Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dominance of Dublin GAA *Mod warning post#1*

• Registered Users Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

jmayo wrote: »
    At last someone admitting the strength and domination of Dublin football, albeit only at club level.

The amount of cognitive dissonance ye lads engage in could provide work for some sort of psychologist for years.

For some unknown reason all that investment in coaching kids and attracting kids in school has supposedly had absolutely no affect on the senior teams.

Then the professional coaches with clubs helping perfect underage development supposedly has no affect on senior side.

Those kids never it seems grow up and play adult football. :rolleyes:

Now you are admitting that huge numbers playing in Dublin clubs and that they have some very sizable clubs, right ?

Let me guess that then has no effect on the Dublin county sides?

Sure everything is alright nothing to worry about because the hurlers have been under performing, albeit way above what they used to perform at pre 2005 or so. :rolleyes:

You are correct in what you say, Dublins advantage is the advantage of being the capital city with the biggest population, for years the natural resource at their disposal (children aged 5 -16) was never properly tapped into but structures were put in place and now clubs have benefitted from this increase in numbers 90% of kids that are reached will never ever even see their club senior team but it increases the strength and depth.

In turn Dublin has benefitted from attracting the hearts and minds of kids, Dublin will always have had the McCarthys, Fentons, Rocks and McCaffreys as they are steeped in the game but perhaps they would have picked up players that may have had gone down the soccer or rugby route. This is not a bad thing and as I said its Dublins natural advantage. Other counties simply wont even gain this advantage if they were given 10 million a year.

Nobody wants to see a one sided competition like we have now but can anyone forgive a Dublin fan the right to bask in their glory when others were laughing at them for 10 years in the 00s

The question is what can be done. the calls for defunding Dublin is mute I believe as the funding is going to the right places and children shouldnt suffer as a result.

Splitting Dublin is the hot topic currently but it solves nothing, splitting Dublin would only benefit the likes of Mayo, Kerry and Tyrone it would do nothing for the likes of Louth Leitrim and Longford

I believe that everything needs to be centralised in terms of coaching, some county boards are a joke and it is all politics which holds them back and while you have some good people in county boards they arent up to the job. Centralising a national games development would enable the very best to run the show and treat each area on a cases by case basis. For example, the likes of Belfast, Dundalk, Drogheda are really untapped and need a different approach to rural areas.

In addition, it would take probably a generation for a total buy in but the county system is not fit for purpose and needs to go. I would be in favour of approx 24 franchises to create a level playing field country wide

You would wonder where the 1.3m that Dublin annually spend on team preparation is going then. It's not going on travel expenses and the backroom are a team of volunteers (citation needed), very curious

well not on paying a kitman a wage etc

• Registered Users Posts: 13,187 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

kilns wrote: »
    You are correct in what you say, Dublins advantage is the advantage of being the capital city with the biggest population, for years the natural resource at their disposal (children aged 5 -16) was never properly tapped into but structures were put in place and now clubs have benefitted from this increase in numbers 90% of kids that are reached will never ever even see their club senior team but it increases the strength and depth.

In turn Dublin has benefitted from attracting the hearts and minds of kids, Dublin will always have had the McCarthys, Fentons, Rocks and McCaffreys as they are steeped in the game but perhaps they would have picked up players that may have had gone down the soccer or rugby route. This is not a bad thing and as I said its Dublins natural advantage. Other counties simply wont even gain this advantage if they were given 10 million a year.

Nobody wants to see a one sided competition like we have now but can anyone forgive a Dublin fan the right to bask in their glory when others were laughing at them for 10 years in the 00s

The question is what can be done. the calls for defunding Dublin is mute I believe as the funding is going to the right places and children shouldnt suffer as a result.

Splitting Dublin is the hot topic currently but it solves nothing, splitting Dublin would only benefit the likes of Mayo, Kerry and Tyrone it would do nothing for the likes of Louth Leitrim and Longford

I believe that everything needs to be centralised in terms of coaching, some county boards are a joke and it is all politics which holds them back and while you have some good people in county boards they arent up to the job. Centralising a national games development would enable the very best to run the show and treat each area on a cases by case basis. For example, the likes of Belfast, Dundalk, Drogheda are really untapped and need a different approach to rural areas.

In addition, it would take probably a generation for a total buy in but the county system is not fit for purpose and needs to go. I would be in favour of approx 24 franchises to create a level playing field country wide

For once we agree on something the intercounty system is unworkable.

It always was to a large extent, but it has been Dublins dominance that has finally brought this home in stark reality.

I was thinking club, but again you would have much richer clubs in cities than rural.
    Ultimately the game if it is to survive will have to grow around urban areas.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 13,187 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Why do Dublin need a logistics person, they hardly go anywhere :D

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

Why do Dublin need a logistics person, they hardly go anywhere :D

But when they do, they go in great numbers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭AlanG

A handicap is far from a good idea. Name any field team sport that does this? It isnt fair or reasonable.

American Football do this along with very strict funding and wage caps in order to ensure competitiveness. It has worked extremely well.

Not sure how you could implement it in GAA but it certainly works.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

AlanG wrote: »
    American Football do this along with very strict funding and wage caps in order to ensure competitiveness. It has worked extremely well.

Not sure how you could implement it in GAA but it certainly works.
    They dont do a score handicap though.
    There is funding and wage caps but wage caps are irrelevant to large extent when players are not paid.
    NFL is incompareable. It also has major transfer system. It doesnt have the ties to a club/team like in GAA.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,149 ✭✭✭ooter

For once we agree on something the intercounty system is unworkable.

It always was to a large extent, but it has been Dublins dominance that has finally brought this home in stark reality.

Yeah Kerry can win tonnes of Munster titles and more all Ireland's than any other county and win 7 sams in 9 years and almost win 5 in a rows and Shure lookit, that's grand and it's accepted as the norm, but Dublin start winning tonnes of leinsters and more all Irelands than other counties and something has to be done and it's all down to money.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,700 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

well not on paying a kitman a wage etc

The kitman probably comes free, I'll give you that

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

ooter wrote: »
    Yeah Kerry can win tonnes of Munster titles and more all Ireland's than any other county and win 7 sams in 9 years and almost win 5 in a rows and Shure lookit, that's grand and it's accepted as the norm, but Dublin start winning tonnes of leinsters and more all Irelands than other counties and something has to be done and it's all down to money.

I've 18m reasons to say otherwise.

Zero Liam McCarthys in the capital says otherwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,214 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

There is little stopping clubs in other counties from combining or going alone to have someone going into local schools to coach.

See post 5058 for a look at the reality of the vast majority of club finances and why this statement is incorrect.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Zero Liam McCarthys in the capital says otherwise.

This nonsense again. Dublin hurlers started from a lower base and improved a lot after more money came in. Anyway, did you see who did win Liam this year? Limerick aren't broke.

Yep limerick are very unlucky not to be going for 4 in a row next year but not a whisper about money.
    People think it's nonsense that Dublin senior hurlers should be winning all irelands with they money that has flooded in to the county and that's fine, entitled to that opinion.
    I think it's nonsense that this Dublin football teams success is down to money and I'm entitled to that opinion.
    Keep mentioning money and I'll keep mentioning hurling cos it doesn't suit the agenda.

This nonsense again. Dublin hurlers started from a lower base and improved a lot after more money came in. Anyway, did you see who did win Liam this year? Limerick aren't broke.

Would you consider winning Leinster and winning the league a low base?

• Registered Users Posts: 896 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

Limerick got their house in order at underage yrs ago. Seen the benefits now

Vinnie222 wrote: »

And apparently they took advice from Dublin on the structures they were putting in place, somebody else might confirm/deny that?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Number of registered teams in each county 2019

Underage Hurling Underage Football Adult Hurling Adult Football Under 20 Hurling Under 20 Football Underage Total Adult Total Under 20 Total Total

Cork 950 1091 217 255 99 116 2041 472 215 2728
    Dublin 912 1137 113 186 21 25 2049 299 46 2394
    Tipperary 544 511 120 74 55 45 1055 194 100 1349
    Galway 401 382 105 102 38 40 783 207 78 1068
    Meath 232 590 43 110 15 41 822 153 56 1031
    Kildare 272 570 27 94 12 36 842 121 48 1011
    Limerick 354 366 85 60 37 34 720 145 71 936
    Waterford 395 385 76 56 4 3 780 132 7 919
    Wexford 294 291 93 79 37 38 585 172 75 832
    Clare 351 259 70 52 32 22 610 122 54 786
    Kerry 132 468 23 113 9 40 600 136 49 785
    Kilkenny 319 202 86 27 36 4 521 113 40 674
    Mayo 56 469 6 84 3 38 525 90 41 656
    Donegal 85 382 10 79 8 36 467 89 44 600
    Louth 73 374 6 73 0 21 447 79 21 547
    Tyrone 33 339 5 96 1 26 372 101 27 500
    Antrim 165 188 47 62 9 20 353 109 29 491
    Down 71 289 19 83 7 13 360 102 20 482
    Laois 139 196 52 64 13 17 335 116 30 481
    Offaly 144 142 42 56 14 13 286 98 27 411
    Westmeath 82 202 32 59 10 17 284 91 27 402
    Wicklow 89 206 21 67 1 14 295 88 15 398
    Cavan 26 257 2 78 0 34 283 80 34 397
    Armagh 56 231 8 66 2 24 287 74 26 387
    Derry 68 208 13 66 6 20 276 79 26 381
    Roscommon 46 201 13 56 5 21 247 69 26 342
    Monaghan 27 225 8 64 0 6 252 72 6 330
    Carlow 83 105 20 43 8 15 188 63 23 274
    Sligo 55 153 7 37 1 17 208 44 18 270
    Longford 24 164 4 33 0 15 188 37 15 240
    Fermanagh 30 148 2 42 1 11 178 44 12 234
    Leitrim 10 105 4 47 0 12 115 51 12 178

6518 10836 1379 2463 484 834 17354 3842 1318 22514

Number of registered teams in each county 2009

Underage Hurling Underage Football Adult Hurling Adult Football Under 21 Hurling Under 21 Football Underage Total Adult Total Under 21 Total Total

Cork 771 884 237 288 97 128 1655 525 225 2405
    Dublin 507 716 108 173 22 29 1223 281 51 1555
    Tipperary 457 446 136 92 57 46 903 228 103 1234
    Limerick 386 399 102 78 39 35 785 180 74 1039
    Galway 335 385 113 116 41 41 720 229 82 1031
    Wexford 300 291 99 89 37 39 591 188 76 855
    Kerry 134 456 26 128 8 47 590 154 55 799
    Meath 128 428 41 117 17 45 556 158 62 776
    Antrim 286 295 50 71 13 19 581 121 32 734
    Kilkenny 293 235 86 31 36 17 528 117 53 698
    Waterford 272 222 76 63 25 24 494 139 49 682
    Kildare 133 353 29 102 6 28 486 131 34 651
    Clare 243 211 67 59 31 24 454 126 55 635
    Tyrone 49 400 6 99 1 35 449 105 36 590
    Mayo 51 365 9 85 4 41 416 94 45 555
    Donegal 76 331 9 84 1 35 407 93 36 536
    Louth 66 323 7 79 1 24 389 86 25 500
    Down 89 245 22 91 1 10 334 113 11 458
    Laois 118 150 62 71 12 17 268 133 29 430
    Armagh 56 245 9 78 1 30 301 87 31 419
    Wicklow 104 201 25 75 1 1 305 100 2 407
    Cavan 12 242 3 89 0 32 254 92 32 378
    Westmeath 66 152 33 65 12 23 218 98 35 351
    Derry 44 217 14 71 1 1 261 85 2 348
    Offaly 103 93 51 61 11 12 196 112 23 331
    Monaghan 26 199 12 66 1 17 225 78 18 321
    Carlow 79 117 18 47 8 14 196 65 22 283
    Roscommon 38 128 15 61 5 26 166 76 31 273
    Sligo 46 150 8 46 1 14 196 54 15 265
    Leitrim 16 113 5 60 0 15 129 65 15 209
    Longford 16 95 4 52 1 25 111 56 26 193
    Fermanagh 23 101 3 42 1 9 124 45 10 179

5323 9188 1485 2729 492 903 14511 4214 1395 20120

Change in number of registered teams in each county between 2009 and 2019

Underage Hurling Underage Football Adult Hurling Adult Football Under 20 Hurling Under 20 Football Underage Total Adult Total Under 20 Total Total

Dublin 405 421 5 13 -1 -4 826 18 -5 839
    Kildare 139 217 -2 -8 6 8 356 -10 14 360
    Cork 179 207 -20 -33 2 -12 386 -53 -10 323
    Meath 104 162 2 -7 -2 -4 266 -5 -6 255
    Waterford 123 163 0 -7 -21 -21 286 -7 -42 237
    Clare 108 48 3 -7 1 -2 156 -4 -1 151
    Tipperary 87 65 -16 -18 -2 -1 152 -34 -3 115
    Mayo 5 104 -3 -1 -1 -3 109 -4 -4 101
    Offaly 41 49 -9 -5 3 1 90 -14 4 80
    Roscommon 8 73 -2 -5 0 -5 81 -7 -5 69
    Donegal 9 51 1 -5 7 1 60 -4 8 64
    Fermanagh 7 47 -1 0 0 2 54 -1 2 55
    Laois 21 46 -10 -7 1 0 67 -17 1 51
    Westmeath 16 50 -1 -6 -2 -6 66 -7 -8 51
    Longford 8 69 0 -19 -1 -10 77 -19 -11 47
    Louth 7 51 -1 -6 -1 -3 58 -7 -4 47
    Galway 66 -3 -8 -14 -3 -1 63 -22 -4 37
    Derry 24 -9 -1 -5 5 19 15 -6 24 33
    Down -18 44 -3 -8 6 3 26 -11 9 24
    Cavan 14 15 -1 -11 0 2 29 -12 2 19
    Monaghan 1 26 -4 -2 -1 -11 27 -6 -12 9
    Sligo 9 3 -1 -9 0 3 12 -10 3 5
    Carlow 4 -12 2 -4 0 1 -8 -2 1 -9
    Wicklow -15 5 -4 -8 0 13 -10 -12 13 -9
    Kerry -2 12 -3 -15 1 -7 10 -18 -6 -14
    Wexford -6 0 -6 -10 0 -1 -6 -16 -1 -23
    Kilkenny 26 -33 0 -4 0 -13 -7 -4 -13 -24
    Leitrim -6 -8 -1 -13 0 -3 -14 -14 -3 -31
    Armagh 0 -14 -1 -12 1 -6 -14 -13 -5 -32
    Tyrone -16 -61 -1 -3 0 -9 -77 -4 -9 -90
    Limerick -32 -33 -17 -18 -2 -1 -65 -35 -3 -103
    Antrim -121 -107 -3 -9 -4 1 -228 -12 -3 -243

1195 1648 -106 -266 -8 -69 2843 -372 -77 2394

Change in number of registered football teams in each county between 2009 and 2019

Underage Football Adult Football Under 20 Football Total

Dublin 421 13 -4 430
    Kildare 217 -8 8 217
    Cork 207 -33 -12 162
    Meath 162 -7 -4 151
    Waterford 163 -7 -21 135
    Mayo 104 -1 -3 100
    Roscommon 73 -5 -5 63
    Fermanagh 47 0 2 49
    Donegal 51 -5 1 47
    Tipperary 65 -18 -1 46
    Offaly 49 -5 1 45
    Louth 51 -6 -3 42
    Longford 69 -19 -10 40
    Clare 48 -7 -2 39
    Down 44 -8 3 39
    Laois 46 -7 0 39
    Westmeath 50 -6 -6 38
    Monaghan 26 -2 -11 13
    Wicklow 5 -8 13 10
    Cavan 15 -11 2 6
    Derry -9 -5 19 5
    Sligo 3 -9 3 -3
    Kerry 12 -15 -7 -10
    Wexford 0 -10 -1 -11
    Carlow -12 -4 1 -15
    Galway -3 -14 -1 -18
    Leitrim -8 -13 -3 -24
    Armagh -14 -12 -6 -32
    Kilkenny -33 -4 -13 -50
    Limerick -33 -18 -1 -52
    Tyrone -61 -3 -9 -73
    Antrim -107 -9 1 -115

1648 -266 -69 1313

Change in number of registered hurling teams in each county between 2009 and 2019

Underage Hurling Adult Hurling Under 20 Hurling Total

Dublin 405 5 -1 409
    Cork 179 -20 2 161
    Kildare 139 -2 6 143
    Clare 108 3 1 112
    Meath 104 2 -2 104
    Waterford 123 0 -21 102
    Tipperary 87 -16 -2 69
    Galway 66 -8 -3 55
    Offaly 41 -9 3 35
    Derry 24 -1 5 28
    Kilkenny 26 0 0 26
    Donegal 9 1 7 17
    Cavan 14 -1 0 13
    Westmeath 16 -1 -2 13
    Laois 21 -10 1 12
    Sligo 9 -1 0 8
    Longford 8 0 -1 7
    Carlow 4 2 0 6
    Fermanagh 7 -1 0 6
    Roscommon 8 -2 0 6
    Louth 7 -1 -1 5
    Mayo 5 -3 -1 1
    Armagh 0 -1 1 0
    Kerry -2 -3 1 -4
    Monaghan 1 -4 -1 -4
    Leitrim -6 -1 0 -7
    Wexford -6 -6 0 -12
    Down -18 -3 6 -15
    Tyrone -16 -1 0 -17
    Wicklow -15 -4 0 -19
    Limerick -32 -17 -2 -51
    Antrim -121 -3 -4 -128

1195 -106 -8 1081

The data for the registered number of teams was taken from the GAA financial accounts.
    I don't think the switch between the U21 and U20 age grade would have all that significant a factor in the number of teams registered.

The big red warning klaxon for the GAA has to be the change in Dublin's figures.
    Going from 1,555 teams to 2,394 teams (an increase of 839 teams) in a decade show how much Dublin GAA has increased.

Where the growth has occurred is the real worrying trend because it looks very much like the increase at underage hasn't yet really fed through to adult level so it's very likely that things are going to get much worse in terms of Dublin's dominance.

There was an increase of 421 in the number of underage football teams, yet only an increase of 13 in the number of adult football teams. [Interestingly Dublin are the only county to show an increase in the number of adult football teams - ever other county, bar Fermanagh where the number didn't change, has less football teams at adult level than a decade ago] There was an increase of 405 in the number of underage hurling teams yet only an increase of 5 in the number of adult hurling teams. An overall increase of 826 in underage football and hurling teams yet that only increased the number of adult teams in football and hurling by 18.

The fact that the worst is yet to come is borne out by Dublin GAA's own figures.

From the Dublin GAA 2020 annual report
    For the CCC1 Go Games programme (U8 to U12) we are +69% since 2008 in Football and the equivalent in Hurling terms is +119%.

For every 100 footballers who were between U8 and U12 in 2008, there are now 169 footballers across those same U8 to U12 age grades.
    For every 100 hurlers who were between U8 and U12 in 2008, there are now 219 hurlers across those same U8 to U12 age grades.

Dublin have won 7 of the last 9 Senior All-Irelands and have never been as successful in terms of both codes at all levels and this is when the vast increase in underage playing numbers hasn't really fed through to senior level yet.

Looking at the figures from a Kerry point of view - Dublin registered more new teams in this decade [839] than Kerry registered in total in 2019. This stat is true for 24 counties.

• Registered Users Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

I was looking at Paul Manions Instagram. A brand new Hyundai Tuscon from Mooney motors in Deansgrange last year, I presume every player got one. He has a Rolex watch on in the picture posing beside the jeep.

Weirandsons on Grafton street kindly donated a Empori Armani smartwatch too, Lucky man.

Meanwhile Darren Hughes of Monaghan is up early milking the cows to make ends meet. That's what I love about Amateur sport

• Registered Users Posts: 18,295 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Yes the vast majority are doing it for free for example the analysts i know for a fact do it for free. For the physios it is not their full time jobs but the quodos it brings being associated with an inter county team brings huge benefits to their private profession. But I am sure they are compensated for their expenses just like every single county does and if you deny that, then you are only kidding yourself

You dont think Mayo are handing out money and expenses to their physios and S&C coach.

Stop looking for things that arent there and making claims without any proof. Mayo could add another 10 people to their back room team if they wanted, who cares what size it is

While I know that most analyst are not paid unless they are the video analyst people I know no physio in any county and few at club level that are not paid. Most physio's cover first aid as well. Physio to a county team would entail 15-20 hours work a week.

In general anyone who is using there skillset is paid. On most county set up, Manager, coach's, physio's and other professionals are all paid. Selectors are generally on expenses as well as stats men. Video analyst are paid as well because.of the time it takes.

There is no physio not getting paid kudos for private practice is no good at f half your working weekends gone

Slava Ukrainii

the vast increase in numbers hasn't really fed through to senior level yet.
    As I suspected, the games development funding has clearly had an impact on participation numbers of children in Dublin but this crop of players were coming, the cream rose to the top.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,395 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Yep limerick are very unlucky not to be going for 4 in a row next year but not a whisper about money.
    People think it's nonsense that Dublin senior hurlers should be winning all irelands with they money that has flooded in to the county and that's fine, entitled to that opinion.
    I think it's nonsense that this Dublin football teams success is down to money and I'm entitled to that opinion.
    Keep mentioning money and I'll keep mentioning hurling cos it doesn't suit the agenda.

How were they unlucky? There were beaten 3 times in a year, the last of which knocked them out.
    Dublin have only lost twice in 10 years if I am correct.

• Registered Users Posts: 896 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

And apparently they took advice from Dublin on the structures they were putting in place, somebody else might confirm/deny that?

Got their advice from Liam Brady when he was over Arensal Academy. Liam Brady has something on it in the local paper last yr

• Registered Users Posts: 4,214 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Limerick are a very strong team, they have had more or less the same team the last three years, won the first final by a point, beaten in semi final the following year, won final comfortably this year but were all square in injury time against a Galway team short of their two best forwards and aside from Daithi Burke, their two most influential players in Cathal Mannion & Joe Canning.

There is no comparison, as yet, to the dominance Dublin have exerted.

It’s not that your why haven’t Dublin won Liam McCarthy doesn’t fit the ‘agenda’, it’s just that it’s a very simplistic outlook.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,437 ✭✭✭tritium

Your post above makes it sound like the template came from Dublin. It didn't. The GAA were the ones who came up with it and helped implement it.
    That model simply will not help young lads whose parents are Dublin fans and who see Dublin win over and over choose to represent the county they live in. There will be exceptions to that but it's not the same as getting a young lad to choose to play GAA over soccer or rugby.

And I'm well aware that no solution will make Kildare or Meath competitive in Leinster in the foreseeable future. Both sides have done reasonably well against stronger teams in other provinces recently but each year, the expectation in Leinster is basically "get as far as Dublin and then try your luck in the qualifiers". That's not changing for the next 10 years or so at least and I'm expecting Dublin to win each Leinster SFC title in the 2020s.
    But I'm interested to hear the definition of what "hobbling" Dublin would be. I've seen some Dublin fans argue that stopping development funding would be hobbling Dublin. If that's the case then it's basically admitting that the GAA hobbled every county except Dublin for over 10 years as the games development project funding was not available to anyone but Dublin in that time.

I, personally, wouldn't be against cutting Dublin's development funding even further. The commercial revenue being taken in is enormous. Dublin county board have spent between €10 and €20 million on Spawell and Hollystown in the last 3 years without even the need to fundraise. This shows that any development funding the GAA is currently throwing their way would easily be able to be covered by the county board.

See this “that won’t work” mindset is the most negative and annoying thing in all of this- why won’t it? It’s the same attitude folks had when the 2011 dublin plan came out- I remember one wag assuring us dublin were embarrassing themselves with their plans to win all Ireland’s. Doesn’t look so silly in hindsight

So someone suggests helping Kildare and Meath harness their resources and your response is why? No, let’s just cut dublins funding some more. Or other posters suggestions of splitting dublin. Why raise your own standard when it’s easier to just beggar thy neighbour

The saddest part is the meaths and Kildare s have very little to lose by actually trying. It’s a win win to look to get those kids and families involved. You say they’ve been reasonably competitive but honestly, they’re not. Last time I heard someone wax on like that about Kildare they were complaining after dublin had hammered them. A little while later Kerry put 7 goals past them. Competitive my ear

• Registered Users Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

risteard7 wrote: »
    I was looking at Paul Manions Instagram. A brand new Hyundai Tuscon from Mooney motors in Deansgrange last year, I presume every player got one. He has a Rolex watch on in the picture posing beside the jeep.

Weirandsons on Grafton street kindly donated a Empori Armani smartwatch too, Lucky man.

Meanwhile Darren Hughes of Monaghan is up early milking the cows to make ends meet. That's what I love about Amateur sport
    Big assumption to make that every Dublin player got a car and there is plenty from other counties who have use of cars from sponsors.

Vinnie222 wrote: »

My understanding is different. One of the main underage development officers in Limerick he developed there non-competetive under 10 structure was recruited by GAA Central council pre 2010. He was moved to Dublin to help with there structure. He may have still helped at Limerick.

He developed a lot of the lifting the treaty structured up to under 12 and at schools level. He developed the Mackey cup school divisional structure that now leads into the county academy structure. As this project was moving from Mackey to Academy he got a coaching post with CP and moved to Dublin

Slava Ukrainii

robbiezero wrote: »
    How were they unlucky? There were beaten 3 times in a year, the last of which knocked them out.
    Limerick were unhappy that they weren’t awarded a late, late '65’ when a line-ball was deflected over the end-line by a Kilkenny defender.
    Loads have said limerick were a decision away from 3 in a row.

On the other hand they were a decision away from one in s row. In 2018 while well deserving of the win it could have gone the other way. If Galway had drawn the match in all likelihood they have won the replay. Last year Limerick always looked like a team that would be caught.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 4,395 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I think they would probably have made them play the final even if they won the semi-final.
    Has to be some of the biggest nonsense I have seen that a team can lose 3 times and exit in a semi-final and be "unlucky" not to have won the final.

They were beaten fair and square by KK on the day. There will always be single minor decisions that both teams could point to that could have gone their way. They weren't good enough on the day, thats why they lost.

Comparing them to Dublin at this point is tripe. Come back when they do 5 in a row (very unlikely).