Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,144 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

firefish wrote: »
    Been lurking but first time post...does no-one else think a contributing factor to the situation was the Tier 5 lockdown called for by NPHET in October when the numbers didn’t justify it? As Leo said at the time - there was no exit strategy. For 2 reasons (1) it surpressed Covid in the community to the extent that there was little immunity to slowdown current spread (we saw that in some of the Eastern European countries) (2) psychologically, it meant people took the opportunity to socialise and meet friends and family when they could (particularly as they knew another lockdown was coming).There’s a limit to how long social creatures can stay apart, particularly a family focused society like Ireland. Anyone in Dublin with family outside had not legally been able to see them since mid-September. I admit I travelled home, I was so so desperate to see them and didn’t know when I would be able to again. We might have been better with a Tier 3 and higher numbers, rather than going from the quietest hospitals ever to being within days of being overwhelmed. Did NPHET/the Government get the strategy completely wrong? Should NPHET not face criticism for this?

A quote from Prof Gerry Killeen a few months back:
    By the time this is over everybody will have been wrong about something.

https://twitter.com/NaomiOhReally/status/1347870067829190656?s=19

Naomi O'Leary
    @NaomiOhReally
    How is international media reporting Ireland's dramatic Covid-19 surge that has taken it from one of the lightest-affected in Europe to a global hotspot in a matter of weeks?

Always interesting to see an international perspective.
    A press review:

"Los Paddies, loco craic en Navidad"

gwLsOu3.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭lucernarian

Jim_Hodge wrote: »

Leo Varadkar with limited hindsight, does seem to have mostly made the right calls about the pandemic. HSE will live to regret the lack of surveillance sequencing I feel though. "There is no Kent variant here" starting to ring a little hollow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,114 ✭✭✭prunudo

A quote from Prof Gerry Killeen a few months back

Quote:
    By the time this is over everybody will have been wrong about something.
    :

Including the bauld Gerry himself. Another celebrity expert who has me reaching for the mute button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Don't think those international reports are taking into account the backlogs that make a nonsense of our daily case figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

One wek its Spain , one week it Italy , the next Croatia and another week its Ireland .Its not a competition and it bugs me that some journalists see it as so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭anplaya27

wadacrack wrote: »
    I think many in the 25-35 age group feel the same. Especially if their were just trying to enhance their lives in some way through either relationships/education/jb etc. Have days myself were I think about what it was like before lockdown and where to go after etc. Many friends feel the same. The mental health impact will be their for many years with this generation . Important thing to do now is just take one day at a time and control what you can. Diet and a good lifestyle probably the main two.

Not only in that age set. Its difficult for everyone. But we have to persevere.

I'm profoundly deaf and an Irish Sign Language user. Lipreading itself very very hard ( what people don't realise about this is if you've never heard the language you're expected to lipread in first place this makes it impossible to do. You are trying to figure it out and give an appropriate answer etc. The intense type of concentration used to try and do this is extremely tiring for Deaf people) and now with the wearing of masks this makes this type of guesswork communication nonexistent.

I would argue I can probably cope better than most hearing people though as Deaf people are used to isolation in the mainstream community anyway. However , it's also a fact that Deaf people are more likely to suffer from mental health issues and to take their own lives than hearing people are. Yet, there is little to no supports in place for us in this country.

One positive for us is our language is more mainstream now due to being recognised as a native language of Ireland in 2017 and we can access information in ISL, for example the covid news briefings on rte etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Wombatman wrote: »
    Don't think those international reports are taking into account the backlogs that make a nonsense of our daily case figures.

True. At the same time one would hope that what goes up must come down especially if there is a real level 5 for next few weeks and people hunker down.

I have a teenage daughter, she doesn't bother getting up until it's dark in the evening, she's missing so much and theres nothing I can do about it

It's a horrible time for everyone and some handling it better than others. Good article in Irish Times today on some issues arising for younger people. https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/health-family/during-lockdown-my-11-year-old-was-hospitalised-with-an-eating-disorder-1.4442809

Just try talking to her. Is she spending the nights watching Netflix etc., and is just tired during the day? Social media can be a great attraction but a bit of a very mixed blessing but they can spend hours on it. Also, check if she's eating decent food when she is up after dark. You might have to leave supplies in the fridge, leftovers etc. Maybe, float the idea that she might get involved in cooking a bit for the household some days. Maybe bring her in some meals during the day. You often have to go way more than halfway to meet them. But they're worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

They can't report what is just being guessed at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭mightyreds

Yeah all they see is the record amount of cases in Ireland, sure we could do that every month if we trimmed a little off the top every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,114 ✭✭✭prunudo

Yes, and they're very quick to throw a judgemental comment this direction when only a month ago their own houses weren't in great shape at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    One wek its Spain , one week it Italy , the next Croatia and another week its Ireland .Its not a competition and it bugs me that some journalists see it as so

Indeed. And that particular journalist is quite sensationalist in Irish times terms and did write a very critical article about the NL approach back in April.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

It's not just the cases. The rate of increase in hospitalisations is also the highest in Europe along with the UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭SpacialNeeds

I have a teenage daughter, she doesn't bother getting up until it's dark in the evening, she's missing so much and theres nothing I can do about it
    Same with ours, but that's usual for him in winter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,349 ✭✭✭Wombatman

prunudo wrote: »
    Yes, and they're very quick to throw a judgmental comment this direction when only a month ago their own houses weren't in great shape at all.

Don't think they are being judgmental TBF. Being from other countries they are understandably working with the headline daily care figures without considering backlogs, dentifications, computer system limitations, weekend and holiday go slows, etc.

Hopefully our current Lockdown will have a significant impact on the real numbers by the end of the month. I suspect L5 lockdown will go into February as the hospitals appear under real Covid related pressure now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Good quote.

I think our lack of living in a crisis such as this has made it hard to see the Forrest from the trees at times. What can we learn from the crisis is more important then anything else.

What will blaming NEPHET achieve exactly? Like blaming FF in 2007 or any other institution at any stage. Oh the HSE is a mess, it’s funny how the public don’t actually give a damn until a crisis brings it to the fore.

What we need to do as a society is to own the crisis we are in. It’s not NEPHETs fault we are where we are, it’s human behavior. Trying to spin it that Ireland’s crisis is a result of NEPHET (who continually asked people to reduce contacts) is misguided and will lead to us learning nothing as a society.

I wish the people of our country could learn to take responsibility for our leaders and our authority’s and the consequences of the people’s behavior during the pandemic. It’s not all our fault as they virus is not easy to suppress but I’m so frustrated how people default to blaming somebody or something else for the state of the country.

If every person honestly assessed their role in the crisis, the HSE and the government we would be in a far better shape. What do you value when you are voting for a politician? Do you vote for politicians who promise to fix our healthcare system? How do you hold them to account? What have you done to try to improve the political landscape so we can get better leaders and politicians who aren’t all about themselves or their parties? What personal responsibility did you take during the crisis? Did you take December as a free hit in terms of socialising?

Making an abstract argument “humans are born to be social” is a delusional effort to absolve individuals of responsibility for chosen actions. There was nothing stopping people socialising while going for a walk or even calling up to one or two households. There is a difference between that and what people consider to be socialising (pubs - big gatherings indoors - sports events etc). I am not saying it’s easy but this is a crisis scenario, its perfectly normal for people’s mental health to be suffering. Wanting normality is understandable but unfortunately it’s not a wise thing to do at the moment.

Some suggesting we may of been able to have far less restrictions had we taken other steps (like greater management of airports etc). That may be the case and I would of liked to of seen better management and other strategies like this tried. But we are where we are, lockdown was working at keeping numbers down until we opened up in December. It’s no coincidence that our surge coincides with Christmas. Human behavior has driven the surge, not NEPHET, not government or anything else. This isn’t about blame it’s about identifying the major factor to where we stand right now. As I said, until as a Society we take responsibility for our role in this we will always struggle to adapt to these sort of crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

This is a good example of how poor journalism is these days and particularly poor medium that mainstream media has been at reporting on it. Overly praising/condemning different countries at different times. Very little balance or objective reporting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭SpacialNeeds

Leo Varadkar with limited hindsight, does seem to have mostly made the right calls about the pandemic.
    No.
    HSE will live to regret the lack of surveillance sequencing I feel though. "There is no Kent variant here" starting to ring a little hollow.
    They didn't say that, they said that it hadn't been detected. Then they said it was in 10% of samples sequenced. Then 25%.

It's almost as though you're cherry picking facts so you can praise the government and blame NPHET.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

3 identified cases of the new South African variant directly linked to incoming travel from SA funnily enough..........so we're all meant to be locked in our homes and get road checked if not.........................meanwhile bods are flying in from all ****holes of the world willy nilly unchecked :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭FFVII

Horse burgers, p-pars, voting machines and these jokers managing covid.

I cant look at it anymore.

That paschal and T Holohan need to be put on pandemic payment or better yet F-off into the sunset there.....all of them... especially whats his face Ceo of HSE. Jesus.

I couldn't believe they were on about making people produce a negative test to come here only the other day. They still can't trace people. I do be in hospitals with my job.....comical what i read versus what i hear and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

You mean we don't get 12 points?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

FFVII wrote: »
    Horse burgers, p-pars, voting machines and these jokers managing covid.

I cant look at it anymore.

That paschal and T Holohan need to be put on pandemic payment or better yet F-off into the sunset there.....all of them... especially whats his face Ceo of HSE. Jesus.

I couldn't believe they were on about making people produce a negative test to come here only the other day. They still can't trace people. I do be in hospitals with my job.....comical what i read versus what i hear and see.

That would be f----in Paul Reid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭FFVII

https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=25696577

Vaccines are not looking good against variants.

Just aswell we cant manage to roll it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭robfowler78

Drumpot wrote: »
    Good quote.

I think our lack of living in a crisis such as this has made it hard to see the Forrest from the trees at times. What can we learn from the crisis is more important then anything else.

What will blaming NEPHET achieve exactly? Like blaming FF in 2007 or any other institution at any stage. Oh the HSE is a mess, it’s funny how the public don’t actually give a damn until a crisis brings it to the fore.

What we need to do as a society is to own the crisis we are in. It’s not NEPHETs fault we are where we are, it’s human behavior. Trying to spin it that Ireland’s crisis is a result of NEPHET (who continually asked people to reduce contacts) is misguided and will lead to us learning nothing as a society.

I wish the people of our country could learn to take responsibility for our leaders and our authority’s and the consequences of the people’s behavior during the pandemic. It’s not all our fault as they virus is not easy to suppress but I’m so frustrated how people default to blaming somebody or something else for the state of the country.

If every person honestly assessed their role in the crisis, the HSE and the government we would be in a far better shape. What do you value when you are voting for a politician? Do you vote for politicians who promise to fix our healthcare system? How do you hold them to account? What have you done to try to improve the political landscape so we can get better leaders and politicians who aren’t all about themselves or their parties? What personal responsibility did you take during the crisis? Did you take December as a free hit in terms of socialising?

Making an abstract argument “humans are born to be social” is a delusional effort to absolve individuals of responsibility for chosen actions. There was nothing stopping people socialising while going for a walk or even calling up to one or two households. There is a difference between that and what people consider to be socialising (pubs - big gatherings indoors - sports events etc). I am not saying it’s easy but this is a crisis scenario, its perfectly normal for people’s mental health to be suffering. Wanting normality is understandable but unfortunately it’s not a wise thing to do at the moment.

Some suggesting we may of been able to have far less restrictions had we taken other steps (like greater management of airports etc). That may be the case and I would of liked to of seen better management and other strategies like this tried. But we are where we are, lockdown was working at keeping numbers down until we opened up in December. It’s no coincidence that our surge coincides with Christmas. Human behavior has driven the surge, not NEPHET, not government or anything else. This isn’t about blame it’s about identifying the major factor to where we stand right now. As I said, until as a Society we take responsibility for our role in this we will always struggle to adapt to these sort of crisis.

I agree with parts of what you are saying but unfortunately that view is blinded also. Lockdowns work to bring numbers down but people also need to work, go to school, look after elderly relatives etc. People need to interact on a number of levels so long term a lockdown isn’t sustainable. It’s easy to say it’s the Christmas mixing that caused this but there is also the time of year winter, Government decisions ie telling people 2 weeks before Xmas that they would be locking down on the 6 of nov, NPHET recommended restrictions been over the top when numbers were low. A lot of different factors are at play but the main blame is a new virus that spreads quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Well, when you've people saying "Look how much better we're doing than X,Y,Z - we've got this" and calling for opening up for Christmas on the back of that... Seems only reasonable to be aware we are the worst country in the world at the moment for new cases per capita at the moment.

Sure, there's a little stochasticity involved in which country is at the top spot, but there's also an awful lot of "people in this place need to cop on". Ireland wasn't randomly one of the best countries in November, and it's not randomly the worst one now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

No big drop today but swabs steady and slightly lower, pos rate stay steady

17.99%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

4962 swabs

17.99% rate

Slow progress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,393 ✭✭✭ZX7R

FFVII wrote: »
    https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=25696577

Vaccines are not looking good against variants.

Just aswell we cant manage to roll it out.

Erm no it doesn't say that one poster on that platform thinks it might or might not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Ficheall wrote: »
    Well, when you've people saying "Look how much better we're doing than X,Y,Z - we've got this" and calling for opening up for Christmas on the back of that... Seems only reasonable to be aware we are the worst country in the world at the moment for new cases per capita at the moment.

Sure, there's a little stochasticity involved in which country is at the top spot, but there's also an awful lot of "people in this place need to cop on". Ireland wasn't randomly one of the best countries in November, and it's not randomly the worst one now.

Actually in my opinion the cheering about us being the lowest in Europe in November did a lot of harm . People got complacent and let their guard down , then along came Christmas and here we are again