Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭daydorunrun

gozunda wrote: »
    Eh???

No stop me if I'm going to fast...

They lift the 5km restrictions and groups of people can meet up as someone suggested earlier.

A group of 10 lads from Town A decide to head off together to meet up in a park in Town B with another group of 10 lads from Town C.

Thats travel between 3 different towns in 3 different countries for this example.

Town A has a very high incidence rate of Covid cases - more than three and a half times the national average
    Town B has a slightly lower incidence rate
    Town C has a very low incidence rate

While in Town B the lads hang out in the park as mates do with lots of messing. They all use the park toilets and later queue at Supermacs to get some snack boxes which they share amongst them.

What do think will happen in the above example?

A. They'll all be fine - they're just having the craic
    B. There's a significant risk that one or more of the above lads is going to catch covid from either one of his own mates, one of the other group of mates or from another source. But it will stop there
    C. There's a significant risk that one or more of the lads will catch covid from either one of his mates, one of the other group of mates or from another source and is going to go home and spread it to their family

The reality is that the 5 km limit helps to lower the spread of covid between different areas. People going to the beach, go hiking etc all tend to mingle with others and / or use shared facilities as other people on the move in that area. With the new varient being up to 70 times more transmissible- this is a very real problem.

No one is being 'punished. A limit on non essential travel is simply common sense during a pandemic.

Young people don't get sick by and large and now that HCW, nursing homes and older people are vaccinated they are less likely to pass it on to somebody vulnerable. So I'll go for option A please.

“You tried your best and you failed miserably. The lesson is, never try.” Homer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Hooked

Young people don't get sick by and large and now that HCW, nursing homes and older people are vaccinated they are less likely to pass it on to somebody vulnerable. So I'll go for option A please.

Also option A

People know after 12 months to keep their fecking distance! And it’s outdoors, most likely as nothing of note is open.

Sharing food? Not washing hands after toilets? come on...

So, get rid of the bloody 5k already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,832 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

gozunda wrote: »
    You mean if and when? :pac:

I see you haven't seen the UK tightening up its travel restrictions etc

Doesn't sound to promising tbh even though he says that's nothing changed with regard to the roadmap....

https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/how-to-avoid-5000_uk_6059a290c5b6f12839d72a14?ncid=flipboard-HP

The travel rules don’t apply to Ireland. Cymro can very well move over here if they choose to. Nor would I blame them or anyone else for emigrating right now.

[url]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,529 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

RobitTV wrote: »
    Fianna Fail TD Marc MacSharry:

"Coraonvirus restrictions must fall back to Level Three by June 1st at a minimum"

Level Three by June 1st (at a minimum)... :D put the champagne on ice
    Read this in an article today

'Under level 5 restrictions, only takeaway food and drink is permitted from pubs and restaurants.

With level 4, outdoor dining of up to 15 people is allowed but indoor dining is forbidden.

Level 3 restrictions see the resumption of indoor dining, with restrictions easing at levels 2 and 1.'

Level 3 and we can have a pint indoors with Level 4 been outside dining. Expect to see modified levels 3/4 with Hospitality taking out because its too risky for NPHET esp in the hot summer months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Yeah, and prisons have an exercise yard. Changes nothing.

Seriously? You,re making a comparison to prison.
    A bit dramatic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

The travel rules don’t apply to Ireland. Cymro can very well move over here if they choose to. Nor would I blame them or anyone else for emigrating right now.

[url]

UK will exclusively benefit from this as the tourism will only be going one way. What sane British resident would be travelling to lil ole back water Ireland this summer ?
    €9 food bill for a beer and probably a level 4.5 all summer likely !

As long as the clinically obsessed continue needlessly counting case numbers for a virus that by June will result in (at worst) a few sniffles we can kiss our inward tourism and recovery goodbye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,004 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Thanks, Tony.

Do you know if this was the only time those people were in semi-close proximity in those few days?

If not, were they together indoors at any point?

Were they the only people infected?

It does seem odd that out of all those people, the ones infected were also in meetings together or worked closely together in the time surrounding the infection.

Was there any data from protests, for example? Or from the celebrations that occurred after the US election was settled, perhaps? Or maybe from our own protests or the UK's?

One excellent read is Jon Sopel's "A Year at the Circus",which gives a fascinating insider view of just how the Trump White House differed from it's predecessors.

One stand-out difference was the ease of access Trump's backers had to the Man himself,with the Oval Office and subsidiary offices all very much operating a walk up - walk in basis,much to the befuddlement of the Staff.

You can be confident that almost zero Covid was caught at that Photo Op,but a hell of a lot was swishing about directly before and after at the many Champagne & Diet Coke receptions.

FEAR really is the Key.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

That’s like saying Churchill only managed WW2. The vaccination programme is a matter of life and death - and economic survival. It is the single most important issue in 60 years

Yeah, the vaccination program is going well for them. The death toll prior to that...not so much.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 146 ✭✭Neagra

dalyboy wrote: »
    UK will exclusively benefit from this as the tourism will only be going one way. What sane British resident would be travelling to lil ole back water Ireland this summer ?

As long as the clinically obsessed continue needlessly counting case numbers for a virus that by June will result in (at worst) a few sniffles we can kiss our inward tourism and recovery goodbye.

i dont see how any irish national can be stopped visiting the UK.
    the UK have no restrictions on the irish going over.
    and family reasons is a valid reason for going abroad - i have family in midlands, london and glasgow.
    legally no one can stop you so start booking your flights and ferries from june on.
    by then the UK will be open for business - not completely but enough to actually go out and enjoy yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Good to see you back, you were quiet lately

Still playing catch up. I'm still about six pages behind. I notice, yet again, that you didn't answer a direct question and try to deflect instead. How many golf clubs will be closed in a few weeks?

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,832 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

dalyboy wrote: »

Yup, haven’t seen my family or friends back home since December 2019. Was planning on going home in the next few months but I’d imagine my family and friends would sooner visit me instead if the UK is relatively open while Ireland’s shut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Rezident wrote: »
    Japan has much better restrictions, which people actually follow. Avoid the 3 C's:

Avoid:
    - Closed spaces (with poor ventilation)
    - Crowded places
    - Close-contact settings

Hey, where's the 5km rule? What's that? It's nonsense and our leaders are useless?

Also undermines all their other rules, so no wonder half of the people are ignoring whatever restrictions don't suit them now.

I did read up on Japan last year but haven't recently , they had no restrictions only guidelines which were workable. No muck savage cops demanding your itinerary or hassling women visiting dying parents for them,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭kittensmittens

The Dunnes in Rathfarnham has half the isles blocked off, you can buy a jacket and nice T-shirt, and you can even browse the household section and buy clocks and cushions, but you can’t buy a pair of tracksuit bottoms or hoodie? It just doesn’t make sense! You can buy glasses and plates etc, but go across the road to home store and more and you can’t buy the very same items because covid...!

I get the logic of essential items but in practice is simply doesn’t work and just piles the same number of people into fewer shops and smaller spaces! Why do Homestore say you can’t buy a cup and saucer but Dunnes next door say you can? Does anyone even really know?

Loads of Dunnes non grocery are open! I said this weeks ago. All over Dublin and other neighboring counties you can buy candles, picture frames, ladies boots, menswear....everything. Dunnes hasn't stopped trading non essential and its a total fukcing sham.
    It stinks of them having connections and a blind eye being turned tbh and is a real 2 fingers to all other retailers and makes a total joke of the whole thing :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,936 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The very low death figures in the UK now show that the only way out of this is the vaccine. Surely it's the only reason their figures are now so low?

Restrictions have stopped working, they are basically as good as they are going to get in Ireland. Figures will remain steady now til we are all vaccinated.

All means necessary to get more vaccines should be explored by the gov, even if it annoys the eu.

The UK will be relaxed and might even have a summer, we'll still be visiting one bubble within 5km.

More wallowing in misery on Prime Time.....I mean almost salivating at a days increase in numbers over the weekend.
    Must be great for the planners of the program as they have not had to come up with a new script for almost a year.
    Thanks be to jaysus I caught it while flicking through channels! I can tell you it was an instant "click" on the doofer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

More wallowing in misery on Prime Time.....I mean almost salivating at a days increase in numbers over the weekend.
    Must be great for the planners of the program as they have not had to come up with a new script for almost a year.
    Thanks be to jaysus I caught it while flicking through channels! I can tell you it was an instant "click" on the doofer :D

Desperate shoite altogether

Masks and gel useless as well apparently according to some lad listening to anecdotes from patients

lawred2 wrote: »
    Desperate shoite altogether

Masks and gel useless as well apparently according to some lad listening to anecdotes from patients

I reckon a lot of people are thinking that we have been taken for the gullible mugs we are now at this stage. They are literally making it up as they go along now. But from listening to people on a daily basis, what I'm hearing is that the good will is gone.

Did I hear earlier than Germany is going for a total lockdown, where even food shopping is closed for 4 days?

That's probably what needed to be done at the start of all this. Tell people to shop for a week and then shut everything.

Instead of having 3 months of level 5, with the roads jammed with tens of thousands still battering into work every day.

Michael McGrath telling us the vaccines are only a part of the solution

I give up

NIMAN wrote: »
    Did I hear earlier than Germany is going for a total lockdown, where even food shopping is closed for 4 days?

That's probably what needed to be done at the start of all this. Tell people to shop for a week and then shut everything.

Instead of having 3 months of level 5, with the roads jammed with tens of thousands still battering into work every day.

Telling everyone to go shopping now?

Yeah that'll go well

I reckon a lot of people are thinking that we have been taken for the gullible mugs we are now at this stage. They are literally making it up as they go along now. But from listening to people on a daily basis, what I'm hearing is that the good will is gone.

Wasn't the average age of those dying something like 82?

What about level 5 until all the over 70s ate vaccinated, then open up te buck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

Are shops big transmissions areas? If they did that here it would be chaos for a week beforehand, wouldn't be worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,631 ✭✭✭Tork

So if you get off the plane at Dublin Airport and don't indicate that you've come from an at-risk country, you can avoid being quarantined?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

I give up

And what prey tell is the other part of the solution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

I give up

While he sits in a TV studio with not a mask to be seen.

And what prey tell is the other part of the solution?

Not sure. He waffled on a bit.

Telling everyone to go shopping now?

Yeah that'll go well

But people are shopping anyway, they just buy more , it's only enough to last the 4 days.

People aren't all shopping together at the same time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

If vaccines are only 'a part' of the solution

Then what is the permanent full solution so we can move forward? Tell us Michael McGrath.

I was led to believe for months that the vaccines were the 'silver bullet' :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭votecounts

Looking at Primetime, Israel looks to be the only country truly open but there is a requirement for a vaccine cert to do anthing.
    This won't work here as our rollout has been so slow as the younger age groups would be waiting ages