Fairytale of New York is 25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭TheBunk1

I hate and detest this song.

The story in the song reminds me of the miserableness of life for some of the older Irish men I met when I first went to London in the mid 80s. Married men in their 50s and 60s working like dogs all week on building sites, living in disgusting shared houses with young lads (who still had the advantage of hope and the optimism of youth) in order to save money, and sending their wages home every week to their struggling families back in Ireland, keeping only a few pounds back so they could sit over a few pints in dingy pubs like The George in Southall on a Friday and Saturday night wishing they were back home in their own houses with their wives and children and not knowing when they'd be able to return home for good to their real lives. I think people have forgotten that it wasn't only the young and single that left Ireland back in those days in order to earn some money.

That song, for me, embodies all the hopelessness, anguish and dead ends that some of the Irish have suffered through having to leave their country to seek employment abroad. I can't bear to listen to it. :(

^^^^^
    image1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

krudler wrote: »
    you know whats worse, Springsteen's version of Santa Claus Is Coming To Town, hate it.

You have no soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I have yet to hear it this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

One o fmy fav Christmas songs :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 jonasjones

Love it love it love it love it love it. I understand how people think it is overplayed - for a month a year it is played non stop - but I look forward to it every single year. Best Christmas song ever written, no doubt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

I know Shane MacGowan's place in history is assured, but I feel a bit short changed by his lack of creativity since the 1990's, still, can't force him to make music if it's not his wont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

RainyDay wrote: »
    You have no soul.

Its an awful rendition of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭teddyboy

I don't mind the song. What I do mind is the PC nutjobs at MTV et all who insist on censoring it. I know BBC Radio 1 did a few years ago and there was uproar. I'm not talking about f****t by the way... MTV even censor "slut" and "junk."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

just to let you know...........theres a programme about the song on bbc2 at midnight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

It's one of my favourites, but for me it's this,

Yep, easily my favourite Christmas song, I never get tired of hearing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭rtron

Guys guys, they just censored the word on 2FM...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭AutoTuning

The last post on this thread was 8 years ago and the song is now 33 years old (released in 1987)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

AutoTuning wrote: »
    The last post on this thread was 8 years ago and the song is now 33 years old (released in 1987)

Sure , Silent Night must be 2000 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,906 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

rtron wrote: »

Louise O Neill must be happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

Louise O Neill must be happy.

Now there's a name I haven't heard on here (or anywhere else, for that matter) in a while. Remember when some posters on here had a weird obsession with her? I think the same posters all moved on to being obsessed with the word 'woke'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

On reflection, some of the lyrics were way over the top, even then.

"You're an old slut on junk"
    "Ya cheap lousy ******"
    "Happy Christmas your arse, I pray it's your last".

Songwriter: Jem Finer / Shane Patrick Lysaght Macgowan.

Who's Jem Finer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭screamer

"Ya cheap lousy ******"

Who's Jem Finer?

depends on where you define the top. its just a song and any christmas parties ive been to, people seem to sing along to it, enjoying the over the top words with relish. I think sensoring it is over the top, it's not as if the words are being used towards someone, it is what it is. Anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

"Ya cheap lousy ******"

Who's Jem Finer?

A founding member of the pogues

Oh and it’s “I pray god it’s our last”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

rtron wrote: »

Never listen to 2fm, so, meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

.anon. wrote: »
    Now there's a name I haven't heard on here (or anywhere else, for that matter) in a while. Remember when some posters on here had a weird obsession with her? I think the same posters all moved on to being obsessed with the word 'woke'.

She had a whinge about FONY on 'de paper' lately. You can look for it yourself, the world is filled with enough miserable shíte as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,646 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

The kind of person who has a problem with the song being edited on the radio is the same person who says "All Lives Matter" and comments "They should just stick to football" when the Premier League does Rainbow Laces week.

Songs have had "Radio Edits" to remove offensive and sensitive language since before anyone commenting was born. It's not a new thing!

Fairtytale of New York.............. what a tune!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

The New York PD does not have a choir!

The NYPD choir was a nickname given to the drunks singing in the "drunk tank" in precints back in the 80s. So he's in the drunk tank, listening to other drunks singing Galway Bay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I hate and detest this song.

The story in the song reminds me of the miserableness of life for some of the older Irish men I met when I first went to London in the mid 80s. Married men in their 50s and 60s working like dogs all week on building sites, living in disgusting shared houses with young lads (who still had the advantage of hope and the optimism of youth) in order to save money, and sending their wages home every week to their struggling families back in Ireland, keeping only a few pounds back so they could sit over a few pints in dingy pubs like The George in Southall on a Friday and Saturday night wishing they were back home in their own houses with their wives and children and not knowing when they'd be able to return home for good to their real lives. I think people have forgotten that it wasn't only the young and single that left Ireland back in those days in order to earn some money.

That song, for me, embodies all the hopelessness, anguish and dead ends that some of the Irish have suffered through having to leave their country to seek employment abroad. I can't bear to listen to it. :(

Jaysus, don't ever listen to the Old Main Drag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

"Ya cheap lousy ******"

Who's Jem Finer?

Pogues banjo player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,906 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

.anon. wrote: »

Shes done two articles on it in as many weeks saying "it makes her teeth grind". One in the Examiner and the other in the Irish Times And no I didn't go seeking her stuff out. They showed up on my FB feed.

Song was played on iRadio this morning about 8:30. It was their first Christmas song of the season.

They DID NOT leave out any words!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

MrStuffins wrote: »
    The kind of person who has a problem with the song being edited on the radio is the same person who says "All Lives Matter" and comments "They should just stick to football" when the Premier League does Rainbow Laces week.

Songs have had "Radio Edits" to remove offensive and sensitive language since before anyone commenting was born. It's not a new thing!

Fairtytale of New York.............. what a tune!

It's a funny one alright. There are so many songs out there that have "offensive" epithets. Some are censored others are not. One I found odd was Lily Allen's "It's not fair"

"I'm feeling pretty hard-done by
    I spent ages giving BLEEP (head)"

Then you have Elvis Costello's "Oliver's Army"

Never once have I heard the N word blocked out of this song and I'm guessing because whoever suggests the blocking would have completely missed the context and come off looking like a moron

"All it takes, one inch of trigger
    One more widow, once less white nigger"

"faggot" is a terrible slur, as far as I'm concerned, but only when directed at homosexuals to deliberately cause offence or to refer to gays in general. My American ex often called me "faggy" if I did something that might possibly have been construed as genteel or sensitive like cranking up the radio when Abba came on or if I expressed admiration for something "girly" like flowers.....but she was just being playful.

My Punjabi ex always affectionately referred to me as her "Paddy" and I always called her by little onion bhaji. You CAN use terms that some would find derogatory but the balance is delicate and very subtle. I've heard people refer to blacks as niggers and when I've expressed distaste at their choice of word they say "Dude, I'm not racist. They call each other nigga all the time". Nah...that doesn't cut it.

So I suppose to get back to the Fairytale of New York....I don't know how I feel about "faggot". He's obviously straight so she's not abusing him by slurring homosexuality.

Guns N Roses' "One In A Million" deliberately did such a thing and while I like the song, it is an anthem for racists and homophobes who get a cheap snigger from the slurs used.

Anyway, should the word "faggot" be bleeped out of FONY? In my opinion, no, purely because by doing so you draw attention to it. Let it pass and most people will probably not notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭KaneToad

They have a pipe band, which couldn't sing or play Galway Bay!

They famously sang The Mickey Mouse Club theme for the filming of the video...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Who's Jem Finer?
    Himself and McGowan wrote most of the Pogues' stuff until the band's first break-up.