Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part X *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

The opening of shoe shops for children may be the catalyst for a quicker re opening of click an collect at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

But your own build is finished?
    So your allright Jack?

You might have a different take on it if you were waiting for a completion.

Evidence shows transmission levels are negligible onsite.
    The rest of Europe didn't consider building sites to be a problem area.
    In fact, a lot of countries didn't even closedown officially in Spring 2020 nevermind in 2021.

Anyway, keep believing what you want about dirty builders causing covid and deserving to be shutdown, the stats say otherwise.

This is what I don't get. I live in a housing estate that's nearly finished, and even when they had the highest amount of workers, they were very rarely on top of each other, they were often spread around doing different jobs, so they weren't likely to spread the virus.

I'm not sure what the standards are now, but I know since the last set of restrictions they had to reduce their numbers massively. They went from about 30 or 40 on site, to about 10 or 15. This hasn't been of much benefit to anyone living here though, as they were meant to be done in January, yet they are still here nearly 3 months later. So instead of having to deal with 2 or 3 months of construction noise, we've to now deal with 6 or 7. It was tolerable when the weather was bad, but it's absolutely horrible trying to enjoy the nice weather when you've to listen to the sound of construction in the background.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭moycullen14

Anyone any idea where mobile home/caravan parks fit into the various levels or when they might reopen? Had a look on the gov.ie site but can't see anything.

scamalert wrote: »
    where the fck do all these media journos get off :confused:

this constant no data/stats based waffle about people hoarding cash during pandemic, dont know a single person be it WFH, or those still lucky in jobs to claim they have saved any money, yet media puts out rubbish as if someone gets loaded from this so if its not average working class person whos making any money out of this ?
    as seen my bills nearly double since last March, still have to buy petrol pay car taxes, heating/electricity/food went up as more time spent at home, just finished 6mo of work during this so called pandemic and after commute taxes food i was lucky to bring in just barely 400e a week.

so who are those lucky ones raking in cash, as sure as fck i didnt get pup or any welfare, and yes i might not splashed 1-2k on holidays and few drinks in the last year, but didnt save any more out of this disaster done to economy. as in the market for house, and in same area just 8 months later prices rocketed 30-50k and its not even remotely fancy in any way, just because theres f all supply coming into market, were made to believe every regular Paddy and Joe are getting mint out this disaster is disgusting.

I can't speak for others, but I changed to WFH in Mar/Apr last year and have stayed that way. As a result, I've sold the car (600-700 per month costs betweem loan, fuel etc) and don't go near shops or petrol stations at all anymore.

Added to that, no longer going out on the lash, out for meals etc and the end result has been that I cleared all personal debt by Sept 2020 and I'm on track to put down a deposit on a place by July this year. Prior to covid, I was thousands in debt

I also spent the time adding to my education by completing multiple courses, changed my eating habits and started exercising a lot more.

Granted I haven't gotten off scott free and have suffered personal loss due to covid, but I have done what I can to make the most of it and aimed to turn it to my benefit as much as possible.

RGS wrote: »
    The opening of shoe shops for children may be the catalyst for a quicker re opening of click an collect at least.

"Sure seen as I am here already, how much are those boots over there?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

"Sure seen as I am here already, how much are those boots over there?"

Covid will know if you browse during your kids shoe appointment. Its vindictive that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Anyone any idea where mobile home/caravan parks fit into the various levels or when they might reopen? Had a look on the gov.ie site but can't see anything.

I'd imagine if inter county isn't back til July, they're not back til July. I'd assume it's something that would change at the same time. Most people wouldn't have a mobile home in the same county anyway so I'm not expecting to get to mine til July based on the inter county one. Was hoping June bank holiday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,738 ✭✭✭scamalert

I can't speak for others, but I changed to WFH in Mar/Apr last year and have stayed that way. As a result, I've sold the car (600-700 per month costs betweem loan, fuel etc) and don't go near shops or petrol stations at all anymore.

Added to that, no longer going out on the lash, out for meals etc and the end result has been that I cleared all personal debt by Sept 2020 and I'm on track to put down a deposit on a place by July this year. Prior to covid, I was thousands in debt
    so you want to tell me you needed goverment intervention to close everything basically down so youd learn to actually safe few quid and control yourself from going out on a limber or taking loans you can't afford ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

They'd probably fall under hospitality would they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭kieran26

OwenM wrote: »
    First time since the introduction of colour TV that they are in paying their way.

Makes you wonder how much they're paying for travel / accommodation expenses that they can show a profit from a loss of 7.2m one year and 13m the year before. Constantly showing repeats and not having to pay for programming probably helps too. I wonder will they pay the money back to the exchequer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭kieran26

M_Murphy57 wrote: »
    Covid will know if you browse during your kids shoe appointment. Its vindictive that way.

The virus loves shoe shopping!!

Different people are in different positions. I've been at both ends of the spectrum (the "normal" spectrum - not tens-of-millions wealthy or anything), and it is many magnitudes easier to accrue wealth when you're already doing okay.

I could certainly see a couple who currently have €10k a year to spend on non-essentials managing to save during the pandemic, but they are in quite a different situation from a working-class couple with children who work minimum wage and who were previously just about getting by and managing to save enough for a week camping if the overtime was there.
    Yeah but are they the kind of people who are likely to be buying a house. That's more what I was talking about. What percentage of people buy a house in an average year? It doesn't take much for that number to increase greatly in percentage terms. Add in the extra constrained supply and prices won't be dropping too soon.
    There are plenty of people in our society who can't just cut back on the brunches when times get tough. And most of them can't work from home.
    Well they've had to cut back on brunches. :P
    So while it's true that there are plenty of privileged middle-class people doing just fine, or even managing to save money they would otherwise have frittered away on leisure activities and convenience, and that their wealth increase would be reflected in the "stats", that does not at all capture the full picture, and it explicitly excludes people for whom the idea of "saving" was a distant aspiration even before their wages and potential for overtime were cut and they were plunged into uncertainty.
    Yeah, different people are different. However the numbers don't lie, what people want to read into them is different.
    People who weren't saving - still aren't saving.
    People who were saving - some are saving more.
    Total savings increase. That's all the numbers say. And I just find it funny that people assume they're the typical and there's no way that numbers on a population level can be accurate because it doesn't apply to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭ypres5

If only franz kafka were still alive he'd have writing material for days from what was announced yesterday

And I just find it funny that people assume they're the typical and there's no way that numbers on a population level can be accurate because it doesn't apply to them.

Is this directed at me? Because I was pretty well off pre-pandemic and my wealth has only increased in the mean time. Being able to empathise with those who are not so fortunate isn't some kind of voodoo magic—it's human.

Fair enough on the rest, if you were only talking in respect of house prices.

so you want to tell me you needed goverment intervention to close everything basically down so youd learn to actually safe few quid and control yourself from going out on a limber or taking loans you can't afford ?

I have a (very) fat cousin who literally wants the government to tie her welfare benefits to a gym membership and force her to go. She can't/won't do it herself, so she wants it to be compulsory for everyone.

Some people just be like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭dublinbando

If you think the people who run the Country are spineless, take a look around you, the average Irish citizen is even more so. Our government is a good reflection of the type of people who live here, in general.

We could do with a second coming of St. Patrick tbh, THE SNAKES HAVE TAKEN OVER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

kieran26 wrote: »
    Makes you wonder how much they're paying for travel / accommodation expenses that they can show a profit from a loss of 7.2m one year and 13m the year before. Constantly showing repeats and not having to pay for programming probably helps too. I wonder will they pay the money back to the exchequer?

Have you a link to where it says RTE made a profit in 2020?

I suspect HSE ad revenue had a lot to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭JDxtra

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Have you a link to where it says RTE made a profit in 2020?

I suspect HSE ad revenue had a lot to do with it.

It's being a pay wall - https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/covid-bounce-returns-rte-profit-ireland-lockdown-jm2lz9bqj

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

JDxtra wrote: »
    At a town hall meeting organised by trade unions at Montrose on Thursday, staff were told that RTE was on course to record a net profit of €5 million for last year. The calculation was made by Eugene McMahon, an independent financial adviser, who examined RTE’s books in December at the request of the unions, which have been in talks with management about a €60 million cost-cutting strategy including pay cuts

I'd nearly wait for the published accounts before declaring RTE are in profit.

Whats with the antagonistic post? You asked a question, I answered.

Pre-covid, we were saving, but we were living the high life too which meant the amount we were saving each month was not huge. We lived within our means but had a car loan and a credit card, same as a lot of folks. We also did not envisage ever own a property.

Now the situation has flipped 180, we've no CC's, no loans and a large amount of savings. Also I've a new, better paying job after up-skilling and I'm living a lot healthier.

Suffice to say, covid has shifted my priorities and goals considerably. I am now aiming to be retired a lot sooner than 65.

I made the restrictions work for me as best I could and got on with things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Pdoghue wrote: »
    Someone brought up the topic of Miriam.

I've been steadily getting more irritated by RTE's coverage over the last few weeks. If you notice they are basically just mouthpieces for NEPHT (e.g. George Lee) and increasingly they are arguably breaching their public service remit in terms of having to provide balanced coverage. Perhaps they've been given a directive to urge cautious behaviour. An example was last night's TV news where they had interviews with sports people and kids coming back to play sports. At the end of the segment, the reporter inserted his tuppenceworth to the effect that, well sure the advice from NEPHT is obvious, any opening up of kids sports would 'obviously' cause numbers to increase. He said it at the end of the segment, so no one could challenge him. I heard another voxpop on Morning Ireland where they had a few kids on saying earnestly how the restrictions were wise and sensible. Hardly a representative voxpop. The slant this morning on Morning Ireland was that the opening up of restrictions was bordering on reckless.

Nearly all RTE segments now and concluded with the presenter/reporter providing a sort of disclaimer to the effect that, well the restrictions are obviously correct, and that it's inevitable that the numbers/hospitalisations will increase if we loosen restrictions. I don't think that's a given at all based on where we are now with improving weather and increased numbers of people who are vaccinated.

It's pretty simple really.

RTE, for the first time in years, made a profit last year on the back of advertising. All those Covid ads on TV and radio every 15/20 minutes aren't free.

That and they are altogether far too close to the Government as indeed are a lot of the papers/reporters who are basically auditioning for a job with some TD or in some department/ministry.

It's not just Covid. Immigration and the effects of it is another topic that is only covered one-way.

I've been steadily getting more irritated by RTE's coverage over the last few weeks. If you notice they are basically just mouthpieces for NEPHT (e.g. George Lee) and increasingly they are arguably breaching their public service remit in terms of having to provide balanced coverage.

You talk about balance? What would that look like to you?

Gemma O & John Waters on Six One?
    Nearly all RTE segments now and concluded with the presenter/reporter providing a sort of disclaimer to the effect that, well the restrictions are obviously correct, and that it's inevitable that the numbers/hospitalisations will increase if we loosen restrictions. I don't think that's a given at all based on where we are now with improving weather and increased numbers of people who are vaccinated.

The cases are increasing before any restrictions have been lifted and you are taking the position that they won't increase if restrictions are removed before a sufficient portion of the population have been vaccinated. Can you please expand on how that is possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Deusexmachina

Whats with the antagonistic post? You asked a question, I answered.

Pre-covid, we were saving, but we were living the high life too which meant the amount we were saving each month was not huge. We lived within our means but had a car loan and a credit card, same as a lot of folks. We also did not envisage ever own a property.

Now the situation has flipped 180, we've no CC's, no loans and a large amount of savings. Also I've a new, better paying job after up-skilling and I'm living a lot healthier.

Suffice to say, covid has shifted my priorities and goals considerably. I am now aiming to be retired a lot sooner than 65.

I made the restrictions work for me as best I could and got on with things.

Heres hoping bubonic plague makes a return. You will be a millionaire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    It's pretty simple really.

RTE, for the first time in years, made a profit last year on the back of advertising. All those Covid ads on TV and radio every 15/20 minutes aren't free.

That and they are altogether far too close to the Government as indeed are a lot of the papers/reporters who are basically auditioning for a job with some TD or in some department/ministry.

It's not just Covid. Immigration and the effects of it is another topic that is only covered one-way.

yep very true, i can think of a certain newstalk reporter who left to become a special advisor for coveney a few years back. He was basically a PR machine for fine gael when he was on the radio.

You talk about balance? What would that look like to you?

Gemma O & John Waters on Six One?

The cases are increasing before any restrictions have been lifted and you are taking the position that they won't increase if restrictions are removed before a sufficient portion of the population have been vaccinated. Can you please expand on how that is possible

Have you watched three news at 5.30 ? Gavin reilly gives a fair assessment of the situation and doesnt resort to the scaremongering of rte and george lee. you obviously dont know what balance is if you think RTE provide it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Have you watched three news at 5.30 ? Gavin reilly gives a fair assessment of the situation and doesnt resort to the scaremongering of rte and george lee. you obviously dont know what balance is if you think RTE provide it.

Reilly is a soft touch as any of the rest tbh. I don't get the whole 'pedestal' that some put reporters on during this pandemic. Because we see a lot of them more than we usually would or take notice of if it was regular times, some follow them like supporting a sports team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Pdoghue

But are hospitalisation numbers increasing? Isn't that the key metric?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Pdoghue

And no I didn't state that John Waters/Gemma O'Doherty would provide balance. That is quite laughable.

Corholio wrote: »
    Reilly is a soft touch as any of the rest tbh. I don't get the whole 'pedestal' that some put reporters on during this pandemic. Because we see a lot of them more than we usually would or take notice of if it was regular times, some follow them like supporting a sports team.

not putting him on a pedestal but in general he give facts and reports them in a manner that is unlike rtes gaudy sensationalist Mr Lee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,471 ✭✭✭MOH

The Finance minister is outraged at the numbers of people flouting the restrictions.

I passed there on a walk last weekend. there must have been 40-50 cars parked on the roadside as the car park was already full. Thought there was actually something organised on but was just a couple of hundred people sitting out in small groups of a handful each. Seemed to be a wide range of people - some with takeaway coffees, a small few takeaway pints, family groups. I'd say a fair proportion of them would think they're obeying all the restrictions, but since they had left their homes for something that was neither an essential journey or exercise then obviously all of them were disgusting restriction-breachers. As were the other hundred or so people I passed sitting out on a sunny day in other locations.

But if the minister is that disgusted at this flagrant flouting of restrictions he might want to have a word with the Gardai who were completely ignoring it. Garda cars cruised past me at least four times along that stretch of road, but obviously none of them were particularly bothered about it. Though then again that's par for what I've seen since last summer, they'll go after low hanging fruit, but anything that involves a bit of effort gets ignored for the most part.

It's fairly clear at this stage that despite Paschal's chest-thumping and lamentations that they're well aware at this stage that a huge number of people have lost interest in being cooped up in their homes. There's a very visible, quite costly, but totally useless Garda presence, which is purely for show and to be seen to be doing something.

If they'd put half as much money and effort over the past year into actual effective measures we'd all be a lot better off, but that's far too much to expect from this lot.