Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The truth about the Irish and the English

• 01-03-2021 12:56pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭

Anybody foreigner reading internet forums would probably think that the Irish and English can't stand each other.

However, like a lot of things in life, what happens on the internet and what happens in real life is totally different.

When the Irish are in a room full of Europeans, the Irish and the English gravitate towards each other paperclips to a magnet. Over, the years I've seen this countless times in workplaces, conferences and other events. The fact is the Irish don't generally gravitate towards Sylvia from Stuttgart or Kurt from Klagenfurt. After just a few minutes, they will be talking to Nigel and Sally from Slough. And a few weeks ago, the great Tommy Gorman mentioned this phenomenon as well from this his time in Brussels. The Irish contingent working for the EU were not hanging out with other Eurofolk but they were hanging out with Brits.

So despite all the negative talk about Brexit, I think it finally time for the Irish to admit that culturally we are much closer to Britain than any other country in Euroland and they might actually like each other.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

I agree that the Irish (north and south) and English usually get on good, along with Welsh and Scots.
    There may be some slagging after a few drinks, and even some fisticuffs, but in general we get along.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,527 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

biko wrote: »
    ...but in general we get along.

We, as in swedes? :confused:

The tide is turning…

• Registered Users Posts: 20,498 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Not Nigel surely?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,131 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I think anyone over the age of 16 realizes this. I live outside Ireland and Irish people gravitate to the British expats. We have much more in common to brits then the likes of Americans and Canadians

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

English and Irish people do have a lot in common although they’d annoy you the odd time with the ignorance over their own history and the waffling they sometimes do about it.

There are cultural differences between nationalities at times but class plays an equally important role at times I think. I’ll get on far better on the whole with Cockneys than I will with D4 rugger types.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

the english never remember the irish never forget

• Registered Users Posts: 28,391 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I really think it depends.

I wouldn't think it's automatic that Irish would gravitate towards English people like the OP says.
    There's definitely no hatred there but we are different with different outlooks.
    Talking about gravitating towards Germans is unfair as there is a language and cultural issue that is a barrier but I think Irish would have no problem with Europeans if communication is not a problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,540 ✭✭✭Allinall

Surely Nigel would have to be from Northampton or Norwich?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

England is the bigger country and therefore is under no obligation to learn our history nor care about it and why should they.

Australia doesn't care about NZ either but NZ has lots of opinions on them.

It's a weakness on our part

• Registered Users Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Try making small talk to a German about the latest goings on in Corrie....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

The English are led by graduates of Oxford and Eaton; the Irish are led by schoolteachers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,466 ✭✭✭bennyineire

vriesmays wrote: »
    The English are led by graduates of Oxford and Eaton; the Irish are led by schoolteachers.

Which is better?

At the moment I think it's pretty clear TBH

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭crackity_jones

My experience with the English chimes very much with what the OP says. I've been to conferences and training courses all over the place along with the usual travel and for me they are the people we have more in common with than any other. As jetsonx says, there's what is presented to us by the commentariat and there is what each of us experiences in everyday life. One can have feck all in common with the other.

Sure, the shared language is a bridge to easy communication but over the years it has become more and more obvious to me that language is only one part of it. We really are a very different people from those in Germany or say, France. But then when you look at how their institutions are organised and law operates that really shouldn't be too much of a shock. We'll socialise, work and compete with them like any other but those differences are always there.

One thing I do like about the Brits is how they generally don't give a damn what the world thinks about them. As fryup says above, a lot of those historical disagreements and clashes (there's been a few) tend to fly over their head if they even register with them. We tend to have the opposite attitude. Both sides could probably work on that but I doubt it will happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭dublin49

For anyone 50/ 60's or more we were indoctrinated from the cradle to hate the brits by the Christian Brothers ,I would imagine History is taught in a more measured way nowadays and the in built chip on our shoulder may diminish as older generations disappear.I think there will always be a resentment which will be partly to do with our shared History and partly to do with their perceived superior view of themselves.I also think most Irish are comfortable are comfortable with feeling a negative sentiment towards the British state and generally getting on really well with most British people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭No again Danni

They are like two brothers who hate each other.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

But that's just because Kurt from Klagenfurt is a prick.

jetsonx wrote: »
    Anybody foreigner reading internet forums would probably think that the Irish and English can't stand each other.

However, like a lot of things in life, what happens on the internet and what happens in real life is totally different.

When the Irish are in a room full of Europeans, the Irish and the English gravitate towards each other paperclips to a magnet. Over, the years I've seen this countless times in workplaces, conferences and other events. The fact is the Irish don't generally gravitate towards Sylvia from Stuttgart or Kurt from Klagenfurt. After just a few minutes, they will be talking to Nigel and Sally from Slough. And a few weeks ago, the great Tommy Gorman mentioned this phenomenon as well from this his time in Brussels. The Irish contingent working for the EU were not hanging out with other Eurofolk but they were hanging out with Brits.

So despite all the negative talk about Brexit, I think it finally time for the Irish to admit that culturally we are much closer to Britain than any other country in Euroland and they might actually like each other.

you would be very hard pushed to find either a Nigel or a Sally from Slough.

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭gourcuff

its clear post brexit that britain's influence on Ireland will gradually reduce.
    We definitely need to improve our language skills to help us mix better with our other european friends, will also help for holidays to south america etc..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Of course.

Mark Francois? Great bloke!
    Jacob Rees Mogg? The sort of lad who's great craic down the pub with a pint of plain and a packet of Tayto inside him.
    Priti Patel? I would

No need for the straitjacket, Doctor. I'll come quietly!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

I tend to avoid the Irish and the UK natives when abroad.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

Of course.

Jacob Rees Mogg? The sort of lad who's great craic down the pub with a pint of plain and a packet of Tayto inside him.
    Priti Patel? I would

Is she the one that suggested starving us out or some such?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,184 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

biko wrote: »
    I agree that the Irish (north and south) and English usually get on good, along with Welsh and Scots.
    There may be some slagging after a few drinks, and even some fisticuffs, but in general we get along.

I’d go so far as to say many in the Republic would get on better with the perfidious English than the (odd and dogy) Norners.

Of course.

Priti Patel? I would

The thing is that Jacob Rees Mogg is not actually that odd for an Englishman. There are so many of his type with the overly affected accent, trust me I worked with lots of them. Most would have a more limited pedigree than JRM.

Aegir wrote: »
    you would be very hard pushed to find either a Nigel or a Sally from Slough.

On the contrary, Nigel as an aspirational name would be very Slough. It would not be a common name amongst the pupils of Slough Grammar, however.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,851 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Feisar wrote: »
    Is she the one that suggested starving us out or some such?

Which is quite incredible given the millions the Tans starved to death in India where her family are originally from.

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Random Account

I like the English/British. Only other country with our sense of humour in my opinion. Americans are different and mainland Europeans are way more professional and serious in conversation I feel.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭bigar

Anybody foreigner reading internet forums would probably think that the Irish and English

I can testify that they are not. Many do not even know they are different countries. I was recently asked by a friend how we are dealing with not being in the EU anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

I live in Canada and work for one of the banks here. Was at this big conference once and noticed one of the fellas at our table was an English lad. Once the first coffee break hit, everyone is milling around talking awkwardly or trying to network.
    I make a bee line for the English lad with one thought in my mind, a good chat about the footie. After exchanging a few pleasantries and the usual "hows the weather" chit chat, I throw in my opener. "So what football team do you support?"
    Yer man answers " I don't really watch football".
    My face dropped and I don't even think I registered what he said. I was like, "sorry, what??". He repeats it and I just go "oh, right", stare off in to the distance for a few seconds, then make my excuses and leave.
    Still haven't got over it.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,498 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Another way to interpret this extensive research is that the Continentals are very clannish and they snub the Brits and the Irish. Forcing them to talk among themselves. I bet the Germans and the Austrians go into their own little huddle and ignore any attempts at conversation from anyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Which is quite incredible given the millions the Tans starved to death in India where her family are originally from.

She's obviously as English as English comes now. It's funny the way different people operate. I've various cousins in England. I've one that's second generation, a proper Englishman, others are 4th generation and are pure plastic paddies.

First they came for the socialists...