Off The Ball Official Thread <Mod Note - Post #1, #533, #6651>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,482 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

What happened with Kieran Cunningham? I must have missed that.
    Just saw Wooly sniping at Kieran on a few tweets and I think Kieran said to someone else that Wooly is one of 42 people who have Kieran blocked. If that is the case, pity low move by Wooly to continue referring to him or tweeting a poll about him.
    I think Ewan McKenna and Colm Parkinson bring more of a real life element to the sports coverage. OTB is far too polite and politically correct, painfully so. McKenna and Parkinson are at least to come forward with a very unpopular opinion and back it to the hilt. I don't agree with either of them on all subjects, but they are certainly entertaining.

Leaving aside whether or not OTB is far too polite, I do agree that there should be room for disagreements to be held without it leading to something more. Particularly in the case of Ewan, he was his own worse enemy. Would go on the show, disagree with someone or something, and then absolutely go to town on the show or who he disagreed with over the next several days, weeks, months etc to the point where they just say, 'enough of that'. His position on Irish Rugby was one, it became way too personal for Ewan and he was flat out abusive in how he referred to people with different opinions to him and then when they stopped booking him, he started complaining that Irish media wouldn't hire him.

Wooly is similar, but has less scope as he only talks about GAA with any level of authority. McKenna had the opportunity to be a commentator on wide variety of sports in different locations and I think he set fire to the bridges he had and then complained that they were burned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

I think McKenna is a vile human being myself, I actually agree with him on the Dublin stuff to a large extent and his opinions on McGregor but the absolutely rancid stuff he comes out with superseeds that.

I'm surprised anything that he could say would elicit such a strong response - what in particular that he said was most offensive?

Just saw Wooly sniping at Kieran on a few tweets and I think Kieran said to someone else that Wooly is one of 42 people who have Kieran blocked. If that is the case, pity low move by Wooly to continue referring to him or tweeting a poll about him.

Thanks. I find Twitter hard to stomach at the best of times so miss any of these dramas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

I'm surprised anything that he could say would elicit such a strong response - what in particular that he said was most offensive?
    Liked a tweet about Jonny Cooper the Dublin footballer where someone said the person who stabbed him wouldn't have done it without a good reason

Tweeted something really offensive about Gay Byrne the day after he passed away, its deleted now I discovered, not the 1st time something like that happened with him and a bereavement.

I taught Pat Gilroy was a joke on his Sunday Game appearance myself but McKenna tweeted calling him a fat 'word that rimes with duck' , hardly professional from an award winning journalist.

Plenty of other stuff too, too much to remember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭rrs

That's essentially what Twitter is in a nutshell, smart remarks, particularly if you disagree with someone or if they disagree with you. Not sure qualifies him as fitting into the bullying bracket, but while we are on the topic, Richie McCormack certainly fits into the category at times but includes hissy fits and temper tantrums with it if you aren't fully on board with whatever woke agenda he is pushing on any given day.

No it isn't. He just constantly singles out people and thinks he's great. Took fun out of David Brady for calling people during the lockdown.

Basically stitched up Eddie Brennan with his 'off record interview'.'.

A bellend.

rrs wrote: »
    No it isn't. He just constantly singles out people and thinks he's great. Took fun out of David Brady for calling people during the lockdown.

A bellend.
    I think the Brennan thing was an horrendous error rather than a stitch up, if it was a stitch up he was basically throwing himself under the bus.

I don't think Brennan he suffered from it in terms of public esteem funnily enough

A bellend.

The latter part of that is simply untrue. He's guilty of a lot of things, but not that one.

It might have been a genuine mistake, but how can you be sure? Was there ever anything else leaked on the show? This involved his own County and seemed more suspect. Cheddar Plunkett was a regular on the show before, so kind of fell into place for him to get the job again.

The interview went on for 5 minutes off air, surely someone could have copped it was being played?..

It might have been a genuine mistake, but how can you be sure? Was there ever anything else leaked on the show? This involved his own County and seemed more suspect. Cheddar Plunkett was a regular on the show before, so kind of fell into place for him to get the job again.

The interview went on for 5 minutes off air, surely someone could have copped it was being played?..
    The laois players wanted Cheaddar back, that 2nd last sentence is borderline slanderous.

How can you be sure yourself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,482 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I think it was a genuine mistake. Those recordings are spliced together in to a podcast which is probably released at a set time rather than being something which goes out live.

But that incident, is a stick he has given people to beat him with and carrying on with the likes of last week and attacking people specifically in a poll is a classless move.

It's one thing disagreeing with someone, and another thing entirely to list them in a poll on a tweet as he did. And then acknowledging that he was setting up those polls after an evenings drinking (whether true or not) just doesn't look professional.

Say what you want about the OTB crew, they don't wash their dirty laundry in public like others do. Entertaining or not, it's generally not good for someone's career.

I'm not doubting they wanted him back. It just seemed all appropriate that this was leaked involving his own County,

I think he's given a fairly good account of how the controversial bit at the end made it on air - while throwing a colleague under the bus! - and nearly everyone accepts his bona fides on that. He had very little to gain from it being aired and loads to lose from it.

I think it was a genuine mistake. Those recordings are spliced together in to a podcast which is probably released at a set time rather than being something which goes out live.

Yeah I think it was just a simple mistake as well. There was no real upside for Parkinson to leak the information, as it risked every future guest on the show refusing an interview for fear of something similar happening to them. If I was going to speak to him on the show, I would be looking for reassurance that nothing would be leaked. And that he wouldn't put me in one of his polls!
    t's one thing disagreeing with someone, and another thing entirely to list them in a poll on a tweet as he did. And then acknowledging that he was setting up those polls after an evenings drinking (whether true or not) just doesn't look professional.

While I do admire the rebel in any broadcaster (especially given that we live in a State that seemingly has broadcasters who all share the same opinions on everything), I just don't think this battle was worth starting. It seems a little petty and I don't think anything positive will come from it.

Did you see the latest on OTB Twitter storm.

https://twitter.com/glynner__/status/1355300431531036672/photo/1

Es7-js0WMAECIBR?format=jpg&name=900x900

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭redbuck

The plot thickens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

I see the usual snowflakery is alive and well here, lead principally by TMH as usual. I suppose the reason you criticise Wooly (and McKenna) is because they have opinions that deviate from the norm and there’s no way we can be having that in Ireland today. Differences of opinion and the expression of a counter-belief is simply not tolerable, most particularly when it comes to the Church of Covid and the compulsion to bow at its altar. I personally think McKenna is a prick. He’s bigoted towards my main sport, which is rugby, but he can say what he wants and he has every right to do so. I’ll even gladly listen to him do it the rare time he does actually appear in the vanilla-flavoured Irish media. On Wooly, no week could be better than last to compare the quality of his show vs OTB. They both interviewed one of the GAA’s most interesting and colourful characters, Shane Curran. Wooly got a very good interview out of him which shouldn’t be difficult to achieve, but somehow OTB managed to produce a banal, useless dirge that I didn’t even bother finishing it got so boring. Wooly offers passion, colour, an uncensored opinion and all of himself in his shows and the squares around here still crave the sterile, mundane, paint-by-numbers approach of OTB. I suppose not to be unexpected on the OTB thread but there has been more criticism than praise here over the long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Timmy McCarthy was painful on The Paper Review yesterday.

Tied himself up in knots over the Sexton point he was trying to make and then played the "I've coached and national level" card to try to dismiss Joe's point.

Felexicon wrote: »
    Timmy McCarthy was painful on The Paper Review yesterday.

Tied himself up in knots over the Sexton point he was trying to make and then played the "I've coached and national level" card to try to dismiss Joe's point.

Fairly watery line-up. The analysis from both guests was shallow at best.

That tweet has been deleted, I suspect the hypocrisy of doing so when in that very tweet he was calling out Mccormick for having once deleted his account is lost on Parkinson. Not to mention, the keyboard warrior-ness of the tweet accusing somebody else of being a keyboard warrior.

This thread is getting out of hand, going to pause it for moment until more Radio Mods, who can keep track, become available. Apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭monstermag

I see the lads have Patrick Reed on the naughty list along side fellow "contrarian" Novak Djokovic.

monstermag wrote: »
    I see the lads have Patrick Reed on the naughty list along side fellow "contrarian" Novak Djokovic.

Everyone has these 2 guys on their sports respective naughty lists at the moment do they not?

Or if not, then both have at least been involved in significant talking points in the recent weeks.

Not a big NFL person by any means but have enjoyed the super bowl content this week

I gave some of it a try but I just can’t listen to Irish people talking about the NFL. Pure cringe.

Any word on Andy Lee or is he persona non grata on the show now? I presume that he was one of the many people that they contacted but who did not want to take part on their show discussing the documentary on Monday night?

In fairness to OTB, it's a brave decision to cover the story.

Any word on Andy Lee or is he persona non grata on the show now? I presume that he was one of the many people that they contacted but who did not want to take part on their show discussing the documentary on Monday night?

In fairness to OTB, it's a brave decision to cover the story.

I would assume Lee has been blackballed. I'm disappointed in Lee, as he always came across as someone with a set of values. Taking money from MTK is not a good look.

Molloy was good on the topic - didn't just cover it for the sake of it and asked some good questions of the guests. Credit to OTB for pursuing the story.

I would assume Lee has been blackballed. I'm disappointed in Lee, as he always came across as someone with a set of values. Taking money from MTK is not a good look.

Molloy was good on the topic - didn't just cover it for the sake of it and asked some good questions of the guests. Credit to OTB for pursuing the story.

Think it could just as well have been that Lee stepped back from OTB himself rather than them black-balling him.
    He'd have known that he would have been asked directly so rather than put himself in a hard place, he may have chosen to step away.

Will never know unless it is referred to specifically by either party. It was a strange move by Lee mind given his involvement with the show. Obviously money was a factor you'd imagine.

I think Kieran Cunningham deserves a lot of credit for pushing this story. He probably received his fair share of 'interesting' DM's on Twitter for doing so and I see some MTK associates are pushing the #ignoreIrishmedia angle again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭gourcuff

Think it could just as well have been that Lee stepped back from OTB himself rather than them black-balling him.
    He'd have known that he would have been asked directly so rather than put himself in a hard place, he may have chosen to step away.

Will never know unless it is referred to specifically by either party. It was a strange move by Lee mind given his involvement with the show. Obviously money was a factor you'd imagine.

I think Kieran Cunningham deserves a lot of credit for pushing this story. He probably received his fair share of 'interesting' DM's on Twitter for doing so and I see some MTK associates are pushing the #ignoreIrishmedia angle again.

Kieran Cunningham has been excellent, hes good on most topics..

Couldn't have anything but the height of respect for Cunningham and Nicola Tallant

Billy Joe Saunders showing again on his social media last night that he's the lowest of the low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Acosta

Any chance Newstalk could send Eoin Sheehan out a decent mic to his gaff so he doesn't sound like he's broadcasting from his phone?