Some 20,000 people accepted a social media invite for the party on Facebook, and up to 5,000 actually showed up — though the event planners said the invitation was a hoax.

Police spokesperson Ilse Van de Keere told the Belga news agency that police began clearing the park at 5 pm.

However, many people refused to leave. The crowd turned on police, according to reporters at the scene. Police used water cannons, horses, pepper spray, tear gas, and a drone to disperse the crowd.

Graham wrote: »
    Good grief.

So now we have; vaccines are unscientific, vaccines are unnecessary cos 'immune system' and vaccinations are like mass sterilisation.

The best hope we have of ending this soon are vaccinations and people are coming out with this cobblers?

Rubbish from fcuking braindead morons.

Mod - Forum Ban for 1 day. Dont post in this thread when you get back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,025 ✭✭✭growleaves

Pussyhands wrote: »
    The subsidies are something else.

That's why you don't hear them complaining anymore. Most of them are making more than they were when they were open!

And you couldn't trust what they themselves say anyways, playing the poor mouth will mean more people pack into them for "support" when things do open.

I mean come on, no rates, employees wages subsidized...they're laughing!

There's no long-term thinking anywhere in Ireland it seems. The large deficits we're running up now will reduce the wealth of the country.

What is the first thing that will evaporate from people's household budget when there's less disposable income? Consumer spending, including meals out.

All the dogs that didn't bark - restaurateurs, publicans, "artists" (hoovering up subsidies is their bread and butter) etc. should all be complaining loudly if not protesting.

Its the same thing with delighted wfh'ers, boasting about how they've been bought off with their own pocket change. Jumping on to the property ladder and pulling it up after them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    Ye it is a big ask

Thats the thing snuggy. It's not. Vaccination will allow everyone to get back to normal.

growleaves wrote: »

Its the same thing with delighted wfh'ers, boasting about how they've been bought off with their own pocket change. Jumping on to the property ladder and pulling it up after them.

Fair play to them. Hopefully many more will do the same.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

growleaves wrote: »
    There's no long-term thinking anywhere in Ireland it seems. The large deficits we're running up now will reduce the wealth of the country.

What is the first thing that will evaporate from people's household budget when there's less disposable income? Consumer spending, including meals out.

I thought household saving were at an all time high?

gozunda wrote: »
    Thats the thing snuggy. It's not. Vaccination will allow everyone to get back to normal.

Maybe its not a big ask if you haven't been out of work for the year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Headline on one of the papers this morning:

“Loaded gun thief knew he had Covid”.

No,no he didn’t have a loaded gun while robbing the shop, the loaded gun was him having Covid. And some people still try to tell us there is no hysteria happening!

Actually here it is https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/chef-who-like-loaded-gun-23851042

They are.

I'm talking about the future, the years of re-paying deficits in whatever form that takes (USC II?) and the long-term effect on consumer spending.

A lazy generalisation, that may apply to some but certainly not the vast majority. I'm scratching by on half of my usual income, courtesy of an overzealous government pegging me out of work. There is little doubt in my mind that some public servants are living the life of riley during lockdown, the same ones that want to jump the vaccine queue and have a proper knees up abroad with fellow entitled twenty/thirty somethings during extended summer holliers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭Allinall

A lazy generalisation, that may apply to some but certainly not the majority. I'm scratching by on half of my usual income, courtesy of an overzealous government pegging me out of work. There is little doubt in my mind that some public servants are living the life of riley during lockdown, the same ones that want to jump the vaccine queue and have a proper knees up abroad with fellow entitled twenty/thirty somethings during extended summer holliers.

The vast majority of the private sector are also working away as normal.

LameBeaver wrote: »
    Fair play to them. Hopefully many more will do the same.

'Many more'

Well many more won't be doing the same because constriction of housing supply (due to restrictions) and asset inflation is pricing them out.

No,no he didn’t have a loaded gun while robbing the shop, the loaded gun was him having Covid. And some people still try to tell us there is no hysteria happening!

Actually here it is https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/chef-who-like-loaded-gun-23851042

He went shoplifting after testing positive for Covid-19. This fcuker should be charged with attempted murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

He went shoplifting after testing positive for Covid-19. This fcuker should be charged with attempted murder.

There are not enough LOLs in the world for this.

You're making it a bit too obvious now.

Brilliant post chief. Keep them coming.:pac:

You're making it a bit too obvious now.

A recently minted account making a beeline for a hotly contested thread, throwing out provocative content by the gallon. And I wonder where the sun goes at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

There is little doubt in my mind that some public servants are living the life of riley during lockdown, the same ones that want to jump the vaccine queue and have a proper knees up abroad with fellow entitled twenty/thirty somethings during extended summer holliers.

Another 'lazy generalisation'!!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

A lazy generalisation, that may apply to some but certainly not the vast majority. I'm scratching by on half of my usual income

It is a fact and although it may be a generalisation, no more, no less than your original generalisation.

Fact remains, savings are at an all time high and there is an expectation this will see large levels of spending when restrictions are relaxed. This will be of benefit to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,738 ✭✭✭scamalert

its something really grim seeing that vid, if people who arent even at risk are told to fck off home and causing real fights for their freedom its really messed up to think this crap is about public health safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

He must be related to the two that went to Dubai for their cosmetic surgery. He must have known that they didn't get the surgery done, and was trying to help them out...
    stopped him taking €450 worth of cosmetics on Friday.

A recently minted account making a beeline for a hotly contested thread, throwing out provocative content by the gallon. And I wonder where the sun goes at night.

Did you work that out all by yourself chief or did someone have to join the dots for you? BTW in the short amount of time left for me here I just want to give you another reminder that the pubs will not be opening anytime soon. Tough for you but that`s the way the cookie crumbles. Anyway I may be back soon in one form or another. Have a nice day all you motherfcukers.:pac:

What a sad man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

BTW in the short amount of time left for me here

Ahh don’t go, your great craic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

scamalert wrote: »
    its something really grim seeing that vid, if people who arent even at risk are told to fck off home and causing real fights for their freedom its really messed up to think this crap is about public health safety.

The police officer getting smashed in the face with a bottle?

No, freedom, something, something.