Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Share Picks 2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭outonawing

No change on Degiro :confused: and I pay for RT.

Is there a 15 minute delay?

Edit: must learn to read before replying ��

outonawing wrote: »
    Is there a 15 minute delay?

I'm following MAD IAG pricing and there's no update on the Degiro or other on line tickers. I do see the bid sell prices on Degiro. At around 1.48.

All cash looking to buy IAG. Seems to be a problem with the MAD exchange.

Edit. It's back on Degiro now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭outonawing

I'm following MAD IAG pricing and there's no update on the Degiro or other on line tickers. I do see the bid sell prices on Degiro. At around 1.48.

All cash looking to buy IAG. Seems to be a problem with the MAD exchange.

Edit. It's back on Degiro now.
    DeGiro have prices for IAG on LSE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭md23040

FTSE taking a serious bath and IAG in freefall down 11%. Covid sensitive stocks taking a battering such as BP. There is a good buying opportunity emerging.

Looks like a UK issue as the Nikkei doing the opposite of the FTSE at moment, interesting to see how the US opens based on the $900bn stimulus package.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

I've a feeling there'll be lots of those 10% movement emails tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭pp_me

Big question here is, when the US markets open are they going to take a bath too out of general fear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 ADZAM

Does anyone have any insight into GREENCOAT RENEWABLES (GRP)? State backed Irish fund investing in wind farms, it could be a slow and steady one with a dividend kicker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

US futures down 2.5% and heading south, going to be a bloody day today for sure.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭kennypowers

Bought byd the Chinese conglomerate and electric truck and battery manufacturer last week .I admit I based a lot on the fact that Buffett has strongly backed the company and a fomo having not gone in on nio ,tesla.
    Its more of a speculative play on my part .Their trucks and trains sales are doing well but by god their cars are ugly.Up 8 per cent today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,508 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Supercell wrote: »
    US futures down 2.5% and heading south, going to be a bloody day today for sure.
    The Christmas Sales comes early :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭positron

positron wrote: »
    ..and bought 10 more Sony shares (I had 10 Sony shares last couple of years and they had gone up from early 20s to early 60s in that time. And I think the PS5 unveiling later today should be a positive thing overall). So yeah, fingers crossed! :o

Sony Corp shares heading to $100 now. PS5 is a massive success and they can't make enough to meet the demand, and I would imagine some of that success will translate to game sales downstream as well.

Did anyone notice the FullyCharged "premier" of XPeng cars being delivered to Norway? Any thoughts if that's a nice share to pick up? I do think China is going to do what Japan did many decades back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Jin luk

With the UK news and all would it be smart to sell today and buy back after the Red day that's coming up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Jin luk wrote: »
    With the UK news and all would it be smart to sell today and buy back after the Red day that's coming up?

No point trying to time the market like that, the US market is only back like 1% premarket, against Europe back 2 or 3%, the stimulus package was finally agreed in the US yesterday, so what if you sold at the open at whatever drop, and instead it rallys for the day, your buying back in tomorrow at a higher price.

Days like today however are very useful for showing me why never to let fomo get to me, I've been in and out of APPs (digital turbine) the last few months, I totally missed their current rally from 35 to 57 across the last week and was feeling the fomo on Friday lol, what if it keeps on going to 70/80 etc lol, premarket right now it's back to 51 lol, that would be of been painful if I'd acted on my fomo impulse Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mickiemcfist

Jin luk wrote: »

What I tend to do when there's negative movement on the cards, I hedge by shorting the same stock using spread bets so I ultimately hold a neutral position on price movements & don't expose myself to a CGT liability by selling the stock.

The limitations are that A, there's a commission & B, depends how large your position is, as sometimes my share positions are smaller than the minimum transaction for a spread bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭ExMachina1000

Bought byd the Chinese conglomerate and electric truck and battery manufacturer last week .I admit I based a lot on the fact that Buffett has strongly backed the company and a fomo having not gone in on nio ,tesla.
    Its more of a speculative play on my part .Their trucks and trains sales are doing well but by god their cars are ugly.Up 8 per cent today.

The blockchain company "vechain " are well linked with byd.

https://www.ledgerinsights.com/blockchain-carbon-credits-driving-byd-vechain-dnv/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭DutchYurt

Red day incoming, advice is to not panic, maybe go for a walk and don't be stock watching your account for the day, not good for the mental health

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭DutchYurt

EMA just gave the green light on the vaccines.. lots of good and bad news in the market today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

PIC - Pivotal Investment - up 25% today after getting the Jim Cramer thumbs up on Friday. Up 60% since I got in, will it hold or run more?
    It's hard to hold for the long term when you get these kind of pops that tempt you to take profit and wait for a retrace to get back in.

I've noticed my few "traditional" high performers like fb, ms, Mastercard etc have all been very flat the last few months (and are losing out to the dollar/euro if anything), but my attempt to find the next up and coming companies just before they hit the hype stage, likes of NIO, nndm, AQB, UMC , MCHP, NET, they have all paid off massively. I've afew absolutely turds along the way which have tanked like 60%, but thankfully most of them were only a grand or so of a punt so still I'm still nicely in the green. Hard to know what to do moving forward, my strategy is definitely higher risk/reward so the odds are I'll hit a rough patch at some stage, do I hang onto the likes of them fb/mastercards which could be ready to pop but hopefully be lower risk, or do I just keep the head down and keep going with what works now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭cronos

Timmaay wrote: »
    I've noticed my few "traditional" high performers like fb, ms, Mastercard etc have all been very flat the last few months (and are losing out to the dollar/euro if anything), but my attempt to find the next up and coming companies just before they hit the hype stage, likes of NIO, nndm, AQB, UMC , MCHP, NET, they have all paid off massively. I've afew absolutely turds along the way which have tanked like 60%, but thankfully most of them were only a grand or so of a punt so still I'm still nicely in the green. Hard to know what to do moving forward, my strategy is definitely higher risk/reward so the odds are I'll hit a rough patch at some stage, do I hang onto the likes of them fb/mastercards which could be ready to pop but hopefully be lower risk, or do I just keep the head down and keep going with what works now?

You keep doing what your doing and diversify the risk. It's a safety net.

Anyone know how IOB units are gonna work on Degiro? IPOB converted to their other ticket (OPEN) today, the IPOBU (units) that I have entitle me to 1 extra share for every 3 Units I hold. Do I need to do something to exercise these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭md23040

ADZAM wrote: »
    Does anyone have any insight into GREENCOAT RENEWABLES (GRP)? State backed Irish fund investing in wind farms, it could be a slow and steady one with a dividend kicker?

I would avoid such schemes as there normally are lots of costs and the returns never materialize to the expectation of the prospectus. I would advise that community energy schemes are going to get more popular in Ireland and the government provide sudsidy to the scheme. I think there is three at the mo including a grey climate solar farm in Claremorris.

Today based on the DOW Futures down 508 points I sold €10,000 in HYLN. Bought on Thursday and went up 18% that day and fell 5.67% Friday with 2.1% fall before the trade could be placed. The SPAC is too risky and sold at $17.31 and the stock could go to $10 or potential $68 but in the COVID environment too risky. Placed €7500 into IAG. Based on cheap oil prices and demand expectations improving after Easter it looks good value to fundamentals. Fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭jams100

Shedite27 wrote: »
    Anyone follow Chris Perruna on Twitter (@cperruna)? He's a great stock picker for the type of stuff I'm into (long-term holds, tech-based growth stocks). Last year's list included Livongo, Zoom, SE, Shopify, Square, Crowdstrike, PayPal, Roku etc - pretty much all of them doubled over the year. This was definitely an exceptional year, but you can see his prior years lists on his pinned tweet

Anyway he releases his list this time every year so I'll post them up here as he releases them.
    1. FUBO - life TV streaming for live sports, news and entertainment in US. Went public via SPAC this year - I actually bought a small position in this one a month ago.
    2. QS - develops batteries for electric vehicles, Volkswagen have a stake so presumably ae interested in the technology. Seems to charge a lot faster than competitors. Again, only IPO'd a month ago.

Regretting not pulling the trigger on this one (FUBO), up nearly 100% since u posted! Good spot Shedite27 :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭OwlsZat

jams100 wrote: »
    Regretting not pulling the trigger on this one (FUBO), up nearly 100% since u posted! Good spot Shedite27 :o

I posted the QS one Friday when someone was already holding. Looks a moon shoot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Take Your Pants Off

ALPP on a mad one. Anyone in on it? Up by around 60% today. I think the surge is from the news of the Chinese drone manufacturer DJI being blacklisted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭littlevillage

OwlsZat wrote: »
    I posted the QS one Friday when someone was already holding. Looks a moon shoot!

Fair play to anyone who jumped on Shedite27's recommendations. I did some research into QS at the time and came to the conclusion that it was too risky.

Shows, what I know :-( its only up a mere 65% in the last week.

ALPP on a mad one. Anyone in on it? Up by around 60% today. I think the surge is from the news of the Chinese drone manufacturer DJI being blacklisted.

Not in it but have been adding to my EH holdings position which is a Chinese human rated drone company, its absolutely took off the last week, up 20% today.

Fair play to anyone who jumped on Shedite27's recommendations. I did some research into QS at the time and came to the conclusion that it was too risky.

Shows, what I know :-( its only up a mere 65% in the last week.
    I didn't go for QS myself either. To be honest, this lat Chris Perruna has such a following at the moment that it seems he can move stocks on his own. He doesn't even own Fubo himself yet. While up 70% or whatever in a week is great, part of me is a little disappointed as I wanted to buy more at $30. First world problems.

I've a feeling CURI may follow a simialr trajectory. It's a streaming dervice for documentaries, Discovery Channel, History Channel etc. Got a 25% jump today but is still only a $13 stock ($500mn cap). Seems to be the next darling of Twitter and Reddit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,181 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Anybody with those 36c PLS options ye need to be sorting it out now in case you were waiting for a letter or anything like that, Im going to try and get through to Degiro in the morning and see if they'll do it for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭Wombatman

VLDR saves the day.