Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXXI-187,554 ROI (2,970 deaths) 100,319 NI (1,730 deaths)(24/01)Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭alexonhisown

“Gardai have also warned that it is an offence for people to be outside their homes "without reasonable excuse".

Im assuming exercise and shopping are reasonable excuses, and not kids hanging around shops or just hanging around in groups

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

From the article referenced

”Another piece of early research ( https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.10.14.20212555v1.full.pdf )(awaiting peer review) suggests that SARS-CoV-2 could also have a long-term impact on people's organs. But the profile of those affected in this study is different to those reporting symptoms via the app.

This research, which looked at a sample of 200 patients who had recovered from Covid-19, found mild organ impairment in 32% of people's hearts, 33% of people's lungs and 12% of people's kidneys. Multiple organ damage was found in 25% of patients."

If you have something more substantial than a pantomime "Oh no they don't" response I'm willing to give it critical consideration.

Myocardial inflammation is a symptom of immune response to an infection. Also present in runners post marathon to cite another example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭Eivor

“Gardai have also warned that it is an offence for people to be outside their homes "without reasonable excuse".

Im assuming exercise and shopping are reasonable excuses, and not kids hanging around shops or just hanging around in groups

An offence in what way? How can it be an offence to be outside?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Solar2021

Upstream wrote: »
    What's the standard treatment for people who are hospitalised in Ireland with Covid-19?
    Is there a treatment protocol?
    Are they given Vitamin D, Vitamin C or Zinc?

What do you think? :pac:

Now it's mostly steriods, anticoagulants, anti inflammatory medicines

Think we have dropped remdesvir or very little use, still using antibody cocktails like regeneron in small quantities

Not much has changed in the last 6 months

Heard mentioned we might try ivermectin on non ICU patients but didn't hear anymore on it

Wife is a nurse in UHL before someone accuses me of anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

Can you imagine what kind of hole we'd be if the vaccine wasn't due for another year or more, as some predicted?:eek:

If there wasn't a vaccine imminent, I think the EU would lock its borders and we would all be going for zero Covid. The new variant would have forced this approach as it is now clearly impossible to '"live with Covid".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

Gardai have also warned that it is an offence for people to be outside their homes "without reasonable excuse".

That's madness absolute madness.

Reasonable excuse also covered by the following
    Care to a family member
    Compassionate visit
    Visit a grave
    Essential shopping to include diy, car parts, fuel etc
    Educational purposes
    Medical appointment
    And any excuse you can think of that sounds genuine
    Guards won’t spend a lot of time trying to stop kids gathering. That’s mummy and daddy’s job which is often neglected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭growleaves

If you have something more substantial than a pantomime "Oh no they don't" response I'm willing to give it critical consideration.

Lol

^^Please give this critical consideration

The young people who have been hospitalised with covid comprise only a tiny fraction of overall young people. Most are asymptomatic and not hospitalised.

Superabbit's phrasing was unfortunate, since that's probably what he meant to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭alexonhisown

Eivor wrote: »
    An offence in what way? How can it be an offence to be outside?

I dont know what it means. Just saw it in this article on rte news

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0106/1188118-garda-checkpoints/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭SuperRabbit

What's the standard treatment for people who are hospitalised in Ireland with Covid-19?

Vitamin D and Zinc only work for people with vitamin D or Zinc deficiencies

Too much zinc gives you copper deficiency which is bad in its own right

most Irish people eat beef regularly and beef is loaded with zinc, but even if you don't eat beef, even if you are vegan!, it's extremely difficult to be deficient in zinc, you'd have to be on some very weird diet

a vegan who isn't eating lentils and chickpeas has more problems than zinc
    zinc-1024x1024.jpg

We all need to supplement with vitamin d though

a small bit of a bell pepper has enough vitamin c for a day, vitamin c is the most fun vitamin to get imho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭duckndive

I just came out of hospital after 10 days with COVID (life changing experience), we were given very high quantities of antibiotics and steroids. Plus when things were going downhill they would administer remdesivir to suppress covid build up in your lungs (the antibiotics worked against the pneumonia which was another gift of covid).

I saw guys that were in their 50s drop rapidly and witnessed some horrors in there as I was dropping on the other side of the curtain. But thanks to the
    excellent care I received from doctors, nurses and care assistants I am still here today with my family.

This disease has no qualms with deciding what it does to anyone regardless of health/age, I wish everyone to stay safe from it.

growleaves wrote: »
    Lol

^^Please give this critical consideration

The young people who have been hospitalised with covid comprise only a tiny fraction of overall young people. Most are asymptomatic and not hospitalised.

Superabbit's phrasing was unfortunate, since that's probably what he meant to say.

i am awful at phrasing

Solar2021 wrote: »

I was grooming my pet unicorn before I read this. I believe you. He believes you too.

duckndive wrote: »
    I just came out of hospital after 10 days with COVID (life changing experience), we were given very high quantities of antibiotics and steroids. Plus when things were going downhill they would administer remdesivir to suppress covid build up in your lungs (the antibiotics worked against the pneumonia which was another gift of covid).

I saw guys that were in there 50s drop rapidly and witnessed some horrors in there as I was dropping on the other side of the curtain. But thanks to the
    excellent care I received from doctors, nurses and care assistants I am still here today with my family.

This disease has no qualms with deciding what it does to anyone regardless of health/age, I wish everyone to stay safe from it.

So happy for you, Duck! That you are out I mean. Thanks for sharing the experience with us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,894 ✭✭✭Worztron

How many ICU places are there in total in Ireland?

Mitch Hedberg: "Rice is great if you're really hungry and want to eat two thousand of something."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

I saw guys that were in their 50s drop rapidly and witnessed some horrors in there as I was dropping on the other side of the curtain. But thanks to the

Thanks for explaining about the experience and very glad you are out the other side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

statesaver wrote: »

That's madness absolute madness.

And think, there are a sizeable minority of people calling for this! Calling for harsher restrictions and punishments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭Mike3549

Daisy000 wrote: »
    Trillion $ company that’s a hint
    A distance between myself and my coworker is less than a meter... oh yes we wear masks some better than others....
    Theres only 4: apple, google, microsoft and amazon, how many of them do manufacturing?
    And in fairness, all of them are essential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Upstream

Solar2021 wrote: »
    What do you think? :pac:

Now it's mostly steriods, anticoagulants, anti inflammatory medicines

Think we have dropped remdesvir or very little use, still using antibody cocktails like regeneron in small quantities

Not much has changed in the last 6 months

Heard mentioned we might try ivermectin on non ICU patients but didn't hear anymore on it

What do I think ... not likely I suppose, but would it really hurt to try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Worztron wrote: »
    How many ICU places are there in total in Ireland?

Liam Woods of the HSE says we have 287 ICU beds - the target by the end of the year is 321.

That would be smack bang in the middle of projected ICU figures in the worst case scenario.

You would have thought they would be already increasing icu beds

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1346165112881770502?s=20

Can you imagine what kind of hole we'd be if the vaccine wasn't due for another year or more, as some predicted?:eek:

at this rate of getting it out there some of us won't get it for another year or more

French couldn't stomach too many orders for the German-labelled Pfizer vaccine so had to get a few 100 million orders for their useless behind-schedule one. Screwed up the availability for the EU.

https://www.statnews.com/2020/12/11/sanofi-suffers-major-setback-in-development-of-a-covid-19-vaccine/

pconn062 wrote: »
    And think, there are a sizeable minority of people calling for this! Calling for harsher restrictions and punishments.

Effectively everyone is asked to stay at home, unless they have essential work to perform elsewhere.

If you have a wider view of what's essential that's unfortunate, but if you are just happy to risk other people's lives for your own fun or convenience then why wouldn't there be punishments, there always are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,619 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Sorry this whole offence thing is rubbing me the wrong way.

Is the 5km thing gone, is the 2km gone!? They've done a fcuking horrible job explaining this.

Am i allowed walk the dog? Is that a reasonable excuse?

Vicxas wrote: »

Is the 5km thing gone, is the 2km gone!? They've done a fcuking horrible job explaining this.

it is yeah you can walk the dog

5km is in the thing

they don't limit it to "once a day" like they did in the uk at one point.

Thank you, glad you made it, just asking because I think vitamin C and D may also help, but a sizeable portion of the medical community seem to overlook them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭growleaves

No but your dog can walk you.

Is said deliberately in a confusing manner so people feel safer not leaving the house. There is a myriad of genuine reasons to leave ones home. Shopping is one, care for a family member or someone in your bubble. To tend a grave, many others and no distance restriction. 5km applies only to excerise.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

In the last hour alone I've heard of 2 different people in their 50's who have died of Covid both based in Dublin. One a GP who was self isolating in his bedroom and didn't make it to the morning.
    I know of 4 people in my estate alone who've tested positive yesterday alone, all different households.

In the short time you've been here, you've certainly been on the receiving end of a lot of bad news alright.

Vitamin D and Zinc only work for people with vitamin D or Zinc deficiencies

Too much zinc gives you copper deficiency which is bad in its own right

most Irish people eat beef regularly and beef is loaded with zinc, but even if you don't eat beef, even if you are vegan!, it's extremely difficult to be deficient in zinc, you'd have to be on some very weird diet

a vegan who isn't eating lentils and chickpeas has more problems than zinc
    zinc-1024x1024.jpg

We all need to supplement with vitamin d though

a small bit of a bell pepper has enough vitamin c for a day, vitamin c is the most fun vitamin to get imho

Thank you, have the family supplementing Vitamin D here, there should be more awareness that roughly half the population are deficient in Vit D, especially at this time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,059 ✭✭✭✭spookwoman

Is said deliberately in a confusing manner so people feel safer not leaving the house. There is a myriad of genuine reasons to leave ones home. Shopping is one, care for a family member or someone in your bubble. To tend a grave, many others and no distance restriction. 5km applies only to excerise.

It's in plain black and white print

Under the existing Level 5 restrictions people are only able to travel within 5km of their home to exercise.

Nothing confusing about that