Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,088 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

seamus wrote: »
    The unions have nothing in the face of NPHET advice.

The present advice from NPHET says that schools are safe, but the movement of parents doing the school drop off is too much of a risk at the moment.

That will be the question at the end of the month, and NPHETs advice will be dependent on how much pressure the hospital system is under. If hospital and ICU numbers are on the way down, 1,000 cases a day will not stop schools reopening.

Hospital and icu numbers might be on the way down in a few weeks time, but will then go back up a few weeks after we open up.
    That’s pretty obvious at this stage as it’s happened every time we’ve opened up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,216 ✭✭✭khalessi

Surely anyone giving the vaccine to people who are not eligible should be up on charges

It isn't that they are not eligible but are skipping the queue system organised in the hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,546 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

khalessi wrote: »
    It isn't that they are not eligible but are skipping the queue system.

They are not currently eligible, there is a priority system in place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Wesekn.

Stealing vaccine that has been assigned for frontline and vulnerable people could lead to causing deaths, do you think it is acceptable?

"Charges" implies that the gardai can charge them with an offence

What would it be

They are not currently eligible, there is a priority system in place.

Admin are eligilbe as they are HCW and many are face to face with patients but everyone should be give a time and stick to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Clouron

I think your point is fair. The schools have closed to stop parent congregation, andthe community transmissions are just too high. The schools largely worked well between September and December, accepting that the restrictions during that time helped to keep schools open. In fact I empathise with principals and teachers as the schools would still be open if the country hadn't socialised so much over Christmas...again this only happened due to significant easing of restrictions. Tbh if I knew this was going to happen with kids out again, I would have given up one Christmas! At this stage, i could live with many things closed if only my young son could be in school, and train in his local footy club. Id live with that from 1st Feb to 30th May!

quote="seamus;115871141"]It is indeed the current advice. NPHET's letter to the government was published last week. On mobile so can't find a handy link.

Summary was that there was no evidence of any substantial spread caused in or by Irish schools. The international evidence was noted and the situation continually watched, but as of now NPHET is confident that schools themselves in Ireland are not a major issue.

Given the high numbers at the moment and their primary stated aim of getting people to stay at home as much as possible, having millions of parents going to schools and back again would run contrary to that, so NPHET recommended schools close on that basis.

This is why Norma was going to bring 6th year back; they don't get dropped off by parents.

Schools will come back faster than people expect.[/quote]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,756 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

jackboy wrote: »
    The unions closed the schools last week. How did the governments plan to allow leaving certs in work out?

People need to know the reality. The schools will not open with 1000 cases a day.

The unions closed the schools? Not in their power to do so. So I'm not sure what you mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Admin are eligilbe as they are HCW and many are face to face with patients but everyone should be give a time and stick to it

Retired managers and a manager's family are definitely not eligible though

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Steven81 wrote: »
    My wife works on the covid ward and has been since the start apart from the times when it was quiet and no patients.

She got the phonecall on Wednesday asking her if she would like the vaccine on friday, as she was working thursday, sat and sunday she asked for one of them days as she isnt local and was pencilled in for yesterday evening. Her manager told her to get down and get the vaccine at 2pm, all the admin staff got themselves in friday, some who werent on the plan, retired higher up managers and one of the top managers family were all in and vaccinated. She said there is absolute uproar in there. If she had put herself in for the sunday they would have been all gone, these are the people who are gowned up and on the front line.

There are going to be some stories going around with people getting delayed who need it and others jumping the queue because they know the right people.
    That would be some scandal if true.
    Well at least fired anyway. It’s essentially stealing vaccines during a pandemic.

That’s if the story is true of course.

@Steven81 your wife should be contacting a journalist if this happened or at least getting together with frontline colleagues and making a formal complaint.

titan18 wrote: »

That I agree on.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

@Steven81 your wife should be contacting a journalist if this happened or at least getting together with frontline colleagues and making a formal complaint.

Its already in the news
    South Infirmary Victoria University Hospital in Cork vaccinated six-times more admin and management staff (62) in the first days of the roll-out compared to doctors (10). More than 100 nurses there were vaccinated.

https://m.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/doctors-fear-being-left-last-in-mish-mashed-approach-39951606.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,057 ✭✭✭✭fits

I very much doubt these reports are true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭jackboy

Stheno wrote: »

It’s the claim of retired managers and managers families that are the main issue.

tom1ie wrote: »
    Hospital and icu numbers might be on the way down in a few weeks time, but will then go back up a few weeks after we open up.
    That’s pretty obvious at this stage as it’s happened every time we’ve opened up.

There is opening up, and there is opening essential services like schools only

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Drumpot wrote: »
    Look at how Ireland treats whistle blowers who put truth ahead of their own self interest. It’s no surprise that some would choose to see what he’s doing as something wrong. I think because a lot of people try to get attention by acting a certain way they presume everybody’s motives are the same.

Very true, mad how angry people get if you go outside the tent. There probably is a surge plan in place. He's probably dealing with the situation and saying the situation has changed but the plan hasn't. Fair play to him. He'd probably get a top job anywhere in the world with his background so can't be silenced.

The threat of loosing a job or never working again tends to keep people in line here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

It’s the claim of retired managers and managers families that are the main issue.

I think it's bigger than that. There is no way administration and management should be getting the vaccine before medical personnel.

If true, it is further confirmation of the problem of management and office start in the use getting preferential treatment when many of them would exist with the private sector as their inefficiency wouldn't be tolerated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭9db3xj7z41fs5u

Not to mention that now we have a National vaccine programme underway

• What???

Am I seeing things. An almighty scandal if Admin staff are being vaccinated before doctors.

Gives me absolutely no confidence in the roll out. None whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Little snowy old me

Steven81 wrote: »
    My wife works on the covid ward and has been since the start apart from the times when it was quiet and no patients.

She got the phonecall on Wednesday asking her if she would like the vaccine on friday, as she was working thursday, sat and sunday she asked for one of them days as she isnt local and was pencilled in for yesterday evening. Her manager told her to get down and get the vaccine at 2pm, all the admin staff got themselves in friday, some who werent on the plan, retired higher up managers and one of the top managers family were all in and vaccinated. She said there is absolute uproar in there. If she had put herself in for the sunday they would have been all gone, these are the people who are gowned up and on the front line.

There are going to be some stories going around with people getting delayed who need it and others jumping the queue because they know the right people.

If this story is true, and I have no reason to believe that it is not, then someone, preferably your wife, needs to contact the media. And get it out on Twitter etc. Otherwise it will be forgotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

fits wrote: »
    I very much doubt these reports are true.

It wouldn't surprise me if it was tbh

Which can only be done when apparently community spread is low and I don't see that being the 1st of Feb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Wesekn.

I think it's bigger than that. There is no way administration and management should be getting the vaccine before medical personnel.

If true, it is further confirmation of the problem of management and office start in the use getting preferential treatment when many of them would exist with the private sector as their inefficiency wouldn't be tolerated.
    What are the splits in a hospital

Doctors nurses admin

What???

Am I seeing things. An almighty scandal if Admin staff are being vaccinated before doctors.

Gives me absolutely no confidence in the roll out. None whatsoever.

Depends on the admin as many deal face to face with patients. But all doctors, nurses, admin and hospital staff should be done at the same time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

Always amusing to watch the ‘pile on’ here. Feel better folks?

Well you casually call people with different views than you "delusional". Does that make you feel better?

It wouldn't surprise me if it was tbh

I'd not be surprised either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

Lockdown, day 2.

This is my second lockdown, being told cant work, construction and struggling.

How the hell is it ok for people to gather in shopping centres and not for 2-3 lads working outside up on a fu!king roof ?

Don't know why I'm posting TBH. I can feel myself beginning to snap already and I'm only on my second day. And by snap I mean I'm only in this for the short term , there is no way I will sign up for this long term ( lockdown after lockdown ) before I start talking matters in my own hands an ignoring the rules.

My mental health is suffering now and I know I'm not alone.

Sorry for offloading here but I had enough already and the anger is building.

Thespoofer wrote: »
    Lockdown, day 2.

How the hell is it ok for people to gather in shopping centres and not for 2-3 lads working outside up on a fu!king roof ?

Don't know why I'm posting TBH. I can feel myself beginning to snap already and I'm only on my second day. And by snap I mean I'm only in this for the short term , there is no way I will sign up for this long term ( lockdown after lockdown ) before I start talking matters in my own hands an ignoring the rules.

Shopping centers are closed I'm sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Pigeon Chaser

Thespoofer wrote: »
    Lockdown, day 2.

Username checks out...

Put on your big boys pants and get on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

Username checks out...

Put on your big boys pants and get on with it.

What do you work at ?

Which can only be done when apparently community spread is low and I don't see that being the 1st of Feb

I don’t either, but by the 15th we will be significantly further along and the vaccination programme will be starting to hit the elderly, which will be a game changer