Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2020/2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Markitron

dogbert27 wrote: »
    Would you swap Hendo and Fabinho for CB?

I wouldn't. Fab excels in both positions, Henderson only does so in one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,486 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

I had said a few days ago that I thought that the Hendo-Gini-Milner midfield would be the best option, but on thinking about it more, maybe what ye are saying and having someone like a Ox/Keita as the 3rd midfielder would be a better option, built on the solid foundation of Hendo & Gini.

IIRC Keita played very well away to Southampton a couple season ago on the run in, scoring the equalizer in the late 3-1 win to put Liverpool back top of the table, albeit after a tame start. But he grew into the game and some good form after that and went on a run of good performances. I'd like him to be able to play this type of game as I think it will suit him. He doesn't have blistering speed but an open game can give him a lot of ample opportunity to drive into space and progress the ball into dangerous areas. In fairness, Keita does also have good workrate so it's not like Liverpool would be losing out there.

Likewise, if Ox is the 3rd midfielder, he will offer that drive from midfield and also likes a shot. He is capable of testing the keeper from distance, and Forster will be a keeper who has been tested this season, and only has 1 appearance in England in 3 years - a 3-0 loss. Ox has that bit extra speed which will be a useful asset in breaking the lines also. I thought he was actually decent against Newcastle when he came on and offered more to what the starting midfielders did in terms of creativity. The final ball was not always perfect, but you could tell he had the right ideas, just lacking in execution.

I'd be hoping 1 of those 2 starts tonight in place of Jones who looked very poor against Newcastle and messed up against WBA for their goal too. A little break for him might not be the worst idea, after having a very good run in the team previous to this.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,978 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Keeping Fab at CB is a priority atm. I doubt Thiago will start but he will surely get at least 30 odd mins hopefully. Ox is a good shout. Jones was fairly poor the ladt day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,403 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

So Matip is out. Robertson is so fast and competitive that he'd be more than capable of playing at CB if we got desperate, not at that point yet though.

Would like to see Salah playing central tonight, we dont play on the shoulder nearly enough, everyone drops off and it's all about breaking down a block of 8, sometimes playing on the shoulder can get fast results. We have speed, need to use it more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Fabs is first choice CB for the rest of the season, and there is an argument for him playing there with Virg when everyone is back. He's a Rolls Royce on the ball, a calming influence, great tackler and great positionally. All of which cannot be said for Gomez, if we are honest. I'd rather keep him there and look to build the midfield around Thiago and Hendo as double 6s...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭willabur

Fab cannot be moved away from centre half. Only way he can be moved is if we sign someone good enough at CB and Joel is fit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭willabur

Really hope we do not go with Milner, Gini and Hendo midfield tonight. Our front three suffer massively when we have those three behind them.
    Teams have been having success against our system by making the full backs cross from much deeper and into a packed box. Would like to see a tweak to the system tonight. I can see one of Shaq, Taki or Naby starting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,286 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Liverpool no longer favourites to win the league

Means little really. Any side that wins 2 or 3 on the trot will probably be made favourites. Liverpool were apparently nailed on after beating Spurs and hammering Palace. Would be surprised if it doesn't go down to the last few games of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Fitz* wrote: »
    I had said a few days ago that I thought that the Hendo-Gini-Milner midfield would be the best option, but on thinking about it more, maybe what ye are saying and having someone like a Ox/Keita as the 3rd midfielder would be a better option, built on the solid foundation of Hendo & Gini.

IIRC Keita played very well away to Southampton a couple season ago on the run in, scoring the equalizer in the late 3-1 win to put Liverpool back top of the table, albeit after a tame start. But he grew into the game and some good form after that and went on a run of good performances. I'd like him to be able to play this type of game as I think it will suit him. He doesn't have blistering speed but an open game can give him a lot of ample opportunity to drive into space and progress the ball into dangerous areas. In fairness, Keita does also have good workrate so it's not like Liverpool would be losing out there.

Likewise, if Ox is the 3rd midfielder, he will offer that drive from midfield and also likes a shot. He is capable of testing the keeper from distance, and Forster will be a keeper who has been tested this season, and only has 1 appearance in England in 3 years - a 3-0 loss. Ox has that bit extra speed which will be a useful asset in breaking the lines also. I thought he was actually decent against Newcastle when he came on and offered more to what the starting midfielders did in terms of creativity. The final ball was not always perfect, but you could tell he had the right ideas, just lacking in execution.

I'd be hoping 1 of those 2 starts tonight in place of Jones who looked very poor against Newcastle and messed up against WBA for their goal too. A little break for him might not be the worst idea, after having a very good run in the team previous to this.

I'd 100% have Keita in there but he is not fit is he ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,165 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I'd 100% have Keita in there but he is not fit is he ?

Haven’t seen any news on it... just that he felt a twinge in the muscle after the Palace game, and hasn’t appeared since. Hopefully he’s recovered enough in the last week to be an option..

We’ve Ox, Naby, and Thiago who are all in or abouts being able to contribute for 30 to 60 minutes now, just needs to be managed very carefully.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Haven’t seen any news on it... just that he felt a twinge in the muscle after the Palace game, and hasn’t appeared since. Hopefully he’s recovered enough in the last week to be an option..

We’ve Ox, Naby, and Thiago who are all in or abouts being able to contribute for 30 to 60 minutes now, just needs to be managed very carefully.

The Villa cup game could be vital for getting lads fit again
    Milner, Jones , Keita, Shaq ,Ox, Thaigo ,Taki could all do with a start in that one,

The Villa cup game could be vital for getting lads fit again
    Milner, Jones , Keita, Shaq ,Ox, Thaigo ,Taki could all do with a start in that one,

Yeah, that's coming at a decent time.

Would start; Kelleher, Milner, R Williams, Phillips, N Williams, Naby, Ox, Jones, Taki, Shaq, Origi for that one. With Thiago getting however much time he needs, and kids available to get lads like Naby, Ox, and Milner off inside 60 minutes.

<edited as Tsimikas is injured>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

willabur wrote: »
    Really hope we do not go with Milner, Gini and Hendo midfield tonight. Our front three suffer massively when we have those three behind them.
    Teams have been having success against our system by making the full backs cross from much deeper and into a packed box. Would like to see a tweak to the system tonight. I can see one of Shaq, Taki or Naby starting

100% agree with this assessment.

I never like seeing Milie & Henderson in the same 3. It’s always too slow & first pass is always conservative where Mane/Salah thrive on that quick ball through or over the top

Chesty08 wrote: »
    100% agree with this assessment.

I never like seeing Milie & Henderson in the same 3. It’s always too slow & first pass is always conservative where Mane/Salah thrive on that quick ball through or over the top

Lots of twitter talk of Hendo and Fab CB's with Thiago, Ox, Gini midfield

Interesting! If we see that, I wouldn't be surprised if it was a test run for the Utd match.

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    <edited as Tsimikas is injured>

Shaqiri posted a picture a few days ago of himself training, and Tsimikas was in the background smiling away. I'm not sure if it was an old picture or not but maybe Tsimikas is closer than we think. Would be a benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Markitron

I'm not sure how well that would work but it certainly wouldn't be boring.

Is Ings still injured btw? Cos he is definitely scoring if he isn't.

Markitron wrote: »
    I'm not sure how well that would work but it certainly wouldn't be boring.

Is Ings still injured btw? Cos he is definitely scoring if he isn't.

Ings should be able to start.

Going by the Southampton fans, Che Adams was absolutely shattered on 60 mins in their last game and really needs a rest. It could be a 60/30 job there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Hopefully Tsimikas is close to being back, Robbo must be close to burnout at this stage and we really don't want him on his last legs in the latter half of the business end of season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,818 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Feeling a bit nervous for tonight, Soton are no pushovers and it feels like a season defining game. City got a scabby 1-0 against them a couple of weeks ago, Id be happy with the same

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Feeling a bit nervous for tonight, Soton are no pushovers and it feels like a season defining game. City got a scabby 1-0 against them a couple of weeks ago, Id be happy with the same

3 points tonight would be absolutely massive,

Given how bad we have been away from home id take a draw right now ,
    It's night for lads to really step up to the plate and show why we are champions , Mo has been a little quite since Covid so hopefully he is on it ,

Unless Southampton suddenly change there playing style and stop playing a highline and decide sit deep I wouldn't be to worried.

Even if they did decide to sit deep how used to playing that style are there players.

There highline give Mane & Salah the space they love.

Unless Southampton suddenly change there playing style and stop playing a highline and decide sit deep I wouldn't be to worried.

Even if they did decide to sit deep how used to playing that style are there players.

There highline give Mane & Salah the space they love.

There keeper and best CB are missing to ,

RB Austria's CB Max Wober and Sporting Brag's David Carmo being linked this afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭giveitholly

There keeper and best CB are missing to ,

Cue Fraser Forster to have the game of his life!

Man City have been favourites from the start of the season

You reckon we haven't been favourites when we were several pts clear of City?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,223 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

its easy to forget,we are missing our best central defenders for season,a world class midfielder for most of it so far,a guy who was banging in the goals for fun is missing for months...plus..plus,other injuries' and covid,, and we sit top of the league and top of our champions league group ! i though we would be doing well to be top 4 tbh..

its fckin remarkable.

also, if our boss says we wait for a player,we wait..he knows what he's doing,and the cards he's playing with,might be frustrating but no matter what happens this season,i too would rather wait for the real targets to be bought,rather than stop gaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Mo has been a little quite since Covid so hopefully he is on it ,

He's the top goalscorer in the league if he keeps his current ratio up he'd be on for a 30 goal season. Hardly a little quiet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

We've been pretty ropey in front of goal in 4 of the last 5 games (granted, the other was a 7-0).

We've been pretty much spot on in attack in the league otherwise this season.

If we can click up front again, we can continue to ride out the issues at CB.

This season isn't going to be a 95 pointer, in all likelihood. If we can get 65+ from 72 against the bottom 12 teams, it'll go a hell of a long way to retaining the title, and that's 90% about firepower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,279 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

He's the top goalscorer in the league if he keeps his current ratio up he'd be on for a 30 goal season. Hardly a little quiet

Yeah idk what the basis is for that, since he missed a game with COVID he's played 7, scored 5, and assisted 3.

While over the same 7 games Mane has 2 goals 2 assists and Firmino has 3 goals 1 assist.