Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,447 ✭✭✭Grueller

Bulls or bullocks? I think your on the money there tbh, be fair on both parties.

Sorry Albert. Heifers

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,936 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Grueller wrote: »
    Sorry Albert. Heifers

It was the lads bit that threw me off. I'd say your still safe at that money, circa €1.80.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭jd_12345

Grueller wrote: »
    400kg black whiteheads lads. Out of 75% holstein cows so not exactly the most beefy types but not the worst by a long stretch of the imagination. What are they worth?

I am guessing €1.80 - €1.90 a kilo.

I would think closer to €2.10 given the current market. 300kilo cattle around here are making €700

jd_12345 wrote: »
    I would think closer to €2.10 given the current market. 300kilo cattle around here are making €700

I won't own them at that so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

Their value would be somewhere around the €1.80 / kg mark to feed for slaughter but what they are making in the Mart at the minute is north of €2.10 & I have seen some making north of €2.20...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

Anto_Meath wrote: »
    Their value would be somewhere around the €1.80 / kg mark to feed for slaughter but what they are making in the Mart at the minute is north of €2.10 & I have seen some making north of €2.20...

The lunatics are out early this year so.

Jjameson wrote: »
    Where will you show them?

I am actually looking for a few rather than offloading. I have done a deal on a couple of good quality sexed embryos and want them to carry those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,274 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Cavanjack wrote: »
    The lunatics are out early this year so.

It all depends on your land or system. If you can get grazing from early March it a very long grazing season. Animal that have a good ADWG would be ok at 2/kg if they did not go over 30 months until late in the year. There a Good chance with such heifers that you could graze them outside until November. A 230-250 day grazing season should guarantee a 200kg weight gain off grass. A 400kg heifer hitting 600kgs in late October would gross 1150. You have a 300+ euro margin. It a matter of picking the right heifers or bullocks but then that the same no matter what system you follow

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭morphy87

It all depends on your land or system. If you can get grazing from early March it a very long grazing season. Animal that have a good ADWG would be ok at 2/kg if they did not go over 30 months until late in the year. There a Good chance with such heifers that you could graze them outside until November. A 230-250 day grazing season should guarantee a 200kg weight gain off grass. A 400kg heifer hitting 600kgs in late October would gross 1150. You have a 300+ euro margin. It a matter of picking the right heifers or bullocks but then that the same no matter what system you follow

I usually buy my stores the fall of the year,I might be able to change my system and buy yearlings in the spring, continentals out of British fresian cows,if I was to purchase early April around 330 kgs and let off on newly reseeded ground, it’s paddocked and I regularly top and keep grass right, what weight should I exspecting these to be say mid November?

morphy87 wrote: »
    I usually buy my stores the fall of the year,I might be able to change my system and buy yearlings in the spring, continentals out of British fresian cows,if I was to purchase early April around 330 kgs and let off on newly reseeded ground, it’s paddocked and I regularly top and keep grass right, what weight should I exspecting these to be say mid November?

It varies depending on the ability of the animal genetic ability to gain weight. Continentals'. Can be hit and miss. April will see the highest priced period . Personally. If I had the means I be buying in late Jan/Feb and hold on silage only until turnout. Compensatory growth will kick in on turnout compared to buying cattle that will have weight accumulated. By meal feeding in Feb/March and salt April.
    I never get fixated on breeds or types I try to buy value. Over the last few weeks I have seen different cattles at value. In Castleisland a pair of nice HEX,s 375 kgs were bought for 750. You see a value in runners around the marts. I have seen nice friesians around 300 kgs bought for 450-520 euro. Saw a flaker 440kg friesian that would grade bought for around the 650 mark he was a lad that would grade.

You be hoping most yearlings would put 200-250 over the summer grazing season. But I be looking for hungry ones.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Compensatory growth will kick in on turnout compared to buying cattle that will have weight accumulated. By meal feeding in Feb/March and salt April.

You be hoping most yearlings would put 200-250 over the summer grazing season. But I be looking for hungry ones.

Are hungry ones available much anymore?
    Sometimes the hungry looking one could be bad genetics

Big difference in gain on cattle that come for sale that got a kg or less or cattle that got 3kgs. There is a lot of fellas still only giving a shake to cattle over the winter. Even cattle with poor genetics can often be value if the price is right. What is often the think to watch is there weight. Some of them can be a lean 300kgs+ at 12 months. Bought one a few years ago a full bull 350kgsbat 15 months for 350euro. Beef prices were over 4/kg. He liked 340DW at 27 months at O- grading was horribly hard on him at the time. He left over 900 euro gross in 14 months.

In case anyone thinks I spend the day looking at mart on-line I do not. If you open the mart and go to online mart you can open the cathelog and look at all the results for that day you can see the video's as well. At the start of the month ago I was watching a west of Ireland mart. A dairy lad had 5 bunches of HEX bulls hungry looking bunches 260-280 kgs. They sold from 450-530 euro. The last two bunches were the cheapest. The last bunch were by far the best bunch and made the least. There was 1-2 here and there that had JE genetics but most were straight enough. He bough too many on the one day, so limited customers. It was the wrong mart for them as well

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭morphy87

It varies depending on the ability of the animal genetic ability to gain weight. Continentals'. Can be hit and miss. April will see the highest priced period . Personally. If I had the means I be buying in late Jan/Feb and hold on silage only until turnout. Compensatory growth will kick in on turnout compared to buying cattle that will have weight accumulated. By meal feeding in Feb/March and salt April.
    I never get fixated on breeds or types I try to buy value. Over the last few weeks I have seen different cattles at value. In Castleisland a pair of nice HEX,s 375 kgs were bought for 750. You see a value in runners around the marts. I have seen nice friesians around 300 kgs bought for 450-520 euro. Saw a flaker 440kg friesian that would grade bought for around the 650 mark he was a lad that would grade.

The cattle I would be buying wouldn’t be overdone,I’m not fond of buying stores full of meal

340 cull cows in Gortnalea today

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭ruwithme

Agree on the hungry ones.very hard to find round our way anymore. Between silage being plentiful this many years & lads likings to drawing plenty of meal over the winter months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭Base price

340 cull cows in Gortnalea today
    What were prices like.

ruwithme wrote: »
    Agree on the hungry ones.very hard to find round our way anymore. Between silage being plentiful this many years & lads likings to drawing plenty of meal over the winter months.

I was at a special store heifer sale recently and I thought it was a great advertisement for what meal feeding can do. All pumped type forward stores that would fail if put to grass rather than thrive. Once upon a time you'd see lots of good raggy store cattle at this time of year that would turn inside out when they'd get to grass. Now there a rarity and make London for the few that are to be bought. Most sheds have a meal bin outside it now and there pumping meal into everything all winter long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

I was at a special store heifer sale recently and I thought it was a great advertisement for what meal feeding can do. All pumped type forward stores that would fail if put to grass rather than thrive. Once upon a time you'd see lots of good raggy store cattle at this time of year that would turn inside out when they'd get to grass. Now there a rarity and make London for the few that are to be bought. Most sheds have a meal bin outside it now and there pumping meal into everything all winter long.

Problem is it’s price per kg these days and with margins getting tight we’re possibly doing the wrong things to maximise any returns

With decent rations in bagged form @ 300/ton it is costing more to put on a kg of weight using ration than you will get paid for especially with Dr, AA and Hereford's. At 3kgs/ day these cattle are using 2 kgs of ration to replace 2 kgs of silage DM.

Slava Ukrainii

Perhaps although usually the lighter the stock the higher the price per kilo and any proper stores I see usually make as much or near it as there fleshy equivalent. I never understood giving circa €2.50 a kilo for pumped stores for them to horse off 30-50kgs of it when they went to grass. It then takes the first 6 weeks post turnout to get back to where they were on sale day.

Granted some lad's love buying weanlings or stores with the steam coming off them with feeding but it's definitely not for me. I see similar stock in different yards each year that get varying degrees of feeding over the winter. There's usually a variation in them this time of the year but by July if turned out on a good run there all fairly similar imo. The fleshy one's melt for the first month where as the storey one's thrive. I see lot's of lad's who meal feed the cow's from calving to weaning, creep the calves and throw meal to everything else for the biggest part of the year and complain then about cost of production.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭trg

We've 2 smallish limousin heifers that a neighbours AA bull had his way with. They'll be calving at 23/24 months old, circa end of April.

Not going to keep them because they're after our stock bull who's staying.

What do ye think be best? Sell with calves at foot or sell in calf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,597 ✭✭✭Dunedin

trg wrote: »
    We've 2 smallish limousin heifers that a neighbours AA bull had his way with. They'll be calving at 23/24 months old, circa end of April.

Really depends on what you want. They will obviously make more with the calf at foot. End of April is a bit late for suckler calving so they might be hard enough to sell as Springers now especially if you say they’re on the small side.

Calving them will give you a better return but you’re carrying the risk of calving them.

If they were mine I have injected them when I found out if they were less than six months. Now in a way they are neither here nor there. Too late calving and having AA calves as well as being too small. What were you going to do with them orginally

Slava Ukrainii

Seeing as you've held out this long I'd keep them until there springing down and then show them. Trying to sell any incalf that's a few month's off calving is hit and miss as there neither one thing or another. Wait until there a week or 2 off it and they might appeal to someone who wants a springer at lesser money. I often see cows with calves at foot making almost the same price as springers so I wouldn't bother calving them seeing as you've decided to sell them. You're lucky it was the AA that caught them as they should calve ok compared to any other breed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭trg

Seeing as you've held out this long I'd keep them until there springing down and then show them. Trying to sell any incalf that's a few month's off calving is hit and miss as there neither one thing or another. Wait until there a week or 2 off it and they might appeal to someone who wants a springer at lesser money. I often see cows with calves at foot making almost the same price as springers so I wouldn't bother calving them seeing as you've decided to sell them. You're lucky it was the AA that caught them as they should calve ok compared to any other breed.

Very lucky definitely, and they're the smallest heifers as well.

We'll hang onto them until near calving so and see is there someone for them. Taking the risk of calving would be chance I'd take too I think as its AA bull.

Base price wrote: »
    What were prices like.

Was there yesterday.
    It's like a compitition as to who wants to work for the least amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dozer1

looked at some of Castleisland today any nice heifers 350 to 450kgs were a real good trade I guess the grassmen are out testing the water.

Probably better value in the heavier animals I thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭leoch

watched local mart here on saturday and any middeling heifer 300/350kgs was 900 +euro serious trade ......grazing cattle going to be very dear this year as ur bidding against everyone with this online bidding crack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭tanko

It's only the best of last years calves making that, take the cost of keeping a cow for a year and the cost of feeding the calf since October out of it and there's not much left. There's some amount of effort and money gone into producing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,390 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

The old story. Lads buying think they are dear. Lads selling think they're hardly covering costs. The beauty of the mart.