Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭RGS

State of them... NPHET, Government, the whole lot of them. Unable to make a decision, no guts to make a call. Less than 400 people in hospital and they're talking about 2 more months. Absolute and utter madness.

Agreed. Its easy to state no easing of restrictions when you are not as affected as the general population.

Government ministers have no travel restrictions--Darragh O'Brien touring 9 counties promoting grants. Other ministers going on foreign travel. I accept some government business must be done in person abroad.

No loss of income, no working from home for 12 months.

And Leo joking on Newstalk this morning his hair is a mess.

They have no understanding that their words and actions have consequences.

The public are looking for leaders to led us out of this mess and there is no plan other than get vaccines and if the vaccine supply is compromised blame the supplies and just keep the pubic in lockdown.

Its not good enough 12 months on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,252 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

To be fair no matter what they say or do you'd be giving out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,634 ✭✭✭timmyntc

To be fair no matter what they say or do you'd be defending them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

If they remove travel restrictions, Garda checkpoints, allow me to see friends and family and walk in a forest, I would not give out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Lockdown until March 5th we were told, then it got extended to April now May.. what’s to stop them coming out at the start of May and extending it until June? “We’re still not where we need to be”.. tbh that’s what they probably will do because the best indicator of future behaviour is past behaviour. Bar two weeks reprieve in December, when May rolls around we will have been in level 4/5 lockdown for EIGHT MONTHS. Absolute lunacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Got it.

More lockdown to avoid another lockdown.

The mentall illness is staggering

Personal insults and throwaway remarks relating to mental health. Lovely.
    It's fairly depressing but not at all surprising that this post got 16 likes, from the same people screaming to open up and using mental health as one of the main reasons.

All happy to encourage and thank ignorant insults questioning someones mental health for simply stating a valid opinion, whilst screaming the govt are not doing enough about the mental health of the population.

The lack of self awareness is staggering.

If that is the level of debate we are at it's hard fathom where we go from here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

RGS wrote: »
    Having caught the last bit of Leo on Newstalk .

Denied that the government are looking at the 2000 cases a day route---stated they are not looking at specific figures.

Indicated end of April for possible further easing of restrictions including barbers opening, this despite the Irish Times report stating 23 May was the day for review and Martin indicating in the dail that review would be 6 weeks after the 5 april, that's the middle of may.

as usual leo just being leo.

And he had the cheek to suggest he should be careful about answering questions in case he could be accused of kite flying.

The government need to appoint one point man, and every other minister should just STFU, to discuss the matter.

When did he say April for barbers? He’s quoted at saying at least May in this article

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/tanaiste-leo-varadkar-gives-update-23674801

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,883 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Lockdown until March 5th we were told, then it got extended to April now May.. what’s to stop them coming out at the start of May and extending it until June? “We’re still not where we need to be”.. tbh that’s what they probably will do because the best indicator of future behaviour is past behaviour. Bar two weeks reprieve in December, when May rolls around we will have been in level 4/5 lockdown for EIGHT MONTHS. Absolute lunacy.

and sure we could keep going , get to June have level 4 lockdown for 2 months , and on an on , meanwhile sadly people are forgetting how to live normally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭ingo1984

SnuggyBear wrote: »
    Ah would you just go to the beach ffs

Exactly. Go to the beach. I often go running up the mountains on my own. It's about 12km from my house. Have been stopped three times. I explained to the Garda that I couldn't go running on the country roads it is unsafe and the mountain trails are safe and on my own. He let me go on not a bother. They are human aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭JDxtra

Exactly. This is going to go on and on - eventually leading into next Autumn/Winter. When, surprise surprise some "bad flu" season or a Covid variant will come along. We'll hear the mantra "just another few months Ireland to flatten the curve..." - give me a bloody break.

This is now beyond a joke. Everyone needs to cop on and see that these sledgehammer lockdowns and ultra cautious opening up approach from our weak government will ultimately destroy the people and economy of this country. Far more damage than will be done by Covid.

They have already hinted at lockdowns next winter as a means to control other respiratory illnesses like the flu, so as not to overwhelm the health system. I hope at that stage the mass population will have had enough and hounded them out of government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Everyone who can needs to start attending these protests. I mean come May we literally will have been in full on lockdown for 6 months, like in the worst hit countries they haven’t even done this.

What really grinds my gears is how they repeatedly say 'we know how frustrating it is' and 'we know how hard it is'. Don't be so bloody condescending. They are not on the Pup, they don't have their business closed, they don't have to work from home, they don't have a 5km restriction applied. In fact bar being able to go to the pub or restaurant, their life is as normal as it ever was. Get to go to work each day, nice payrise for them aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,883 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

ingo1984 wrote: »
    They have already hinted at lockdowns next winter as a means to control other respiratory illnesses like the flu, so as not to overwhelm the health system. I hope at that stage the mass population will have had enough and hounded them out of government.

The reality is though , that all opposition parties support the government action, whilst some are preposing zero covid . But it is a worry if next year or any other year we get a bad flu, NPHET and the likes will be calling for lockdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Well exactly, and we’re supposed to believe that this is the last lockdown? Not a chance with such a weak gaggle of conservative, risk averse decision makers.

We’ll still have plenty of cases again come winter but cases don’t indicate actual sickness.

We’ll have to go through all this again come October/November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭17larsson

DellyBelly wrote: »
    Yes I did but didn't visit it while we are in the 5km limit.

I imagine you're the kind of guy that would get your car towed to the NCT centre if it was a day out of date.

Just go to the beach!

W123-80's wrote: »
    Personal insults and throwaway remarks relating to mental health. Lovely.
    It's fairly depressing but not at all surprising that this post got 16 likes, from the same people screaming to open up and using mental health as one of the main reasons.

All happy to encourage and thank ignorant insults questioning someones mental health for simply stating a valid opinion, whilst screaming the govt are not doing enough about the mental health of the population.

The lack of self awareness is staggering.

If that is the level of debate we are at it's hard fathom where we go from here.

Spare us your faux outrage.
    You dont care about people's mental health, you're just trying to score points on here by berating others' use of the world "mental".

You genuinely have to be mental to think that more lockdown to avoid more lockdown works or makes any sense.
    The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result. Sounds pretty apt here, dont you agree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Hooked

State of them... NPHET, Government, the whole lot of them. Unable to make a decision, no guts to make a call. Less than 400 people in hospital and they're talking about 2 more months. Absolute and utter madness.

Thankfully from what I see, most people are taking it into their own hands and choosing to live their lives safely but ignoring this 5km bol**x, no visitors, no training etc.

I had to quote this - just so I could thank it TWICE!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭francogarbanzo

Well exactly, and we’re supposed to believe that this is the last lockdown? Not a chance with such a weak gaggle of conservative, risk averse decision makers.

We’ll still have plenty of cases again come winter but cases don’t indicate actual sickness.

We’ll have to go through all this again come October/November.

Conservatism: Using the power of the state to prevent citizens from travelling freely, interacting with one another, and engaging in commerce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,985 ✭✭✭Russman

thebaz wrote: »
    But it is a worry if next year or any other year we get a bad flu, NPHET and the likes will be calling for lockdown.

No, they won't.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

timmyntc wrote: »
    You genuinely have to be mental to think that more lockdown to avoid more lockdown works or makes any sense

Oh good, this nonsense again :rolleyes:

At the simplest level, the point of restrictions is to reduce the number of people spreading the virus around the country.

That's it. It's not complicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

if they told the truth about when things will actually open up there might be civil disorder

so its always another month away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

No no, I completely agree with you.

I'm sure you're of sound enough mind to read an article on gript, judge it on its merits, and not get swayed by the rest of their far-right nonsense.
    But on the off chance you share the article, can you say the same for those you share it with? What about the people they might share it with?

That's their plan like. That's what they're hoping for.

Absolute rubbish.

What about RTE? They wouldn’t stoop to such low standards that you just imagined Gript drop to?

They wouldn’t intentionally mislead the public would they? They surely have far more journalistic integrity than the evil right wing cult rag gript.

RTE have covertly worked with a biased, agenda driven bunch of scaremongers to rehearse “debates” on live tv.

They have consistently narrowed the spectrum of acceptable topics for debate in order to delegitimise any kind of alternative options.

They have continuously gaslit the public, exaggerating risk and placing all the blame on citizens rather than those who make decisions and spend our tax money.

And mark my words - they will terrorise the public all over again when this is over. They will cover all the damage that these endless lockdowns have caused and milk as much misery out of it as possible...”oooh look what we did...how did we let this happen...”

For the record I don’t read gript, I’ve always voted left but I’m grateful that they released those leaked emails.

At least SOMEONE is being actually held up to some kind of scrutiny in this ****hole country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,394 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

fin12 wrote: »
    Everyone who can needs to start attending these protests..

It's a good way to volunteer people for a bit of Darwinism alright.

But is your heart really in it if you wear a mask to it, or just a sign that you're pretty confused and need to be taken aside for a simple explanation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭UsBus

fin12 wrote: »
    Everyone who can needs to start attending these protests. I mean come May we literally will have been in full on lockdown for 6 months, like in the worst hit countries they haven’t even done this.

Incoming 'Private Message Warning' on the way
    Prepare your 'I'm so so solly speech'......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Graham wrote: »

At the simplest level, the point of restrictions is to reduce the number of people spreading the virus around the country.

The government have a sliding scale of restrictions available to use.

Genuine question, do you think it's appropriate to still be at level 5+ with the current 7 day incidence rate and numbers in hospital?

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,643 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

JRant wrote: »
    Genuine question, do you think it's appropriate to still be at level 5+ with the current 7 day incidence rate and numbers in hospital?

Yes.

I understand how exponential growth works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭batman_oh

JRant wrote: »
    The government have a sliding scale of restrictions available to use.

Not just now, but level 5 in some form for another 2 months. It's an absolute shambles relative to every other country in Europe, especially if we then go to Level 4 (nothing extra basically other than click and collect) for a further 4-6 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Yes.

I understand how exponential growth works.

Can you point to data showing how opening hairdressers or click and collect will drive exponential growth?

People are trynig to justify the harshest & longest restrictions in Europe as "making sure this is the last lockdown" - ok, so instead of having more time with our economy functioning in some degree, we keep it all shut down for longer so that we dont have to shut it down again. As if we are obligated to shut it down to this extent in the first place.

Well I have an idea, if we never come out of lockdown and stay in it perpetually, it will guarantee that this is the last lockdown. What could possibly go wrong.

The govt (& restriction advocates) have been using the threat of future lockdowns, to justify current lockdowns. Its madness.