Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Arghus wrote: »
    Good man Fergal.
    ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

Excellent question by Fergal Bowers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

What was it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,169 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

About wedding hair :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,188 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I'm one of Tony's biggest defenders on here, but he's dodging this question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,137 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

What's the point in commenting on something somebody said on TV, without any details? You can't assume we're watching the same thing you are or what part of it you're commenting on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Good man Fergal.

He really is the most level-headed guy on RTE. Caitriona Perry was dying to dig in about the use of the extra vaccines in the Coombe and the Rotunda, and he said very clearly that these incidences occurred BEFORE the HSE had issued directions to the hospitals about what they should do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,406 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

You claimed a few months back that there were loads of reinfections in healthcare workers but the HSE wasn't releasing the data.

Any chance of an update on that? You failed to provide a shred of evidence at the time.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'm one of Tony's biggest defenders on here, but he's dodging this question.

What is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Qwertyminger

What the hell kind of roundabout answer is this.

He just asked can you choose which one you want and she said it's good we have a couple of different ones in fifty different ways.

It's a yes or no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,647 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Stheno wrote: »
    What is it?

Somebody tell me, I don't want to turn on RTE and risk seeing Geroge Lee.

Stheno wrote: »
    What is it?

Fergal Bowers asked about what's the craic with people coming in to the country without proof of a negative test, which has been going on, surely that's not good enough right?

Tony kinda went all around the place answering the question, without answering the crux of Fergal's question directly. He sounded notably less sure and more rambling than he usually does. He knows that carry on is bullish!t, but he obviously doesn't want to step on any toes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

He just asked can you choose which one you want and she said it's good we have a couple of different ones in fifty different ways.

It's a yes or no.

It's a no.

That's what she meant.

She also went onto to say 60 or 70% is better than what we thought we would get so celebrate whatever you get when its offered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's a yes or no.
    It's not a yes or no, it's a loaded question.

No = you take what you're given, forced vaccinations

Yes = every gobsh1te turning up for their vaccination and demanding the Pfizer one, not the Oxford one, cos Tony said I could

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,174 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Fergal Bowers asked about what's the craic with people coming in to the country without proof of a negative test, which has been going on, surely that's not good enough right?

Tony kinda went all around the place answering the question, without answering the crux of Fergal's question directly. He sounded notably less sure and rambling than he usually does. He knows that carry on is bullish!t, but he obviously doesn't want to step on any toes.

It was some waffling answer. Said there's a requirement for PCR tests, maybe there is in theory, in practice not so much. Which seems typical of the state's response to bringing in and enforcing restrictions tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

Tony kinda went all around the place answering the question, without answering the crux of Fergal's question directly. He sounded notably less sure and rambling than he usually does. He knows that carry on is bullish!t, but he obviously doesn't want to step on any toes.

Yes poorly answered by Tony. Fergal Bowers in fairness to him is one of the best journalists we have.

seamus wrote: »

Yes = every gobsh1te turning up for their vaccination and demanding the Pfizer one, not the Oxford one, cos Tony said I could
    Henry has also answered this a few times saying the HSE would decide. The suggestion is that AstraZeneca will probably be the main one for gen pop.

seamus wrote: »

Wouldn't say no is a forced vaccination really. You can choose to have a vaccine but won't necessarily have the choice of which specific one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭boardise

We'll soon be back to being the best boys and girls in Europe.

Almost certainly the rapidly bloated numbers induced greater compliance and as well as that many more people now knew of friends and neighbours who were infected.
    Some of the fear factor that solidified the first lockdown thankfully returned .-

Let's hope people persevere now a while longer and use the last half of January to decisively 'purge the surge'.

Eod100 wrote: »
    It was some waffling answer. Said there's a requirement for PCR tests, maybe there is in theory, in practice not so much. Which seems typical of the state's response to bringing in and enforcing restrictions tbh.

It was difficult to answer because it's essentially on the government - again - if they aren't enforcing their own rules - again - so Tony had to pussyfoot around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

18-01-2021-p1.jpg
    18-01-2021-p2.jpg
    18-01-2021-p3.jpg
    18-01-2021-p4.jpg
    18-01-2021-p5.jpg
    18-01-2021-p6.jpg
    18-01-2021-p7.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

After the latest question on leftover vaccines I think it’s time to switch off. Extremely repetitive

It was difficult to answer because it's essentially on the government - again - if they aren't enforcing their own rules - again - so Tony had to pussyfoot around it.

Ah yeah I get he can't be too critical but could even say ''ideally nobody should be entering without a negative'' test or something.

Surely borders at airports are one of the easiest things to enforce? No negative test, a fine and have to pay for your own flight back. Would act as a deterrent then.

I know a porter in Mercy hospital Cork who tested positive in April and again just this week.

So no one is immune

"Is it fair to say that hospitals are a high risk environment...?"

Hard hitting questions from this journo.

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    So no one is immune
    Reinfections are pretty rare.

The travel in and out of Ireland has been a shambles since this pandemic hit, we cannot go more than 5km now but anyone can travel here without a test or even follow up, the government and NPHET need to be firm and strict at airports and ferry ports

El Sueño wrote: »
    You claimed a few months back that there were loads of reinfections in healthcare workers but the HSE wasn't releasing the data.

Any chance of an update on that? You failed to provide a shred of evidence at the time.

UK study of about 12,000 healthcare workers showed probable reinfection in 89 people, they had previously tested positive for antibodies but later went on to develop symptomatic Covid

https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMoa2034545

We have had a huge number of healthcare workers infected so it's probable there have been reinfections, hopefully it's rare but it's definitely possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭Humberto Salazar

IQO wrote: »
    St Patrick's Day parade back on.

On the 17th September, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Steve012

I need to travel across the M50 from Bray area to Castleknock on Wednesday Lads and lassies who have been on the M50 is there Garda stops like in first lockdown?