Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Hospitalisations and ICU numbers are constantly going down, because the vaccines are working.

NPHET will use whatever statistic happens to suit their agenda of negativity to recommend level 5. We know this because they spent last summer bleating on about the R number when we know how irrelevant it is as you get to single digit case numbers.

I don't know how it hasn't dawned on you yet that nothing that the public do during this time will have any impact on NPHET recommendations. As I said yesterday, Level 5 at 6000 cases and 400 cases. Level 5 at over 1000 hospitalised and level 5 at under 300 hospitalised. Under lockdown for close to 8 months now, with level 5 making up the majority of that, with 3 weeks off.

The tutting at people out sunbathing is particularly hilarious, and illustrates a massive lack of knowledge on your part in how the virus is massively less transmissable outdoors. Your posts are unfortunately a prime example of what watching the likes of George Lee and McConkey pontificate for a year can do to a person.

Indeed. So the restrictions have worked. Yet we and our EU neighbours are not out of the woods yet by any means. We are all facing the same issues with an increase in a rate of infection until vaccinations are fully rolled out.

https://amp.rte.ie/amp/1207123/

https://www.euronews.com/travel/2021/03/29/covid-19-portugal-tightens-border-restrictions-with-other-eu-member-states

https://amp.rte.ie/amp/1207319/

Do you honestly think others are somehow more knowledgeable than all the combined experts and specialists charged with managing covid whilst vaccinations are being rolled out?

The stench of the "Nphet agenda" nonsense from the above comment is overwhelming tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Parachutes

GT89 wrote: »
    Wtf BoJo is now saying that two vaccinated people cannot meet up indoors in the UK as the vaccines are not 100% effective so what's the fcukin point of the vaccines. I thought the vaccines were supposed to mean we could go back to normal seems not as the goalposts keep changing.

Like going round a roundabout again and again and again and again....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

What if you have 2 vaccinated people with 2 masks on standing 2 metres apart? The rule of 2's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,646 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

gozunda wrote: »
    Indeed. So the restrictions have worked. Yet we and our EU neighbours are not out of the woods yet by any means. We are all facing the same issues with an increase in a rate of infection until vaccinations are fully rolled out.

https://amp.rte.ie/amp/1207123/

https://www.euronews.com/travel/2021/03/29/covid-19-portugal-tightens-border-restrictions-with-other-eu-member-states

https://amp.rte.ie/amp/1207319/

Do you honestly think you are somehow more knowledgeable than all the combined experts and specialists charged with managing covid whilst vaccinations are being rolled out?

The stench of the "Nphet agenda" nonsense from the above comment is overwhelming tbh

We still need to quantify the effects of lockdown.

Certainly in Ireland it lowered case numbers, in a similar way burning down a house solves a rodent problem.

Our EU neighbours have much less lockdown related costs to deal with going forward than Ireland it must also be remembered.

The movement of the goal posts is staggering tbh.

I remember seeing last year, the pro lockdowner’s based their argument upon the vaccine approval would ease some restrictions

That then become “just wait until the vulnerable are vaccinated”

That then became “wait until we’re all vaccinated”

I’m starting to think the next milestone will be “wait until we give a booster shot to the vulnerable, we can have inter county travel then”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

The problem is in your own post. If you, and everyone else, had followed them 100% of the time, then we wouldn't have got stuck. And lives would have been saved.

mdmfc.jpg

Certainly in Ireland it lowered case numbers, in a similar way burning down a house solves a rodent problem.

Our EU neighbours have much less lockdown related costs to deal with going forward than Ireland it must also be remembered.

I remember seeing last year, the pro lockdowner’s based their argument upon the vaccine approval would ease some restrictions

I’m starting to think the next milestone will be “wait until we give a booster shot to the vulnerable, we can have inter county travel then”

And don't forget 'Just wait until the rest of the world has been vaccinated'.

Wtf BoJo is now saying that two vaccinated people cannot meet up indoors in the UK as the vaccines are not 100% effective so what's the fcukin point of the vaccines. I thought the vaccines were supposed to mean we could go back to normal seems not as the goalposts keep changing.

And people continue to be dismissed as conspiracy theorists despite Mike Ryan of WHO talking about 2nd and 3rd generation vaccines and Dr Mary Ramsay of PHE talking about masks and social distancing for years.

Have restrictions and lockdowns effected countries everywhere? Indeed they have.

I see you would equate a global pandemic as having some rodents in your house :rolleyes:

Other EU Countries who had started rolling back their restrictions earlier in the year now face the prospect of a rapidly rising rate of infection and health services which are increasingly under pressure.

But do point out exactly where the aim of vaccination - Was just to vaccinate the vulnerable ..

I'm starting to think I've accidentally stepped into the conspiracy forum tbh ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,646 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

gozunda wrote: »
    Have restrictions and lockdowns effected countries everywhere? Indeed they have.

I see you would equate a global pandemic as having some rodents in your house :rolleyes:

Other EU Countries who had started rolling back their restrictions earlier in the year now face the prospect of a rapidly rising rate of infection and health services which are increasingly under pressure.

But do point out exactly where the aim of vaccination - Was just to vaccinate the vulnerable ..

I'm starting to think I've accidentally stepped into the conspiracy forum tbh ...

The lack of regard for the effects of lockdown is staggering.

Most European countries have been relatively open since last May and are using lockdowns as a quick blunt tool to lower case numbers in regions where they are required.

Your essentially justifying lockdown to prevent lockdown, with zero regard for the costs involved, which is what Ireland are doing.

And people continue to be dismissed as conspiracy theorists despite Mike Ryan of WHO talking about 2nd and 3rd generation vaccines and Dr Mary Ramsay of PHE talking about masks and social distancing for years.

Boris came out and said a few weeks ago that by Sept. those who had their two injections might be getting their booster injection ( for the different variants ) in Sept. so there’s no conspiracy there. Will try to find a link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,570 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Does it scare any of you, how much even more unbearable this situation would be, if this virus wasnt the Mickey mouse virus that it is? I'm talking serious symptoms and death count? Hoping it wont happen in our life times !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,570 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

The Irish media and government have seriously damaged the thought process and risk analysis of many people.

A significant number of people likely won’t have the self confidence to return to normal after this

The media groupthink, and lack of critical analysis from a large part of the electorate, is dangerous and what results in nothing in the country, ever changing.

From the health, infrastructure, housing farces etc...

gansi wrote: »
    Boris came out and said a few weeks ago that by Sept. those who had their two injections might be getting their booster injection ( for the different variants ) in Sept. so there’s no conspiracy there. Will try to find a link.

What different variants?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,687 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

VeryWise wrote: »
    Did you see Micheal Martin on TV 3 news, grinning away saying he was allowing the Easter Bunny travel this Easter because the boys and girls were so good helping fight covid. It was completely surreal, like a poor mans Putin.

Scarily he seemed to think this was all positive and a great laugh. The idea that he has so much power and controls over all our lives. He now has children writing to him, please Dear Leader or Mr T they apparently called him are we allowed celebrate Easter. Yes children you have been good at following the rules....

And all this promoted on prime time tv by a supposedly independent station. What is going on here, we have gone completely off the reservation.

Oh, he's going to "allow" the easter bunny is he? I mean could he make it sound a bit less threatening? What if everyone isn't good enough at following "the rules", he might not let Santa come. Great way to scare children lol

Coming from the guy posting in a thread about God giving instructions to someone about stuff, this is funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Exactly,

From the BBC
    Boris Johnson says two vaccinated people cannot meet indoors because the "vaccines are not giving 100% protection", which is why "we just need to be cautious".
    The prime minister has answered questions from the public in a video on Twitter.
    In it he says the government thinks vaccines do not entirely remove the risk of transmission of Covid-19.
    Asked about whether you can play sport with more than six people he says you can play with as many people as you like as long as it is outdoors.
    "The key thing is that it is outside because it is outside that we think is safer," he says.

Can people please think critically here ...
    If you extend the above logic, you could have a situation where 100% of pop are vaccinated - but they can still spread - so whats the point ???
    Or are they saying we need all vaccinated so then that this spread won't matter ?
    OK - but variants ?

never ending sh1tshow, did not expect this from the UK, EU for sure with their 0.5% a week vaccination rate - but not UK.

Most European countries have been relatively open since last May and are using lockdowns as a quick blunt tool to lower case numbers in regions where they are required.

Your essentially justifying lockdown to prevent lockdown, with zero regard for the costs involved, which is what Ireland are doing.

Nope. The effects are fully recognised. No country is ignoring that. Unfortunately such impacts have been inevitable.

So we have the rate of infection rapidly rising in a number of European countries. The same countries who have been trying to keep case numbers at a manageable level.

Interesting that countries like Germany which had started rolling back restrictions and which have been in effective lockdown since December - now face a lockdown extension as Covid-19 case numbers rise. And we still have those who try and pretend its only Ireland that has issues.

But it is incorrect to try and claim restrictions justify restrictions. They are being used to help manage the rate of infection and keep new cases down while the vaccination schedule is being rolled out. Why would anyone want to insist that should be ignored?

And yes there are huge costs from both the impacts of the pandemic itself and the costs of countries having to curtail economic activity.

Quite amazing the fiscal and epidemiological expertise being touted here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

TomSweeney wrote: »
    Exactly,

From the BBC

If you extend the above logic, you could have a situation where 100% of pop are vaccinated - but they can still spread - so whats the point ???
    Or are they saying we need all vaccinated so then that this spread won't matter ?
    OK - but variants ?

never ending sh1tshow, did not expect this from the UK, EU for sure with their 0.5% a week vaccination rate - but not UK.

Great future to look forward to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

He's been pushing bull**** from the start of the pandemic.
    Here he and a colleague back last March argue that the US death count would be in the range of 20,000 to 40,000 if 100 million were infected.
    https://med.stanford.edu/content/dam/sm/id/documents/COVID/Is%20the%20Coronavirus%20as%20Deadly%20as%20They%20Say_%20-%20WSJ.pdf

He then of course went on to push herd-immunity via infection for months. What a ****ing disaster that would have been. He's thankfully shut the **** up on this now that we have vaccines, but not before getting the ear of Trump and filling the giant baby's head full of nonsense. Nonsense that got people killed.

He's now got a new line of incorrect bull**** that he's pushing, having left the GBD behind without so much as an apology.

I don't care about his educational credentials. We've seen from the likes of himself, Gupta, Hennigan and Cummins that sometimes credentials don't mean a damn thing. These are some of the most poisonous **** alive in the world today.

I hope he dies screaming

Wow, it just says so much about you, why would you wish this on someone who just views this differently than you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭thebronze14

Reading an article on RTE yesterday, basically saying how well we were doing compared to other countries that now have to go back into lockdown. Sure we never left the thing! Some joke! People are doing their own thing now which is fair enough. Still nonsensical some of the things that are not open or not permitting but this is just driving people to do what they want within reason as the rules make no sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

Exactly,

From the BBC

OK - but variants ?

He needs to clarify this - hopefully he’s made the assumption that the person asking the question ‘can I meet indoors with my friends and family that have been vaccinate’ may not be vaccinated themselves yet?

Otherwise it’s bonkers. Even our ridiculously cautious government have sanctioned already the meeting of two fully vaccinated people indoors, with no masks and distancing - even if you have unvaccinated people in the household, so long as any unvaccinated household members are not present during the visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Nice to see George Lee as positive as always

NPHET very worried

Sharon was just as excited about NPHET's 'nervousness'..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Exactly,

From the BBC

OK - but variants ?

He's got that wrong surely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Forever, eh? Where's all the free money going to come from "forever"?

You're talking as if Covid is an extremely deadly killer. The statistics say it's not. This year is the end, if people stand up and say "no more" to prolonged restrictions. Which it looks like they're beginning to do. You have to accept that some sort of risk will always be present in life.

As for teachers refusing to work etc, they can be replaced over time. Same for any industry. Refuse to work? Fine, but you can't expect to keep getting paid.

Viz: The U.S Air Traffic Controllers vs Prez Ronald Reagan.

A HUGE turning point in dealing with entitled small groups of Proffessionals.......I wonder if Micheal D could be led towards doing a Reagan on NPHET ? :D

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

niallo27 wrote: »
    Go out in the sun, forget about this place. Take a break.

Had a great day myself..

Up early and drove to Dublin to pick up my new car... nice!! :D Busy enough on the roads both ways. One checkpoint on the way back but the Gardai had no real interest in stopping anyone anyway.

Played with that for a few hours and went down to the park late afternoon for a bit. Busy enough but fabulous day. Nice to get out for a while.

Came home, made myself a chicken curry and having a few drinks now talking shyte with the lads online for our regular Fri night catch-up

My observation over the last few days anyway is the majority don't care anymore and are only paying the minimum of lip service to the restrictions.

Great to see TBH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭72sheep

Open up once the vulnerable and any anyone else who wants it are all vaccinated. Mitigate any future outbreaks by deploying testing and notification infrastructure that do not rely on tracking identifiable individuals.

Need to completely remove the prospect of mandatory vaccines and vaccine passports from the minds of our politicians. Those passports are a wet dream for civic bodies and international enterprise (pharma, big tech). Our gombeen politicians are positively twitching to take the bribes that will fund the retirement of their great-great-grandchildren.

[Btw: The infantilization of the populus by Irish politicians who talk, in their ministerial capacity, about childish themes (santa, easter bunny, etc.) is downright insulting. It is not folksy/charming/being natural.]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,690 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

I did. 'Tis a f&@kin joke tbh

Got a text today. Getting my vaccine(first jab I presume?) on Tuesday afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,532 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

He must of been browsing here before his run

i agree with is train of thought with 'Im sick of this'