Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Plumbers

• 20-02-2021 10:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 21

How much are your plumbers charging per hour. I got a quote today for a job I nearly fell over

• Registered Users Posts: 518 ✭✭✭kingbhome

Steveop wrote: »
    How much are your plumbers charging per hour. I got a quote today for a job I nearly fell over

40-50 per hour. They go to college, get a qualification. Spend 10s of thousands on tools, van,insurance, public liability insurance, vat, income tax, diesel, clothing, etc..

How much do you think they should charge

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Steveop

I don’t know I never had to get a plumber before I’m just curious

• Registered Users Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭MAULBROOK

I don’t know I never had to get a plumber before I’m just curious

How much and what for?

€1300 to renovate the bathroom plumbing works only

• Registered Users Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Damien360

You may do better than that. Describe the job in detail.

Renovate plumbing meaning replacing all the plumbing or fit new toilet, sink, bath, shower. Moving them or leaving in situ. Has he to pull up floor or chase wall ?

Toilet staying in situ sink been moved 1m and run a hot cold through wall into hot press for shower. I bout all the fittings. He’s supply pipe and doing chasing

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 17,807 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Easiest solution is get another quote to verify.

I had a bathroom re-done in my house (with wc staying in same position, wash hand basin moved, bath removed and shower/shower tray installed), and, despite being an architect, I was surprised by the amount of plumbing work involved to do what I thought was a very simple/quick job!

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

When it a boils down to it its supply and demand, he can quote for that as he probably has plenty of work on and if he gets it its worth his while and if he doesn't it's no big deal, electricians seem to be the same, 40 euro an hour minimum and can't be got, that said though I'd be looking to get a couple of more quotes so you know where you stand

• Registered Users Posts: 45,896 ✭✭✭✭muffler

kingbhome wrote: »
    40-50 per hour. They go to college, get a qualification. Spend 10s of thousands on tools, van,insurance, public liability insurance, vat, income tax, diesel, clothing, etc..
    Heard it all before. In fact I'm a little tired of reading such comments especially about tradesmen in Dublin and surrounding areas trying to justify the crazy charges. Guess what? The plumbers out in the sticks have the same outlays but would be lucky to get much more than half of the hourly rate mentioned.

muffler wrote: »
    Heard it all before. In fact I'm a little tired of reading such comments especially about tradesmen in Dublin and surrounding areas trying to justify the crazy charges. Guess what? The plumbers out in the sticks have the same outlays but would be lucky to get much more than half of the hourly rate mentioned.

I have 2 friends who are plumbers out in the sticks and can get 300+ a day and are turning down work all over the place. Tilers, plasterers on 250+ and some are getting that cash. Stonemasons getting 100-140a sq meter and are putting up 4-5 or sometimes even 6sq meters a day with a laborer. Anyone getting 20e an hour plumbing needs there head seen too. That's 160e for an 8 hour day. No one is getting so little money nowadays when it's near impossible to get anyone.

Muffler, how can you even say that about asking for crazy prices(your words) like this.

Do the maths. It wouldn't make business sense to charge 20e an hour being self employed. Behave yourself! You add up the insurance costs for public liability and van and maybe tools to. Tool maintenance, fuel and all the other associated costs I mentioned then they'll be left with less than the minimum wage.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,896 ✭✭✭✭muffler

As I said I heard it all before and now Im hearing it all again. Poor, poor east coast tradesmen.

Oh, I never mentioned a figure of €20 btw.

That me finished on this point.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭scwazrh

The plumbers out in the sticks have the same outlays but would be lucky to get much more than half of the hourly rate mentioned.

So you’re saying a little more than €20 / hr

Legal rates for tradesmen is €19.60 / hr for PAYE employees . That’s the minimum rate , the going paye rate throughout the country is €25 / hr paye and for plumbers and sparks is more .
    A business will sell at usually double the paye amount at a minimum to cover the additional staff costs and overheads so the least you should expect to pay for qualified plumbers is €50 / hr regardless of location.

I don’t know where out in the sticks is for you but I would be surprised if there is qualified legit business plumbing engineers working anywhere in Europe for a little as the rate you think is acceptable .

• Registered Users Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

This is an extract from an article in Tradesman .ie back in 2014 calculating how much a self-employed person needs to charge to maintain the same standard of living that the same person working in the same job as a paye employee. The big difference is that there is no allowance for days off due to illness etc.
    The hourly rates in the article are for guidance, but the factoring is much the same, I personally think it should be higher than the 2.5 X paye hourly rate indicated.
    Experts say that for self employed rates you would need to multiply an employee’s salary by a factor of 2.5 in order to maintain the same standard of living. There is a nice article on Businessknowhow.com that explains in more detail the reasons behind this thinking. You can see the article here

In that case a self employed tradesman would be charging 17.21 x 2.5 = €43 per hour but the charge would be higher per hour if it was less than a days work as you would have to account for . If the tradesman is registered for VAT, it would work out at €43 + 13.5% = €48.80 per hour. Some tradesmen (the same as any other profession) can command a premium if they are highly specialised or carry out a higher standard of work than would be the norm. So as you can see when tradesmen charge prices like these they are not so high afterall.

Guess what? The plumbers out in the sticks have the same outlays but would be lucky to get much more than half of the hourly rate mentioned.

Be lucky to get more than half what's mentioned. Lucky to get half than 40e an hour is around 20e an hour averaged out for you muffler.

There is some tradesmen that would charge 20e or less but this isn't the norm they might not have a Mortgage, rent to pay and are just happy ticking over having work. Everyone is different.

scwazrh wrote: »
    So you’re saying a little more than €20 / hr

Legal rates for tradesmen is €19.60 / hr for PAYE employees . That’s the minimum rate , the going paye rate throughout the country is €25 / hr paye and for plumbers and sparks is more .
    A business will sell at usually double the paye amount at a minimum to cover the additional staff costs and overheads so the least you should expect to pay for qualified plumbers is €50 / hr regardless of location.

I don’t know where out in the sticks is for you but I would be surprised if there is qualified legit business plumbing engineers working anywhere in Europe for a little as the rate you think is acceptable .

Is the legal rate they take home after tax or is that before tax.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

To try help with this discussion..
    The last time I worked paye was well over ten years ago. The union rate for paye plumbers at the time was just over 800 euro before tax. But.. you also had a company van (maintained, taxed and insured), company phone, holiday pay, sick pay, employers prsi contribution, pension contribution paid for you and company heavy tools available.
    All invoicing, accounting, dealing with contracts, materials for work etc etc was all down to the company.
    All I had to supply were my own small to medium tools and equipment and my knowledge and experience. At the end of the day I went home and didn't think about work until the following morning.
    You can be damn sure that company didn't charge me out to customers only to try cover my wages, they easy charged 2 - 3 times my wage rate, if not much more.
    I don't know how a self employed plumber is expected to provide himself with the same level of income only charging 20 euro /hr.

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭I Am The Law

Compare this to what people pay solicitors, auctioneers,consultants, architects for sweet FA!

Its before tax on standard 39 hrs.

what's that coming in at after tax

• Registered Users Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

So what's that coming in at after tax

Everyone's tax is different. I've hired people before and offered them a salary and they say what's that after tax? Eh....that depends on your own situation I don't pay after tax wages.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭MAULBROOK

Lads if you think a plumber is expensive you clearly have never dealt with lift engineers. €130 ph minimum 3 hours per call out. 600% mark up on parts is standard.
    Never move into a apartment.

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭P2C

Had a plumber and apprentice out last week. Replaced expansion vessel. I say maybe 40 mins as I drained the system for them. I live six miles from town where there based. Charged €120 and they supplied the vessel. So guessing €70 for labour. Had a builder on-site until the restrictions just completed raft foundation 8x4.5 m. Built the mounds, form, tied the steel and poured the slab. He cost €850 with a tip and he does a very good days work. I say took him 5 days give or take. I supplied all the materials. Plumbers day cost is €200 per man and builder is charging €150. In Sligo but you have to wait for the right man

• Registered Users Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

That 'builder' is working off the books with no insurance, no doubt about that.
    And he still doesn't value his time very much.

Don't even try to tell me he is paying tax and has insurance and is charging 150 a day.

It doesn't bother me what he pays or who you hire but don't compare apples with oranges.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,961 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

The "builder" sounds like a handyman rather than a qualified tradesman. I'm sure he would have tried his hand at the plumbing job had you asked

I'd love to see some of the prices mentioned here, tradesmen charge 200 to 250 a day through the books around here, 150 to 170 cash price, I do a lot of renovations, all small jobs and no tradesman has asked me more than 170 cash or 200 through books for work carried out

P2C wrote: »
    Had a plumber and apprentice out last week. Replaced expansion vessel. I say maybe 40 mins as I drained the system for them. I live six miles from town where there based. Charged €120 and they supplied the vessel. So guessing €70 for labour. Had a builder on-site until the restrictions just completed raft foundation 8x4.5 m. Built the mounds, form, tied the steel and poured the slab. He cost €850 with a tip and he does a very good days work. I say took him 5 days give or take. I supplied all the materials. Plumbers day cost is €200 per man and builder is charging €150. In Sligo but you have to wait for the right man

850, how many men and how many days. Some just stick to there basic cash price and also get money of the government somehow either farm assistance or dole.

I'd love to see some of the prices mentioned here, tradesmen charge 200 to 250 a day through the books around here, 150 to 170 cash price, I do a lot of renovations, all small jobs and no tradesman has asked me more than 170 cash or 200 through books for work carried out

You cannot run a business as a sole trading tradesman and charge €250 / day . It simply is not possible to cover your costs at that rate.The tradesmen you are getting for €200-€250 obviously haven’t a clue about business and should be working as employees and not be self employed

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭P2C

Yes he’s a handyman more than a building contractor sorry for generalisation but highly sought after and has excellent quality work. I am paying based on each stage, foundation, block, roof, stone. Have looked at plenty of his jobs and 100%. It’s all small extensions, grounds work, stone walls, paving, tiling etc. Have him booked for a year. Have a friend engineer who will take a look at each step. I wasn’t watching intently but I thought he was here around five days. Built my own house and subcontracted all the work the same way and worked out very cost effective. Done a lot of the work self build. Be interesting to see what the block works costs but they are sitting here for six weeks waiting and he’s said he won’t start until restrictions lifted so doesn’t sound like he’s on the the dole but maybe the PUP.

quote="kingbhome;116386470"]850, how many men and how many days. Some just stick to there basic cash price and also get money of the government somehow either farm assistance or dole.[/quote]

You cannot run a business as a sole trading tradesman and charge €250 / day . It simply is not possible to cover your costs at that rate.The tradesmen you are getting for €200-€250 obviously haven’t a clue about business and should be working as employees and not be self employed

I dont know what to tell you so, that's the going rate around my area and lads seem happy with it, and it's not just me, I don't know any tradesman charging more than that for any work in my area no matter who they're working for, and all good tradesmen with good reputations and quality work