Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Nkencho shooting *Mod warning Added to OP*

hynesie08 wrote: »
    There are dozens of ways it could have been handled differently, they all involve him either not assaulting innocent people or dropping the knife.... At any point he could have ended it differently.

What you're describing is personal responsibility. This is anathema to some sections of the left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,003 ✭✭✭beno619

I normally don't read twitter but I followed some links from this thread.
    I saw posts from two people, one who claimed to be a brother, and another who claimed to be a sister of the deceased.
    Both were linking to the gofundme and publicly stating it was official.

I don't know about the rest of ye, but if a close relation to me had gotten shot, the last thing I'd be thinking of doing would be going online to big up a free-money fundraiser for myself off the back of it! I definitely wouldn't be going online literally a couple of hours later and trying to publicize it.

It's apparently unofficial and was set up by someone trying to make a quick buck.

The amount of misinformation being shared is scary and unhelpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,330 ✭✭✭obi604

Omackeral wrote: »
    Just saw the video of a mother and son (both white, since that matters so much) attacked callously at the Circle K in Hartstown. Disturbing beyond belief. Filthy dirty pack of animals.

What age was the son?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,215 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Stamp it out early. Dead right. This isn't America.
    It isn't.

So why the lethal force?

I don't want this to become normal here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

obi604 wrote: »
    Serious?

Yep, at least 12 cars/vans etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

All of this does kind of make you wonder how many of the "innocent black man killed by racist white cop" stories are just bull****. I see some of the same people supporting BLM a few months back. Now when this **** is actually at their door they're sounding alot more like the ignorant people in America they were lambasting.

Exactly. They won't defend this, yet they won't consider the fact that they may of been wrong in the numerous American cases. Like I said earlier, there's zero evidence of racial motivation in nearly all of those cases too.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Nermal

kippy wrote: »
    This "sides" thing is worrying. It's not something that should be tolerated. There is no "sides" here and there shouldn't be in a modern, functioning society.

There are sides, and you must choose one. Stand with with rioters and looters, or with the people who protect you from them.
    kippy wrote: »
    Again, any day a human being is killed is a bad day.

Depends on the human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭KyussB

He deserves to be dead.
    Why didn’t they come out of the house and ask him to put down the knife?
    Because of all the police with guns pointed at their family member?

obi604 wrote: »
    What age was the son?

Hard to be sure, but looks late teens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

KyussB wrote: »

If the person is directly about to attack another civilian (the police aren't civilians), then it may be justified to shoot to stop him. I'm not yet convinced the bar was met for that justification here.

That's very disturbing thinking.

Do you not think their life has value?

They might not make as much as the bank manager but they have a right to go home alive.

100% agree, providing he didnt have a history of mental illness but this guy did, and the gardai knew this and it looks like he was going through an episode.
    Do you honestly think he was in his right mind ?

He attacked someone else a week ago, i suppose that was an episode today. I expect the black mobs that attacked innocent people today were having episodes as well.

beno619 wrote: »
    It's apparently unofficial and was set up by someone trying to make a quick buck.

The amount of misinformation being shared is scary and unhelpful.
    Yup. Don't donate to anything.

Don't trust witnesses saying i am so and so ..

People won't own up publicly to seeing anything. They would be afraid for their safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,524 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Witcher wrote: »
    The army are not police and anyone who mentions them in a situation like this has never been in the Defence Forces or the Gardai

You haven't really helped me, or answered

I asked what options are available to the state to tackle anarchy

I think the army can be used/deployed...

Simple: If anarchy and mob violence are happenings, and the Gardai cannot control it, stop it....I think we can ask for help from others........these others? The Army?..

It isn't.

So why the lethal force?

I don't want this to become normal here.

What do you propose the Gardai do? Hope it peters out while they wreak havoc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

This is the best statement from any politician I have seen:

Wish I could thank this ten times. It's 100% right. People on both sides of the debate getting carried away with themselves trying to rush to judgement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

I hope AGS nip all this in the bud, otherwise you'll have other scumbags and paramilitaries getting involved in order to make a name for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,238 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

100% agree, providing he didnt have a history of mental illness but this guy did, and the gardai knew this and it looks like he was going through an episode.

Did he have mental illness? Did he really?
    Cause I've met alot of scumbags who once they get caught or pulled up over something say everything under the sun.

A junkie who robs you is only a "poor addict" after all. Didn't mean it etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,031 ✭✭✭daheff

Do you think not being in his right mind means the gardai should not defend themselves and prevent others being hurt or killed?

Like literally their job title is guardians of the peace.

Nermal wrote: »
    There are sides, and you must choose one.

I choose finding out the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,180 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Where's our esteemed, completely non-objective Lord Mayor of Dublin now appealing for calm? Or indeed Ebun Joseph and the other sympathizers?

Those types are great at stoking flames, useless at extinguishing fires.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

He attacked someone else a week ago, i suppose that was an episode today. I expect the black mobs that attacked innocent people today were having episodes as well.

when you say attack, what exactly happened it's a pretty loose term,
    a verbal attack, a physical attack ect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Their son is dead that is why.

Sharing a video or not won't bring him back. Best to keep sharing it. The more people who see it, the more that see that the Gardai did their best and only took action when needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,294 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

walshb wrote: »
    You haven't really helped me, or answered

I asked what options are available to the state to tackle anarchy

I think the army can be used/deployed...

Simple: If anarchy and mob violence are happenings, and the Gardai cannot control it, stop it....I think we can ask for help from others........these others? The Army?..

There's no anarchy ffs will ya stop with the hyperbole, there's a few gangs going beserk up in Blanch, they'll be put a stop to. Talking about the army on the streets is fcuking moronic Sure why don't we get the Air Corps out too..will ya get a grip.

Get the local Girl Guides out, they'll have as much power as the army in this situation.

I hope AGS nip all this in the bud, otherwise you'll have other scumbags and paramilitaries getting involved in order to make a name for themselves.

This has already started. Whatsapp groups are very vocal at the moment with the local gougers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,249 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

grassylawn wrote: »
    I can't tell who is firing the gun in the video? Are they out of the frame?

He does not appear to be attacking when the first shot is fired. He does not appear to be wounded by that shot. He clearly is attacking when the following shots are fired, which include the ones that killed him.

Do guards fire warning shots? If the first shot was intended to hit him then there's a major question about whether it was necessary. If it was not and was fired according to protocol then it seems very clear that it was a reasonable course of action.

Armed response will always try to maintain a safe firing distance, for everyone's safety, if that video is accurate, whoever he's swinging at probably isn't the armed officer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 725 ✭✭✭ElJeffe

Tzardine wrote: »
    Big garda presence at the Aquatic Centre. The use here as a staging area. Looks like they are getting ready to mobilise.

Hopefully they go in heavy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭doublejobbing 2

Imagine you went to Blanch in 1996 and told people that in 24 years they would be calling their parents and children to tell them to stay off the streets on New Years Eve because a marauding gang of foreign children are moving through the area threatening local people.

And that they have the full support of what were then Joe Higgins apprentices.

Oh, and that Sinn Fein have moved far from the IRA vigilantism they liked in the 90s and will not be making comment on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Never heard of days off?

Only for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

So was it a knife or a machete because its a pretty massive difference.

Imagine you went to Blanch in 1996 and told people that in 24 years they would be calling their parents and children to tell them to stay off the streets on New Years Eve because a marauding gang of foreign children are moving through the area threatening local people.

And that they have the full support of what were then Joe Higgins apprentices.

Oh, and that Sinn Fein have moved far from the IRA vigilantism they liked in the 90s and will not be making comment on this one.

You know that they were pretty much all born here right?