Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Weekend On One With Brendan O'Connor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Is she from Munich or Mallow - take your pick online such is the standard of journalism. Perhaps she's reinventing herself like Violet Wynne - Leo's favourite SF TD.

I am confused. What are you trying to say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,897 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I am confused. What are you trying to say?

She’s class.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,853 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

I listen to Neil Prenderville on Cork Red FM. in the mornings.
    He gives everyone a voice, recommend. Finished with RTE and Newstalk.

Hes an utter bellend, both on air and off.

Incredible there was no real fallout from his airplane “incident”.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,014 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

NIMAN wrote: »
    I heard a doctor on UK radio around last summer time, asked if you died in a car crash but had tested positive in the last 30 days, would you be classed as a Covid death.

He said yes.

That says a lot about the "Covid Death figures" for me.
    there was a man in wicklow, killed in a fatal car accident, listied as a covid-19 death.

I have been told that hospitals get paid for covid-19 deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,934 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

dvcireland wrote: »

Very much doubt that. Sounds like something you'd read among conspiracy theorists on Facebook.

Hospitals are funded out of health budget, it's not like they get extra money at the end of the month after tallying up their deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

there was a man in wicklow, killed in a fatal car accident, listied as a covid-19 death.

That’s not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

That’s not true.

Am I wrong to suggest that GP's are paid something extra when sending people to get tested for COVID.

Elmo wrote: »
    Am I wrong to suggest that GP's are paid something extra when sending people to get tested for COVID.

Can’t speak to that, but I can tell you the hospital payment question (which was the point raised earlier) is not true.

Elmo wrote: »

I have close relatives who are GPs. I will ask tomorrow (too late now tonight, plus I’m in bed) but I haven’t heard anything of the sort. And that would most likely have come out before now.

I have close relatives who are GPs. I will ask tomorrow (too late now tonight, plus I’m in bed) but I g JH agent heard anything of the sort. And that would most likely have come out before now.

I thought they got a fee, something like €15, from anyone calling up for a Covid “consultation”. Instead of their usual €60 consultancy fee.

Don’t believe they get anything from the government for sending people to get tested.

I thought they got a fee, something like €15, from anyone calling up for a Covid “consultation”. Instead of their usual €60 consultancy fee.

Don’t believe they get anything from the government for sending people to get tested.

Well to be fair that’s a completely separate issue and question. I’ll ask in the morning and revert when I have an answer.

You need to provide verified links to support these kind of claims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

I think she is wheeled on as the token young person.

I think it's a bit reckless of RTE to keep bringing her on. She's a bit of a loose cannon and always seems to be on the very of saying something libelous. Have her on to talk about entertainment for sure, or eating disorders (as she lost a huge amount of weight in fairness to her), or drinking. But not to lecture us on vaccines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

"Anti Vaxxers will have a 'field day' with the news of the AZ vaccine being pulled" says Brendan. Instead of maybe acknowledging that anybody who said that the vaccines were rushed might have actually had a point and that RTE may have been wrong to tell everybody to "take any vaccine, they are all safe, they are all effective".

Haven't you got the chip in your head yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Haven't you got the chip in your head yet?

No, you can have mine Dan, not that you would need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,014 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

Can’t speak to that, but I can tell you the hospital payment question (which was the point raised earlier) is not true.
    thanks for dispelling that hospital payment misiformation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,871 ✭✭✭plodder

"Anti Vaxxers will have a 'field day' with the news of the AZ vaccine being pulled" says Brendan. Instead of maybe acknowledging that anybody who said that the vaccines were rushed might have actually had a point and that RTE may have been wrong to tell everybody to "take any vaccine, they are all safe, they are all effective".
    How does this show that the vaccines were rushed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Cole

Mark Cagney: "I know I'm in Marian's studio..." Oh I wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,954 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Jaysus Mark Cagney doesn't half like talking about himself! You'd swear he was Keith Richards the way he was going on at one stage. Beat on the steet my arse!
    While the conversation about his stroke was interesting enough and informative, the rest was just hubris. He's one of the most self-absorbed people I've ever heard on radio and that's saying something.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,283 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Really enjoying this interview, Cagney has a good voice for radio. He stood in for Cudihy a few times on news talk and eas streets ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,052 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Never a fan of Cagney

Something off about him

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,283 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Jaysus Mark Cagney doesn't half like talking about himself! You'd swear he was Keith Richards the way he was going on at one stage.
    While the conversation about his stroke was interesting enough and informative, the rest was just hubris. He's one of the most self-absorbed people I've ever heard on radio and that's saying something.

He’d a serious coke addiction in the 80’s, came out the other side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,836 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Jaysus Mark Cagney doesn't half like talking about himself! You'd swear he was Keith Richards the way he was going on at one stage.

He really does lay it on thick!

Jaysus Mark Cagney doesn't half like talking about himself! You'd swear he was Keith Richards the way he was going on at one stage. Beat on the steet my arse!

Sums it up well. Huge ego.

The keith Richards of tv3 breakfast tv ffs...

Radio off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

I never liked him and after that interview I now know why.
    Thinks he is some sort of superstar, never heard a man of his age so full of himself,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Could you imagine Mark Cagney being interviewed by Dave Fanning or vice versa? What a battle to get a word in edgeways at a million miles an hour. Didnt mind it personally though, thought it was quite a powerful story in the main.

mgn wrote: »
    I never liked him and after that interview I now know why.
    Thinks he is some sort of superstar, never heard a man of his age so full of himself,

Over the years he’s always been like that, ego crazed

He’s always centre of attention in his mind.

The rare times I saw that breakfast show he hosted he could be downright nasty to the co presenters particularly the women.

I shudder to think what he was like high on cocaine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,904 ✭✭✭mgn

Over the years he’s always been like that, ego crazed

I shudder to think what he was like high on cocaine

Probably had the opposite affect on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,954 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

pc7 wrote: »
    He’d a serious coke addiction in the 80’s, came out the other side.

I'd take stories of 'serious' coke addiction(especially in Ireland of the eighties) with a pinch of salt if that's not mixing metaphors somewhat. It wasn't exactly boomtime London or New York in Dublin back then. Quite the opposite.
    It tends to be overstated and usually the source of the stories are from the 'addict' themselves. Cagney is a classic example of this.