Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Wales v Ireland Match Thread (thanks for nothing awec)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭eigrod

Discipline imperative now. Can’t afford to go down to 13, even for 10 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

We must surely be favourites for the world cup now?

I admire Lowe's ambition but a lineout near the welsh 22 and a good setpiece would have been the better choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Subpopulus

Don't worry, that was me being tongue-in-cheek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,045 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Wales have made 113 tackles compared to our 43.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,457 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Buer wrote: »
    Beirne is having an incredible game. Pack have been very good, it must be said. You'd be hard pushed to figure out who is down a man.

He's been really good this season. I've criticised him enough in the past, he has stepped up excellently. Well deserved spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Playing better since the sending off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Porter has been an absolute beast. Superb performance really given the red card and injury to Ryan.

Have dominated possession and territory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,100 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Nice to have a lead at HT

Think playing with 14 will catch up on us though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Natterjack from Kerry

What does this teach us about the best balance of our backrow ?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Fastest 80 minutes ever. Great game. See yiz next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Excellent 20 mins from the lads there much to the chagrin of Negative Niall whose gone quiet 🀔. Showing real heart.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭fitz

We've been pretty good tbh. The question is whether we can keep this going with a man down. If we can, I'd fancy us here, tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23 Jacktheelad

Excellent reaction to going 6 points down & having a man sent off.

More of the same in the second half please.

Come on Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,896 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Cian Healy’s clear out was as instrumental to Beirnes try as henshaws run and VDF’s decision to recycle.

This is poor from Wales. Very poor allowing us to own the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,045 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

I think Pivac will have used the last 20 minutes of the half to recalibrate and set Wales right. We're a man down and there's space out wide if they just fix our defenders before passing. Right now they're just flinging the ball wide asap. It's easy for us to drift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,207 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Wales are so bad

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

Just keep the ball in hand and establish a run game, that's all I'm asking.

PartialCarelessArabianhorse-max-1mb.gif

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

leakyboots wrote: »
    He did brilliantly. He'd been brutal until then, I don't think that's being unfair on him.

Henshaw is really back to his best, great to see.

Lowe and Beirne growing into the game too.

No he hadn’t. He’s hitting every ruck and made a tackle on Halfpenny when in the last line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Macdarack

Great bit of unselfishness from VDF there,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭leakyboots

I admire Lowe's ambition but a lineout near the welsh 22 and a good setpiece would have been the better choice.

I thought it was a bit idiotic of him, that quick penalty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

No doubt Wales will come back and mostly will win the game but Ireland has shown some real grit here but since Farrel and Catt have taken over we have shown fck all idea of an attacking plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Subpopulus

saabsaab wrote: »
    Playing better since the sending off.

I think we were playing fine up until then, a few errors let us down, but we were making solid progress up the pitch.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,762 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Excellent response to the red
    Maintain discipline and we'll still be in it. Subs could change that a bit especially when we get to 60+ minutes and are going that bit more playing with just 14
    We’re playing very flat while Welsh seem a bit flat energy wise
    Our set piece and around the ruck we're doing well. organised and effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

Phenomenal response to going down to 14 men! Still some improvements to be made but they have to be delighted with that scoreline considering.
    Box kicks have slowed and the runners need to show but the backs are playing out of their skin, finding gaps where there is none.

Will they be able to last! Fingers crossed, nervy 40 mins coming.

You'd barely know POM was off, which is fairly telling imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Scratchly

Wales only hope now is that they ignore Pivac and just have a go. Pivac is sacked after this anyway, there's no way he can change that from this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,591 ✭✭✭✭cson

"That's a clear out, there's nothing wrong"

Oof, Wayne Barnes won't like watching that back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭normanbond

Have to endure Matt Williams for half time stuff, muted ....... tg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

leakyboots wrote: »
    I thought it was a bit idiotic of him, that quick penalty

I thought it was a good shout, execution wasn't there. I expected him to sprint it but he obviously didn't see any space so slowed it down for support.