Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

2075 swabs from 23,581 tests. 8.8%.

7 day now at 10.8%

Last Friday was 3457 and 15.1%. Definitely making good progress here. The Wednesday bump and higher on following days has been less severe this week.

Fingers crossed we’re optimistically touching 1k swabs on Tuesday next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,464 ✭✭✭pauldry

Decent swab numbers today off a lot of tests

We are making good progress

Surely case numbers should be in line with that also as yesterday they were a bit higher than swabs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

seamus wrote: »
    Edit: Beaten to it.

Good numbers today.

Interestingly yesterday's swabs got revised too, so yesterday's positivity rate was 9.99%.

Decline in swabs is staying solid. Down 35% week-on-week. Translates to a halving every two weeks, an R0 of about 0.5.

I was actually just trying to look and see was yesterday's changed.

What were yesterday's revised swabs seamus ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Those swabs and positivity rate are better now. Hopefully we'll be looking at another 500 less a day or so next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,178 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

2075 swabs from 23,581 tests. 8.8%.

7 day now at 10.8%

Hoping we get down to below 2,000 soon all going well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,834 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

marno21 wrote: »
    Last Friday was 3457 and 15.1%. Definitely making good progress here. The Wednesday bump and higher on following days has been less severe this week.

Fingers crossed we’re optimistically touching 1k swabs on Tuesday next week.

It'll be such a relief to get into the hundreds again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,834 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Good numbers today.

Interestingly yesterday's swabs got revised too, so yesterday's positivity rate was 9.99%.

Decline in swabs is staying solid. Down 35% week-on-week. Translates to a halving every two weeks, an R0 of about 0.5.

These are fantastic figures. Do you know how low we got the R number to last summer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I was actually just trying to look and see was yesterday's changed.

What were yesterday's revised swabs seamus ?

Yesterday was originally 2,300 positives on 22,611 tests.

That was changed to 2,318 positives on 23,196 tests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Lol my next door neighbour called to our door for a chat, 'listen I won't stand to close to ye I'm actually waiting on a test I've a few symptoms so I'll keep some distance just in case until I get the result, probably won't be positive.'

:o:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

Good numbers today.

This may be a stupid question but why do figures frequently get revised be that upwards or downwards? Is it due to testing issues or notification mistakes or some other reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭majcos

copeyhagen wrote: »
    50% was the figure a week or two ago, not 1/3

No. Overall, it was not 50% at any stage across all hospitals. Colm Henry made a comment at one of briefings that in certain hospitals it reached that point over the previous week or two but that was not the average/overall percentage across the healthcare system.

Hospital acquired Covid cases were running around 20% of all hospital cases but there was a sharp rise in December/January.

Between 21st of June and 3rd of January, there are 995 reported hospital acquired cases of Covid. Over that same period, there was a total of 2996 cases in hospitals. Works out at 33.7%.

From the beginning up to January 18th, there have been 274 patient deaths due to hospital acquired Covid.

These are fantastic figures. Do you know how low we got the R number to last summer?
    I don't, I'm sure there's a Philip Nolan graph somewhere with it though!

I think I recall around May NPHET saying it could be as low as 0.2 or 0.3 at that time. But that covers the period where we were all seeing those pictures of deserted streets. I went for a run over the M50 on Easter Sunday and it was literally empty. Like something out of a disaster movie.

By July we were back to 1 or more. The thing about having really low daily numbers is that it sneaks back up on you. The R0 can be 1.5, but while you have double digit daily cases it feels like everything is grand.

Before you know it, it's late August, the R0 is 1.8 and you're back in triple-digit figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭muddypuppy

This may be a stupid question but why do figures frequently get revised be that upwards or downwards? Is it due to testing issues or notification mistakes or some other reason?

I don't think we know. They're always adding new tests (since I've started to check), to me it looks like some labs are late to report their results or something.
    For sure it got more common lately, I guess before they would just lump the delayed tests in the day after.

KiwoNBr.png

I haven't a clue. I can only guess that some labs miss the cut-off for reporting their figures, that data will be reported the next day, but backdated to the actual day that the positive result came in.

The revisions downward are rarer, but more confusing. They probably validate the data each day to check for double-counting or swabs allocated to the wrong date, so maybe that's what happens.

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Lol my next door neighbour called to our door for a chat, 'listen I won't stand to close to ye I'm actually waiting on a test I've a few symptoms so I'll keep some distance just in case until I get the result, probably won't be positive.'

Oh good grief. (This is the polite version of what I really feel like saying/typing when I hear stories like this.)

What goes through some people's heads?! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

Easy mistake to make in fairness. In case anyone is unsure, the correct protocol in situations such as this is to not let on about the covid test in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,785 ✭✭✭✭josip

Eod100 wrote: »
    What goes through some people's heads?! :rolleyes:

Nothing, absolutely nothing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

Easy mistake to make in fairness. In case anyone is unsure, the correct protocol in situations such as this is to not let on about the covid test in the first place.

What? Not sure if you're joking... the correct protocol is to self isolate at home, probably in a separate room if you live with others, until you have the result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Hairdresser in Sligo with a fairly steady stream of people knocking on the door and collecting stuff. The funny thing is that it is literally next door to the Garda Station. Been going on all week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Hairdresser in Sligo with a fairly steady stream of people knocking on the door and collecting stuff. The funny thing is that it is literally next door to the Garda Station. Been going on all week.

Is it drugs?

How many are people now looking on Google maps or similar for hairdressers located next to Sligo Garda station?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,456 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

is_that_so wrote: »
    More on the coronavirus becoming as mild as a cold naturally.
    One day, the pandemic will end. Scientists don't know how that finale will play out but a new model offers a teaser: The deadly SARS-CoV-2 may not totally disappear but instead become a commonly circulating cold virus that just causes some mild sniffles.

https://www.livescience.com/coronavirus-common-cold-virus-future.html

I have always hoped that it would play out like this. Fingers crossed.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭CFlat

Is it drugs?

Yes. They're are getting Blow dries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Purple Papillon

The virus was first reported in the news last January. A yesr on from that, I feel so blessed that I still have my health. I feel blessed that our government took action last spring to suppress the virus. There were things they got wrong and should have done differently but not going to hold it against them. The government worked hard to hammer down on the virus. I feel blessed for the public health team that's chasing the virus and for Tony Holohan and the NHPET having televisied briefings keeping us all informed and as safe as possible. I feel blessed my local community took this seriously and it never appeared in the news for misbehaving and going against public health guidelines. I feel blessed that I'm living in the decade for scientists to get on board and develop vaccines in the fight against this virus. I know joy everyone has been as lucky as me. I hope the next few more months will go well. I hope the numbers come down more. There's more vaccines on the way and I hope we will emerge soon for the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭pawdee

The virus was first reported in the news last January. A yesr on from that, I feel so blessed that I still have my health. I feel blessed that our government took action last spring to suppress the virus. There were things they got wrong and should have done differently but not going to hold it against them. The government worked hard to hammer down on the virus. I feel blessed for the public health team that's chasing the virus and for Tony Holohan and the NHPET having televisied briefings keeping us all informed and as safe as possible. I feel blessed my local community took this seriously and it never appeared in the news for misbehaving and going against public health guidelines. I feel blessed that I'm living in the decade for scientists to get on board and develop vaccines in the fight against this virus. I know joy everyone has been as lucky as me. I hope the next few more months will go well. I hope the numbers come down more. There's more vaccines on the way and I hope we will emerge soon for the better.

Enough of that positivity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

I don't, I'm sure there's a Philip Nolan graph somewhere with it though!

I think I recall around May NPHET saying it could be as low as 0.2 or 0.3 at that time. But that covers the period where we were all seeing those pictures of deserted streets. I went for a run over the M50 on Easter Sunday and it was literally empty. Like something out of a disaster movie.

I looked through the Thursday NPHET updates from May. The lowest quoted R number I could find was "between 0.4 and 0.6". It does feel like we are doing nearly as well as April/May, which is a bit surprising given the restrictions are not quite as severe and there was (supposedly) a new infectious variant at play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,740 ✭✭✭saabsaab

josip wrote: »
    Nothing, absolutely nothing.

Fr Dougal comes to mind