Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dry January

• Registered Users Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Whats the point of a dry january when I havent had a proper drink since march 2020?

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

Whats the point of a dry january when I havent had a proper drink since march 2020?

Why havnt you had one? There were options if you wanted to - pubs serving food opened for a time, restaurants were open, take out pints were available and you could drink to your hearts content at home! My friend bought a cocktail kit and turned his kitchen into a bar.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 299 ✭✭DessieJames

The Nal wrote: »
    Some very poorly researched medical info on this thread. You can have a few drinks at the weekend and give it a miss during the week for your liver to recover. Believing that not drinking for 30 days is going to somehow give you a superman liver is silly.

exactly, hence my previous post about it being a hipster fad, i never recall this being a thing years ago, all of a sudden you've people posting on social media and places like here saying they are doing "dry January" rolleyes: is it just an attention seeking thing, i gave up the smokes years ago which is much more difficult but i never went online and announced to the world i was doing it.

things are bad enough as it is without giving up gargle for January , not a bleedin chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

I remember people years ago who would give up drink for November. It was to save some money for Christmas.
    Makes more sense to me. January is an awful depressing time of the year, you would need a drinkypoo just to get you through it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

I remember people years ago who would give up drink for November. It was to save some money for Christmas.
    Makes more sense to me. January is an awful depressing time of the year, you would need a drinkypoo just to get you through it.

Yeah why not give up in Feb? Or March? Whats the difference?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,038 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

exactly, hence my previous post about it being a hipster fad, i never recall this being a thing years ago, all of a sudden you've people posting on social media and places like here saying they are doing "dry January" rolleyes: is it just an attention seeking thing, i gave up the smokes years ago which is much more difficult but i never went online and announced to the world i was doing it.

things are bad enough as it is without giving up gargle for January , not a bleedin chance.

I can totally understand someone not wanting to give up drink for a month. But I struggle to understand why it could make someone cross if someone else gives up drink got a month - or worse still, says they’re giving up drink for a month.

Times sound tough for you. Maybe I should be grateful that things aren’t bad for me too.

The Nal wrote: »
    Yeah why not give up in Feb? Or March? Whats the difference?

Social media generation nowadays are obsessed with events like this and doing things together.
    More importantly you must be seen to do it online or it is pointless.

Social media generation nowadays are obsessed with events like this and doing things together.
    More importantly you must be seen to do it online or it is pointless.

The reason for November or January are straightforward enough. November to save for Christmas and I do it in January because I tend to drink more over Christmas.

This Christmas I drank some alcohol almost every day over the holiday. So, my solution is to not worry about it over Christmas, enjoy myself and just not drink in January. Not much more to it than that.

The reason for mentioning it on social media is to offer a community and support to anyone else who is thinking of doing it and maybe helping if someone is struggling.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,080 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

The reason for November or January are straightforward enough. November to save for Christmas and I do it in January because I tend to drink more over Christmas.

This Christmas I drank some alcohol almost every day over the holiday. So, my solution is to not worry about it over Christmas, enjoy myself and just not drink in January. Not much more to it than that.

The reason for mentioning it on social media is to offer a community and support to anyone else who is thinking of doing it and maybe helping if someone is struggling.

Its the exact same for me. The month of December is a bit of a booze fest and going dry in January is a good antidote to that for me. And in my case there is a family history of alcohol dependency so been able to stop drinking for a while is a good personal checkpoint.
    This is my seventh year doing it.
    January is a crap month with minimal socialising so its the best month for me to go dry. I would not be one for jumping on social media bandwagons.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,390 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

It's my first year doing this, I love drinking but can easily go without and dont even miss it. I feel much better not drinking & might even keep going beyond this month.

I can totally understand someone not wanting to give up drink for a month. But I struggle to understand why it could make someone cross if someone else gives up drink got a month - or worse still, says they’re giving up drink for a month.

Times sound tough for you. Maybe I should be grateful that things aren’t bad for me too.

i just see it as a hipster fad which is really what it is, this was never a thing years ago,arent things tough for most people excepet lockdown enthuiasts like Dr doom himself.

roll on the pubs back opening, drinking at home isnt the same at all.

What's hipster about it though? A wide range of people don't drink in January for a variety of reasons - to save money, overdid it at Christmas and need a break, have depression and drinking makes it worse especially during the winter months, they're pregnant (that's my reason...I'd absolutely murder a few pints!!)
    My boss is a middle aged man and he's doing it cos his kids saw him drunk a fair bit over Christmas and he said he feels guilty about it.
    Another friend of mine lost his job and literally can't afford to drink so is focusing his energy on job hunting which drinking ruins his motivation for. None of us are hipsters or on social media.
    People have their reasons and it shouldn't bother anyone else!

Porklife wrote: »
    What's hipster about it though? A wide range of people don't drink in January for a variety of reasons - to save money, overdid it at Christmas and need a break, have depression and drinking makes it worse especially during the winter months, they're pregnant (that's my reason...I'd absolutely murder a few pints!!)
    My boss is a middle aged man and he's doing it cos his kids saw him drunk a fair bit over Christmas and he said he feels guilty about it.
    Another friend of mine lost his job and literally can't afford to drink so is focusing his energy on job hunting which drinking ruins his motivation for. None of us are hipsters or on social media.
    People have their reasons and it shouldn't bother anyone else!

well ive never heard oif this up until a few years ago so thats my ressoing for calling it a hipster fad, each to their own and all that but jaysus things are grim enoigh without giving up the drink

i just see it as a hipster fad which is really what it is, this was never a thing years ago,arent things tough for most people excepet lockdown enthuiasts like Dr doom himself.

roll on the pubs back opening, drinking at home isnt the same at all.

Ok. Lets assume it's a hipster fad. So what's wrong with doing it?

What's your point about it not being an old tradition?

1 month is for wimps :p

Lent FTW :cool:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,631 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

These days, every January - and indeed every month - is a dry one for me. It has to be.

Fully sober 2 years in Feb after descending into an alcoholic hell between 2010 and 2017. Moving in the right direction 2017-19 with a couple of relapses. I had been a relatively normal drinker until 2009, then workplace bullying and severe anxiety led me to turn to the bottle for relief. I simply can never drink safely again as I crossed that line and that’s fine with me. :)

Most of my old mates (mid 40s guys with their own youngish families) seem to do a drink free spell each year, not necessarily in January. We all did a hell of a lot of partying in our 20s and those days are long, long gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,851 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Aside from 2 single nights in the last 5 years, I haven't had a drink (the 2 nights being a 30th and a wedding which I didn't intend to drink at, but ended up drinking anyway). Fair play to everyone who can and does give it up. Not to sound like "one of those", but my life improved without drink. I probably did have a bit of a problem as I was drinking a bottle of rum a night at one stage (and when it was only €7 a bottle of Old Hopkins in Aldi). I decided one night, while stoned, that I didn't want drink anymore. I found I didn't like drinking when I was having a smoke, and just naturally never considered drinking again.

Nights out were hard, and I now can't really stand being around people after their 2nd or 3rd drink, as someone said above, they start regurgitating the same crap stories, get loud, messy, slurring words etc. I stopped going out then because of this, and told people who said it'd be grand that my not wanting to be there will make the night worse for everyone else. I soon stopped with the drinkers and found new smoking friends. Waaaay more chill, into what I was into (gaming, films) and didn't have any expectations of me, unlike the drinking crowd.

So yeah, I no longer drink, but I do love a smoke. Improved my life by making me realise what was important and what to not care about anymore. I'm far happier than I was when I was a drinker. But I also appreciate why people drink and won't take away from it. Each to their own. Just don't be the person who eggs on the person who is abstaining. And understand that if they're off the drink and don't want to socialise because of it, that's their decision. Find some other activities to include them in that doesn't involve drinking maybe (hard nowadays, but applies in general).

As a smoker, I understand that the vast majority of drinkers are able to keep it moderate and under control and not affecting their life or that of those around them, and that it's the small minority who give the rest of ye a bad name.

I'd say you had hangovers worse than any sea sickness after drinking a bottle of rum a night Potential! Fair play to ya for rationally realising that you don't like drinking and making the decision to stop. It's not easy given our alcohol soaked culture and bizarre peer pressure from certain people.

I find it weirdly interesting how drunk people often dont think they're drunk and all follow the same pattern of repeating themselves. My sister came to stay with me over Christmas and every night after her 3rd glass of vino she'd change and become louder and more opinionated. We'd be watching a movie and she'd be commenting on every scene and saying the same things...he's an underrated actor though, don't you think...I mean he's just very....underrated. I'd nod and a few minutes later it's...I think he's very.. what's the word....underrated:p

I love drinking but unfortunately for me I take it too far and I reached a point where all my stories were about being wasted. There is a correlation between nearly all the bad things that have happened to me and me being hammered. Most instances were my own fault too, I was causing the problems but couldn't see it at the time.

On a day like today though with that dreary weather, a few pints in the pub with some good friends having a laugh would be right up my street but those days are behind me for now. Hope I can keep it up.

To anyone not doing dry January and who can manage to drink sensibly, I salute you and I'm jealous..slainte!

I'd say you had hangovers worse than any sea sickness after drinking a bottle of rum a night Potential! Fair play to ya for rationally realising that you don't like drinking and making the decision to stop. It's not easy given our alcohol soaked culture and bizarre peer pressure from certain people.

I find it weirdly interesting how drunk people often dont think they're drunk and all follow the same pattern of repeating themselves. My sister came to stay with me over Christmas and every night after her 3rd glass of vino she'd change and become louder and more opinionated. We'd be watching a movie and she'd be commenting on every scene and saying the same things...he's an underrated actor though, don't you think...I mean he's just very....underrated. I'd nod and a few minutes later it's...I think he's very.. what's the word....underrated:p

I love drinking but unfortunately for me I take it too far and I reached a point where all my stories were about being wasted. There is a correlation between nearly all the bad things that have happened to me and me being hammered. Most instances were my own fault too, I was causing the problems but couldn't see it at the time.

On a day like today though with that dreary weather, a few pints in the pub with some good friends having a laugh would be right up my street but those days are behind me for now. Hope I can keep it up.

To anyone not doing dry January and who can manage to drink sensibly, I salute you and I'm jealous..slainte!

In the past I've sometimes known when I'm drunk and its awful. It depends on the booze and the amount but I reach a point where I'm....I can't explain it. It's like I'm looking at myself from the outside and know that I'm slurring my words and deliberately trying to walk straight. Of course such awareness doesn't make me stop.

I'm not doing dry January but I am drinking less and will continue to do so. I'd have the one bottle of wine on the go for over a week. Like you some awful decisions were made with drink in me but then I look at how I was feeling before I drank.

One day a few years back I was feeling rubbish. I was lonely and that was a very common feeling for me then. I went in to a pub by myself for a pint. Just me and my book. Usually I'd sip away over the one for a few hours and head home. This time though there were a group of people there and it just highlighted my aloneness.

So I got another drink and another drink. Finally saw sense and left. Ended up walking in to the wing mirror of a van which saw me on the ground staring at the sky. Jaysus. I was 'that person'. Lying on the street at about 5pm. Ugh. A lovely woman helped me up and got my bits together which went flying when I did.

That was a wake up call. There are worst things that could happen but for me that was too much. It's very easy to go down a dodgy path with alcohol. If there are any chinks in your armour it can find its way in.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭Mimon

Really enjoying it. Mind a bit clearer. Don't think I've lost any weight as I'm rewarding myself with sweets at the weekend. Generally is just a default for me to drink Friday and Saturday, nice to break that routine.

Will be back on it on the 5th Feb as the six nations starting. Thinking about doing April now as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

You know alcohol is a depressant??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,918 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

I'm doing Dry January this year. Had a great Christmas but went overboard on food and booze so decided to knock it on the head for the month.

I find social occasions can be difficult when everyone was drinking. There are generally fewer social occasions in January so makes easier. My mates are generally very supportive when one of us tries to do something like this whether it’s veganuary, or a veggie month or whatever else.

Is anyone else doing it?

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

well ive never heard oif this up until a few years ago so thats my ressoing for calling it a hipster fad, each to their own and all that but jaysus things are grim enoigh without giving up the drink

I’ve been doing Dry January for about 20 years, I don’t do it every year though. Hipster me hole. I’m guessing you’re unable to do it, so it’s “bad”.

Your post makes me wanna give you a massive hug Diamonds. I've had many wing mirror moments myself and when I look back it's pretty shocking. The crazy thing about alcohol is how insidious yet powerful it is. It's like it wraps you a blanket and covers your eyes, it gives you a false sense of security and doesn't allow you to see how detrimental it truly is.

I'm not sure when or if ill drink again but I do know that it won't be the way it was before. Loneliness and escapism are huge factors in why people drink to excess. They're not drinking for kicks or fun anymore.

All that said, if this rain doesn't go away soon I'll need to make my coffee Irish! :)

Ok. Lets assume it's a hipster fad. So what's wrong with doing it?

What's your point about it not being an old tradition?

not saying theres actually anything wrong, im just old skool and i think these fads are just for attention seeking, are people loking for a collective pat on the back or something, no one really cares if someone gives up the gargle for January lets be honest,

• Registered Users Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Drink very little anyway, haven't had a drink in January but not because I'm deliberately off it. It's funny, I'd kinda like a few drinks, but I know I'd feel worse the following day. Think everyone knows alcohol makes you feel sick and depressed, but there's something about it that also draws you back, even though it's not in your own best interests.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

not saying theres actually anything wrong, im just old skool and i think these fads are just for attention seeking, are people loking for a collective pat on the back or something, no one really cares if someone gives up the gargle for January lets be honest,

Very often there is a bit of virtue signalling about Dry January to be fair. It's still a good thing, but people who are not alcoholics humbly bragging about feeling better because they haven't had a drink for a few weeks is kinda ridiculous.

You know alcohol is a depressant??
    As Moe Syzlak says 'theres nothing like a depressant to chase away the blues...' :P

• Registered Users Posts: 8,317 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Dry January, New years resolutions, Operation Transformation are nothing but annual national lip service virtue signalling contrivances to healthy living, heavily pushed by our state broadcaster after months of aiding and abetting gluttony and excess for weeks and months before the new year. I can't stand these faux national campaigns at this time of year. Sometimes I think they were invented by crappy afternoon chat shows producers so they'd have something to yak yak yak about after the holiday season.

Your post makes me wanna give you a massive hug Diamonds. I've had many wing mirror moments myself and when I look back it's pretty shocking. The crazy thing about alcohol is how insidious yet powerful it is. It's like it wraps you a blanket and covers your eyes, it gives you a false sense of security and doesn't allow you to see how detrimental it truly is.

I'm not sure when or if ill drink again but I do know that it won't be the way it was before. Loneliness and escapism are huge factors in why people drink to excess. They're not drinking for kicks or fun anymore.

All that said, if this rain doesn't go away soon I'll need to make my coffee Irish! :)

Ah thanks Pork :) I really needed one then I can tell you. I'm oversharing a bit on here now but the next day I was gripped in a panic that I had caused myself some damage so ended up ringing DDoc. They sent an ambulance out to me. I ended up sitting in the back blubbering away with two of the nicest men ever.

Your description of how its like a blanket is spot on. It can make you care less and you think you're loaded with money half way through the night, all that matters is having the drinks and the laughs and sure you'll deal with the mess the next day. Shudder.

A few drinks are grand as long as you can keep a hold of yourself. Some people hate to let go, it frightens them. I'm the opposite but these days I like to think I'm more balanced.