BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Avensis Strata with a nice bit of test and tax for a month for €700
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-avensis-nct-and-taxed/27160655

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,181 ✭✭✭Top Dog

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/skoda-superb-1-9tdi-new-nct-taxed-1-owner/27158235

1 owner diesel Superb with tax til March and test til December, €1000

Impressive mileage, but is it too high? Looks like a nice car under the dirt
    I'm sure someone will buy it and see it as a challenge to get to the half million mark :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,755 ✭✭✭Bigus

Top Dog wrote: »
    I'm sure someone will buy it and see it as a challenge to get to the half million mark :D

600,000 would be a more than attainable goal with no major outlay , seeing as belt was recently done .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/skoda-superb-1-9tdi-new-nct-taxed-1-owner/27158235

NDRjYjMzYjE3NmZkNmM0N2NkOGY1NmVjNjYwZGY2ZTMO9hmTI202yKIkD8bdixutaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzAwMzExOTh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

I'd be inclined to think there are a lot of cars out there beside's my own that have been serviced on the button or a lot earlier without the main dealer stamp to back it up.

You're not going to get any car near that mileage without giving it due care and attention.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,514 ✭✭✭✭CoBo55

NDRjYjMzYjE3NmZkNmM0N2NkOGY1NmVjNjYwZGY2ZTMO9hmTI202yKIkD8bdixutaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzAwMzExOTh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

It's a grand car in fairness, but for feck sake he could have washed it and given it a lick of the aul hoover for the Ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭passatman86

That driver seat in the superb is impressive to say the least for the mileage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

Apologies , missed that .

To be fair, the headings stated the NCT had expired, thats what i would have checked first too. I dont have time to confirm dates mentioned in descriptions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,849 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

A wash, a vacuum, some tyre shine and that Superb will be re-advertised @ 1800.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

bazz26 wrote: »

Yeah but you'd want to be somewhat "special" to pay 1800 for a car with almost 300k miles.

It's a grand and I'd expect to get it much better than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,230 ✭✭✭selectamatic

A nice 130bhp tdi Laurin & Klement one would fetch that sorta money if you could find one or a clean cheap tax 115 but that's it really. Definitely not a 105bhp one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,405 ✭✭✭✭User1998

bazz26 wrote: »

The mileage will probably get a haircut as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭kalkat2002

2010 ford mondeo 1.8 diesel
    2000 eur
    http://www.adverts.ie/22840440

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

kalkat2002 wrote: »
    2000 eur

Has both belts been done, wet belt on them....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

I had one that did over double that mileage without any major issues outside of consumables. DMF needed doing at 240k and back box rotted at 280.

Apart from that and doing the belts twice, it was very cheap to run. I'd recommend one to anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,092 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/jaguar-xtype-2-5-v6/27180538

ZTk5Njk1MWU2OTk1NGEwZGE5M2E1MzI4ZDhiZWMwNWTt8_WXrpXBh0SA7sI5bG-taHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzAzMTQyNDh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

2.5 V6 AWD manual X Type, bit of tax and NCT til January 2022, €1500

Looks like a very good example. Low mileage and low owners etc. Rare now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭job seeker

That is lovely..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,849 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Would you get that put on a classic policy being 19 years old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭slipperyox

Will ye stop yerselves.

its a mondeo 2.5 V6.

Trouble ahead if you actually want to use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

slipperyox wrote: »
    Will ye stop yerselves.

its a mondeo 2.5 V6.

Trouble ahead if you actually want to use it.

Agreed. Phoney luxury for oul Brits, bang of Alan Partridge off it. Wouldn't be for me anyway.

Incidentally, Alan drove an IS200 for a while at least. The boy racers would be fairly pi55ed at that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/suzuki-ignis/27176655

DEA1Ess.jpg

Clean as a whistle, cheap as chips and hardly driven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭crasy dash

Tidy motor someone will get a good deal on that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭jharr100

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2009-toyota-avensis-automatic/27141452

NWY4YTUyZTI1ZDEwNzM2NThlM2I3NTFmOTE2OTgwZGWEWvh-1gZAd-yoowhrfHqsaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjk4MjQzNDJ8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Not a great ad,
    Might be worth a look though.
    Could be negotiated close to Banger money I'd guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

2ndcoming wrote: »
    Agreed. Phoney luxury for oul Brits, bang of Alan Partridge off it. Wouldn't be for me anyway.

Incidentally, Alan drove an IS200 for a while at least. The boy racers would be fairly pi55ed at that :pac:

Think his Rover Sterling ownership hastened the demise of Rover

jharr100 wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2009-toyota-avensis-automatic/27141452

NWY4YTUyZTI1ZDEwNzM2NThlM2I3NTFmOTE2OTgwZGWEWvh-1gZAd-yoowhrfHqsaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjk4MjQzNDJ8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Not a great ad,
    Might be worth a look though.
    Could be negotiated close to Banger money I'd guess.

Gamble with that engine.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Gamble with that engine.....

Would it be due a few injectors?

2.2 made from chocolate....
    Look up the issue with it in the is220d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,092 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/320d-coupe/27183892

ODAxMDkzMTg0ZjE3MjgzZWUyYmNiYjdmYWYzZGE5YjCMGWfOpBSOLb6DPpU0rY2YaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNzAzNDIxMDZ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

E92 coupe with NCT til August and new Bridgestone tyres, €2000

Probably not the best example for this money but still a smart looking car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭padyjoe

kalkat2002 wrote: »
    2000 eur

My mate had one of them as 2nd or 3rd owner. He's on a rough side regard to everything, had the belts changed though, got rid of it when it was 9 years old, at least 220k kms on clock(he said there was something with the injectors, scratched the side, washed it seldom) . Nothing major with it. I'd say he could have had it longer if he had given some tlc to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

2.2 made from chocolate....
    Look up the issue with it in the is220d
    I don’t think the 150 is as bad as the 180

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I don’t think the 150 is as bad as the 180

That era I see on the road does be a serious smoker, does smell like kerosene sometimes.
    Not so many left as taxis anymore but mainly smoking....

Now not sure if that's a 2.0 or 2.2 issues...

Oh yes the 150 was slightly safer.