Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Gave up the fags (for the last time) back in early January, resting heartrate has dropped by 30BPM. Can only credit it to giving up smoking as im nof exceecising like when the gyms were open.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Gave up the fags (for the last time) back in early January, resting heartrate has dropped by 30BPM. Can only credit it to giving up smoking as im nof exceecising like when the gyms were open.

Fair play. Im down from 30 to less than 10. Can feel the breathing is a little easier my plan is to be off them by Easter. Fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Fair play for giving them up. A lad in Clare gave them up and took up running- ended up winning an ultra marathon in Antarctica about 5/6 years ago. When Covid is over- it might be a target for you. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,345 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Did Luke Ming Flanagan murder or something someone in the past?

Seems like he's shouting away on Twitter about all and sundry and all media have blacked him out.
    Hasn't appeared on tv or radio since God knows when.

Poor fella is in his own empty echo chamber atm with just himself for company..

jimini0 wrote: »
    Fair play. Im down from 30 to less than 10. Can feel the breathing is a little easier my plan is to be off them by Easter. Fingers crossed.

You should look jnto the easyway method, i went to ome of the seminars a few years back even when i went back smoking everything i learned at it was running through my head with every drag i took. Did ye know it takes more effort to smoke a fag than to not smoke one?

Better living everyone

Fair play for giving them up. A lad in Clare gave them up and took up running- ended up winning an ultra marathon in Antarctica about 5/6 years ago. When Covid is over- it might be a target for you. :)

A fella tried to get me into strongman competitions in the latter half of last year but it wouldnt be for me. Jf j could get back playing a low grade of rugby and a nice bit of swimming this year and go from there id be happy enough

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Suckler

Did Luke Ming Flanagan murder or something someone in the past?

Seems like he's shouting away on Twitter about all and sundry and all media have blacked him out.
    Hasn't appeared on tv or radio since God knows when.

Poor fella is in his own empty echo chamber atm with just himself for company..

Empty vessels etc. etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

Has anyone seen Kiss the ground on netflix.

An interesting look at carbon sequestering in farming, and soil health

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Has anyone seen Kiss the ground on netflix.

An interesting look at carbon sequestering in farming, and soil health

Seen it last year, it should be mandatory viewing for all the hippy dippy vegans on the consequences of removing animals from the food chain, the clip where they show the barren tillage field and one of the farmers they are profiling fields on the other side of the fence line green and healthy says it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,611 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Seen it last year, it should be mandatory viewing for all the hippy dippy vegans on the consequences of removing animals from the food chain, the clip where they show the barren tillage field and one of the farmers they are profiling fields on the other side of the fence line green and healthy says it all

Since when does common sense come into it

Here I was worried I was the hippy getting into regenerative farming. healthier soil less need to buy npk every year seems like a win win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,838 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Posted this on the Biofarm thread but very interesting here too. Mcdonalds looking at regenerative agriculture for its beef supply. This would make for an interesting public discussion on the contribution animals make to land, soil and carbon sequestration:
    https://www.farminguk.com/news/mcdonald-s-uk-launches-regenerative-grazing-project_57616.html?fbclid=IwAR1LMIbg9Itb3jPOtE2I9PfPV4QCp7j6t7CgxeDocC4n1gfWd8HOUfo2Xac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I’m surprised there is something like that on Netflix. Most of them programmes are totally anti farming. Will check it out

same, the go vegan to save the world nonsense is hopefully falling out of favour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭White Clover

same, the go vegan to save the world nonsense is hopefully falling out of favour

Sales of fake meat fell by 5% in January despite a big Veganuary campaign.

Usually the only stuff left in the shelves aswell after a rush in food. Few people want to eat that stuff it seems

Reggie. wrote: »
    Usually the only stuff left in the shelves aswell after a rush in food. Few people want to eat that stuff it seems

Having a few very strong advocates, doesn't make a market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Tig98

Is suckling dead in the water? More dairy propaganda today in the farming indo, saying the subsidies for suckling should be for conversion to dairy.

Shur we all can't go into dairy. Surely the bubble will burst at some stage? Especially when its being so hyped

Tig98 wrote: »
    Is suckling dead in the water? More dairy propaganda today in the farming indo, saying the subsidies for suckling should be for conversion to dairy.

Shur we all can't go into dairy. Surely the bubble will burst at some stage? Especially when its being so hyped

If they paid a fair price for the fat animal, there wouldn't be an issue.
    BTW, what idiot put their name to the piece?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,499 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

What page is that on, .....stupid idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Tig98

Darragh McCullough, page 7. A load of ****e. I know Brexit will hit beef but it'll hit dairy too, and the more that leave suckling and have left suckling make it more profitable (in a perfect world) for those that hold tough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭ABlur

According to the Indo all beef farming is dead in the water we should just go and plant trees instead

Darragh McCullough, page 7. A load of ****e. I know Brexit will hit beef but it'll hit dairy too, and the more that leave suckling and have left suckling make it more profitable (in a perfect world) for those that hold tough

What would ya expect from a pig only a grunt

ABlur wrote: »
    According to the Indo all beef farming is dead in the water we should just go and plant trees instead

That's a classic divide and conquer campaign right there

I see it's Prof Fitzgerald's idea too. He's telling us the price of beef into the UK will fall in the Summer with the extra regs. He needn't worry on that, the factories are already using that excuse.
    Really need to study the latest research on animal impact on GHG.

On price, lamb was never higher and people still buy it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Making the case for the retention of hedgerows.

https://www.thejournal.ie/shear-force-article-2-5358956-Feb2021/

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

Listening to Tom Fouhy, Fermoy last night. He's all tillage no animals. He trims the sides every second year and doesn't touch the top. He made the point that briars are very N hungry and grass farmers spreading fertiliser into the fence, feed them.

greysides wrote: »
    Making the case for the retention of hedgerows.

https://www.thejournal.ie/shear-force-article-2-5358956-Feb2021/

a fella near me ripped out loads of it a few years ago, I don't know how you'd do it to the land.

I understand you get a few more feet of productive land and less maintenance but it makes for an awfully barren farm

As I understand it a hedge you can see through isn't attractive to wildlife so I keep my trimming to the mimimum, am also starting to lay some sections as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,345 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Had a dream last night about walking on a road in the daylight at land we used to rent. There were two small miniture translucent human like figures moving ahead in the greenery at the side of the road. So intrigued I was that I started poking them about with a stick. (You wouldn't do that in the Predator films).
    Anyway then I took out two coins from my pocket and rolled/threw one across the road into a field and the other across the opposite side into the ditch where the figures were.
    Then to my amazement a naked woman emerged (full sized not leprechaun sized) from the ditch. She was very friendly and hot and there was a bucket of water nearby which she put her foot into to try and return herself to her nymph state. It didn't work. Then I woke up.

So this morning I was bringing down the calf feeders to the calf shed and a sparrowhawk was just sitting on a gate about 10 feet away from me in the shed giving zero phucks about my presence. So I left him be and went on and did the milking.

If I was a native American there'd probably be buffalo in the dream and a golden eagle the next morning but alas ..

May go off now and bury a few coins under a grass sod now to appease the little Irish people and keep them on side.

So that's my early and late morning...;) :D

SMN what did you smoke last night, or did you have some of those mushrooms?