Christmas DEADLINE spells death knell of Covid: Yuletide Liveline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,527 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

So this is literally a book about how woman in olden days could get the ride?....for whoy?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,260 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Such a patronising bollix he is

28 euro....lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

There hasn't been any book described here yet that I would be tempted to buy, nothing close.

I’m going to write a buke next year about a telephonist on €400k a year who doesn’t speak English. I’m going to write it in Dubalinese. Think of a working class Ross O’Carroll Kelly amateur sleuth, artist, intellectual, psychologist, man o de peeple type thing. Might set up a gofundme or a Kickstarter page to fund it.

Anyone for the advance copies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,260 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Even she is bored now

Yeahhhh sure joe yeahhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

gmisk wrote: »
    A constantly failing businessman....

They could get the guy on with the sausages from the other week....

De Internationally Renowned Sausage Designer.

I’m going to write a buke next year about a telephonist on €400k a year who doesn’t speak English. I’m going to write it in Dubalinese. Think of a working class Ross O’Carroll Kelly amateur sleuth, artist, intellectual, psychologist, man o de peeple type thing. Might set up a gofundme or a Kickstarter page to fund it.

That genuinely sounds more interesting than every book plugged on this show today....

I KNOW DAT! I KNOW DAT! I KNOW DAT!

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    De Internationally Renowned Sausage Designer.
    Who the people of Kerry cruelly didn't support!!!!

Joe trolling us with that short story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,006 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

You'll need a title. How about "So To Speak"?

Eppinhams.
    Would dat be de Cheltenham Eppinhams?

Oh no, de same shyt tomorra.

Flukey wrote: »

"Bad Line for Bad Bad Bstads."

Back tomorrow with hundreds of more self published books....

Ffs

Flukey wrote: »

I was thinking something more along the lines of

“Can you believe I’m getting away this?”

De sequel will be called:

“Can you believe I’m still getting away with this?”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Ffs

two days of that sh1te:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Ffs

Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Clon63

If I was given bagatelle concert tickets I would ask for a refund...

Dont like you anymore caller. Bagatelle are a guilty pleasure of mine - seen them a few times.

In the pub I was in on Saturday having my substantial meal and watching the match the butiful, wunderful Summer in Dublin cae on after the match Was just by Grafton Street as well so it was epic. A bit crazy though hearing it Christmas week

Well if theres more bukes tomorrow does than mean no highlights and lowlights of the year for this year, so to speak? If so thank God/Allah or your worship personality of choice

Clon63 wrote: »
    Dont like you anymore caller. Bagatelle are a guilty pleasure of mine - seen them a few times.

In the pub I was in on Saturday having my substantial meal and watching the match the butiful, wunderful Summer in Dublin cae on after the match Was just by Grafton Street as well so it was epic. A bit crazy though hearing it Christmas week

Had many a great night at their shows in the early - mid 80s in Katie Daly's in killaloe, The Ormond Nenagh and somewhere in Limerick I can't remember the name of.

:P
    Ah feck this, I'm out!

Ah here where is your wurking class wurk ethic?

You were doung so well with your bwaudiful well done count and could have got a go rebbbb mot aguuutt not to mention a TYFYS but instead decided to go AWOL wuthout completing the job ...

sligojoek wrote: »
    Had many a great night at their shows in the early - mid 80s in Katie Daly's in killaloe, The Ormond Nenagh and somewhere in Limerick I can't remember the name of.

Was only a chisler back then but grew up with my Dad playing them all the time so git to know the tunes. Still go andvsee them with my Dad. Last time was in Vicar Street at the start of the yeat. Only place Ive seen the outside Dublin was in the Theatre Royal (aka Travellers Friend) in Castlebar. Big crowd there. Good live if a bit repetitive in that I can guess the order of the songs.

They must be a fair age now. I knew they were doing a few gigs around the place. A friend of mine is (was) in the band transport game and had worked with them last year and the year before. Like a lot of bands, big and small, from that era it's just a "Greatest hits" tour. Still, no harm in a bit of nostalgia.

Brings back memories, classic Dublin song now. In the 1970s I was a teen and my mother and her sisters were running a cottage industry supplying mohair accessories to the brand Donegal Design which sold at the airports, hotels etc., especially for the growing American tourist market. Supplied Scotch House in UK at times too. That was my mother's own business idea and she approached the larger company with it, sent families to college on it. They each had a room in their respective homes in the Dublin/Wicklow region where they designed & manufactured, ran the business side etc. Various in-laws got casual employment helping out, and one of them used to cones Dali on the 46A bus during the time "Sumner in Dublin" was out. She & my mother would be singing away to that on the radio, and everything in the lyrics rang so true at that that time. She used to traipse up through Grafton St to catch the 46A, where the young folk were starting to dress fashionably, and the Liffey did indeed stink like hell back then. The 46A had one or two regular well-known drunks who would spend their time on board.

He’s not going to do a second day of self-published bukes is he? I didn’t think he could be any lazier.

He is! :(

Here's my purple mash attached below, at least spent the time making dat and not wasted. Quite de Christmas centrepiece:

Please get thanking (to vote) next thread title. Want to make it as democratic a process as possible, even if I have spliced suggestions and bonded halves together so to speak...

https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2058076426/22/#post115677793

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Caller driven show me bollix, their phonelines must have been hammered out of it with people stuck in the UK trying to get home and they instead run with some bellends and their books which could have been slotted in anywhere.

Always struck me as very strange the timing of the self-published bukes shoyte; if he really wanted to promote them he should be doing it in the first week of December. Doing it now in Christmas week means even if you really wanted one of them, you’d struggle to get it in time for Christmas so to speak.