Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,523 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

Point is we didn't lose our f*cking minds 3 years ago, why are we losing them now?

It's a more serious virus obviously.

As posted in my thread, 23,000 Scots died in a 4 month period from Influenza. No one panicked, no one wore masks, it was barely news.

To date, 4,900 Scots have died in 10 months from Covid.

So we'd had death rates 5 times as high in a third of the period and didn't destroy our economy, people's livelihoods or children's education and development.

Your link did not say what you think it did. Have another read

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,323 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Wibbs this is pretty fascinating stuff, I'm surprised I haven't encountered it before. As someone who has a weak chest (and thus a propensity to catch colds) and found himself in a close contact situation recently but ended up testing negative, I am very curious to read more about this. Do you have any links to essays or articles in relation to same?
    I don't S, because I couldn't find any. This occurred to me way back in the summer one night(a glass of red, or two may have been involved :D), but this is the very first time I've heard medical folks musing about it, and I've been looking and wondering why because it seems so bloody obvious. Back then I was looking at various bits of data from different regions and was puzzled by the wide variability in both transmission and severity of illness and it just didn't make sense.

EG take the common cold. If it's around in the population pretty much everyone exposed will get it and the symptoms are pretty much the same for everyone(unless you've existing sinus problems say) and it takes about the same time to clear the system.

While viral illnesses certainly have a range of severity of symptoms I couldn't find an example of one that was nearly as variable as covid. SARS or MERS weren't.

Yet here we have a virus; that some people, quite the number, don't contract it after close contact in households, including romantically linked couples. Whereas you have people who've been careful, followed the rules, stayed in as much as possible, yet still caught the thing. In the last few weeks I know of a few who have no idea where they might have contracted it, but they did. Yet a couple sharing the same bed and one doesn't? Eh.. wut?

Those that do return a positive can have no symptoms, whereas another the same age, background etc can get a really bad dose of it and some thankfully a minority can go on to die from it. This is the case even among the most vulnerable like the elderly. The old(and men) are more likely to die from any infection anyway, but you have outbreaks in care homes where again some are asymptomatic or very mild, some get worse and some die. It makes zero sense.

It does make sense if we're dealing with a partially immunised population. I did look at studies into how viruses spread in partially vaccinated populations, eg measles and it looks much more like how covid 19 acts. I'll see if I can drag them up for you.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭majcos

mcburns07 wrote: »
    It says recently diagnosed but what did she actually die from? It's not clear at all in the article.

It states she was diagnosed last week. Her husband was also symptomatic at time of her death and needed to be brought to hospital.

There are a number of possibilities that cause sudden death in Covid related illness. Pulmonary embolism (lung clot) are reported at high rates. Hypoxia (low oxygen levels) from pneumonitis or secondary bacterial pneumonia can cause a heart attack. Stroke is a possibility also due to increased risk of thrombosis. Cardiac arrhythmias can also occur due to myocarditis - inflammation of heart muscle related to Covid.

There will probably be a post mortem as occurred out of hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Little snowy old me

Gruffalux wrote: »
    I saw a story yesterday where a UK nurse was talking about an old lady admitted to ICU who was not going to make it. The lady had asked her family not to visit her at Christmas because she was nervous about covid. But her adult children insisted and brought kids to granny and she got Covid.
    Somehow that story is just heart breaking. I said to himself do you think something like that happened in Ireland over Christmas and he said you can be bloody sure it did. Why, says I. Because people cling to notions of what is normal and they won't let go, he said.

Very sad. And of course it happened here. In fact I suspect some grandparents were bullied into allowing their sons and daughters bring the grandchildren around. We all know the types, the ones who dump their children with their grandparents at every opportunity. Spinning some rubbish about how upset darling Jack or Caitlin will be if they don't see granny and grandad at Christmas.

kilkenny31 wrote: »
    I imagine 354 will be enough. Given that new infections are levelling off. I imagine ICU figures will peak at around 250-300.

What about the patients that need ICU care for other illnesses? Not unusual to have 250 plus patients in ICU before Covid.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Dec 2017 to March 2018
    https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-45876204

I got the flu that year. First time I had so much as a cold or anything in 15 years. Got hit hard. It was brutal.

Mod:

Please stop misrepresenting the data in your own link.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

kilkenny31 wrote: »
    I imagine 354 will be enough. Given that new infections are levelling off. I imagine ICU figures will peak at around 250-300.

I presume your 250-300 is Covid only?

We have 150+ non-Covid patients in ICU at the moment, where do they go?

Amirani wrote: »

Currently the surge private hospitals are taking non-covid patients.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Currently the surge private hospitals are taking non-covid patients.

There's only about 40 private ICU beds total, so maths still don't add up if you have 300 Covid patients and 150 non-Covid patients needing ICU?

Yeah, they aren't able to take them all ofc, but it makes sense to try and put the non-covid new patients there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,708 ✭✭✭Talisman

Leo Varadkar and Paul Reid both spoke last week about plans to move non-Covid ICU patients to the private hospitals. There hasn't been any announcement since about an agreement regarding this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Talisman wrote: »
    Leo Varadkar and Paul Reid both spoke last week about plans to move non-Covid ICU patients to the private hospitals. There hasn't been any announcement since about an agreement regarding this.

Paul Reid was speaking about this on RTÉ yesterday. Radio 1 at 1pm I think.

This is intuitive in terms of real numbers with the surge.

https://twitter.com/riochtconor2/status/1348696457398906887?s=21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭What Username Guidelines

Wibbs wrote: »
    I don't S, because I couldn't find any. This occurred to me way back in the summer one night(a glass of red, or two may have been involved :D), but this is the very first time I've heard medical folks musing about it, and I've been looking and wondering why because it seems so bloody obvious. Back then I was looking at various bits of data from different regions and was puzzled by the wide variability in both transmission and severity of illness and it just didn't make sense.

EG take the common cold. If it's around in the population pretty much everyone exposed will get it and the symptoms are pretty much the same for everyone(unless you've existing sinus problems say) and it takes about the same time to clear the system.

While viral illnesses certainly have a range of severity of symptoms I couldn't find an example of one that was nearly as variable as covid. SARS or MERS weren't.

Yet here we have a virus; that some people, quite the number, don't contract it after close contact in households, including romantically linked couples. Whereas you have people who've been careful, followed the rules, stayed in as much as possible, yet still caught the thing. In the last few weeks I know of a few who have no idea where they might have contracted it, but they did. Yet a couple sharing the same bed and one doesn't? Eh.. wut?

Those that do return a positive can have no symptoms, whereas another the same age, background etc can get a really bad dose of it and some thankfully a minority can go on to die from it. This is the case even among the most vulnerable like the elderly. The old(and men) are more likely to die from any infection anyway, but you have outbreaks in care homes where again some are asymptomatic or very mild, some get worse and some die. It makes zero sense.

It does make sense if we're dealing with a partially immunised population. I did look at studies into how viruses spread in partially vaccinated populations, eg measles and it looks much more like how covid 19 acts. I'll see if I can drag them up for you.

There was a lot of talk of pre-existing immunity at the beginning, but because they made wild claims about the pandemic ending abruptly and within months, many were ignored..

I seem to remember when Italy had about 60,000 cases, some folk reckoned it was in fact about 5m total. Not sure how they reached that figure, but Italy are now at 2.2m confirmed cases (i.e. almost 40 times more) which means 200m Italians may have had it :rolleyes:

Ok, so those lads were incorrect. I know a few wackos like Ivor Cummins also based their theories on pre-existing immunity too, from recent-ish exposure to other more common (previously more common) coronaviruses. Now he's been proved wrong too - but to an extent that they reckon the lockdowns didnt work and the numbers fell due to hitting an immunity threshold.

BUT... I still do think you have something. I believe the numbers fall due to lockdowns, yet it is fascinating that some people get it and others don't, or that some get it very badly when fit, and others report little to no symptoms. There's been genetic theories after entire families have died in the US versus other families being fine (also with certain races faring better or worse).

At this stage though, how hasnt every single healthcare worker had it? They use PPE, yes, but still many contract it. It seems to spread almost untamed through hospitals and nursing homes, so there are plenty of people vulnerable to it. I would like to see a study on healthcare workers or known close contacts (i.e. sleeping in a bed with a positive case) that didnt catch it, to check for antibodies of other common coronaviruses, if that's even possible.

But it appears now there are only some clues as to susceptibility (age, pre-existing conditions, etc) rather than solid data to show who is and isn't at risk.

There have been quite a few studies into pre-existing immunity. I haven't looked at any in a while, but back during the summer I remember lots of them working from small datasets to make big claims, with many studies resulting in competing and contradictory findings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/covid-19-surge-due-to-increased-social-mixing-says-who-s-mike-ryan-1.4455748

Ryan says social mixing the reason for upsurge. Micky Martin will not like that after a conversation with Tony that Ryan totally debunks MM theory that it is the UK virus that is causing the problems. Micky trying to shift the blame to the UK virus and off his disastrous decisions, Ryan and Tony returning the serve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Very sad. And of course it happened here. In fact I suspect some grandparents were bullied into allowing their sons and daughters bring the grandchildren around. We all know the types, the ones who dump their children with their grandparents at every opportunity. Spinning some rubbish about how upset darling Jack or Caitlin will be if they don't see granny and grandad at Christmas.

You got to wonder about the wisdom of that Super Valu ad now.

boardise wrote: »
    last I heard it had been jacked up to 295.
    It fluctuates according to availability of staff which is the major limiting factor in opening another bed. It was 292 as of 6.30pm last night on HSE operations report.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/covid-19-surge-due-to-increased-social-mixing-says-who-s-mike-ryan-1.4455748

Ryan says social mixing the reason for upsurge. Micky Martin will not like that after a conversation with Tony that Ryan totally debunks MM theory that it is the UK virus that is causing the problems. Micky trying to shift the blame to the UK virus and off his disastrous decisions, Ryan and Tony returning the serve.

This is not helping anyone. And does Mr Ryan have the complete data to categorically say this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

Romantic couples not getting the virus are easily explained if you assume one partner got the virus but wasn't symptomatic and never was tested. Other Partner then gets tested for symptoms reasons or due to being a close contact of someone else and they test positive for the virus. Initial partner is now tested for close contact but consistently shows undetected.

There was a lot of talk of pre-existing immunity at the beginning, but because they made wild claims about the pandemic ending abruptly and within months, many were ignored..

I seem to remember when Italy had about 60,000 cases, some folk reckoned it was in fact about 5m total. Not sure how they reached that figure, but Italy are now at 2.2m confirmed cases (i.e. almost 40 times more) which means 200m Italians may have had it :rolleyes:

Ok, so those lads were incorrect. I know a few wackos like Ivor Cummins also based their theories on pre-existing immunity too, from recent-ish exposure to other more common (previously more common) coronaviruses. Now he's been proved wrong too - but to an extent that they reckon the lockdowns didnt work and the numbers fell due to hitting an immunity threshold.

BUT... I still do think you have something. I believe the numbers fall due to lockdowns, yet it is fascinating that some people get it and others don't, or that some get it very badly when fit, and others report little to no symptoms. There's been genetic theories after entire families have died in the US versus other families being fine (also with certain races faring better or worse).

At this stage though, how hasnt every single healthcare worker had it? They use PPE, yes, but still many contract it. It seems to spread almost untamed through hospitals and nursing homes, so there are plenty of people vulnerable to it. I would like to see a study on healthcare workers or known close contacts (i.e. sleeping in a bed with a positive case) that didnt catch it, to check for antibodies of other common coronaviruses, if that's even possible.

But it appears now there are only some clues as to susceptibility (age, pre-existing conditions, etc) rather than solid data to show who is and isn't at risk.

There have been quite a few studies into pre-existing immunity. I haven't looked at any in a while, but back during the summer I remember lots of them working from small datasets to make big claims, with many studies resulting in competing and contradictory findings

I think any cross immunity that exists is probably just an explanation for the relatively high number of asymptomatic or mild cases. The nonsense espoused by Cummins and the likes of the Great Barrington declaration was influenced by political and economic philosophy rather than any basis in scientific fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭Bushmaster64

You literally can't even discuss an opposing view to the mainstream

Your posts are removed. This isn't even a boards thing. It's right across all media. Censored for going against mainstream opinions. Even doctors and PhDs are being removed online and deplatformed.

Why was my post removed because I don't agree with lockdowns?

Utterly insane. Creeping fascism.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

You literally can't even discuss an opposing view to the mainstream

Your posts are removed. This isn't even a boards thing. It's right across all media. Censored for going against mainstream opinions. Even doctors and PhDs are being removed online and deplatformed.

Why was my post removed because I don't agree with lockdowns?

Utterly insane. Creeping fascism.

Mod:

Threadbanned

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,323 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Turtwig wrote: »
    Romantic couples not getting the virus are easily explained if you assume one partner got the virus but wasn't symptomatic and never was tested. Other Partner then gets tested for symptoms reasons or due to being a close contact of someone else and they test positive for the virus. Initial partner is now tested for close contact but consistently shows undetected.
    Oh sure that could happen, but when an infection is brought into a household and multiple members don't get it while other do something is afoot. In another thread someone put up studies that showed the transmission rate in shared accommodation and households was remarkably low as an average. Like sub 30%. I'll try and find those links too. However it doesn't explain the even more remarkable variation in severity and symptoms within a similar demographic. This goes double when it's considered to be a novel pathogen* that we should have little or no natural resistance to.

*which it kinda isn't. The history of civilisation is the history of epidemics. We know how viruses operate, we've had clinical experience of the very similar SARS and MERS, we know how populations respond and react to them and we've had centuries and more of wider experience of pandemics and far more deadly ones. Smallpox at best killed 30% of the infected and some types near 90% and it's not too long gone. Speed of travel is nearly the most novel thing about it.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

This is not helping anyone. And does Mr Ryan have the complete data to categorically say this.

He was chatting to Tony and Tony told him. Does Micky Martin Have the full data set to back up his claims, Is MM's statement helping anyone but himself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Oh sure that could happen, but when an infection is brought into a household and multiple members don't get it while other do something is afoot. In another thread someone put up studies that showed the transmission rate in shared accommodation and households was remarkably low as an average. Like sub 30%. I'll try and find those links too. However it doesn't explain the even more remarkable variation in severity and symptoms within a similar demographic. This goes double when it's considered to be a novel pathogen* that we should have little or no natural resistance to.

*which it kinda isn't. The history of civilisation is the history of epidemics. We know how viruses operate, we've had clinical experience of the very similar SARS and MERS, we know how populations respond and react to them and we've had centuries and more of wider experience of pandemics and far more deadly ones. Smallpox at best killed 30% of the infected and some types near 90% and it's not too long gone. Speed of travel is nearly the most novel thing about it.

I still can't get over the variation in symptoms between people, 11 months in it is still such an enigma. A friend of our family had a large gathering back before Christmas and unfortunately there was a very large outbreak in the group, everyone was terrified for the 89 year old grandfather who was infected but he was completely fine..mild fever and cough completely recovered in a week..and then two of the younger members of the family one in their 30's and the other's in early 40's were hospitalised with it and one is still very ill with it.
    Just absolutely bizarre, these people all have similar biology as they are related and yet such an unexpected outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,708 ✭✭✭Talisman

However it doesn't explain the even more remarkable variation in severity and symptoms within a similar demographic.
    Isn't that where the viral load comes into play?

Fajnzylber, J., Regan, J., Coxen, K. et al. SARS-CoV-2 viral load is associated with increased disease severity and mortality. Nat Commun 11, 5493 (2020). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41467-020-19057-5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

Watching the office on Netflix, and I can't shake the feeling of discomfort seeing people in super close proximity without masks hahaha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

I think he's probably right and we'll know for sure within a few weeks. The government will likely stick with the UK variant regardless.

Maybe I'm going even further out on a limb here, but I'd actually remove the elderly and pre-existing conditions folks out of the mix in a study. They could skew the data. Pick any disease pretty much and the elderly, men and those with pre-existing conditions are going to have higher fatality rates, than the younger, women and healthy. That's another thing with this pox, it rarely kills those who you don't expect it to. Though as I say that's par for the course. The main difference in this pox is that it doesn't impact the very young, whereas most dangerous viruses hit them the hardest along with the elderly etc. The 1918 flu was another outlier there as it hit those in the prime of life the hardest. Though that was a virus whose deadliest mutation was unwittingly selectively bred because of WW1 and those who caught the milder first wave were immune to the far more deadly second.

With covid I'd be looking at those from 20-50. People living together in shared accommodation and family homes. track the positives and negatives in those demographics to see if there is a partial immunisation process at work. I'd also look at earlier data, because you could have a situation where someone was exposed in say april and remained symptom free, but who are now immune, so they could skew the data if you're looking at breakouts in December or now. If the data shows more examples of people being clearly exposed and returning negatives today, that could show that more were exposed earlier than we thought.

Or feck knows. :D