Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,077 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Yes poor again from RTE

No way in hell retail stays shut until May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

Over a year since the outbreak of covid19, the WHO is finally conducting an investigation into the origin of covid19 in China.

https://theconversation.com/amp/how-china-is-controlling-the-covid-origins-narrative-silencing-critics-and-locking-up-dissenters-152751?__twitter_impression=true

This knowledge could be useful to vaccine researchers especially with the large number of mutations of late.

https://www.spiegel.de/consent-a-?targetUrl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.spiegel.de%2Finternational%2Fworld%2Fcan-germany-stop-the-new-supervirus-a-e9ffc207-0015-4330-8361-b306f6053e15&ref=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com%2F

The origin of covid19 is still under review with some of the main theories being:

Zoonotic spillover
    Zoonotic but leaked from a research center.
    Manmade
    Not of Chinese origin

The majority of coverage seems to point to zoonotic origin but of late some high profile publications have begun to speculate.

https://nymag.com/intelligencer/article/coronavirus-lab-escape-theory.html

Interested to discuss and hear peoples opinions here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

Harvard researcher Alina Chan looking at pangolin theory.

https://twitter.com/Ayjchan/status/1320344055230963712?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Yes poor again from RTE

We are in hell right now, gentlemen
    believe me
    and
    we can stay here
    and get the **** kicked out of us
    or
    we can fight our way
    back into the light.
    We can climb out of hell.
    One inch, at a time.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

Great film

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

Yes poor again from RTE

Everyone will be going around with holes in their jocks. It will be terrifying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭opinionated3

zuutroy wrote: »
    RTE at it again. Front page headline:

"Retail sectors 'likely' to stay shut until end of May"

Text of article:

"Taoiseach Micheál Martin has not explicitly ruled out the idea of restaurants being shut until May or even longer."

Not to worry.. . Rte reporting that virtual hugs will be sent out tonight in different parts of the country to encourage us all to do the same.
    Yep I feel better now. FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,785 ✭✭✭✭josip

Gruffalux wrote: »
    Everyone will be going around with holes in their jocks. It will be terrifying.

And yet strangely liberating in equal measure (for males)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭y2k2020

Hasn't the US Secretaty Of State basically confirmed it's zoonotic and was an accidental leak from the Bio Safety 4 Lab in Wuhan?

He's being sanctioned for it

I don't think we will ever get direct proof of the origin in our lifetimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

believe me
    and
    we can stay here
    or
    we can fight our way
    back into the light.
    One inch, at a time.

I dont know what to say really

Text of article:

"Taoiseach Micheál Martin has not explicitly ruled out the idea of restaurants being shut until May or even longer."

Headline changed now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Le Bruise

That's football guys.
    That's all it is.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,732 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Yeah that's funny wording. I've a few non citizens in my family. I presume he was using "citizen" as a synonym for "everyone"

usual ill thought out statement form Donnelly ?

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 12,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Yes poor again from RTE

I need a haircut already.

The state of me in lockdown 1 after my OH shaved off my overgrown locks. Don't want that again.

IMG-20210121-114647.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭pm1977x

The 'add to ignore list' option really cleans up the thread, I'd highly recommend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

usual ill thought out statement form Donnelly ?

Or usual nitpicking about everything.

Obviously they are not going to withhold vaccines to residents who are not citizens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

Donnelly saying everyone in the country to be vaccinated by September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Datacore

It’s not nitpicking, it’s the kind of thing that can cause a lot or stress for someone who picks it up as some kind of concern. I know someone living in Spain who isn’t at all sure that the programme there will cover her and is considering flying home to get vaccinated, including quitting her job if necessary to do so.

It’s unclear communication of an extremely important message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,756 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Datacore wrote: »
    It’s not nitpicking, it’s the kind of thing that can cause a lot or stress for someone who picks it up as some kind of concern. I know someone living in Spain who isn’t at all sure that the programme there will cover her and is considering flying home to get vaccinated, including quitting her job if necessary to do so.

It’s unclear communication of an extremely important message.

oh christ will you give people a chance to clarify... the words are barely out of his mouth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Text of article:

I noticed that!
    The journal were reporting retail may be closed till February. RTE just being useless and spreading soon and gloom as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

I'd give Donnelly a pass on this one

He's struggling with a lot of pressure i assume and was probably in too much of a hurry to get positive news out there .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Kunta Kinte

believe me
    and
    we can stay here
    or
    we can fight our way
    back into the light.
    One inch, at a time.

Trump supporter by any chance? When does the assault on Leinster House start?:rolleyes:

lawred2 wrote: »
    oh christ will you give people a chance to clarify... the words are barely out of his mouth

He’s a government minister and that is an extremely important statement. It shouldn’t need clarification afterwards.

It’s sloppy communication.

We don’t have an NHS like approach to healthcare here and it’s not unusual at all to have no access to the public systems if you’re living here as a non-EU citizen and depending on medical insurance for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Jaysus, when I read it, the last thing I though was, "That means they'll exclude non-citizens". Can't wait for the days when people have more to be worrying about than the simple misuse of a turn of phrase.

Most countries will take the "vaccinate everything that breathes" approach. Being picky doesn't make sense, the virus spreads between humans, not between nationalities. Some countries are planning on offering vaccinations to anyone who will be in the country for more than 30 days.

If someone is a resident non-citizen in any country, there's an approximately 0% chance they won't be offered a vaccine.

Well my friend’s experience in Spain has been heavy bureaucracy and lack of clarity and taking months upon months to be registered for their public systems. So she’s entirely unclear that she’s being included in the programme.

I wouldn’t assume anything and nor would a lot of people.

It’s very easy to see the world only from the point of view of a local, rather than someone who is on the outside of a system.

Well my friend’s experience in Spain has been heavy bureaucracy and lack of clarity and taking months upon months to be registered for their public systems. So she’s entirely unclear that she’s being included in the programme.

It’s very easy to see the world only from the point of view of a local, rather than someone who is on the outside of a system.

grand but Donnelly made that statement a very short while ago

big difference between month's of heavy bureaucracy and lack of clarity and some words that haven't made it in to print yet

not everything has to be a drama

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

He’s a government minister and that is an extremely important statement. It shouldn’t need clarification afterwards.

It’s sloppy communication.

We don’t have an NHS like approach to healthcare here and it’s not unusual at all to have no access to the public systems if you’re living here as a non-EU citizen and depending on medical insurance for example.

Being pedantic he said "every citizen" so presumably everyone in Ireland is a citizen of somewhere or maybe some are subjects. I am not a fan of the minister but I think we all know what he meant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Six-second google;
    https://www.thelocal.es/20210118/reader-question-can-foreigners-in-spain-get-the-covid-19-vaccine

There's being negative, and then there's being wilfully ignorant.

seamus wrote: »
    Six-second google;
    https://www.thelocal.es/20210118/reader-question-can-foreigners-in-spain-get-the-covid-19-vaccine

Try getting registered! Whole thing breaks down to huge variation between regional health administrations.

All I’m saying is communication needs to be a lot clearer.

Even the constant “contact your GP” mantra here is risky if you’ve a person who doesn’t have a GP. For example those texts sent out to people travelling from Brazil seem to be along those lines.

I just find we have a tendency to view the system from an ideally setup person, who is local’s point of view.

seamus wrote: »
    Six-second google;

they've a better public health system than most

the notion that they'd engage in a discriminatory part vaccination program is hilarious