Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

To be fair, surely you expected more would be out in force? I mean, given the talk on here for weeks that everyone has woke up and we will see that in demonstrations.

Yet again it appears people are going to ride this out and not jeopardise rising numbers again, because we all know what that will mean

I don't see why anyone would go to demonstrations when they have been informed that the state's violent arm will be there to suppress their democratic right to protest, considering that it is patently obvious that everyone has woken up and one could have a much better day hanging out in the outdoor crowds that congregated all around the country today.

"jeopardise rising numbers" was a cute Freudian slip though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭LameBeaver

No no, nothing of the sort.

The real reason is much much worse for society

The right to assemble is now postponed and the government is flexing its power via its police force to prevent people protesting the prolonged removal of democracy and fundamental rights.

Between NPHET and the government they failed to protect the vulnerable in Ireland and still managed to implement the longest community mitigation measures of all countries across the globe and people have no option to show their concern at the ineptitude.

The precedent is set, and frustratingly many of ye cheered it on and allowed the government to blame us for their failures.

Spin it any way you want chief. As usual you`re completely wide of the mark there though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

LameBeaver wrote: »
    Spin it any way you want chief. As usual you`re completely wide of the mark there though.

If you repeat the same message day in, day out, people may take notice. Or maybe not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Graham wrote: »
    Ahhh there's why you're confused.

You're under the mistaken impression that Hospitals are the only 'healthcare setting';

Acute Hospital, Nursing Home, Community services, Community Hospital/LSU, Centre for disabilities, GP surgery, Mental Health Facility, Hospice, Homeless - hub/hostel/hotel, Other HCW place of work.

How many patients are sent to hotels, or community services. The key is the word patient. It may not be 100 but you can guarantee a high percentage of these cases are hospital based, but nursing home cases have dropped off a cliff.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

I don't see why anyone would go to demonstrations when they have been informed that the state's violent arm will be there

Now that's just plain silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭LameBeaver

What was the name of your threadbanned account?

Good question. What was yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

Their is a constitutional right to freedom within Ireland if I’m not mistaken

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

niallo27 wrote: »
    It may not be 100 but you can guarantee a high percentage of these cases are hospital based, but nursing home cases have dropped off a cliff.

I'll wait while you quickly rearrange those goalposts there Niallo. :rolleyes:

Horse dead, stop flogging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,153 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

namloc1980 wrote: »
    The government have offered no way out of the lockdown, just more of the same. A lot of people have given up at this stage.

I agree.

Just more weeks of not being able to do anything.

Ah well.

Graham wrote: »
    I'll wait while you quickly rearrange those goalposts there Niallo. :rolleyes:

Horse dead, stop flogging.

Deflect deflect deflect. If you actually answered questions people asked of you, you would not be such a laughing stock on here.

How many patients are sent to hotels, or community services. The key is the word patient. It may not be 100 but you can guarantee a high percentage of these cases are hospital based, but nursing home cases have dropped off a cliff.

The data is readily available.

For example there were 2,515 cases linked to acute hospital outbreaks in the 14 weeks from Week 48 2020 to last week. Last week there were 12 cases

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/covid-19outbreaksclustersinireland/COVID-19%20Weekly%20Outbreak%20Report_Week102021_WebVersion_v.1.0%20(004).pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Windmill100000

you would not be such a laughing stock on here.

Well, that's subjective, just sayin'

For example there were 2,515 cases linked to acute hospital outbreaks in the 14 weeks from Week 48 2020 to last week. Last week there were 12 cases

https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/covid-19outbreaksclustersinireland/COVID-19%20Weekly%20Outbreak%20Report_Week102021_WebVersion_v.1.0%20(004).pdf

Thanks for that information, just to be sure, are you sure it's 12 cases and not 12 outbreaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

To be fair, surely you expected more would be out in force? I mean, given the talk on here for weeks that everyone has woke up and we will see that in demonstrations.

Yet again it appears people are going to ride this out and not jeopardise rising numbers again, because we all know what that will mean

Please tell me it won't mean we go to level 5 lockdown again. If only we had stuck with lockdown we would be down to 50 cases a day by now. Hasn't that been the science up to now? Lockdown gets numbers down to low levels, so what's going on at the moment?

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Gael23 wrote: »
    Their is a constitutional right to freedom within Ireland if I’m not mistaken

Don't go hiding behind your constitutional rights.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

Since the end of November 1376 cases have been contracted in acute hospitals, 65 were admitted to icu and over 350 died. That's worse than I even thought. That's shocking.

Thanks for that information, just to be sure, are you sure it's 12 cases and not 12 outbreaks.

From the data it seems to be both. Outbreaks mush have happened the previous week with follow up testing last week

Since the end of November 1376 cases have been contracted in acute hospitals, 65 were admitted to icu and over 350 died. That's worse than I even thought. That's shocking.

And people wonder why we needed to keep cases low as much as possible to reduce the impact of this on vulnerable populations. Thankfully the vaccines will have been rolled out to the vulnerable groups by May.

From the data it seems to be both. Outbreaks mush have happened the previous week with follow up testing last week

From the data you posted, hospital transmission is definitely a huge issue up to last week.

It is not possible to keep the virus out of acute hospitals short of closing them down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

There was just a post about how Brazil, a total **** show, no restrictions, president doesn't give a **** and their hospitals are at 80% capacity. We could only dream of that.

I believe I already answered that - previously you wrote -
    Running at 80% capacity, did I read that right. We could only dream of a figure that low even without covid. They have no restrictions for months and their hospitals are only stretched to 80%. I thought this virus would overwhelm hospitals in a few weeks.

No - you didn't. You might want to read that again - that's "Covid-19 units in all but two of Brazil's 27 states are at or above 80% capacity, according to Fiocruz."
    Brazil health service in 'worst crisis in its history'

Brazil is experiencing a historic collapse of its health service as intensive care units in hospitals run out of capacity, its leading health institute, Fiocruz, has warned.

Covid-19 units in all but two of Brazil's 27 states are at or above 80% capacity, according to Fiocruz.

In Rio Grande do Sul state there are no intensive care beds available at all.

The warning came as the country registered its highest daily death toll yet with 2,841 dying within 24 hours.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-america-56424611

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=116607741&postcount=7350

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,655 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

It is not possible to keep the virus out of acute hospitals short of closing them down

How effect is community mitigation measures at preventing hospital spread so?

About as useful as an ashtray on a motorbike I’d say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

It seems more like many people are skirting the 'rules' as it suits them, but have no interest in attending a mass protest. Skirting the rules is in of itself a protest. The situation looks a tiny bit more volatile on the continent. I think anyone in their right mind will agree that 'firework boy' from the last protest was an outlier muppet.

A very accurate post made about a week ago by the prolific [a clock twice a day] Bonkers suggested that with vaccination rolling, it's hard to see why most people would bother to kick up a fuss rather than just wait. Agree or not with that viewpoint, the end is in sight, its now more a set of differing complaints about speed and removal of this utterly rubbish year. There is no common consensus on that which at least in Ireland might cause a mass protest.

The accounting of the efficacy of Irelands lockdown can and must come later. I hope but doubt many heads will roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Oberkon wrote: »
    Mainly late teens and 20s . Fair play to them . They clearly have had enough . You can’t lock young people up .
    I then saw 2 guards on bikes up the road . They didn’t seem to give a dam either. Probably sick of it at this stage

I’d say Nephet and the Governments worst nightmare was a sunny day on St Patrick’s day ...

No one is locked up. What would the guards be giving a damn about? People are allowed to be out and about.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

How effect is community mitigation measures at preventing hospital spread so?

About as useful as an ashtray on a motorbike I’d say

It’s not possible to keep the virus out of acute hospitals when it’s rampant in the community. Is that clearer. Every “acute” admission is a potential carrier and eventually a case will get in and spread simply through the nature of how hospitals are supposed to work. Eventually you may come to the realisation that this in essence is why low community spread in the absence of vulnerable populations being vaccinated is desirable. 350 deaths, more than 20% of those who caught it while in hospital for another reason, due to community outbreaks seeding hospital outbreaks. I don’t believe you will find any stat showing anything close to 20% of hospital population never being discharged in normal circumstances

Oberkon wrote: »
    Cycled through malahide earlier , place was jammed was nearly like a festival between the park and the green area in front of the marina .
    Everybody chilling having a few drinks , no hassle or messing . Then cycled past the park on way back and loads leaving at same time , must have been some meet up . Mainly late teens and 20s . Fair play to them . They clearly have had enough . You can’t lock young people up . I then saw 2 guards on bikes up the road . They didn’t seem to give a dam either. Probably sick of it at this stage. I’d say Nephet and the Governments worst nightmare was a sunny day on St Patrick’s day ...

Afaik Malahide has a population of approx 16,550 residents. If only a proportion of those decided to exercise within the 5 km restriction limit you would see a similar number of people "between the park and the green area in front of the marina "

This bs that regular people are somehow giving the finger to the rest of us is truely bizarre.

It's like some are imagining things just to suit their own ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

gozunda wrote: »
    Afaik Malahide has a population of approx 16,550 residents. If only a proportion of those decided to exercise within the 5 km restriction limit you would see a similar number of people "between the park and the green area in front of the marina "

This bs that regular people are somehow giving the finger to the rest of us is truely bizarre.

It's like some are imagining things just to suit their own ideas about some great mass uprising.

You are right everyone is sticking to the 5k limit aren't they....

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    You are right everyone is sticking to the 5k limit aren't they....

So you are claiming everyone exercising "between the park and the green area in front of the marina" in malahide are part of some mass uprising yeah?

Yeah right...

I believe I already answered that - previously you wrote -

No - you didn't. You might want to read that again - that's "Covid-19 units in all but two of Brazil's 27 states are at or above 80% capacity, according to Fiocruz."

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-america-56424611

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=116607741&postcount=7350

So all hospitals are running at around 80% bar two that are less, you do realise we run at 100% here every winter. I'm not saying it's all rosy but how the hell are they not at 150% capacity by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Sobit1964

So you are claiming everyone exercising "between the park and the green area in front of the marina" in malahide are part of some mass uprising yeah?

Yeah right...

Wow thats a fantastic example of a strawman argument. While you probably both have a point, you just made yourself look silly with this post.