Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DevilsHaircut

Goldengirl wrote: »
    What is the point of seeing Phillip Nolan talk about graphs that we cannot see ?

Why have they not sorted this out at this point?!
    Could we just have the graph with the signer and just him doing voiceover ?

Glad to see that many of the good guys and front-liners such as you are still slugging it
    out on this thread for the greater good (I truly don't know how you do it!).

On the slides (which are well hidden on the DoH website):

Philip Nolan's are here:
    And the CMO's here:
    Thanks again to you and the other stalwarts - and always pick your battles ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭DevilsHaircut

Has he Covid?

Have you?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Miike wrote: »
    I saw that - That's what my message is about. That stat shocked the jocks off me :eek:

If you ow the daily stats that spookwoman publishes its pretty clear tbh

The net admissions versus discharges is always lower than increased hospital cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

Stheno wrote: »
    If you ow the daily stats that spookwoman publishes its pretty clear tbh

The net admissions versus discharges is always lower than increased hospital cases

Yeah I hadn't really considered the numbers of it this time around and I knew nosocomial infections were high I just didn't think they were that high! Maybe I was in a state of denial? I think I preferred being in denial.

I'd give my last rolo to see a hospital by hospital breakdown. That would trigger a serious event though so I doubt we will ever see it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,128 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

The concern is that even if vaccinated, you may not be immune and could still pass it on. I do understand that if infected post vaccine, the severity of the illness should be much reduced.

So until everyone gets the jab, I hope caution is advised. I’ll prob get mine in the Autumn by the looks of the charts and info.

Sorry to sound a bit downbeat, but we all have our good days and not so good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

The concern is that even if vaccinated, you may not be immune and could still pass it on. I do understand that if infected post vaccine, the severity of the illness should be much reduced.

So until everyone gets the jab, I hope caution is advised. I’ll prob get mine in the Autumn by the looks of the charts and info.

Sorry to sound a bit downbeat, but we all have our good days and not so good

Always thought you were much older and would have been higher up the queue.

So every cloud and all that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Miike

Sorry to sound a bit downbeat, but we all have our good days and not so good.

The wind was whipped out of my sails several times today, so I hear you on the good days and bad days sentiment.

Look on the positive side of things; demand for vaccination is sky high at the moment. The more people who take it, the more society benefits from the vaccine. Let's hope the vaccine thirst doesn't die off in people. We always knew this first series of vaccines had the caveat that we'd see public health measures continue for a while as we don't have data on if they prevent/reduce transmission but here's a bit of good news: https://www.timesofisrael.com/israeli-data-shows-50-reduction-in-infections-14-days-after-first-vaccine-shot/

Let's just hope that there is no complacency in terms of social distancing, masks etc and we might see something great yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,128 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Miike wrote: »
    The wind was whipped out of my sails several times today, so I hear you on the good days and bad days sentiment.

Look on the positive side of things; demand for vaccination is sky high at the moment. The more people who take it, the more society benefits from the vaccine. Let's hope the vaccine thirst doesn't die off in people. We always knew this first series of vaccines had the caveat that we'd see public health measures continue for a while as we don't have data on if they prevent/reduce transmission but here's a bit of good news: https://www.timesofisrael.com/israeli-data-shows-50-reduction-in-infections-14-days-after-first-vaccine-shot/

Let's just hope that there is no complacency in terms of social distancing, masks etc and we might see something great yet :)

Thanks for the positivity. Kind of you to say it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Have you?

I see humour is not your forte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,060 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

You were told to stay under your bed, trembling in fear, while all the real men and women should be allowed go about their business, which was mostly drain pints and go shopping.

You were told to cop on, stop fear mongering, spreading NPHET propaganda. You were a bed wetting curtain twitcher. You wanted to destroy the economy.

Funny, most of these nasty posts have disappeared, along with their writers.

The famous hugger of faces springs to mind, with the nasty, belittling posts. Nowhere to be found now.

And those saying “ah, let’s move on, we all made mistakes, let’s work together now” it’s a bit late for that chum.

Comparisons with members of the GOP talking this week about not impeaching Trump because now is a time for unity comes to mind reading this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

There are no direct flights anyway to the UK or Ireland. So not exactly hard for anyone from S America to bypass the ban. Like if someone transits through Frankfurt and doesn’t volunteer that they started in Rio, how is anyone supposed to know

The ban is hardly worth it

It's not like we could say anyone normally resident in Brazil or anyone who was there in the last month cannot enter.

We absolutely can. We prefer locking people in their homes here, cancelling school and cancelling non emergency hospital care so I agree that they won't do anything. Idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Can anyone explain why China would block entry to people who test positive for antibodies? I thought that's a good thing.

https://twitter.com/Quicktake/status/1349944354266378241?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭leanin2019

Merkel has said that germany's strict lockdown will go on til April

Germany has one of the highest ICU capacities. According to the table at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_hospital_beds

And according to the OECD https://www.oecd.org/coronavirus/en/data-insights/intensive-care-beds-capacity

So why do they need to go on as strict a lockdown - there must be other factors at play?

intensive-care-beds-capacity.JPG

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,930 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

leanin2019 wrote: »
    So why do they need to go on as strict a lockdown - there must be other factors at play?

Consistently over 1,000 deaths per day might do it?

DOCARCH wrote: »
    Consistently over 1,000 deaths per day might do it?

This is true although bare in mind their population is 83 million, 16 times Ireland's.

Their case numbers have not been so high per capita as ours..

Unfortunately we will probably see some high death numbers over next few weeks.

Just makes me think, with Germany having over 5-6x the intensive care beds as Ireland does, and they aren't coping at all...

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,930 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Just makes me think, with Germany having over 5-6x the intensive care beds as Ireland does, and they aren't coping at all...

I have not heard anything in the news to say they are not coping?

Putting restrictions in place until April is probably to ensure that they do/remain to cope.

DOCARCH wrote: »
    I have not heard anything in the news to say they are not coping?

Putting restrictions in place until April is probably to ensure that they do/remain to cope.

"not coping" was probably the wrong way to put it

5-6x the ICU according to those tables and still very much struggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,974 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Glad to see that many of the good guys and front-liners such as you are still slugging it
    out on this thread for the greater good (I truly don't know how you do it!).

On the slides (which are well hidden on the DoH website):

Philip Nolan's are here:
    And the CMO's here:
    Thanks again to you and the other stalwarts - and always pick your battles ;)

Thanks , DH ,enjoying the stats over breakfast now :)
    Yes , too much going on .
    It's just the oul " we'll fight them on the beaches " mentality kicks in .. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭Polar101

The idea is to suppress the disease, not to have as many people hospitalised as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭prunudo

Germany has one of the highest ICU capacities. According to the table at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_hospital_beds

And according to the OECD https://www.oecd.org/coronavirus/en/data-insights/intensive-care-beds-capacity

]

A poster mentioned the other day that their current restrictions aren't as strict as ours at present. No 5km limit and still allowed have one other household visit.
    I find the word lockdown very misleading as it has meant so many things over the last 10 months and varies from country to country. Its actually definition is far different from how people use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭snotboogie

The figure for 2 million covid deaths was passed yesterday, the 100 million cases figure will be reached soon. The US is clocking 4k covid deaths per day nearly every day now, it'll reach 400k covid deaths total today. In positive news they vaccinated 750k in the US yesterday, they'll hit a million a day soon but still need to be vastly increasing that number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Having great ICU capacity doesn't matter when a virus transmits at a very high R0 . Eventually will need restrictions especially now with more transmissible variants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

prunudo wrote: »
    A poster mentioned the other day that their current restrictions aren't as strict as ours at present. No 5km limit and still allowed have one other household visit.
    I find the word lockdown very misleading as it has meant so many things over the last 10 months and varies from country to country. Its actually definition is far different from how people use it.

France now with a 6pm curfew. That's a strict lockdown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭The_Brood

Every American getting $2,000 regardless of situation. What have workers in Ireland gotten so far (well, absolutely nothing) and what can we expect to get? America caring much more for its citizens - and this was backed even by trump. Does the Irish government believe working households haven't suffered due to covid? Why is no one in the media talking about this?

I wonder is what is defined as an ICU bed the same in different countries?

While Germany is undoubtedly far better resourced in this regards than we are, and far better run also, the have been having problems achieving enough ICU capacity in some regions, not due to bed shortage, but due to staffing levels. I know we only define an ICU bed as being both the equipment and the resourcing. Do other countries do similar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

Yup, they were not driving for burgers. People are so innocent :)

They must have been pretty dim to come up with such a stupid excuse. Did they really think the Guards would say "that's grand. Have a nice day".

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,650 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

1843 in hospital this morning (+58 on last night). 171 in ICU (+1 on last night)

ICU seems to be stabilising somewhat. Hospital growth continues, but it’d be interesting to see a breakdown of admissions vs hospital acquired cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

The_Brood wrote: »
    Every American getting $2,000 regardless of situation. What have workers in Ireland gotten so far (well, absolutely nothing) and what can we expect to get? America caring much more for its citizens - and this was backed even by trump. Does the Irish government believe working households haven't suffered due to covid? Why is no one in the media talking about this?

Revenue is sending out bills today to those that availed of the TWSS or PUP. Does a bill count?

What did Americans who lost their job get? Hundreds of thousands here got the 350 per week for months, while those with jobs could still live on their own resources. In america everyone is getting $2k, when in reality the majority of the population dont need it, while a minority need much more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Are you serious ?