Say something nice about An Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭SpacialNeeds

salonfire wrote: »
    Who are the real thieves.

Is it the guards

Their strike stunt a few years ago should have been crushed.

For a police force to break the law once was unfortunate in 1998. For it to almost happen again a couple of years ago is sinister and disgraceful and a mockery of the oath they have taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    those are pretty broad statements , there are pretty alarming incidence of corrupt practice within AGS this past two decades , two commissioners in succession were forced to resign due to involvement in the Garda Maurice Mc Cabe scandal

if you think everyone who has ever had issues with AGS are scumbags , you are a naive individual indeed

In every line of work there are corrupt folk. often in command ..

That does not mean that the individuals at grass root levels, are not sound, supportive. As we are seeing here.

This applies, sadly, in most professions. Corrupt leadership is not the standard to judge the integrity and humanity of the Gardaí we encounter .

No one is writing about leadership but about actual encounters.

In all my years here in Ireland . many of them trading at street markets etc I have only once met a totally aggressive and nasty cop. And that was as I was aware because of a local conflict I was embroiled in that involved his pals.

My first real encounter with a Garda.. I was driving through Donegal to Sligo for a Farmers Market.

And got pulled over... HATE that !

He said my rear fog light was on and " cutting him in the eye. " I had no idea I had one as the car was failrly new to me.

He kindly reached in and turned it off

And saw the trays of jams I was carrying.

When I explained what I was doing ( the market work was for charity) he bought several jars at a higher price than asked.

Told me his name and from then on kept a weather eye on the work at markets etc,

As other Gardaí did at various times. in other places. Even when there was nothing they could actually do.
    They have always been a part of the structure of life. always supportive .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Can't think of anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,421 ✭✭✭raclle

I was in a car accident a number of years ago when a JCB pulled out in front of me. I dislocated a couple of my toes but had no idea at the time. An off duty bean garda assisted me until the ambulance arrived and wrapped her jacket around my foot. I've no idea what station she was in but I handed her jacket into the local station as soon as I got out of hospital. Hope she got it back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,217 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

salonfire wrote: »
    Everyone applies for a job they have no experience in at least once in their life.

Since 2015, they have gotten increases in rent allowance, annual leave allowance, parading allowance, shift allowances, increasing pension contributions threshold, a pay increase last January, a pay increase in October, pay increases coming next year.

And today moaning about some allowance at the GRA conference.

Who are the real thieves.

Have you applied yourself seeing as it sounds so attractive?

Samsgirl wrote: »
    Yeah...... sure that's exactly it.

Huge difference in applying for a job you have no practical experience of and actually doing the job.

Exactly so. Wondering what the fallout rate is during early training? Or if they have become skilled at selection procedures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

raclle wrote: »
    I was in a car accident a number of years ago when a JCB pulled out in front of me. I dislocated a couple of my toes but had no idea at the time. An off duty bean garda assisted me until the ambulance arrived and wrapped her jacket around my foot. I've no idea what station she was in but I handed her jacket into the local station as soon as I got out of hospital. Hope she got it back

Any amount of regular citizens would do the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

And probably video you too for posterity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭pconn062

I was hopelessly lost a few years ago, driving around Kilkenny in the days before google maps. I picked up my phone and called my wife for directions (not clever I know) and got caught and pulled over by two Guards. I explained the situation to them and not only did they not give me a fine or points they gave me an garda car escort right to the door of the hotel I was looking for! Sound folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

pconn062 wrote: »
    I was hopelessly lost a few years ago, driving around Kilkenny in the days before google maps. I picked up my phone and called my wife for direc

I think you might be still lost , are you in the right thread ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭pconn062

I think you might be still lost , are you in the right thread ?

Clicked post too early by mistake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

raclle wrote: »
    An off duty bean garda assisted me

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

Samsgirl wrote: »
    I work with Guards every day of the week and 99.9 percent of them are sound. Nobody would believe what they put up with in their line of duty. Very few would do their job.

Would love to see some of the brave keyboard warriors come into a Garda Station and see they kind of people they have to deal with.

i doubt anyone will deny that, but they aren't forced to do the job it's their choice, and they get well paid no matter what they tell you.
    I know many guards, and they all have multiple mortgages so i don't buy into your argument.
    That said i have met alot of sound guards, but just as many who are useless.
    Also, the overall fitness of the Guards is really embarrassing, i mean shockingly embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

And probably video you too for posterity.

Now that is scummy behaviour which the vast majority would not do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭arccosh

one let me off an easy speeding ticket with a warning...sound guard.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

arccosh wrote: »

Was he really sound for letting you off a driving offence, or corrupt and incompetent. If it was a politician people would go mad.
    Unprofessional is the word you are looking for.

"Congratulations" on getting away with the ticket I suppose, but that wasn't a sound guard, it was a useless one.

I'm not going to give you or anyone else a finger wagging lecture, but there's a speed limit there for a reason and your man couldn't bother his bollix making the effort to ensure the safety of everyone else on the street at the same time as you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,905 ✭✭✭✭elperello

But a member of AGS did.

Credit where credit is due.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,238 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

I was a right little pox bottle growing up around the estate and all the local guards were actually sound, don’t know how they put up with us

Time is contagious, everybody's getting old.

They do a difficult job, most of us wouldn’t have the balls to, however they still receive abuse and hate en masse. Seems especially from people who don’t agree with certain laws, cannabis prohibition is definitely a big one.

However, they’re not the makers of those laws, they simply are employed to enforce them & keep the peace etc. And they do it, day in, day out, abuse or kindness. They have incredible restraint when they’re having abuse yelled from every direction & that’s more than I can say about myself, I imagine most people whether they’ll admit it or not are the same.

They’re given fairly basic equipment to deal with criminals and unsavoury characters some of which would think nothing of pulling a knife or gun on you & they do it while getting paid less than the eejits who sit around in the cosy Dail coming up with some of the ridiculous laws that require Gardai to put themselves in danger.

They have to interview victims of crime and listen to some horrendous stories while keeping an objective view and not showing excess emotion. (They wouldn’t exactly be allowed cry with a rape victim for instance, which might be very hard depending on the story itself)

Say just one thing about gardai that's nice?

Despite all of that and more - they still get up every morning and go do their job, as awful as it might be some days or as challenging as it must be. Receive far too little thanks for their service and most people ridicule and make fun of them. Their every move is criticised & often videoed and put online.

Honestly, there’s no way I could be a Garda. Fair fcuking play to any of them.

Was he really sound for letting you off a driving offence, or corrupt and incompetent. If it was a politician people would go mad.
    Unprofessional is the word you are looking for.
    "Congratulations" on getting away with the ticket I suppose, but that wasn't a sound guard, it was a useless one.

I'm not going to give you or anyone else a finger wagging lecture, but there's a speed limit there for a reason and your man couldn't bother his bollix making the effort to ensure the safety of everyone else on the street at the same time as you.

probably should have expanded a bit on the situation, but not going to as it opens up some personal and employment sensitivities...

lets just say I agreed with him with the situation, explained mine, was all very cordial... he mentioned because what I was involved in was services to the state, he had the discretion to let me off with a warning... was 10km/h over the limit on an empty main road after midnight

so yeah... sound guard

probably should have expanded a bit on the situation, but not going to as it opens up some personal and employment sensitivities...

lets just say I agreed with him with the situation, explained mine, was all very cordial... he mentioned because what I was involved in was services to the state, he had the discretion to let me off with a warning... was 10km/h over the limit on an empty main road after midnight

so yeah... sound guard

There’s some people who just can’t agree with anything the gardai do, those types of people you’re wasting your time trying.

I've dealt with the Gardai a lot over the years... credit where it's due... better than the one who went through my phone when I was searched before or the various sneering smartarsed ones I've had to deal with over the years because of the crime of having to grow up in a bad area..

was nice to have a professional, pleasant experience for once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,245 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I’ve only had to deal with them once in twenty years in Ireland, and it was an OK experience for me. (I had walked in to the immediate aftermath of an assault and had to call the Garda and help the injured person - all while the assaulter was hanging around, too steaming drunk to think about leaving the scene.)

It was all pen and paper at the time (about 2013). I know they have IT systems, since I was considered for a contract IT role at their headquarters, but I turned it down after I saw the pay (poor) and the conditions (shift work with horrible hours). I have experience working for a government department in the UK, and some of those memories came creeping back when I read the Garda job spec.

Still, if you read the Garda Recruitment Forum, it seems to quite a popular choice of career. Guaranteed pension and all that. I wouldn’t qualify myself (not Irish and now too old and unhealthy), and I don’t think I’m enough of a “people person” to handle dealing with scumbags and bureaucracy, while maintaining my mental health. If you can achieve that much, respect is due.

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Most Garda I’ve dealt with were sound. People that have a problem with them have unrealistic expectations or are dodgy themselves.

Had a neighbour that was told about break-ins in the area then left a ground floor window open when they were out and was robbed. Complained the guards did nothing other than dusting for prints. This sums up most people’s attitudes to the Gardai. Expecting people to wipe their arses for them. The real issue is the judiciary that see repeat offenders let off with light sentences. I can imagine that must be very demotivating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Are you a GAA local "hero?"

:-D far from it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,345 ✭✭✭✭banie01

banie01 wrote: »
    Restraint, de-escalation and actual policing are great.

Do ye reckon one of the ERU lads read this thread and decided to go wild? ;)