Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tommy Tiernan Show Thread - Mod warning, see OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭take everything

Do you normally take medical advise from anonymous morans online?

Did you read my post.

The reviews talked about his manner, his ability to connect with them as patients.
    Which chimes with what some people are detecting.

The reviews say nothing bad about his medical or technical ability.

The reason I mentioned his manner is that it's important to trust someone working on your brain, irrespective of his expertise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭nsnoefc1878

KaiserLu wrote: »
    He's a fecking neurosurgeon. Saves people's lives. Have a day off with your begrudgery.

Ever heard of F Scott Fitzgerald?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Who's this lady?

Rita Ann Higgins, Galway Poet.

screamer wrote: »
    There’s 2 sides to every relationship failure, and **** happens to the best of people just the same. He’s gifted, he’s human just like the rest of us.

Exactly. Those kind of comments are tabloid like. We never ever know the reality of another person's life and relationship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭External Association

Rita Ann is a lovely lady but I'm drifting away.

Could just be me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭screamer

Could just be me.

I’ve the telly turned to the wall I painted today, it’s drying grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭HeyV

Her voice/accent reminds me of Mary Coughlan... I know she was on lately too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Fine Cheers

AMKC wrote: »
    Someone needs to tell Tommy there is no such thing as a third half. Honestly that one thing would nearly turn me off the show.

Its a gag remember he's a comedian. Funny though that he's extremely pedantic on grammar, English etc on his podcasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,621 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

HeyV wrote: »

The Galway twang gets irritating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Exactly. Those kind of comments are tabloid like. We never ever know the reality of another person's life and relationship.

And I know a little more than you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭HeyV

The Galway twang gets irritating

Jaysus, do I sound like that? Lol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I think poetry is a load of bollocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Fine Cheers

That’s not good :/

His current partner is the only female neurosurgeon in Ireland !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,040 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

Poem didn't even rhyme.

HeyV wrote: »

One neck of the woods

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,486 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Rag N Bone Man's older brother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭ax530

Think her reading of the poem made it, gas she found it so funny. Never heard of her before but I'll look up some of her poems say lots 'old Galway' in them.

She reminds me to Evelyn Cusack to look at.

Pugwash- It's nice to nice.

That lead singer is a big unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,636 ✭✭✭appledrop

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Easily the best guest of the series so far. Fascinating chap to listen to and clearly Tommy was enthralled by him. Very very well done.

Amazing guest. He was so down to earth, he goes against ever preconception I'd have about a top surgeon of his age group.

He went to a normal Christain Brothers school not a private school and no one in his family were doctors.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,486 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Big Beatles influence, not a bad song.

Hasn’t a note in his head. Brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,114 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Good band. Easy listening.

Ardal O'Hanlon my favourite guest. Closely followed by Ciaran Bolger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,636 ✭✭✭appledrop

Could just be me.

No, I'm gone aswell that's why I'm on boards!

First two guests were outstanding and I'd prefer to have listened to both of them for longer and not have the 3rd guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,358 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Ardal O'Hanlon my favourite guest. Closely followed by Ciaran Bolger.

Bolger was my favourite. Fascinating man. Would love a few pints with him to discuss his life.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

Big Beatles influence, not a bad song.

I know I'm really out on a limb here but I think the Beatles are way over rated.

Songs like Love Me Do, She Loves You, Twist and Shout..pure rubbish.

Penny Lane, nice little pop song.

Greats like Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds and Strawberry Fields are excellent.

2 great interviews so far with top class guests. No comparison with the LLS last night.

Stop watching the LLS with the hope that they replace Tubs.

His current partner is the only female neurosurgeon in Ireland !

So not his secretary then like the other poster claimed

Just looked at some of his reviews online.

People say his manner is poor and unempathetic.

I suppose once he's technically skilled that's what matters but still it would be important to have confidence in a guy who was going to operate on your brain.

I would have confidence in him. He had an engaging no nonsense approach.