Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dominance of Dublin GAA *Mod warning post#1*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

the kelt wrote: »
    Yeah I think that’s fair.

I do think that’s more to do with the managers they’ve chosen since Daly to be honest though.

Cunningham had different ideas but Daly had that Charisma that elevated the team, he really had them believing but they had a core group of great players. If Conal Keaney hurled for Kilkenny he would have gone down as one of the greats

They simply haven't replaced that group and have therefore regressed even with a top manager in Mattie Kenny in charge

Dublon footballers were always at a high level, maybe 90% as good as the best out there. The increase in gdf funding probably added 20% to their level and suddenly roles were reversed ans Kerry, Tyrone and Mayo were 90% of Dublins level.

The Dublin hurlers were at maybe 50% as good as the best out there. A 20% increase in performance would still leave them 70% as good. They started from a much lower base. But the evidence is obvious, the hurlers have hugely improved, no question.

In 2013 they were Leinster champions and league champions by your metrics that's around 80% but last year Laois knocked them out so you could argue they are back to 50% and therefore regressed. That's 7 years with no improvement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 NW_10

kilns wrote: »
    In 2013 they were Leinster champions and league champions by your metrics that's around 80% but last year Laois knocked them out so you could argue they are back to 50% and therefore regressed. That's 7 years with no improvement

They beat Laois twice this year. Last year was a blip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

Cunningham had different ideas but Daly had that Charisma that elevated the team, he really had them believing but they had a core group of great players. If Conal Keaney hurled for Kilkenny he would have gone down as one of the greats

They simply haven't replaced that group and have therefore regressed even with a top manager in Mattie Kenny in charge

I work with someone pretty well known in Cuala hurling circles who flagged Kenny as a disaster of an appointment for Dublin from the get go!

I thought he was wrong but every issue he laid out that would happen did.

NW_10 wrote: »
    They beat Laois twice this year. Last year was a blip.

And? All the previous years since 2013, how many leinster finals have they been in? How many league finals have they been in?

the kelt wrote: »
    I work with someone pretty well known in Cuala hurling circles who flagged Kenny as a disaster of an appointment for Dublin from the get go!

I thought he was wrong but every issue he laid out that would happen did.

Well he must have been a rare dissenting voice out of the majority of hurling people in Dublin and the players

And? All the previous years since 2013, how many leinster finals have they been in? How many league finals have they been in?

Are you denying that Dublin's hurlers have come on leaps and bounds since the 2000s? There has been huge growth at underage level and that will be seen in the years to come. Their biggest problem at the moment is a crap manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

As with any long term upward trends there will be ups and downs, but the ups will be more frequent than the downs and that has been the case for Dublin hurlers over the last 10 years. Choosing Gilroy as hurling manager was daft and set ye back years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Enquiring

What you fail to realise is that it's not the performance of teams in Dublin that is the issue. Winning things or losing things is just a byproduct. It's the huge level of resources that were handed to Dublin GAA that is the issue. Millions of euros for a Dublin only scheme. This has led to a huge increase in sponsorship, now also in the millions per year.

Increased success was inevitable with the influx of professional coaches but no one has a problem with Dublin being successful. If it was done fairly then everything would be fine. It wasn't done fairly though and it has left us in a position where Dublin must be split. You can't reverse 2 decades of the funding imbalance the GAA has overseen. It was at an obscene level.

Are you denying that Dublin's hurlers have come on leaps and bounds since the 2000s? There has been huge growth at underage level and that will be seen in the years to come. Their biggest problem at the moment is a crap manager.

I'm saying they have regressed since 2013 (7 years), results don't lie and the manager is certainly not the issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭ooter

Their biggest problem at the moment is a crap manager.

And Gaelic football's biggest problem for 7 years was that Dublin had a ****in outstanding manager.

Enquiring wrote: »
    What you fail to realise is that it's not the performance of teams in Dublin that is the issue. Winning things or losing things is just a byproduct. It's the huge level of resources that were handed to Dublin GAA that is the issue. Millions of euros for a Dublin only scheme. This has led to a huge increase in sponsorship, now also in the millions per year.

Increased success was inevitable with the influx of professional coaches but no one has a problem with Dublin being successful. If it was done fairly then everything would be fine. It wasn't done fairly though and it has left us in a position where Dublin must be split. You can't reverse 2 decades of the funding imbalance the GAA has overseen. It was at an obscene level.

Splitting Dublin is a stupid argument if done in isolation

ooter wrote: »
    And Gaelic football's biggest problem for 7 years was that Dublin had a ****in outstanding manager.

And the financial doping.

I'm saying they have regressed since 2013 (7 years), results don't lie and the manager is certainly not the issue

Dublin is still competitive with the other top teams. They haven't regressed much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

I doubt his absence will make too big a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Enquiring

Splitting Dublin is a stupid argument if done in isolation

No, the stupid part of all of this was giving the county with by far the largest population, the far largest portion of development funding. Splitting Dublin is the first part of the resolution.

It won't. He has just been replaced with another robot in Farrell.

Dublin is still competitive with the other top teams. They haven't regressed much.

10/15 years ago they were the 4th team in Leinster today they still are. They are not even in the top 8 in Ireland. Coming from leinster champions and league champions 7 years ago. I hate to say it but That is the definition of regression

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭ooter

The 5 in a row doesn't happen without him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Ah come on. Farrell took over and if anything they look even better. It aint the manager. Gavin would be nothing without all the advantages enjoyed by Dublin.

Gavin needs to prove himself elsewhere like all genuinely great managers, eg Mourinho, Ferguson and Guardiola in soccer, Micko in GAA and others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

The 5 in a row doesn't happen without him.

The ten in a row will.

Enquiring wrote: »
    No, the stupid part of all of this was giving the county with by far the largest population, the far largest portion of development funding. Splitting Dublin is the first part of the resolution.

I put you on ignore before because you made stupid claims and never answered questions asked of you. I'm not going to get into your stupid merry go round stuff again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

tritium wrote: »
    The dublin ladies had been knocking on the door since about 2003, along with a few other teams. Knocking mainly against an exceptional Cork ladies team who really do define domination

Dublin u21s won their first title in 2003 after being runners up in 2002.

Bit of a stretch to say that was the money at work

Bit disingenuous of you to ignore that don’t you think

11 All Ireland's in 12 years :D (Sorry had to get that in there as I was on the board for some of that time) Though that was on the back of some exceptional underage sides and huge work that was done in development way back in 2000 ad before, as well as an superb manager. Cork were exceptionally dominant at that stage underage, but then Dublin started becoming much stronger at underage.

The access the Dublin ladies clubs have to gyms etc is better than what a lot of the intercounty ladies teams have.

10/15 years ago they were the 4th team in Leinster today they still are. They are not even in the top 8 in Ireland. Coming from leinster champions and league champions 7 years ago. I hate to say it but That is the definition of regression

Look at the Leinster championship last year. They were third and level with KK and Wexford on 5 points. They came very close to beating KK this year despite a very poor 1st half. You're clueless if you think Dublin's hurlers are the same level as 15 years ago.

And who knocked them out of the same championship last year?

And your avoiding the fact that they have regressed since 2013. The title of this thread is the dominance of Dublin GAA not just the senior football team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

risteard7 wrote: »
    I was looking at Paul Manions Instagram. A brand new Hyundai Tuscon from Mooney motors in Deansgrange last year, I presume every player got one. He has a Rolex watch on in the picture posing beside the jeep.

Weirandsons on Grafton street kindly donated a Empori Armani smartwatch too, Lucky man.

Meanwhile Darren Hughes of Monaghan is up early milking the cows to make ends meet. That's what I love about Amateur sport

Darrens cows are milked by robots so he can stay in bed in the mornings:D:D

And your avoiding the fact that they have regressed since 2013. The title of this thread is the dominance of Dublin GAA not just the senior football team.

This thread was always about the football team. Nice attempt at a deflection but it won't work.

Not deflecting it's what we have been discussing

The fact you can't admit the Dublin senior hurling team are not at same level as they were in 2013 means we should move on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Yeah said it earlier, not sure about Donegal but Kerry would've caught them this year I reckon if it had been a normal champo.
    Cork might've still beaten them in Munster but they would've still came through the qualifiers and super 8s to eventually meet dublin

no they wouldnt.... those of ye that think that Kerry are snapping at the heels of the dubs and are going to end there reign will be disappointed.. 5-in-a-row at minor gets mentioned.. the firsrt winning minor team was the 2014 minors.. them lads are now 24 going on 25.. no senior medals.. meanwhile eoin murchan also 24 has 4 all ireland medals and bryan howard who is younger has 3 medals.... kerry have alot of work to do to beat dublin and i cant see it happening anytime soon... and thats not yerra yerra talk by me either..

Not deflecting it's what we have been discussing

The fact you can't admit the Dublin senior hurling team are not at same as they were in 2013 means we should move on

We're only discussing it because Dubs keep bringing up the hurlers deflect from discussing the dominance of the football team. That's why this thread was created. Your point about the hurlers has already been debunked several times.