Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

Green&Red wrote: »
    EOD has been outstanding for Mayo anytime I’ve seen him. I think he’s have been ideal for Quinlevan, harry the f**k out of him

Edit: Keegan was excellent in the second half V Roscommon because he was allowed off the lease ans we saw him moving up the field

EOD is a good player, should be making the bench I think, but don't think he deserves to start. I don't think people are looking at the whole game when it comes to Keegan. Most of the papers have player ratings from the match yesterday - Keegan is coming out the worst of our defenders, while Oisin Mullin is at the top. Yet nobody is taking into account that he'd to mark Tipp's most dangerous forward while Oisin was marking one of their weakest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭PhoneMain

I really think this is the year. I backed them at 14/1 pre championship.

Dublin wont have been tested this year, there's a lot to be said for having to grind out a win like we had to against Galway.
    They wont also have met a team with the attack minded defenders like we have, Mullin, McLoughlin (Please God he's 100%!), Paddy, Lee if he's off the leash a bit. This is also a different team from last year, Matty is back to his best and I think he can give Fenton a game. Plus Aido and Coc are having storming seasons. Tommy is some player, his composure is exquisite. Maybe I'm deluded but every expected Dublin to walk it in 16 and 17, see how close they were. With a bit more luck in 16 and avoiding a ridiculous red card in 17 we would have won either.

God I love being from Mayo.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

RedDevil55 wrote: »
    EOD is a good player, should be making the bench I think, but don't think he deserves to start. I don't think people are looking at the whole game when it comes to Keegan. Most of the papers have player ratings from the match yesterday - Keegan is coming out the worst of our defenders, while Oisin Mullin is at the top. Yet nobody is taking into account that he'd to mark Tipp's most dangerous forward while Oisin was marking one of their weakest.

I just think he's not been near the standard we expect all year so far.... He set the bar very hard.
    But as you or someone said it's a new position for him and he's been on a few very good forwards too.
    #thingsleroydid

PhoneMain wrote: »

Now we're talking :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Absolutely brilliant display going forward but the defense was a shambles at times.

I believe Horan has learned from his past and doesn't do a Kerry replay type thing where he tries the same thing hoping for different results.

They have to go with some sort of sweeper ala Dublin to tighten up the back line.
    The concern isn't really the latter part of second half as the game was won and I think they took foot off, but the first half was really concerning where they were cut open numerous times.
    They can't just go man for man as Dublin would take those chances and it would be 2004/2006 all over again.

Congrats to the often much maligned COC who showed what a forward he is and has been.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

yop wrote: »
    Quinlivan is one of the top footballers in the country. It's hard to handle him, even Leroy.

Report the posts and ignore the trolls. We will see plenty of them over the next 3 weeks. Hopefully they might get banned.

Totally, its not easy to manage players like him. You will ride your luck a bit with top players. That game should give Keegan the extra bit he needs. The surface yesterday is a lot different to where we have played all year to this needs to be taken into account as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Wow, you are actually judging players by their performance against Roscommon, we were abysmal, it was the worst and flatest performance since Cunningham took over. Putting weight to players performance that day is crazy. The dubs will win the final at a canter on their terms, they will have most of Roscommon behind them. Up the dubs.

Always amazes me how every troll going is allowed in here without any fear

I doubt the whole of Roscommon will be with Dublin, only the bitter, small minded ones

And yes we probably will lose, IMO by something similar to Cavan, I think the spread of -4 is free money

But for now we’ll enjoy a great, free scoring display from yesterday. I was trying to think all morning about when the last time we put that sort of a score up in croke Park?

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

I really think this is the year. I backed them at 14/1 pre championship.

Dublin wont have been tested this year, there's a lot to be said for having to grind out a win like we had to against Galway.
    They wont also have met a team with the attack minded defenders like we have, Mullin, McLoughlin (Please God he's 100%!), Paddy, Lee if he's off the leash a bit. This is also a different team from last year, Matty is back to his best and I think he can give Fenton a game. Plus Aido and Coc are having storming seasons. Tommy is some player, his composure is exquisite. Maybe I'm deluded but every expected Dublin to walk it in 16 and 17, see how close they were. With a bit more luck in 16 and avoiding a ridiculous red card in 17 we would have won either.

Ya I remember been up at the games in CP and even after all the defeats in finals etc, isn't it just brilliant that we get these serious rollercoaster of rides that bring every emotion out of you. There are loads of counties that don't experience half of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,841 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

?s=fatherted&e=S02E09&i=S02E09-VirJMt7n&t1=&t2=GOD,%20I%20LOVE%20BEING%20FROM%20MAYO

?s=fatherted&e=S02E09&i=S02E09-JFh7SwT2&t1=WE%27RE%20GOING%20TO%20WIN&t2=THE%20ALL-IRELAND,%20LADS,%20WAHEY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,208 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

PARlance wrote: »
    I'm trying to enjoy a 13 point semi-final victory but I'm too worried about other things tbh. I don't think we're anywhere near the levels we have been going into recent finals.

Kickouts are exaggerated by a weaker midfield.
    Keegan too loose for FB line and struggling.
    Mullins still has question marks for me defensively, he will be very good but is he at present vs Dublin.
    McLaughlin is some athlete but runs into trouble / distribution isn't great.
    Midfield is weaker in general, a young pairing that will take time. A pairing I like, in what both bring can bring to the table, but this final comes a couple of years too soon imo.
    O'Donoghue a bit hot and cold I feel.

Our biggest hope lies in the FF line I feel. If all three are firing and supported by some great performances by Kev Mc, DO'C and Durcan then maybe we've a chance. But if Tipp can score 3-13, and should have been more... then I can't see how we're stopping Dublin.

A change of tact is needed for the Final. We're not as strong as we were and going toe to toe could be carnage. I don't think Horan will be changing too much though.

Would love to be more optimistic and I generally am but heading to bed with more questions than answers after a 13 point win, it's nuts.

The general consensus from those of us used of following Horan's Mayo is that he won't, but at the same time who knows

Did he change something at the back yesterday after the Fox goal, because after that Tipp did not threaten the goal again until the 2nd half ?

Of course that may have been due to Mayo just tuning over Tipp at halfway and their own 40 and racking up scores.

I also think that Clarke and the kick out will be a problem, Dublin will put relentless pressure on them and unless Mayo have a option there it could become a turkey shoot.

Either way I'm not too pushed about the final.

Dublin are the greatest team every in anything that was every played anywhere in the world.

They have their own special leg massagers developed by NASA that they use during the water break to take the tiredness out of their legs and get them ready for the next shift.

Mayo on the other hand have their plastic boxeens with a apple and a bottle of juice to see them through.

It's u-6s v the Kansas City Chiefs.

They have no hope.

But if you had asked me back in January, and in March and on the 17th of October if I though Mayo would see an All Ireland final in 2020, I'd have said no way.

And look at them now.

It's a free pass for Mayo, nothing to lose, lest enjoy it.
    It's not like 2016 to 2019 where they was a sense of it's now or never.

With this young team it now or next year, or the year after that, or after that....

The general consensus from those of us used of following Horan's Mayo is that he won't, but at the same time who knows

Did he change something at the back yesterday after the Fox goal, because after that Tipp did not threaten the goal again until the 2nd half ?

Of course that may have been due to Mayo just tuning over Tipp at halfway and their own 40 and racking up scores.

I also think that Clarke and the kick out will be a problem, Dublin will put relentless pressure on them and unless Mayo have a option there it could become a turkey shoot.

Either way I'm not too pushed about the final.

Dublin are the greatest team every in anything that was every played anywhere in the world.

They have their own special leg massagers developed by NASA that they use during the water break to take the tiredness out of their legs and get them ready for the next shift.

Mayo on the other hand have their plastic boxeens with a apple and a bottle of juice to see them through.

They have no hope.

But if you had asked me back in January, and in March and on the 17th of October if I though Mayo would see an All Ireland final in 2020, I'd have said no way.

And look at them now.

It's a free pass for Mayo, nothing to lose, lest enjoy it.
    It's not like 2016 to 2019 where they was a sense of it's now or never.

With this young team it now or next year, or the year after that, or after that....

I'm delighted, walking out of Croker last year I thought that it was the end of the glory days for us. I thought the golden generation was over and the replacements werent up to scratch. Now tho I'm hopeful for coming years. I think Matty Ruane will be 1 of the top midfielders in the country for a few years and we have brilliant young players like Mullins, McLoughlin, Conroy. i was impressed with O'Donoghue as well yesterday. I was surprised to see Walshe dropped from the 26, I thought he did well when he came on against Galway. Hopefully Mark Moran is the player that the Galway league game showed he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,097 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Fair play to the Mayo News....new podcast out early this morning....very well produced, edited etc. dunno how they manage it on what I'm assuming in a small budget.

Yesterday was a weird one for sure....had myself braced for the usual balls to the wall experience but it was all done and dusted from early on.

Not thinking about Dublin too much yet...the missus has ordered me a retro Mayo jersey for Christmas, hopefully it gets here before the 19th :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,429 ✭✭✭✭km79

?s=fatherted&e=S02E09&i=S02E09-VirJMt7n&t1=&t2=GOD,%20I%20LOVE%20BEING%20FROM%20MAYO

?s=fatherted&e=S02E09&i=S02E09-JFh7SwT2&t1=WE%27RE%20GOING%20TO%20WIN&t2=THE%20ALL-IRELAND,%20LADS,%20WAHEY!

Brilliant
    And I quoted it on purpose to move it onto next page :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

It’s only 12 days away so some covid mayo supporters ideas are appreciated.

-) line out the roads when the bus leaves for Dublin just like Cavan .
    -) have the outdoor cinema in mulroys available for a covid big match screen .

Any thoughts

It’s only 13 days away so some covid mayo supporters ideas are appreciated.

Any thoughts

Def no outdoor cinema. There'd be too much hugging and close contact and you'd definitely have alcohol at that. If anyone had covid it could spread like wild fire.
    just watch it at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Any thoughts

Ohh an outdoor cinema showing the match is just asking for trouble when it comes to Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Ohh an outdoor cinema showing the match is just asking for trouble when it comes to Covid.

We'll be cursed for another 50 years with all the Covid breaches that will happen should we win it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Barlett

Any thoughts

Pretty sure there is no team bus, each player drives to the games. That's the way it was for the Connaught Championship anyway

Think every team has implemented the one player to a car protocol since the Rossies losing half their squad with the Covid case in the bus.

Reading up on the allegations against butler would make you wonder was O’Leary harshly treated.

https://twitter.com/mayagaa_army/status/1335629934782509057?s=21

Mayo_fan wrote: »
    Reading up on the allegations against butler would make you wonder was O’Leary harshly treated.

https://twitter.com/mayagaa_army/status/1335629934782509057?s=21

Anyone taking that account seriously needs to have a look at themselves. Far too personal with things.

Any thoughts

I hope people get more into the spirit of it. The countryside is lacking the usual red and green flags / cars / banners.

We need to get behind the lads, if we talk ourselves out of the match what’s the point and describing ourselves too much as outsiders risks us being happy with just getting close to Dublin on the day. We are better than that

Barlett wrote: »
    I wasn’t too bothered about a football championship back in Summer, but it’s been great , brilliant craic at the weekends & the fact that Mayo are playing decent football & beating what’s put in front of them with relative ease has been the icing on the cake.

Great to see our attacking football getting results. It's bad for the game when dour defensive teams like Kerry and Galway progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Fair Play to Mayo. Delighted to see young lads coming through and tearing it up. I wish my own county Kildare had integrated our 2018 u20 team as well as horan has with yours. Hoping for a big 70 minutes in two weeks time. The missus is from the mullet and hopefully we can travel down to watch it.

Slightly off topic, but I see RTE released their viewing figures for the weekend and unsurprisingly our semi final came out on top. Ahead of Dublin v Cavan, FAI cup final and the Irish rugby game.

Surely we should be able to get a couple of big hitter sponsors for the back of the jersey and MacHale Park? The trolls may love mocking us, but we're one of the most marketable sports teams on the island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

This is a strange line to go down. Mayo's average age Sunday was 26.6. Dublin's is 27.4 and they're favs in an u20 final beforehand. Galway's was 25.3 in the game previous. It's a valid point on experience but not on age.

Some of Mayo's young lads do look ones to cling onto for a decade though. Especially Conroy, buckets of natural ability. Hard not like him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,402 ✭✭✭naughto

RedDevil55 wrote: »
    Slightly off topic, but I see RTE released their viewing figures for the weekend and unsurprisingly our semi final came out on top. Ahead of Dublin v Cavan, FAI cup final and the Irish rugby game.

Surely we should be able to get a couple of big hitter sponsors for the back of the jersey and MacHale Park? The trolls may love mocking us, but we're one of the most marketable sports teams on the island.

I'll be surprised if it's not shoe the donkey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭muddle84

naughto wrote: »
    I'll be surprised if it's not shoe the donkey

Ah id be surprised if they revisit that particular individual considering the twitter account has also returned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

Any thoughts

yea, iv a though. Get a grip, and don't lose the run of yourself. Dont want to be branded as celebrity losers again. Let them win the effing thing, and we can line the roads from castlebar to dublin. until then cop on.