Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Wales v Ireland Match Thread (thanks for nothing awec)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

Keenan and Beirne were excellent imo. Thought Gibson-Park was immensely better than Murray too.

I never need to see POM or Murray starting again. I'd even argue whether they're test standard since 2018. Murray is fairness had a significant injury but O'Mahony is too often a passenger when he's needed most.

I'd defend Farrell in so far as this was a side that peaked in a phenomenal year of 2018 and there was always going to be a drop off but we have arguably the 5th most in form SH in the country starting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Arduach

Oh he beat himself up for deliberately making a dirty hit on a defenseless player? That's grand so, straight back in to the team then.

He shouldn't line out again. Cost us the match, and frankly that's a disgusting, premeditated cheap shot that could've seriously injured the Welsh player

You've obviously never played any sport at any level.

He's not a dirty player.

I don't want him in the team as I think he's lightweight against the top packs.

Stick to abusing toilets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

I would not blame Billy Burns its a kick even Jonny got wrong a few times. A poor second half by half the green shirts is where we went wrong.

Dan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭accensi0n

Neeson wrote: »
    They’d want to be if they are representing Ireland. The breed of player we have today is a lot poorer than 20 years ago.

Lol, yes I also long for the glory days of the wooden spoon.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,404 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

flazio wrote: »
    Some of you are being way too harsh on Burns based on just one kick.
    It was his penalty kick that got us to within 5 to begin with.

He had poor kicks, and very poor passes within a short window, one which lost all the space just made in a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,168 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

mun1 wrote: »
    That loss is all on POM.
    Shocking thing to do to another player and i hope he gets a deserved multiple match ban.

Fair dues to everyone else for sticking with it right to the end.

Keenan, henshaw, ringrose, stander, porter and Beirne were very good.
    Good to see furlong back

Ringrose is just getting better and better.

Would agree the die was cast with the red card

Hoped against hope but once Wales regrouped at half time was always going to be uphill

Burns kick is unforgivable at this level though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,844 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

accensi0n wrote: »
    Saw a lot of positives, think we could win all remaining games.

One of the worst matches I’ve sat through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

ckeego wrote: »
    Fair play, lads.
    Hang it all on Burns...

Stupid stupid decisions and poor execution from some of the “senior” squad members..

We could actually have won that game with basic execution even in the last 9 mins with 3 penalties.

Anyone with the slightest grasp of sports psychology will know that the 14 men/10 man team etc can and have pulled it off but it requires discipline, fronting up BUT basic completion of task is essential.

POM being sent off was never going to make it an easy day at the office but really poor execution and some strange infield decisions will make it all the harder

Don't you just love a "know it all"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Asus X540L

I can’t remember a worse fly half playing for Ireland than Burns.

Jeremy Staunton?

Maybe he played full back for Ireland though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭HansKroenke

mystic86 wrote: »
    Bad pass to lose 20 metres, then within a minute kicks the penalty over the endline.

Get out of here ffs

Awful crossfield kick too. Multiple shocking decisions when the pressure was on. It is beyond inept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭thecomedian

flazio wrote: »
    Some of you are being way too harsh on Burns based on just one kick.
    It was his penalty kick that got us to within 5 to begin with.

They’re the ones who aren’t actually rugby supporters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭almostover

mun1 wrote: »
    That loss is all on POM.
    Shocking thing to do to another player and i hope he gets a deserved multiple match ban.

Fair dues to everyone else for sticking with it right to the end.

Keenan, henshaw, ringrose, stander, porter and Beirne were very good.
    Good to see furlong back

Ringrose is just getting better and better.

Ringrose played well but made a bad mistake which lead to Wales' first try. We let Wales into this game when we shouldn't have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,441 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Arduach wrote: »
    You've obviously never played any sport at any level.

He's not a dirty player.

I don't want him in the team as I think he's lightweight against the top packs.

Stick to abusing toilets.

He's not a dirty player, gets 2 red cards this season for the same dirty hit.....

Ok buddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭lalababa

Unless someone calls it at this level you generally wont stop for players going down immediately.

They dont. To allege bias or anything else is rather pathetic.

When I see Barnes is reffing an Irish game I think....yep... we're screwed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Happy4all wrote: »
    I really felt we were about to experience another moment like Sexton in Paris.

So deflated
    Look at the things that did work. It was definitely more attacking, lineout was ok, scrum too and we tackled well enough. On the downside kicking was very so-so, and a good few made stupid mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,397 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

mun1 wrote:
    That loss is all on POM. Shocking thing to do to another player and i hope he gets a deserved multiple match ban.
    You think he meant it? Did you ever play rugby or any type of contact sport?

Also we lead after he went off.

That loss is on Billy Burns more than anybody. Senseless cross field kick after 75 minutes and then missing touch at the end.
    He should never play for Ireland again, can't trust an out-half who makes awful decisions like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,568 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Ah ffs :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,557 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Gotta love all the Sh1tstirrers that come onto the rugby forum every February to talk about how terrible Ireland are and how we shouldn’t bother even turning up

If you don’t like rugby, gogglebox or dancing on Ice or the voice or hundreds of other shows are all there, waiting for you to watch

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭MaddChris

You haven't seen alot of Ireland matches then.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,160 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Keenan and Beirne were excellent imo. Thought Gibson-Park was immensely better than Murray too.

I never need to see POM or Murray starting again. I'd even argue whether they're test standard since 2018. Murray is fairness had a significant injury but O'Mahony is too often a passenger when he's needed most.

I'd defend Farrell in so far as this was a side that peaked in a phenomenal year of 2018 and there was always going to be a drop off but we have arguably the 5th most in form SH in the country starting.

Gibson-Pwrk was all over the place. Himself and Lowe run round looking all action but are in the wrong places too often. Murray does frustrate me too though so I wouldn't say one is better than the other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭UAEguy2020

I think this comment section just sums up the situation at 10 in this country, when Sexton lets the team down with a miss touch we just move on yet when Burns does the same thing we never hear the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,952 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Piehead wrote: »
    Billy Burns shouldn’t be let near the squad again

Thats ridiculous , a young inexperienced player has a nightmare , anyone whos played sport know it happens sometimes, the sign of a true player is he how he comes back. So definitly desreves a second chance.

POM on the other hand, doing that in 2021 , that is inexcusable.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 43,716 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

One positive from today is that Henshaw should have one foot on the lions plane.

Best center of the weekend for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,762 ✭✭✭hold my beer

My god I'm raging. What a frustrating match. Burns, what the ****. The cross field kick was bad enough....he's simply not a test quality player. And now we know he brain farts like his brother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Arduach

He's not a dirty player, gets 2 red cards this season for the same dirty hit.....

Ok buddy

Don't buddy me.

Two in a long career. When you're physically fired up these incidents happen. Were you equally as appalled with CJ Stander in SA in 2016 or is this provincial crap. Take your head out of the toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,160 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

UAEguy2020 wrote: »
    I think this comment section just sums up the situation at 10 in this country, when Sexton lets the team down with a miss touch we just move on yet when Burns does the same thing we never hear the end of it.

Sexton took a risk with 20 mins to go. Burns done it after time was up which is a hugely different situation.

Sexton gets his stick too so I don't know what you are on about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭MaddChris

Akrasia wrote: »
    Gotta love all the Sh1tstirrers that come onto the rugby forum every February to talk about how terrible Ireland are and how we shouldn’t bother even turning up

If you don’t like rugby, gogglebox or dancing on Ice or the voice or hundreds of other shows are all there, waiting for you to watch
    Its funny how they disappeared for a while when Ireland went 6-13 up :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

UAEguy2020 wrote: »
    The Burns was one of those "everything depends on this" kicks. He won't be the last person to do it but that was not why Wales won.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Scratchly

sydthebeat wrote: »
    One positive from today is that Henshaw should have one foot on the lions plane.

Best center of the weekend for me

Ringrose too. Thought he was fantastic. Both of them and Keenan were a class apart from everyone else on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭clsmooth

almostover wrote: »
    Afraid you're giving us a little too much credit there. This is a poor Wales side. Scotland will fancy beating both Wales and Ireland on that showing.

Maybe so but not so poor that we can let them have an extra man for 65 minutes and be upset if we don’t win. Huge credit for being even in with a chance to win at the end should be given to the team.

The disappointment on here is because if we had made a few less errors and a few things went our way (take your pick from POM red, Earls tackle/kick straight into touch, Beirne penalty where the ball seemed to be out for me/Williams getting away without a card for his high tackle/Sexton and Burn’s line kicks) we could have won.

Some perspective is needed. The Welsh media will be having a right go at their team for squeaking past a 14 man Ireland who aren’t the force they were in 2018.