Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part IX *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

FWIW--There is a protest in Dublin this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭DylanJM

Multipass wrote: »
    ‘The uk variant is like a whole new virus’ - our Taoiseach

**** off with that, what a pile of steaming ****!

Meanwhile the country the variant is named after plans to open up fully on 21st June. Hmmmmm?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

RobitTV wrote: »
    "We need to get through these next few months"

lol

The next 2 weeks months years are crucial!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,008 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Cabinet agreed the level 5 extension anyway

Shower of cowards

You misspelled c*nts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭A Shaved Duck?

It was nice of our leader to repeat what he already told the mirror.. what a waste of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

€20 million made available for mental health supports for 5 million people. €4 each. You can only laugh.

Meanwhile, to date, €5.2 billion has been spent on PUP, and rising.

Are we supposed to be grateful?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,052 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Overall a good speech

Streets ahead of “influencer” Leo with his cringe worthy movie quotes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

Do they usually announce All Island death counts during these addresses? He included Northern Ireland deaths to bring the toll to 6,500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Hellrazer wrote: »

I’ll be at it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,321 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

lol

"two weeks to flatten the curve"

The next six weeks are CRUCIAL.

Just like the six weeks before that.

And before that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭themacattack.

so more or less may until any significant easing of restrictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

No detail. No Information. No genuine hope. No timeline. Terrible leadership. Terrible government. Repeat the same message endlessly.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Nokotan wrote: »
    Do they usually announce All Island death counts during these addresses? He included Northern Ireland deaths to bring the toll to 6,500

Yeah he likes to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Aph2016 wrote: »
    Does he really think at this stage, that we're all still terrified of this virus. Couldn't be further from the truth.

We are apparently all frustrated- not by restrictions but from not getting our vaccines.
    I couldn't give a f^^k from a health point of view if I don't get a vaccine. I'll get one because it allows me to travel without having to get PCR tests and quarantine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭showpony1

So even from April its only possibly - Move 5km, Meet people outdoors, Outdoor sports.
    Not a lot of business owners, and gyms etc will be happy to hear that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

And on day 330 of "2 weeks to flatten the curve" we have been told.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

I said this some months ago. We will have to take to the streets to get out of this.

I'm of the same view.

We are being governed by people who are willing to destroy our economy for a virus that will be very mild for the next 6 months, they are a danger to the people...

This is absolutely ridiculous. If you have young kids for their sake you need to get out and protest.

Overall a good speech

Were you watching a different TV channel??

ypres5 wrote: »
    who writes this ****? who told him that? wed best let the rest of the world know but they'd piss themselves laughing at us

He is incompetent to the highest degree. Who the hell voted for him after what Fianna Fail did to the country 10 years ago?

Leo makes a few blunders, but I feel a lot better when he's at the helm. Much better communication style, and at least tries to be honest at times. This Martin guy is not up to the job whatsoever. Then throw in Donnelly. No health or ministerial background, but let's make him Minister For Health during a pandemic. Then let's hire two journalists to be his special advisors. Seriously, it's absolutely baffling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

The next six weeks are CRUCIAL.

Just like the six weeks before that.

And before that.

Calm down it's just two weeks to flatten the curve.

A year ago I almost got banned on here for saying it's going to last for years. Give these muppets any power and they'll never give it back. If anyone still believes this is about a virus they haven't been paying attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,429 ✭✭✭tanko

Teachers mouthpiece Emma o Kelly on now to talk more dung.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

I said this some months ago. We will have to take to the streets to get out of this.

Saturday 2pm, St Stephen's Green

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭quartz1

Taoiseach offer hope through the vaccine and the news banner below him telling us that Astra Zenical can only supply 50 per cent of the contract for the second quarter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 SushiLover31

Hellrazer wrote: »

Where can we find out about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Months ago? so before xmas? when we did lift the restrictions - and went the sh!t well and truly hit the fan????

If so well that didn't really turn out to well did it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,413 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

Spineless 'leader'.

Blame the variant.

You the public need to get these numbers down.

No plan, no strategy, load of nonsense.

Literally nothing in that we didn't know already. Zero leadership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

I'm sick of listening to "we need to get through these next few months"

Whatever. Total BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭17larsson

No detail. No Information. No genuine hope. No timeline. Terrible leadership. Terrible government. Repeat the same message endlessly.

I can't believe they didn't even give some sort of a timetable to aim for. Even if it ended up being a week or two out when we get closer to the time, at least we would have something to look at.

Nothing. Just review again on April 5th. Give us something to cling to please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I'm sick of listening to "we need to get through these next few months"

Whatever. Total BS.

I need to get through these next few bottles of wine after hearing that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Months ago? so before xmas? when we did lift the restrictions - and went the sh!t well and truly hit the fan????

If so well that didn't really turn out to well did it?

We're on a fûckin island. How anyone in power can fûck up this bad is beyond me. If you're to point fingers, point them at the lads in government.

You're not gonna get a YEAR of your life back.