What Whisky/Whiskey are we drinking this month?

• Moderators, Regional South Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 6,165 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quackster

Cazale wrote: »
    I'll drink any whiskey at any time with anyone.
    We'll have to take you up on that with a Boards whisk(e)y night post-Covid! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Cazale

Quackster wrote:
    We'll have to take you up on that with a Boards whisk(e)y night post-Covid!

It's definitely a plan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,483 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Yeah, but the factory's been there since 1405, right? :D

1938, which is actually old enough now that I'm surprised nobodies tried to use it

Now, it didn't make *drinking* alcohol until the late 1980s. But it was an old industrial alcohol distillery - often recorded as "potato alcohol" but I think it was actually made with Irish Sugar molasses instead, much easier product to work with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭arodabomb

The L. Mulligan tastings are much more fun as Michael is a character and they tend to run on longer but the sample sizes are too small. Even the tastings for specific distilleries I didn't find dry or too technical as Michael will have a story or two. Like a pub experience as you said.

CWS samples are indeed 30ml and there can be 4, 5 or even 6 of them. The tastings are not particularly exciting outside of the actual drink you're sampling as the format is pretty dry. You wouldn't mistake it for being in a pub.

In short, L. Mulligan should give bigger samples and CWS should inject some personality.

Such a fan of what Michael does there, they are great craic, feels like being in a pub. Would just love to have the larger samples. You really notice the extra few mls as you go back to progress through the tasting and want to check back in on an earlier sample.

Actually just off the Celtic Whiskey Cask tasting there, some great whiskeys (would love to be dropping 1k on the range). The highlight was the Celtic Cask 30, bushmills double distilled stock that was finished in PX. Absolutely delicious, good few on the zoom bought there and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,140 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

arodabomb wrote: »
    Such a fan of what Michael does there, they are great craic, feels like being in a pub. Would just love to have the larger samples. You really notice the extra few mls as you go back to progress through the tasting and want to check back in on an earlier sample.

I think in some cases the smaller samples are understandable e.g. if they have small number of rare bottles they are stretching out. But then for the more readily available expressions they should be 25-30 ml. So have 4x25ml or 4x30ml and 2x17.5ml or something like that.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭Beanstalk

Picked up another Bunnahabhain Stiùireadair yesterday for £25. although the 12 is a lot richer and a more balanaced and rounded whisky, this version is still wonderful for that price point. espeically with a just a little bit more water than you wouldn't normally put in (maybe a couple of tablespoons - at 45.6% does no harm anyway). anyway, its like a fresh raisin sea breeze hitting you in the face when sipping it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

Beanstalk wrote: »
    Picked up another Bunnahabhain Stiùireadair yesterday for £25. although the 12 is a lot richer and a more balanaced and rounded whisky, this version is still wonderful for that price point. espeically with a just a little bit more water than you wouldn't normally put in (maybe a couple of tablespoons - at 45.6% does no harm anyway). anyway, its like a fresh raisin sea breeze hitting you in the face when sipping it.

I've gone through a few bottles of the 12 this year. But £25 for the Stiuireadair is a steal.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 3,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Black Sheep

Opened a bottle of Paul John Brilliance last night, on a bit of a whim.

Goan whisky, non chill filtered, non peated, 46% abv.

I got heavy cream and vanilla from the nose of this, and sure enough vanilla and honey seem to be common tasting notes offered. For me it's actually almost cloying on the nose, and I had a moment of thinking I wasn't going to be a fan because of that. But the mouthfeel on this whisky is so good it draws you in.. Very moreish... Buttery and chewy, it reminds me of Sullivan's Cove from Oz.

I've gone through a few bottles of the 12 this year. But £25 for the Stiuireadair is a steal.

Even the lovely bottle too just shouts out high quality at ya

Speaking of bargains I noticed in Sainsbury's that Laphroaig 10 is down to £26 (in asda too). And Ardbeg 10 is down to £37. Talisker 10 still cheaper to buy in Tesco ROI, of which i've put a fair dent in since getting it a couple of weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 ro_p_ro1986

Bushmills with a 700 euro bottle release today as part of their ongoing causeway collection.

30 year old single malt finished in American oak.

Some price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

got a bottle of Powers in Tesco there, had run out of whiskey for mixing and cocktails etc, even at 18 it's a good price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭picachu

Grabbed 2 aberlour a'bunadh in O'briens
    €75 each!!! Normally closer to €100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Wailin

picachu wrote: »
    Grabbed 2 aberlour a'bunadh in O'briens
    €75 each!!! Normally closer to €100

Thats great value! What batch are they? They can vary a lot between batches. I have B65 and it's lovely. Also have B56 unopened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭TXPTGR1

Powers at 20 for 750ml worth a spin for old fashioneds and sours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭2011abc

TXPTGR1 wrote: »
    Powers at 20 for 750ml worth a spin for old fashioneds and sours?

18 in Dunnes Maynooth and too good for cocktails ,a grand daily sipper .I wouldnt put anything better than 15 euro Queen Margot in a cocktail (although I know a 'whisky lover' who swears by the vile stuff)

Slane vs Tesco Finest Irish Malt vs Roe vs Black Bush vs Sexton ?!Black Bush prob first to go because lets face it its not a 30 something whiskey (unless youre desperate enough to buy in Spar )

Think Id call it

Tesco
    Sexton
    Slane
    Roe

Mind you I think my next purchase might be the Slane as its on sale now and Ive had the others more lately .I only had it once and enjoyed it .Def got a mild but noticeable Sherry kick out of it whereas the Roe is just a good mid range blend (and thus the odd one out here ?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭dobman88

Back on the Crested 8 ball tonight after a few weeks away from it. Great little sup for an evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,140 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

2011abc wrote: »
    Slane vs Tesco Finest Irish Malt vs Roe vs Black Bush vs Sexton ?!Black Bush prob first to go because lets face it its not a 30 something whiskey (unless youre desperate enough to buy in Spar )

I've had all of the above and enjoyed them - except the Tesco Finest 12 year old Irsh single malt.

So... it's just been added to basket for next Tesco order.

* No pressure on your good self though :)

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

odyssey06 wrote: »
    I've had all of the above and enjoyed them - except the Tesco Finest 12 year old Irsh single malt.

So... it's just been added to basket for next Tesco order.

* No pressure on your good self though :)

Its distinctive and classy ,would be nicer if a few euro cheaper but worth the couple of quid extra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Cazale

Got a supervalu voucher in work in lieu of the Christmas party. The local store has a very basic collection but spotted this single cask Powers gathering dust and it took my fancy. Much better than chatting to a bunch of eejits in work :D

DEFINITELY!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 thethinone

Haha snap!
    I also got a SuperValu voucher from work and picked up one of those during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭dobman88

Jaysus that looks like something that would impress visitors worthy of the decent stuff. May try and get one with my own voucher from work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭picachu

Wailin wrote: »
    Thats great value! What batch are they? They can vary a lot between batches. I have B65 and it's lovely. Also have B56 unopened.

They're batch 65. Not all O'Briens have stock. Glasnevin had 12.... navan road/blanch have none.

I've never had if before, i just opened it, smells great!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭glic83

Dunnes have the IDL pot still samples for 23 euro. 50mls of Middleton Barry Crockett, Green Spot, Powers John Lane and Redbreast 12. Great for gifts.

Had the other half check Dunnes Jetland in Limerick, none in the off license outside the main store and none in the office section within the store either

1. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Cazale

glic83 wrote:
      Had the other half check Dunnes Jetland in Limerick, none in the off license outside the main store and none in the office section within the store either

Sorry I posted afterwards that it was a price mistake in one of their stores in Galway. Has since been rectified. Apologies for the misinformation.

2. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Cazale

dobman88 wrote:
      Jaysus that looks like something that would impress visitors worthy of the decent stuff. May try and get one with my own voucher from work.

The whiskey room gets locked and a bottle of Paddy emerges for any visitors!

3. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Cazale

thethinone wrote:
      Haha snap! I also got a SuperValu voucher from work and picked up one of those during the week.

Great minds. Some details..

Tasting notes by Dave McCabe, Blender at Midleton Distillery

SuperValu Powers Single Cask #147620 - 216 bottles

Nose: Caramelised toffee apple and delicate herbal notes of rosemary with a mild nutty character that lingers in the background over warm toasted oak notes adding balance to the pot still spices.

Taste: Rich mouthcoating texture with sweet fruit notes while the pot still spices build over time, herbal notes with hints of cinnamon and nutmeg layered over charred American oak providing structure to the mix of fruits, herbs and spices.

Finish: The fruit character fades letting the spices linger while the oak remains until the very end.

4. Advertisement
    5. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭dobman88

The whiskey room gets locked and a bottle of Paddy emerges for any visitors!

Lol. I know that feeling. There are a few worthy of the good stuff tho. Usually cracked out when others leave and we can enjoy it. And it's always reciprocated if I visit them.

Jesus, remember house visits. They were class. No wonder my whiskey is lasting much longer!!