Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    We were always going to extend as well but this allows the government to say we're following the North

Not "following" the North - we`re going to beat them.

Rte News Headline Tomorrow

"Ireland extending lock down until June 1st - that`ll teach them Northies!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

We were always going to extend as well but this allows the government to say we're following the North

Of course, I think a few of us said 6th April for click and collect shopping and a possible extension of the 5k. This gives the government wiggle room because people won't flood up north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Of course, I think a few of us said 6th April for click and collect shopping and a possible extension of the 5k. This gives the government wiggle room because people won't flood up north.

They were always going to get a bit of wiggle room until after Easter imo

The pressure will start to come on the government after that to have a plan on easing of restrictions

They were always going to get a bit of wiggle room until after Easter imo

The pressure will start to come on the government after that to have a plan on easing of restrictions
    Possibly

The revised plan is due next week. I'd say a very large sigh of relief was let out when boris said " data not dates"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The first 3 classes in primary school will start on the 8th March. (Not confirmed)

Been touted here for the 1st.

https://mobile.twitter.com/MaryERegan/status/1362415744793923584

Tanaiste "expects hospitality to reopen during summer months"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Boggles wrote: »
    Sure if Ireland never used restrictions we would have had an economic upturn and sure we could have saved the 3rd world.

Be grand, pure genius.

Is this the angle the online grifters are pushing at the moment? Because they were so concerned about the third world before this.

You can roll your eyes upside down and inside out if you wish.

The fact is that thanks to the aid support there are "only" 9 mln deaths from hunger per year. This figure can double if we stop supporting the poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Penfailed

No way. It's been leaked to the media before an official announcement. Outrage incoming...

Probably not. The outrage is only reserved when it happens in Ireland...even though it happens everywhere, all the time.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar

Seweryn wrote: »
    You can roll your eyes upside down and inside out if you wish.

The fact is that thanks to the aid support there are "only" 9 mln deaths from hunger per year. This figure can double if we stop supporting the poor.

How does crashing our own economy with the accompanying sickness and death make that situation any better?

I'll give you a hint, it doesn't.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

https://mobile.twitter.com/MaryERegan/status/1362415744793923584

Tanaiste "expects hospitality to reopen during summer months"

I cant believe a word out of Leos mouth - I really think he has a problem with telling the truth or even keeping up with government policy!!

Mehole will come along tomorrow and say "hospitality wont be opening until November and we`ll have a "meaningful Christmas"

Tony will come along and say the next "two decades" are crucial and we`ll still be here in lock down number 25 while the world gets on with things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭alentejo

Looks like this is the template we will be following

https://www.thejournal.ie/northern-ireland-lockdown-2-5358511-Feb2021/

Quarter of 2021 gone! I am nearing despair at this stage!

alentejo wrote: »
    Looks like this is the template we will be following

https://www.thejournal.ie/northern-ireland-lockdown-2-5358511-Feb2021/

Quarter of 2021 gone! I am nearing despair at this stage!

Makes sense really - The "all island" approach is just copying the North (or trying to out do them)

Really weak,useless and cowardly government that cant govern its own country and just copies our neighbours to the North.
    Couldnt make a decision to save their lives.

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Makes sense really - The "all island" approach is just copying the North (or trying to out do them)

Really weak,useless and cowardly government that cant govern its own country and just copies our neighbours to the North.
    Couldnt make a decision to save their lives.

At no stage have we copied that North or the UK throughout this pandemic, you read one article and just conjured an alternative reality, but sure facts have no home here..

Considering the North are on the same small island as us and 1000s of people cross the "border" everyday for work and school an all Ireland approach would be by every single metric a sensible thing to do.

If for anything else the potential economic positives into the future that may stem from it.

But loud noises get more thanks I suppose.

I cant believe a word out of Leos mouth - I really think he has a problem with telling the truth or even keeping up with government policy!!

Mehole will come along tomorrow and say "hospitality wont be opening until November and we`ll have a "meaningful Christmas"

Tony will come along and say the next "two decades" are crucial and we`ll still be here in lock down number 25 while the world gets on with things.

Leo's arrogance will be his undoing. Makes the cardinal error of thinking he's the savviest operator in the room, all narcissists have this blind spot. Working off a tried and trusted formula. Initially hit the public with stark predictions that would rattle Nostradamus, ergo "we expect restrictions to last well into 2022..." His mindset being we're now mere putty in his hands, oh yes m'lud how eternally grateful for a sliver of hope that pubs could reopen before July 31st. Excuse me suh while I retreat into the hedgerow to flog myself, the impudence of daring to breath the same rarified air as you...
    If he thinks he can soften up this buck with such crass tactics he hasn't met my steel toe cap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭honda boi

I'd laughed so hard reading that.
    Should be in tears as it's probably the truth .lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭Bit cynical

I think the thing you've got to remember about Leo is that he's someone who is guaranteed to be taoiseach at the end of 2022. This is a very unusual position to be in. He doesn't have to win any election; all he has to do is make himself look good when he again takes power. Therefore he can afford to make everyone as depressed as possible now. By the time he's in power that depressed feeling will be associated with the previous taoiseach, Micheál Martin and Leo will look good by comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

This is what I've been doing for my family since the start of the crisis, in fact. Not at all a bad idea. My dad's in a high risk category so he began cocooning several weeks before the sh!t hit the fan on a large scale, acting on advice from his doctor who correctly predicted in mid-February 2020 that we were probably weeks away from a society-wide meltdown occurring and that for his own safety he'd be well advised to get out ahead of that. Luckily he was working in a senior management position which already allowed him to work from home or in the office according to his own schedule so it didn't cause any problems. Once that happened, in order to make sure himself and my mum could still safely bubble together, I basically took over the grocery shopping, nominated a couple of regular days each week (generally Wednesdays and Saturdays, other times Tuesdays and Fridays) and they'd text me shopping lists etc.

In other words, it sounds draconian and extreme at first but in practise it really isn't. Of course, it does depend on people having a close and willing social network of family or friends.

This is what I have been blessed with since before covid hit. I am high risk of infection as my immune system is down, so my supplies come in thanks to an excellent supermarket and a capable community. I email a list in and it is delivered. And I know there are many older folk and others who have similar safety nets. Added to this is internet shopping of course. Once the will is there to take sensible precautions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Can someone teach Micheál some new words. His overuse of the words “cautious” and “conservative” is grating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Leo's arrogance will be his undoing. Makes the cardinal error of thinking he's the savviest operator in the room, all narcissists have this blind spot. Working off a tried and trusted formula. Initially hit the public with stark predictions that would rattle Nostradamus, ergo "we expect restrictions to last well into 2022..." His mindset being we're now mere putty in his hands, oh yes m'lud how eternally grateful for a sliver of hope that pubs could reopen before July 31st. Excuse me suh while I retreat into the hedgerow to flog myself, the impudence of daring to breath the same rarified air as you...
    If he thinks he can soften up this buck with such crass tactics he hasn't met my steel toe cap.

This is all well and good but what about Sinn Fein who are supposed to be the main opposition party and keep criticising the Government for ‘going against NPHET’ and supported Dr Holohan’s ‘beach in locality only this summer’ statement. They’re even worse and seem to think if they’re in Government they’ll hide behind NPHET permanently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭Bit cynical

They’re even worse and seem to think if they’re in Government they’ll hide behind NPHET permanently.
    Sinn Fein are unusual in that they are a permanent opposition party. Their goal is to do well in elections but never so well as to be forced into power. This is achieved by limiting the number of candidates they run. The advantage of this strategy is that they will never be called to account for the things they say.

We need a strong opposition party more than ever to question just what exactly these draconian restrictions are going to achieve. This strategy of sitting in opposition hurling from the ditch won’t wash for the next few years. If Sinn Fein aren’t going to step up to the mark, we need to give another party an opportunity to be a credible opposition to hold Government & NPHET to account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

Leo's arrogance will be his undoing.

I’ve had this opinion of him for several years! Always struck me as a bit of a snake oil salesman and as clever as he is, he’s not as clever as he thinks!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,908 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

[QUOTE=CruelSummer;116328274If Sinn Fein aren’t going to step up to the mark, we need to give another party an opportunity to be a credible opposition to hold Government & NPHET to account.[/QUOTE]

Do you think any of the current opposition parties would want to pick up that gauntlet?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

I’ve had this opinion of him for several years! Always struck me as a bit of a snake oil salesman and as clever as he is, he’s not as clever as he thinks!!

I thought his humiliation at having to wait until the 6th count to get elected in his constituency and the disastrous Fg performance would have knocked some humility into him...but he isn't even that smart!

I don’t want to discuss politics. And I disagree with the current Government approach re lockdown is the only way control Covid. However after looking at what the opposition have to offer:
    - hide behind NPHET
    - introduce mandatory quarantine and criminalise travel
    - trial by social media re people breaking the rules

I am disgusted with the Government and Opposition. Sinn Fein agreed with reopening in December and then retrospectively criticised the Government re ‘Going against NPHET’ and reopening. This isn’t good enough, we need a credible opposition offering meaningful alternatives.

- introduce mandatory quarantine

Should have been done last April.

I can't see how anyone would be against mandatory quarantine at least for the short to medium term.

Or should we just keep pretending that 33,000 "essential" entries into the state per week will have no effect on reseeding the virus nationally.

This in combination with getting the North on the same page, gives us a great chance of getting the rest of the economy open and keeping it open for the 2nd half of the year and into the first quarter of next year.

I do feel sorry for people who have to return home and will have to isolate, but the open borders for the past 11 months have been an absolute joke, amplified by the fact that distance restrictions have been placed on the populous internally.

It's beyond time to plug the nonsense for the foreseeable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Should have been done last April.

I can't see how anyone would be against mandatory quarantine at least for the short to medium term.

Or should we just keep pretending that 33,000 "essential" entries into the state per week will have no effect on reseeding the virus nationally.

This in combination with getting the North on the same page, gives us a great chance of getting the rest of the economy open and keeping it open for the 2nd half of the year and into the first quarter of next year.

I do feel sorry for people who have to return home and will have to isolate, but the open borders for the past 11 months have been an absolute joke, amplified by the fact that distance restrictions have been placed on the populous internally.

It's beyond time to plug the nonsense for the foreseeable.

What I dont understand in the debate about quarantining is this.

We all have similar enough incidence rates in Europe, similar enough restrictions too. Broadly speaking I'm more or less just as likely (or unlikely) to contract it in Germany or Ireland or any other country in Europe.

So what difference does it make where I spent the last week? What difference is quarantining going to make? Especially if i was required to present a test result to boot?

We all have similar enough incidence rates in Europe, similar enough restrictions too. Broadly speaking I'm more or less just as likely (or unlikely) to contract it in Germany or Ireland or any other country in Europe.

So what difference does it make where I spent the last week? What difference is quarantining going to make? Especially if i was required to present a test result to boot?

The ECDC tried to make the same case pre Christmas when we had the lowest rate in Europe. The fan was covered in shít within 3 weeks.

The problem with incidence rate per country, it tends to mask the hot spots in those countries.

As for testing, it's a point in time. It will miss a large portion of people who go on to become positive, it will also give a false sense of security to those people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

I'm struggling to understand this as well...this virus is endemic all over at this stage, with a few exceptions...surely a rapid accurate test would be enough to be able to move people around!!!

It's always the long, heavy handed, intrusive, expensive option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭DaSilva

The ECDC tried to make the same case pre Christmas when we had the lowest rate in Europe. The fan was covered in shít within 3 weeks.

The problem with incidence rate per country, it tends to mask the hotshots in those countries.

As for testing, it's a point in time. It will miss a large portion of people who go on to become positive, it will also give a false sense of security to those people.

The virus is already in our country and we never eliminated it and we probably won't ever eliminate it. The reason for the explosion of cases over Christmas wasn't because of international travel, it was because of domestic behaviour.