Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of Restrictions, Part VIII *Read OP For Mod Warnings*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭acequion

Lundstram wrote: »
    Question for people. Would you take a 2/3 week long severe lockdown with airports and ports closed to try get to zero Covid or close to it? Obviously NI border shut or do it alongside them. Or even do it as a whole with all of the UK.

Mandatory quarantine thereafter for arrivals needs to happen too. The hard part will be staying at zero or close to it.

At this stage I think I would. Nothing but bad news about vaccines now so it's looking like it'll be close to or 2022 before normality resumes.

No I wouldn't because I think this whole business of mandatory quarantine is the stuff of a police state. People have family and loved ones in other countries and forcing them to separate for extended periods is only heaping more misery at the time when misery levels are high enough. Not to mention the economic devastation on the tourism and aviation sectors which are on their knees as it is. I think a negative PCR is an acceptable compromise with perhaps a temporary ban on countries with dangerous variants.

Anyway where do you stop with this zero Covid? Unless you seal up the borders forever it will come back in when you open up again. Like the yo yo lockdowns it's only a short term measure which gets worse when you release. There has to be a better way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,592 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

hynesie08 wrote: »
    So by ski gear, you mean jackets and hoodies? In January? In a snow warning? Those bastards.....
    No I mean ski gear....look at the link.
    Can see many people walking around in that in ireland....
    I didn't say they were fighting over ski poles...
    "Snow warning"....it's hardly a fecking blizzard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭BredonWimsey

gmisk wrote: »
    "Snow warning"....it's hardly a fecking blizzard lol

aww but dont u know - in Ireland

when it rains it pours
    when there is a snowflake its a blizzard
    and soon it will be SNOWMAGEDDON

:pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,321 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

gmisk wrote: »
    "Snow warning"....it's hardly a fecking blizzard lol

I'm looking, they can label it ski gear, but it's jackets and hoodies mostly for children....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Lundstram

acequion wrote: »
    No I wouldn't because I think this whole business of mandatory quarantine is the stuff of a police state. People have family and loved ones in other countries and forcing them to separate for extended periods is only heaping more misery at the time when misery levels are high enough. Not to mention the economic devastation on the tourism and aviation sectors which are on their knees as it is. I think a negative PCR is an acceptable compromise with perhaps a temporary ban on countries with dangerous variants.

Anyway where do you stop with this zero Covid? Unless you seal up the borders forever it will come back in when you open up again. Like the yo yo lockdowns it's only a short term measure which gets worse when you release. There has to be a better way.

Read my post properly. Mandatory quarantine will be needed if you want to keep it at zero Covid. All very police state I know, but we can't have it both ways. I mean we now have checkpoints outside airports which is a complete waste of time and money. It's just there now for optics, nothing else. Some real policing would be nice for once. Off your flight, straight to a hotel for 2 weeks. End of.

This current scenario is just not working, it's tiresome with little reward.

PCR testing is not 100% reliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,592 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Penfailed wrote: »
    Not when it's snowing outside.
    I don't think people need ski gear quite yet...
    It's not like the day after tomorrow out there...

Is it just me whose now been persuaded to have a trip to Aldi to have a look at this ski gear?

F*ck me I need to do something to break the monotony of this existence.

The nation must be depressed hearing our leaders talking about lockdown until June.

Is it just me whose now been persuaded to have a trip to Aldi to have a look at this ski gear?

F*ck me I need to do something to break the monotony of this existence.

The nation must be depressed hearing our leaders talking about lockdown until June.

haha looking at the ski gear now. but i wouldn't be fighting with people over snow boots and gloves for goodness sake.

i heard someone say on the radio i think - and they said something about the collective trauma we have all suffered from this . and I think thats a good way to phrase it. of course some people are absolutely fine and doing brilliant but other people are finding it really hard and theres people in between. alot of different circumstances. people were living their lives in their best way and they get hit by this thing beyond any one's control. and some people are very resilient and will be absolutely fine and other people may not be. its a collective trauma because we all need to consider everyone in society and empatise with each other and try to understand each other because we are all dealing with the same incident but the repercussions are different for everyone. its like dealing with aftermath of WW2 - which is the only thing I can compare it to and obviously on a different scale completely - but its similar in that society had to come together and find empathy for each other and to heal from the horrors they witnessed. This is obviously very different but I'm using it as an example - that there will be some healing to do after this- and we really should try and be much more compassionate with each other and to be sensitive about what other people are going through. I wish everyone the best really. sorry boards.ie wont be any fun if no one is fighting haha but here is a virtual hug to you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

Who in authority has specifically mentioned "lockdown until June"?

Who in authority has speciically mentioned "lockdown until June"?

it was in the papers - that the Taoiseach or leo V - cant remember - they were quoted saying it will be another 6 months of restrictions. they usually plant it to the papers first before making it official. it just shows where their head is at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭Cerveza

At least some had a meaningful Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

dalyboy wrote: »

Reviewing restrictions every 4 weeks seems mental. Christ, they didn't wait 2 days after the Christmas lockdown to keep adding to it. Not once did they give it the 2/3 weeks needed to see a result.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

The numbers went bananas. What reviewing do you need when the shoite is hitting the fan.

Cerveza wrote: »
    The numbers went bananas. What reviewing do you need when the shoite is hitting the fan.

the numbers are going down now. it has to be a balancing act - thats what the government are supposed to be doing to balance the interests of all of society. it cant be all or nothing for extended periods of time. yes they absolutely had to go to level 5 after christmas but yes that needs to be reviewed after a period of time. otherwise we are basically handing our will over to a dictatorship if they are not taking the will and needs of the people into consideration hence the need for a review.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

How many times does it have to be repeated before some of the people here get the message, as things stand now with the type of infrastructure that has developed over half a century, there is no way to have a total lock down of this island, due to the way that massive parts of the distribution of essentials happens in both directions.

Australia and New Zealand are both islands with long sea crossings to get to them, so there is no roll on roll off freight, it's all moved in sealed containers through lift on lift off. We do not have the necessary infrastructure in terms of port facilities and ships to make an instant change from Ro Ro to Li Lo operation, and if you have to keep Ro Ro going, that is a significant number of drivers arriving every day, and as was seen recently in the UK at Dover, there are Covid cases active in the drivers, even though they don't spend much time mixing with other people. That kills the idea of zero covid. There is not the infrastructure in place to enable a change to remote loading of trailers and using shunters to load and unload, the time delays caused would totally disrupt the time tables, and the supply chain of many critical supplies depends on the timeley running of a significant number of ferries that operate to the UK, and more recently France.

Zero Covid is a wonderful theory if it can be made to work, New Zealand has a problem today, a recently returned visitor who spent 2 weeks in quarantine has subsequently developed Covid after 2 negative tests in the hotel, and a number of days after leaving, the problem for NZ being that they have visited a number of places and people since being released. They are now trying to decide if they need to impose local or wider area lock down to prevent it from spreading.

So, all the people proposing Zero Covid, you are going to have to come up with a scheme that can work with freight coming in and out on a number of ferries on a regular basis, it won't be easy to come up with, which is why it's not happened over the last 12 months.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭acequion

Short term measure? Life is back to normal in NZ/OZ . Seems like the opposite of short term if anything. Vaccinations to come down the road don't forget which should help in regards to importation of virus.

Life is not back to normal when you have draconian travel restrictions in place. It's one thing if it's just a short term sacrifice but as we've learned nothing about Covid is short term.

I understand people's frustrations but persueing a zero covid policy is simplistic nonsense.

Get people to grow their own spuds and become self sufficient like the 50s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭dalyboy

Yeah but buying the spud seeds will be considered “non essential” .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,656 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

The life expectancy in Ireland in the 50s was about 20 years lower than the median age of Covid deaths in Ireland.

Obesity was likely less prevalent in the 50s too.

Covid is a 1st world modern day problem, exaggerated by ageing populations and obesity

That’s because people can’t or more than likely to lazy to cook. Eating out of chippers six nights a week and then they treat themselves to mac Donald’s on the Sunday.

The life expectancy in Ireland in the 50s was about 20 years lower than the median age of Covid deaths in Ireland.

Obesity was likely less prevalent in the 50s too.

Covid is a 1st world modern day problem, exaggerated by ageing populations and obesity

interesting - so you think if covid happened in the 50s it wouldnt have had the same repercussions. i know it would be less likely to spread by travel but you think because people has less life expectancy and the younger people were healthier less would get sick. thats a good point. i think though that doesnt address the fact that alot of healthy people are affected by this - LONG COVID - and that viruses mutate - so we have no way of knowing how the virus would act in the immune systems of people in the 50s and how it would exploit the weaknesses therein. but yeah interesting point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,566 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

acequion wrote: »
    Life is not back to normal when you have draconian travel restrictions in place.

TBF it's an absolute free fall if you want to enter and leave the country.

33,000 "essential" journeys into our ports weekly.

Half of them not even bothering with the pinky promise locator form.

We set our stall out in March with our borders when the Minister for Foreign Affairs stated it would be mean to stop travel from the epicenter of the world at the time, quantifying it by suggesting how would we "feel" if they did it to us.

So our infection control around our borders has been based on feelings.

Germany now talking about closing their borders as are others.

Time to get the North on side with testing and quarantine for at least 4 months.

We will see then how many of those 33,000 journeys are actually essential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

dalyboy wrote: »

He can go **** himself if he thinks people are going to stay in lockdown that long.
    And people wonder why people think Martin and Co are enjoying this way too much. They are. They're quick to impose restrictions, but very, very slow to lift them.

That’s because people can’t or more than likely to lazy to cook. Eating out of chippers six nights a week and then they treat themselves to mac Donald’s on the Sunday.

who is doing that - jeez. nauseous thinking about eating like that. and here in ireland we are so lucky to have so much good produce thats not expensive. my other half and i just talking yesterday about how we are so lucky in ireland that the food products are so good - some of the best in the world for vegetables, fish etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Switch off Netflix and dance at the cross roads for entertainment.

or play bowls (do not) which is what some people are doing in the crossroads apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,236 ✭✭✭✭JRant

1850's?

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

JRant wrote: »
    1850's?

thankfully we control our own produce now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭emeldc

You are more likely to catch covid at home than in a big supermarket

It do be cummin’ down the chimbly!